We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, cool vibe, great beach”
Review of Esencia Nativa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in El Zonte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Esencia Nativa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Zonte
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great value, cool vibe, great beach”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

When going to the coast of El Salvador I'd definitely recommend El Zonte over the others as, say, El Tunco: it's quiter and more relaxed.
In El Zonte, Esencia Nativa is the best value; there are others, but more expensive.
EN offers private rooms and a dorm; I slept in the latter and were very conent. The mattrasses are great and it is relatively airy.
The pool's great, the bar is good and the food fantastic - what do you need more?
Oh, and the beach is very nice as well.
I'd go there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matraquilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    19
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
24
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had the small private room at the end near the TV - the room was neat though smelled damp. The biggest problem was that the bathroom window doesnt have any frame so anyone could have climbed in and steal things if they wanted to. We didnt realise this until we checked in. We kept waking up at night to check if anyone has broken in. There is a big congrete step outside the window make it look like it was made for break in.

This room has good view of the ocean but not worth letting mosquitos in with the big hole in the bathroom - in our opinion anyway.

Bathroom was small but clean.

The lady there does make nice pizzas. We both however got food poisoning the next day (not sure from this restaurant or the one across the road on the left) so be careful.

About El Zonte: please help keep this beach clean. It's a shame to see it so dirty. We didn't feel overly safe at night. It was 8pm and nearly everything were shut. We came back after dinner around this time to find the hotel's gate shut (with a metal chain and a lock) and it was too dark to see anything. We yelled out for someone to come out to open the gate.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

If you're into your big waves for ridding or photographing then go to El Zonte.
The hostel is very basic and the rooms have seen better days but you're not there for the rooms. Location is great, staff are lovely and the sound of the sea at night intoxicating.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We drove from Guatemala to Panama, hoping to find affordable places to stay with our 2 children (5 & 7). Esencia Nativa was our first stop and our favorite place to stay on our trip. On our way back to Guatemala, we chose to stay at Esencia Nativa again, instead of exploring Honduras.

Most of the rooms are private with a private bath. The rooms were very economical. There was a very relaxing and intimate atmosphere with lots of hammacks, a swimming pool, a great restaurant, and drinks. The 2nd floor to the restaurant allowed us to enjoy beautiful sunsets and sunrises looking over the ocean.

Playa Zonte is a long stretch of beautiful beach with great waves and safe swimming. We took long walks, explored interesting caves, and watched surfers all day. There were plenty of restaurants to choose from without all the crowds and noise of more popular tourist beaches, such as Sunzal and Tunco.

Esencia Nativa had an assortment of movies available in the living room with a large screen T.V. Between the swimming pool and the T.V., my kids were happy and my husband and I could relax. The place seems to attract folks with great energy. It was fun to meet other travelers and share stories.

We will definitely return to Esencia Nativa!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

The place was great - stayed in a larger, private room with AC which was lovely. Alex, the owner, was amazingly friendly and helpful. Food was delicious and cheap, and the chill vibe was exactly what I was looking for. The dogs are friendly and since I love dogs didn't find them to be a problem. Normal noise level for Central America beach town, in my opinion! I didn't surf but my companions did and loved their instructors and the time they spent learning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We understood that this is a small funky hostel-style hotel, and that was fine with us. The rooms were small but decent, the local ladies who work there were very nice, but the big dogs turn the place into more of a kennel than a hostel. They smell, they're wet, they stay on the furniture in the common areas, they bark all night....... you get the picture. We like dogs, but didn't want to stay with big wet hairy ones.

The ladies who run the kitchen do a great job and apparently are locally know for producing the best food around. The meals were truly great.

Alex was no help to our group at all. He stood us up at the airport and we had to take a taxi. It never seemed to occur to him that he cost us money and inconvenienced us, and it sure didn't seem to bother him. There were a couple of beginner surfers with us, and he never managed to show up for a promised surf lesson for them. We asked for but never received basic info on surf shops in La Libertad. The only thing we ever saw Alex doing was eating and watching movies when he was there. He was gone a lot. Seemed like having a moody teenager in charge of the place.
We agreed we're not going back. Too bad, too, because it could be a nice place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank radical d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

The four big dogs have the run of the place, including the interior areas, and they bark a lot at night. Smelly in the rainy season, too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eltomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Zonte
3.3 mi away
Casa de Mar
Casa de Mar
#1 of 1 in El Sunzal
127 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Los Farallones
Hotel Los Farallones
#1 of 3 in La Libertad
190 reviews
4.0 mi away
Boca Olas Resort Villas
Boca Olas Resort Villas
#1 of 2 in El Tunco
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
SABAS Beach Resort
SABAS Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in La Libertad
87 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Mopelia
Hotel Mopelia
#1 of 4 in El Tunco
85 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Tekuani Kal
Hotel Tekuani Kal
#10 of 21 in La Libertad
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esencia Nativa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esencia Nativa

Property: Esencia Nativa
Address: Playa el Zonte | Zonte Beach Km 53, Litoral Road. La Libertad, El Zonte, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > La Libertad Department > El Zonte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Zonte
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing