We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was better last year but we still had a good time.”
Review of Sharm Grand Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sharm Grand Plaza
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hotel was better last year but we still had a good time.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A return visit from last year. We had a great time but we do have some areas that the hotel needs to pick up on.

I'm going to be quite thorough, due to the fact it is a return visit and in case people are going to return to the hotel with certain expectations, like we did.

Rooms were always clean, the hotel tries really hard putting different types of food on the menu, it does get repetitive but that's what is expected in AI, entertainment in the day was better than last year and they have improved the gym.

Start with the positives and the places to go outside the hotel - The Union Jack bar/Jive bar across the road are really good places to go for non-local drinks with friendly staff, Magic Tours across the road are by far the cheapest place to go to book an excursion and Mohammed looked after us to ensure we had a good time. We worked out that we saved over £100 just by booking with Magic Tours - Thank you for our amazing swimming with dolphins and water park day trips! Mohammed took plenty of photos for us and was great having our very own personal photographer.

I wouldn't buy crisps/pop/water across the road as they charge an absolute fortune in the mini markets and they have no price stickers on. If you turn right and walk about 5 minutes past the roundabout, there is a hypermarket (blue building) that is cheaper and has the price on all items, including some souvenirs. If you walk about 10 minutes further, you'll come across TGI, McDonalds, KFC, Hard Rock Cafe, Chinese restaurant, Onions Italian Restaurant and another good British pub 'The 3 Crowns' which had lovely steak. If you don't want to walk 15 minutes, you can pick up a taxi outside the hotel by flagging them down and get it for £3. £5 and £8 is definitely too much (as you can get a taxi to the airport for £5) tell them that you've always got a taxi for £3 - 30 Egyptian and they’ll listen to you.

The waiters - especially Sameh in the Riviera restaurant were brilliant. Sameh was attentive at all times (without tip). We tipped him on our last day after 17 days of being catered for, as he deserved it. We stayed mainly on the beach as it was quieter, and all staff at the beach bar, were also very friendly without tip (despite prior comments from people that they were not). Ramadan, Mohammed Ali and Ahmed actually made our holiday and definitely deserved their tips at the end of our holiday. Unfortunately, after some positive feedback I made to the hotel about how fantastic they were, they decided to move them to the restaurant and replace them, which was definitely a poor management decision as it made us feel deflated to no longer see their cheerful faces and friendly demeanor by the bar. Luckily we only had 2 days left.

Another area which management need training/development is communication as there seems to be none. Luckily we understand with the current situation in Egypt, the hotel and resort is quieter (which is a shame as there are no problems at all around Sharm) but to close certain areas of the hotel and not inform us by letter or phone call is very poor. We spoke to another couple who had been informed and received vouchers for free a la carte.

We were disappointed to learn that the hotel had catered more for the Italians this year as they had apparently spent more money. The grill bar was open last year to eat at and was one of our favourites. We were disappointed that it was only open for the Italians this year. Last year the club was included in the AI but was not this year and tried to charge £11 for 2 drinks - we walked out.

It was also a shame that the hotel didn't play music in the evenings. Considering how quiet the resort was, it would have been better to put on upbeat music by the Luna bar, as the only entertainment were the children's shows outside the Riviera and the music coming from Rixos hotel.

Apart from certain areas that need improvement and training, we had a fantastic time. We just had higher expectations because we’ve already stayed here. The names mentioned above certainly made our holiday and without them, the hotel may not have received such a good rating.

We will definitely visit again as the friendly staff who go out of their way to ensure your holiday is special, make this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dolphin Suite with sea view was in the middle of the beach and reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Joanne S
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our resort and we are glad that our staff and service met your expectations , however we are regret to know that you had some negative comment and we would like to draw your kind attention for this points, regarding to the change some of the staff at the beach bar to be informed that we do that subject to our needs in some areas as well due to rash time at the main restaurant as we need to ensure that all guest had a perfect service without delay , for the communication to be informed that we do our best to deliver all information to the guest through our hotel guide however accept our apology if there was missing information and we will try to avoid this in the future , for the grill house to be informed that tha Italian have a separate agreement with us as they have a private restaurant and club, obviously the rates are also very much different. As a business we must ensure that there are also positive results however we do shifted that Grill in this restaurant to be available in both of Plamera and Riviera , for the entertainment to be informed that we put this issue in our consideration and we will update it to be available during the whole week to avoid this comment , We are very proud for your continuous loyalty and trust, and thank you to be part of the ever growing Sharm Grand Plaza

Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,039
    1,298
    576
    209
    120
See reviews for
1,427
1,574
80
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Watton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Plaza the first 2 weeks of August. We were in Coral block, ground floor over looking the 'quiet pool' and the room was very clean and tidy. The staff at the hotel from the minute we checked in to the minute we checked out were always helpful and friendly (some more friendly than others depending if you'd tipped them or not!) and the entertainment team were good too, stopping by our balcony for a chat every night as they walked that way to their rooms.

Had read many a horror story about food at the hotel but found that there was always something we could eat at meal times. A couple of times our 10yr old went without eating but this is due to him being fussy rather than the food on offer! As with all AI holidays we have been on I did find the food got a bit repetative in week 2 but for about £8 you could jump in a taxi into town where there were several restaurants (Hard Rock Cafe, TGI Fridays, Chinese etc), pop to the bars opposite (Jive bar, Union Jack) or get McDonalds to deliver to the hotel if you fancied something different. We went on a couple of trips, glass bottom boat is a must for those with young kids, they'll love the sealife you see and sand buggies through the desert was great fun and reasonably priced too.

As with most other reviews there are a few gripes with this resort, the main one being guests from certain countries (Russia and Italy) seeming to have no manners at all and strolling round like they are royalty pushing to the front of queues or using your sunbeds whilst you're sat in the pool! Obviously this is nothing to do with the hotel but I guarantee you'll find your patience truly tested by some of them! The other issues I had were 1) the bar in the lobby not being all inclusive. A massive waste of space as absolutely nobody uses it and they serve the same drinks you get for free outside yet charge you??! 2) strangely in the evening entertainment area I was told that some drinks (mainly beer!) would be charged for. 3) WIFI access is about £7 per hour. In an age where most people have tablets/smartphones and stay in touch with home using these things or use internet banking etc you'd think that wifi could be a lot cheaper if not free (it is free at the bars across the road and all the places in town).

All in all we had a lovely time, our 2nd visit to Egypt, and will definitely be returning to the area in the future maybe even the same hotel. Would advise going to the Hard Rock Cafe for a meal, especially if you have a birthday or special occassion as they go the extra mile for you and across to Jive Bar as the lads that work there were brilliant especially with our son.

Room Tip: Ask for Coral block not Tiran as many have advised if you want a nice quiet relaxing holiday. The q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbp1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear mrbp 1981
Thank you for sharing your stay experience as usual with the other travelers and thank you for highly praising the hotel’s Employees, this is very much appreciated and gratify their constant efforts. regarding to the food to be informed that we serve more than 1000 person ( under normal circumstances) on daily basis and we have different nationalities which makes it a bit difficult to satisfy the different tastes during their stay However, if there are special requests we will always’ try to oblige, and to be informed that we have different theme buffet to be change on daily and we put in our plan to increase the variety to satisfy all guests, regarding to the different countries to be informed that we do understand that different nationalities have different cultures and perhaps we need to respect this, even if this is not easy at all times. as we are international hotel serving all people for the lobby bar to be informed that reason that the Lobby-bar is not included in all inclusive is that with the normally minimum 1200 guest in the resort the Lobby would become a railway-station, which would kill the atmosphere totally, for the internet our price is matching with the hotels at the same area however we put always this issue in our consideration as we have outside company handle this issue , again we would like to thank you for choosing our resort and hope to welcoming you again the nearest future

Warm regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Lovely clean hotel.
Most staff go out their way to make sure you have a great holiday.
Room large nice situation and in the area I requested.
Beautiful gardens,nice beach and amazing fish to be seen in the lagoon and off jetty.
Some room blocks are in front of the hotel not near pools etc as ours was.
Like to mention Rami the house keeper for room 1212, very friendly and did amazing towel decorations/art that our children loved.
Animation team really great our boys were kept entertained both day and night,they really make the Grand Plaza hotel,really happy and friendly all day long in the heat.
Like to mention Shahenda Gamal and Raed Abdel Hakeem in the restaurant,they spoilt us with their service to us.we gave them a tips during our stay they deserved it,
Food ok could always find something we liked,husband and I had a problem with our Tummys at times.
Also to mention is Hassom the duty manager he was so attentive and also front desk manager Adel.
Didn't like the fact that lobby bar not all inclusive.
Agree with others Luna bar staff not always happy except the lovely lad serving snacks always has a smile.
All in all a good holiday,boys are pestering us to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovemyhols_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear llovemyhols_12 ,
It is indeed a pleasure to read your review and particular that you have been satisfied. The comments of our guest will enable us to improve and we surely will look into your recommendations, of course a coaching season will take place with the Luna-bar staff. The reason that the Lobby-bar is not included in all inclusive is that with the normally minimum 1200 guest in the resort the Lobby would become a railway-station, which would kill the atmosphere totally.
we do hope that we will be able to welcome you again at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort in the near future.
Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Spent 10 nights in the Grand Plaza and was v impressed. The food was pretty good. Although its a buffet style all you can eat, they had many different options on every day so I dont know how you could struggle to find something that you liked.
The beach was great and the pools were buzzing every day, although there was a quieter pool if you just wanted to chill. Attendant on the beach (Mohammed Farouk) was an absolute legend. He really looked after us, and even put himself out to find me a first aid kit when i cut my hand on the coral. A big thank you to him.
The entertainment staff were always getting guests involved in things, but would not pester you if you just wanted to relax.
The bed rooms were clean and quite large. I would suggest that if you are going to Sharm then you should check it out. The Boat trips to snokel are a lot of fun and v peaceful, and we enjoyed quad biking in the desert. You should go to Soho square but unless you want to be hasseled i would avoid the old town.

thanks Grand Plaza for a lovely stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuM1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear StuM1977 ,
We are very pleased to read your positive remarks. The entire Sharm Grand Plaza team would like to thank you for this excellent review.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Was our first time to Egypt and we have booked to go back we loved it no dickie tummy a has we were told to expect food was lovely great choice and plenty although Russians very greedy why take more than you can eat and waste it there is plenty to go back and get some more they are also very rude to staff no need has staff are friendly and very helpfull very clean hotel and always cleaning excellent for snorkelling although you don't have to go into sea to see fish you can see from pier great holiday thank you to all

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebees123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Thebees123
On behalf of the entire Sharm Grand Plaza team I would like to thank you for this excellent feedback on Trip Advisor. Positive reviews do help tremendously in our motivation efforts for all employees.
We are indeed looking forward to welcome you again in the hopefully not so distant future.
Warm regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in Aug and the resort in nice and clean and our rooms 5111 and 5115 were nice and big for our group 5. Staff were nice and friendly and were always smiling and chatty. as you expect the weather is nice and hot and the pools are never crowded so you can cool down. The entertainment staff were brilliant and the guys around the mail pool bar were always chatty and bringing your drinks over to your beds. The young guy serving food and ice cream all days was by far the most happy person there.
Over the road from the resort are two bars, Jive bar and Union Jack bar. It was nice to have a change from the food in the resort and to stretch the legs. If you book a taxi you can get dropped off and picked up for 100 LE pounds ( £10 ish ) to mcdonalds ect.

Now for the negative stuff...

1. As an all inclusive hotel the lobby bar is not included and is a waste of space. Its always empty and should be included. This then would have given people a nice cool place to relax in the heat.
2. Russians and polish are very rude to both guests and staff.
3. My biggest moan would be the fact that the Italians had their own section of the beach, their own entertainment staff, their own restaurants and it felt like you were staying in their hotel. After a while you start to resent them. I thought hotels catered for everyone.
4. In the diner halls the tables were not cleaned quick enough and you ended up piling plates up on other tables and getting your own cutlery. Not what you expect from 5 star.

I would go back to Egypt but I would try a different resort. People are great and weather is fantastic. I think I may have been spoiled by Mexico last year and think all hotel managers should go there to learn how 5 star hotels should be....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Stephen B
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our resort and we are glad that our staff and service met your expectations , however we are regret to know that you had some negative comment and we would like to draw your kind attention for this points.
. The reason that the Lobby-bar is not included in all inclusive is that with the normally minimum 1200 guest in the resort the Lobby would become a railway-station, which would kill the atmosphere totally.
We do understand that different nationalities have different cultures and perhaps we need to respect this, even if this is not easy at all times.
The Italian have a separate agreement with their own chef’s, animation and restaurant in form of a club, obviously the rates are also very much different. As a business we must ensure that there are also positive results. The same applies with the Polish Operators as for those nationalities it is the way holiday’s are spend. We do seek your understanding.
We do hope that we will be able to welcome you again sometime in the future.
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

we came here last year, my wife I and my 11 year old son. we came back because of the staff they are the most helpful and polite people we have ever met, plus how clean the whole hotel is,from the minute we arrived to the minute we left we felt safe secure and happy, we stayed in the tiran block room 1310 the room was huge and very clean with a great view, we stayed at the nimo bar pool which was quiet but my son met lots of new friends and had lots of fun, last year the nuts bar was open just for the British and it was cold which was needed but this year it opened at 11 and no kids allowed, plus you had to pay for you beer, cant understand why the second week the hotel was half empty the trouble was a 8 hour drive away, Sharm will never get trouble, the staff Mohamed soad, ramy awad, sami, and waleed maghawry, and all the staff are great, our plane was delayed by 4 hours Mohamed soad sorted everyone out with transfers and extended rooms for free were would you get that, if you want holiday were you are totally happy this is the place to go, I am a fussy eater but I could find something to eat every day, could have more BRITISH food on, or make it a BRITISH hotel they would probably make more money and the staff would be made up, the staff love the English, the dislikes we had to come home, we normally don't go to the same place twice but we will be going back again next year.thanks

Room Tip: tiran 1310 family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEIL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear NEIL J ,
First of all we would like to thank you for returning to Sharm Grand Plaza Resort and that you have been fully satisfied as well as your trust in us to return again. On the issue of the N.U.T.S. bar, please be informed that we will look into this issue.
We are looking forward to welcome you again next year.
Warm regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
6.1 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,241 reviews
6.7 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#10 of 32 in Nabq Bay
799 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#21 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,116 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
2.3 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#7 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Grand Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Grand Plaza

Property: Sharm Grand Plaza
Address: El Salam Rd, 8 Km from Sharm Airport | P.O.Box 340 Sharm El-Sheikh, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#17 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sharm Grand Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 547
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly laid on the shores of the Red Sea, with private 300 meters long sandy beach, own stunning Coral reef, 90 meters away walk on the hotel own jetty, The Sharm Grand Plaza reflects peacfulness, tranquility and comfort.The one and only resort in Sharm featuring a 2 double queen size bed in all rooms "160 cm wide", Our aim is for you to relax and enjoy the wide range facilities of pools, entertainment and Dinning experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Sharm Grand Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm Grand Plaza Hotel Nabq Bay
Grand Plaza Hotel
Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Plaza Resort
Sharm Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing