We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to get away from the crowd”
Review of Esencia Nativa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Zonte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Esencia Nativa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Zonte
Certificate of Excellence
Valence, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great place to get away from the crowd”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Supposedly a hostel this place looks more like a resort to me with the big pool, a great onsite bar and restaurant and dorms that apart from being huge are filled with broad comfortable beds where getting asleep with the sound of the waves in the distance is just magic.
The helpful staff will help you with finding your way on the waves around the place but I would recommend El Zonte in general to very beginners (to learn on the beach break) or experimented surfers (on the break in front of the hostel). Intermediate surfers won't find a nice wave to play and practice...

Room Tip: Some private rooms are next to the TV so it might get noisy if there's crowd there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barongxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    19
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
24
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place is hardly a Hostel with its beautiful pool, gardens and surrounds. We spent many relaxing hours in the hammocks and looking at the ocean.

The food here was good and our room seemed very new with good bed and clean bathroom.

The staff were helpful and we slept well.

I would recommend it for experienced surfers as the brak at El Zonte is a little intense.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second story are great, good breeze, quiet and new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoundtheworldfromQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

When going to the coast of El Salvador I'd definitely recommend El Zonte over the others as, say, El Tunco: it's quiter and more relaxed.
In El Zonte, Esencia Nativa is the best value; there are others, but more expensive.
EN offers private rooms and a dorm; I slept in the latter and were very conent. The mattrasses are great and it is relatively airy.
The pool's great, the bar is good and the food fantastic - what do you need more?
Oh, and the beach is very nice as well.
I'd go there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matraquilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had the small private room at the end near the TV - the room was neat though smelled damp. The biggest problem was that the bathroom window doesnt have any frame so anyone could have climbed in and steal things if they wanted to. We didnt realise this until we checked in. We kept waking up at night to check if anyone has broken in. There is a big congrete step outside the window make it look like it was made for break in.

This room has good view of the ocean but not worth letting mosquitos in with the big hole in the bathroom - in our opinion anyway.

Bathroom was small but clean.

The lady there does make nice pizzas. We both however got food poisoning the next day (not sure from this restaurant or the one across the road on the left) so be careful.

About El Zonte: please help keep this beach clean. It's a shame to see it so dirty. We didn't feel overly safe at night. It was 8pm and nearly everything were shut. We came back after dinner around this time to find the hotel's gate shut (with a metal chain and a lock) and it was too dark to see anything. We yelled out for someone to come out to open the gate.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

If you're into your big waves for ridding or photographing then go to El Zonte.
The hostel is very basic and the rooms have seen better days but you're not there for the rooms. Location is great, staff are lovely and the sound of the sea at night intoxicating.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We drove from Guatemala to Panama, hoping to find affordable places to stay with our 2 children (5 & 7). Esencia Nativa was our first stop and our favorite place to stay on our trip. On our way back to Guatemala, we chose to stay at Esencia Nativa again, instead of exploring Honduras.

Most of the rooms are private with a private bath. The rooms were very economical. There was a very relaxing and intimate atmosphere with lots of hammacks, a swimming pool, a great restaurant, and drinks. The 2nd floor to the restaurant allowed us to enjoy beautiful sunsets and sunrises looking over the ocean.

Playa Zonte is a long stretch of beautiful beach with great waves and safe swimming. We took long walks, explored interesting caves, and watched surfers all day. There were plenty of restaurants to choose from without all the crowds and noise of more popular tourist beaches, such as Sunzal and Tunco.

Esencia Nativa had an assortment of movies available in the living room with a large screen T.V. Between the swimming pool and the T.V., my kids were happy and my husband and I could relax. The place seems to attract folks with great energy. It was fun to meet other travelers and share stories.

We will definitely return to Esencia Nativa!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

The place was great - stayed in a larger, private room with AC which was lovely. Alex, the owner, was amazingly friendly and helpful. Food was delicious and cheap, and the chill vibe was exactly what I was looking for. The dogs are friendly and since I love dogs didn't find them to be a problem. Normal noise level for Central America beach town, in my opinion! I didn't surf but my companions did and loved their instructors and the time they spent learning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Zonte
4.3 mi away
Hotel Los Farallones
Hotel Los Farallones
#1 of 3 in La Libertad
185 reviews
4.0 mi away
Boca Olas Resort Villas
Boca Olas Resort Villas
#1 of 2 in El Tunco
189 reviews
5.2 mi away
SABAS Beach Resort
SABAS Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in La Libertad
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Casa de Mar
Casa de Mar
#1 of 1 in El Sunzal
125 reviews
3.7 mi away
Roca Sunzal Hotel & Restaurant
3.9 mi away
Hotel Tekuani Kal
Hotel Tekuani Kal
#7 of 20 in La Libertad
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esencia Nativa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esencia Nativa

Property: Esencia Nativa
Address: Playa el Zonte | Zonte Beach Km 53, Litoral Road. La Libertad, El Zonte, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > La Libertad Department > El Zonte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Zonte
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing