We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sharm Grand Plaza
Nearby Hotels
$39
$38
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$60
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$90
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Parrotel Aqua Park(Nabq Bay)(Great Value!)
$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$94
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,672)
Filter reviews
4,672 results
Traveler rating
2,334
1,393
600
219
126
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,334
1,393
600
219
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluna baranimation teamduty managerrelaxing holidaypastaspecial thanksmain restaurantbeach barcoral reefkids clubheated pooljettysharmtippoolsentertainmentsunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
2,661 - 2,666 of 4,672 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2010

I spent 3 days in haven, the best time i ever had since a long time. The hotel is gorgeous with splendid & very clean cosy rooms with all the facilities needed, gorgeous swimming pools and so lovely beach with corals everywhere , restaurants with a big variety of delicious food . The staff are pleasant , especially Mr Attia director of housekeeping, so friendly & helpful always there for u . Sameh the lifeguard on the beach nice & taking care of everyone at the marina. The chef at the restaurant Hani and mahmoud and Essam the waiter meeting people with a big smile , taking care of all people around and they make me feeling at home . I didnt stop snorkelling for hours enjoying every bit of it. I will never ever forget my wonderful holiday at sharm grand plaza , wish to return for another holiday. I fell in love with this place.Thanks for all the staff whom made my staying so special .

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shashou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHG, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2010

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing Sharm Grand Plaza Resort. We also thank you very much for your time conveying your valuable comments, and we are delighted to know from you that our resort facilities and staff manners were at your expectation and satisfaction.

Thank you very much and we are indeed looking forward to welcome you again to Sharm Grand Plaza Resort.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I did not want to go to Sharm El Sheikh. Having seen the BBC Secret Tourist I took rubber gloves and some cleaning items disinectant etc etc. I didn't need it at all..
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, my husbnad carries a white cane, so Ramadan [I kid you not] one of the waiters did everything in his power to making our visits to the restaurants as pleasurable as possible. My thanks also go to Shahenda, who was also very kind as was the waiters manager [Halithorn?]. The restaurants were all very clean. The food was also very good. I did hgave a stomach upset but my husband didn't! even though we had eaten the same thing. The best remedies are the local ones, see Mr Wonderful at the Luna Bar, or try either the local mint tea or the Beduoin Tea.
Our air conditioning broke down, it was repaired within hours. We did have a room change only because it was situated above Ninos' Bar and some other guests were attending a convention which lasted well past 11pm. Both rooms were very spacious, clean, comfortable and the room boys were very good.
The hotel covers quite a large area with a special children's pool and two other large ones. To get a prime sunbathing area with an umbrella you do need to be up and about before 10ish.
The sea is beautifully clear and you do need to take care when going swimming in the sea, make sure you wear some plastic shoes because of the stones. Swimming of the jetty is fine and they do close it when the weather is bad [sea is rough].
The grounds are beautiful and are sprayed daily for mosquitos.
There are some shops on the complex, we visited all but one of them and discovered that the hotel insists that they must all sell quality goods [even if they are copies of designer bags etc], nor are they allowed to hassle the guests, like they do outside the hotel, they can invite you in and be polite. I bought jewellery, a pair of silver earrings, which i'm very pleased with. We got to know the owners of the Papyrus shop, general gift shop and the perfume shop quite well. all of whom were very pleasant the fragrances in Arabian Nights are, in our opinion, very good and Ibrahain [aka Aladin] is a gem. You can also bargain in the hotel shops, but do make a reasonable offer.
If we had a problem it was with some of the other guests, the Russians and the Poles, unfortunately the majority of them are extremely rude, they do not know the words please and thank you. Apparently October is a popular month for them to go on holiday.
What we really liked is that all the entertainment stopped at 11pm which meant that we got a great night sleep every night. We slept really well.
As for adviice be polite to the staff it pays dividends.
Would I go back, yes, without a doubt.
I will also give some advise re Sharm El Sheiks airport, the toilets are dreadful, take some antiseptic hand wash/wipes for your hands and if possible some dettol/antiseptic wipes for the toilet seats, door handles and counter tops. Also drinks etc are expensive and the rate of exchange is very very poor. The Duty free shop is also expensive in comparison to UK airports.
I hope this helps and that you enjoy yor holiday as much as we did, oh by the way there are plenty of ramps for pushchairs, so child friendly and all the staff are very good with them . Some of the ramps are too steep for wheelchairs however I have no doubt that the staff will do everything in their power to assist you.
We did do a few trips which generally speaking are expensive, but if you can't snorkel then the glass bottom boat is for you. The Stars/Beduoin night was for us one of the highlights. If you are interested in the stories of the Old Testament then go to St Catherines.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BranstonLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHG, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sharm Grand Plaza Resort. We thank you as well for your time posting your valuable comments, and we are delighted to know that our resort facilities and staff manners were at your expectation and satisfaction.

We do assure you that your suggestions will be taken into consideration and our General Manager will extend them to the Airport Manager once he meets him again on the Hygiene issue. Your comment on other guests is well taken, however this is almost beyond our control.
Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you again to Sharm Grand Plaza Resort.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

When we arrived at the Grand plaza the staff were welcoming and helpful, we were given a room quite out of the resort and asked to change there was no hassle in changing or rearranging our suitcases to be sent to another room. It cost a bit extra but was defiantly worth it for the sea view and location right near the Luna bar and pool.
The location of the hotel was great it was right near La Strada which we liked best and only 10 minutes to Nama bay and 20 to old market. Also it’s about 15 minutes from a great beach called Sharks bay which is one of the best places to go snorkelling and it has other water sports available.
The food was good neither of us got ill once and we even occasionally had ice in our drinks if we had a cocktail.
The bar staff, waiting on staff and general staff for cleaning etc were really nice actually they liked to joke and are really friendly which made our stay even better.
The hotel itself was really secure there was security on the gate 24/7 and they always check for a band on your wrist. We felt completely safe.
Our favourite part of the holiday was the animation team especially Marco and Juiliano, they were really funny energetic and included everyone which was really nice. The activities made our days more interesting and left us some good memories and photos. The night time show was like nothing we have ever seen before! You should definalty watch at least one. But we wish there was abit more entertainment in the evening like games or dancers as we were abit bored from 10:30pm onwards.
All in all our holiday was really good we would go back to grand plaza if we went back to Egypt the hotel is clean, secure, the staff are lovely, the food is good and varied and the pool and beach areas were great we never had to fight for a sunbed even if it was 12pm.

Hope this helps we’ve added some pictures.

Barbie Emilie and Andy xxxx

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy-Emilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHG, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2010

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Sharm Grand Plaza Resort and for taking the time conveying your valuable comments. We are delighted to know from you that our resort facilities and staff manners were at your expectation and satisfaction.
Your comments are well received and we would like to inform you that as of December we will have a total new Entertainment concept with more focus on English Guests, also there will be a Cuban Duo who over and above will teach Latin dancing in order to increase the guest satisfactions.
Thank you very much and we are indeed looking forward to welcome you again to Sharm Grand Plaza Resort.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

when we first got to GP we were very happy with what we saw!
i honestly didnt believe that we could stay on the resort all holiday and with the exception of a couple of tours... we did!

the local beer is very good and the snorkling on the beach is also unbelievable...

the down side to this holiday is only to say that, the beach is like walking on glass so keep your flip flops on at all times. Also every man and his dog will try to sell you something at least 20 times a day. (we did actually see and english couple with their own sign saying 'NO HAWKERS' and it just about worked.)

there are hundreds of russians polish and italians... so much so, that the english were very much the minority.

also, everything is done in either english £ or the euro so its very confusing if youve changed all you money because even the locals dont know how much things are in Egyptian pounds.

there really isnt much to do in the way of evening entertainment as its mostly done in italian so except for laughing when everyone else does the amphitheaters are kind of wasted on english speakers.

The last down side to this holiday is... the food is horrendous! e.g. on the Indian buffet night the only thing that resembled curry was boiled lamb and somehow they managed to make left over french toast into and 'italian speciality'....... Also if you're a wine drinker, then you can only do this is the resturant as they done put wine at any of the AL bars outside.

all in all, if you dont mind having a dodgy stomach and you want some blistering heat, then egypt is the place to go! if you want to try some amazing local food and and meet friendly people with a good sense of humor you're probably best sticking with a B&B in yorkshire!

i may have given this place a bit of stick but, i only wanted to snorkle and get some sun so it was a good holiday for me and i would go back again and i would recommend it, but there were a couple of surprises that probably hadnt been thought through by the management team.

p.s. the Russians Also get their own partty opposite the main reception on the grass because they spend and drink so much, so sometimes it can get quite loud!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon_at_sharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Just arrived back from this hotel and we were not dissapointed
The 1st person we met at reception was Sayed, who greeted us with a smile and was very helpfull throughout are whole stay, he would go out of his way to make sure we were happy with everything.
On arrival to our room, we were pleased to see 2 double beds, a large balcony with a pool/sea view, mini fridge, air conditioning which did work well, nice big bathroom with shower and a free safe in the room, a little short of clothe's hanger space, but overall very happy with the room.
The nationalities of the hotel were approx 70% Italian, the remainder being British, Polish, Russian, German, this did not bother us, as all the animation team and hotel staff speak very good English and did not leave us out of any entertainment on offer.
Speaking of the annimation team Marcus and Juliano deserve a mention for their hard work during the daytime, getting people to take part in volleyball, water aerobics, darts, table tennis etc and generally working hard to help people have a good time.
There are 2 main restaurants the palmera and the riviera which was the bigger of the 2 and we ate in there most of the time as there semmed to be more space and choice
On top of that there is the grill house which also served good food, although always seemed to be a little hectic in there
We also booked the Alacarte fish restaurant one evening which was less than £50 for 2 meals with starters and a bottle of wine and a couple of beers, Osman did a good job of looking after us
The pool bar also serves snacks from about 12 till 5 with a bit of variety, so not bad
In a nutshell, there is food available from 7 am to 10 pm, far to much for us but always something to take your fancy
The grounds and the pools are lovely and kept very clean and the private beach is very pleasant, although sand shoes are advisable, there are an abundance of sunbeds on both the beach and around pools, so no need to get up at silly hours and reserve.
There are 2 main pool bars and a beach bar and there seemed to be 2 sides to the hotel, we were on the reception/beach side of the hotel where we thought it was lively, however i dont think i would of been happy if we would of been placed on the area outside of reception as i had the distinct feeling you are very much left out of the action,
we took a trip to this pool bar (Neno bar) one evening and found it to be very drab and dark due to the very poor lighting and without any atmosphere, needless to say we did not stay there
We spent most of our evenings at the Luna bar, which was also poorly lit, which i mentioned to the management on the cocktail evening, the next night candles were placed on all the tables and they said they were looking to improve the lighting in the near future
There is also one further bar in the lobby area which is payable and not included in the all inclusive which is a shame because it has a lovely terrace area outside which was empty all of the time, i sugested to them they should include this bar in the all inclusive until 11pm and then make it payable after that.
Internet access is available in the recetion area at £5.00 for a half hour and £7.50 for an hour
Unlike another hotel i went to in Egypt you dont feel obliged to tip at this hotel, however remember the staff are very friendly and work long days 7 days a week, so a little appreciation goes a long way

If i was being really fussy:
My wife and i a partial to a glass of wine and this is only served in the main restaurants during meal times and not at the bars
We were invited to a cocktail evening with the hotel manager, who did greet us and then he has his understudies to ask your opinions of the hotel, they are only interested in what you think can be improved which is a good thing, and i also like the way the manager reads these reviews and replies to them as he clearly wants to improve the hotel.
Finally i could not leave this review without naming the employee of the month to Mamdouh at the Luna bar who was always smiling, very friendly, made us laugh a lot and nothing was to much trouble for him and he manages the bar very well with the help of Mohamed, so thank you both
Also thank you to Ahmed at the pool area
Book this hotel, you will not be dissapointed

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevandvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHG, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2010

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Sharm Grand Plaza Resort. We also thank you very much for your time conveying your valuable comments, and we are so glad to know that our resort facilities and staff manners were at your expectation and satisfaction.

Rest assured that your valuable comments will be taken into consideration, during Monday Management Cocktail we informed you that we are going to improvement the lighting by Nino and Luna pools, this is now under installation. So the low lighting had been done on purpose to create a romantic candle light affair. Also be informed that we have a Pub under planning to have an air-conditioned Bar available by next year winter period.
Thank you very much and we are indeed looking forward to welcome you again to Sharm Grand Plaza Resort.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews