We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We really love this hotel. It was our second time there and the food has improved enormously. We were upgraded in our all-inclusive package to include the new Terrasse Restaurant which is waiter-service with really good food, though we also like the main Oyoun Restaurant with its wide variety of local food and flavours. There are also other choices of restaurants.....the fish restaurant, for example, has a menu with no extra charge within the all-inclusive price. If you like a glass of wine, that has also improved.

The hotel has a really good position on the beach, with a nice walk in either direction along a path between the hotels and the beach, and the main pool terrace is lovely.

We didn't have children with us, but my observation is that it's excellent for children. There's a nursery-type room near the beach where children can paint etc out of the sun and, alongside, there's a climbing frame in a grassy area. There are also very pleasant young women who will look after children. For older children, there's the hotel's own aqua park with water slides.

We had a lovely room on the ground floor, on the sunny side of the hotel. Ok, the bathroom was a bit 'tired', but scrupulously clean - as is the whole hotel. What's missing in comparison with the bigger, glitzier hotels? Well, fluffy bathrobes and towelling slippers.....but I can live without those because everything else is great.

The service is as good as you'll get anywhere.....the efficient, friendly staff have a very strong customer service ethic.

This is a smaller hotel than most in the area and one thing they have to watch is that the Animation Team can be too intrusive, a little old-fashioned, on the 'hi-de-hi' lines. At times their music was defeaning....we complained and they turned it down. Let's hope that continues! It's the only 'down' side of the hotel, from our point of view.

We've been to other, ostensibly posher hotels in Egypt, but I have no hesitation at all in recommending this one. We shall certainly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for the sunny side if you like the sun, though it might be better to be on the other side in mid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed E, Front Office Manager at Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing Governor Amwaj and taking the time to write your lovely comments on Trip Advisor. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and are grateful for your feedback . We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    493
    253
    164
    212
See reviews for
487
566
95
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south staffordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed for a week with my two children in February, the staff were lovely particularly in both the English restaurant and the Grill restaurant next to the pool, they just couldn't do enough to please us. The location of the hotel is great, with the beach just a stones throw away, we could look out from our room and see camels walking up and down which was quite novel. The water slides kept my hyperactive son busy so that I could relax by the pool. There were activities during the day if you were feeling energetic unlike me! The room was a nice size and lovely and clean, entertainment was a little low key but typical for this area I think. If you want a nice relaxing break in the sun, you would struggle to find anywhere better, I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maximaxi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed E, Front Office Manager at Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing Governor Amwaj and taking the time to write your lovely comments on Trip Advisor. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel twice. The first time was fabulous. Everything about it was great from the service to the rooms. We had a really great time. However, the second time we were there the hotel went down hill in every way. We were given warm drinks in small plastic disposable cups because they didn't have enough of the proper glasses. When I said that it's to hot to be drinking warm water and cokes etc they said we don't have any ice or cold drinks and deal with it. I then and there decided to never go back to this hotel. I asked the manager of what happened to this great hotel and he said I keep on telling the managers about all of these problems but they never listen to me and asked me to write a review of all the points I discussed with him so he could take it to his managers.

I've now stopped booking Amwaj and it's pretty sad because it's in an excellent location close to shops, supermarket, bank, pharmacy etc... Also we all got very very ill due to lack of hygiene but it was blamed on change of weather which is in my opinion bull as I spent most of my life in hot countries and visited many but never got sick. So be careful. If you are thinking of going to Amwaj take your own cups and ice :-).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paoloucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nabq Bay hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Amwaj Sharm. Ok not really a 5 star but overall we all ahd a brilliant holiday. Yes the russians were rude,loud and arrogant but just ignore them. All the staff we found to be helpful and pleasant especially if we showed manners befiiting the English ( a please and thank you go a long way ) even to the point of making sure that we were served first before the queue of russians. The rooms were a good size and even though the hotel was a little tired everything was keep clean. The food was excellent for such a big hotel and none of us succumbed to a bad belly.The entertainment was average but with so much to enjoy around the local area going out was a pleasure as there are a lot of shops and bars within easy walking distance. Looking forward now to returning for another relaxing holiday there.

Room Tip: Get a room about halfway to the end of the hotel wings.That way you will have a peaceful time away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidB1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed E, Front Office Manager at Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing Governor Amwaj and taking the time to write your lovely comments on Trip Advisor. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and are grateful for your feedback . We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2014

came home 3 weeks ago had a good holiday rooms nice and all staff very friendly and nice but animation team were only interested in asking u too go to nightclubs all the time would go back again hopefully better animation staff

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherinemoffatw1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed E, Front Office Manager at Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing Governor Amwaj and taking the time to write your lovely comments on Trip Advisor. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your feedback. We take all our guest comments seriously to ensure we maintain our high standards. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2014

After booking then reading the recent reviews we were a bit worried about what to expect and immediately upgraded to the sultan package after the first day in the main restaurant. The food there was ok but atmosphere was poor. We felt food and service in Sultan and English restaurants were a vast improvement, no bad stomachs! always a bonus!. The beach was clean and snorkelling was brilliant, always got a decent sunbed. I would recommend the Soweto bar for evening drinks, always a good crowd and great service. All the staff seemed to work hard but the animation team are real stars, the hours they keep going with constant smiles is amazing, in particular the new English girl (Lauren) really polite and a credit to the hotel. We will return soon and hope to see you all again, it wouldn't be the same without you

Room Tip: Upgrade to Sultan Package, well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaddyCool1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed E, Front Office Manager at Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing Governor Amwaj and taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor. We are grateful for your comments and suggestions and will be looking into the points you have raised to maintain our standards. We are extremely please you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had a very interesting stay at amwaj there was really good points but a few not so good there are many Russians and some of the food in main restaurant we did not like but the English restaurant was brill and we ate in there for most of the holiday! The hotel is a little bit tired but I think they are working on making it better! The bar staff are all amazing especially Ali he was very friendly and helpful! The animation team are all brill and live up to the name 5 star animation, they do many activities everyday they work very hard we especially enjoyed spending time with lauren a very fun girl who was always chatting with us and making sure we were having a good holiday and crazy Charlie who was always making us laugh when we spoke with him! We also enjoyed the snorkelling here and went on a boat trip that is well worth it! They have a very good spa were we went for a massage and would highly recommend! All in all it was a good hotel and holiday for a week in the sun to relax.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthayden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed E, Front Office Manager at Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing Governor Amwaj and taking the time to write your lovely comments on Trip Advisor. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
1.2 mi away
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Re...
#93 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
14.2 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#3 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
1.0 mi away
Rehana Royal Beach Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Xperience Kiroseiz Parkland
Xperience Kiroseiz Parkland
#58 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort

Property: Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort
Address: Nabq Bay | Nabq Bay Sharm El Sheikh, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 57, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amwaj Resort & SPA – is a 5 star luxurious Hotel & Resort, located on a sprawling 400 meters long private sandy beach that is, offering comfortable accommodation and leisure facilities with fascinating rooms and suites, all boasting magnificent sea views. Our Resort features a selection of fine Restaurants and Bars, Swimming Pools, Beach, Shopping arcade, and well equipped Health Club & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay
Amwaj Oyoun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing