We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday hotel”
Review of Sea Life Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Life Resort
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our family of 4 (incl 2 late-teens) arrived in Sharm on 7th July to temperatures in the high 30's. Ten minute transfer to Sea Life Resort (first stop for the bus) and check-in by the staff was quick and easy. We went with Cosmos on an all-inclusive but arrived too late for dinner (after 10.30 p.m.) so our 2 sons waited for the snacks to be rolled out at 1.00 a.m. - just sandwiches but they filled a gap in the middle of the night!
You get access to all the restaurants and bars in all the 3 Sea Group resorts on the same site - Sea Life, Sea Club and Sea Garden. Great variety of foods at each meal - breakfast was cooked, cereals, fruit, continental, juices, etc.; lunch and dinner was a choice from roasted meats (on different days beef, turkey, chicken), pasta, salad, breads, soup. Desserts were typically v.sweet cakes of different shapes and sizes and fruit (both in a fruit salad and individual). Dinners each evening had a different country's cuisine. There are also a-la-carte restaurants on iste - Lebanese, Italian,Tepanyaki and French. The pool bar served snacks during the day but was generally burgers, pizza and chips - great of that is what you want.
All the bars and restaurants had very friendly and helpful staff who spoke good English (and German, Russian and Italian). Water was served in bottles so better than some hotels we have stayed where we only got a cup at a time.
Plenty of sun loungers around the pool under umbrellas and even more on the beach where there was usually a bit more of a breeze off the sea. Not sure if that was because of the small number of tourists in Sharm/the hotel generally or just that the hotel has plenty of space. The gardens are lovely and well maintained.
Great snorkelling in the shallows just off the beach - take some rock/wet shoes to protect your feet. You don't need to be a swimmer to enjoy lots of fish species. Swimming in the sea off the jetty gives you a great view of the coral reef and even more fish.
Good animation team trying to get guests of all shapes and sizes to join in the pool and poolside activities including water polo and yoga. They were all working very hard.
Rooms were not 4- or 5- star luxury like you would expect in Europe but they were clean and tidy and made up every day with new linen and towels available every day if you asked for them. Lighting could be a bit better in the bathrooms and the aircon was a little noisy but very efficient and alomost essential for us soft Europeans.
The guys who came around the sun loungers selling diving, boat trips and salon treatments were a little annoying but were usually happy with a "no thanks" and walked away.
All in all, a great holiday hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. If we were the sort of people who go back to the same place lots of times, we would be happy to stay here again.
For Egypt first-timers, have lots of small denomination notes (LE 5, 10, 20) for tipping. Hotel staff never asked and never expect a tip like some of the airport and cafe workers but a little bit of cash to your cleaner or favourite bar staff/waiter during the week really makes them feel appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank UKBadger2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,276)
There are newer reviews for Sea Life Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

We went on a family holiday back in 2010. It was our first propa holiday and we really enjoyed. Good choice of food, our rooms always clean and bathroom always had fresh towels. Very impressed would live to go back but for some reason Thomas Cook doesn't deal with them anymore.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SezaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

This is the first time me and my partner have visited Sharm el Sheikh and Egypt and I must say it totally exceeded our expectations!

General- The staff were fantastic! Everyone from the gardeners (who keep the gardens looking beautiful and never seem to stop!), the cleaners, bar staff and, most of all, the restaurant staff were so helpful and friendly..once they found out we were English that is! I don't know how they keep so upbeat and helpful with all the ignorant Russians demanding everything all day long! They really are saints!

We were unsure as to what to expect with the salesmen but found them to be pleasant. After a simple 'no thanks' they left us alone and accepted we didn't want to do the trip/visit the beauty salon. They did continue to speak to us after this too, which sums up how lovely the Egyptian people are.

Food- The food was good. Some days much better than others but there was always something we liked! We ate once in the Sea Club and found it to be not a patch on the Sea Life restaurant. Also, we ate in the Lebanese restaurant once which was fantastic. We couldn't get into the Japanese restaurant in our ten day stay as it was full but it looked and smelt fantastic as we walked past.

The beach/pool- We weren't too bothered for the beach as the sea bed was very rocky and uncomfortable to walk on, but, the few times we did go, we were always able to find a bed.
As for the pool, we chose to cross the road and sit at the Sea Gardens pool as there were a lot more English than there was at the Sea Life. We were definately in a minority for the whole of our stay; outnumbered by the Russains and Ukrainians 99/1. This shows in all the evening entertainment shows and daytime activities!

Overall, we had a great stay in a lovely, well staffed hotel. Only negative would be the ignorance of other guests but this is no fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMerc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the sea life resort from the 10th may till 24th and we both agreed that are experience at this hotel (though not terrible!) was not as good as other resorts we have stayed at in egypt.
1st a quick overview of the resort, there are 3 separate hotels, they are sea life, sea club and sea gardens, sea life & club are nearest to the beach and stand along side each other while sea gardens is further back. You can use all the facilities of each of the hotels no matter which you are staying in. There are also 5 restaurants that are available to book once free of charge during your stay.
On arrival at our hotel which was sea life we were met by friendly staff and checked into our room quickly. Nothing to complain about there.
We were then shown to our room (1912) the room was big and nicely decorated, the bed was big and comfy and the bathroom had a MASSIVE walk-in shower but during our stay I noticed that the shower, although big was very dark as there is no lights directly over it and with closing the shower curtain this blocked out a lot of light, also our shower curtain/rail was not attached to the wall and kept falling down to then just be stuck back up with selotape wrapped around the ends! We did make the cleaner aware of this and he put it back several times himself but it was never rectified.
Apart from this our room was kept very clean and tidy and the cleaners do a great job!
On walking around the grounds you can see that it is all kept absolutely immaculate, the gardeners are always out in force keeping everything spotless.
As you can use all the facilities of each hotel we did try the pools of the sea life and sea club. All-in-all we preferred the sea club pool, as the pool is bigger and is quieter than the sea life pool. The only problem with the pools and the beach is the amount of pestering you get from all staff members trying to sell diving trips, snorkelling trips, boat trips, spa sessions, beauty treatments etc etc etc. In the end we got so fed up we started saying we had no money left and they soon left us alone!
Also the food served at the pool bar was always the same and i did notice may a time that there we flies landing on all the food they had out and the staff made no attempt to stop this, i know due to warm climates that these thing may occur but i would have liked to have seen some effort towards stopping it.
The beach was nice and there were lots of fish to see but I did not like the fact that you were allowed to walk right into the sea from the beach and walk all over the coral no staff stopped people doing this, people we also picking up the coral which I also think should have been stopped by the staff members. There was a jetty that you could use so why not use it!
One thing we really disliked at the hotel was the food in the main restaurants, they had different themes over a 10 day period but mostly the food seemed the same every night, half of it wasn't labelled and the other half was not cooked well (i noticed some of the meat was under cooked). Also it was very annoying trying to queue in these restaurants as the other guests didn't seem to understand the concept!
Even though the main restaurants we disappointing the other restaurants that you had to book were better. We ate at the teppanyaki, lebanese and Italian restaurants which were all nice, the only complaint we have here is that you had to book the restaurants between 12:30 & 14:30 in the sea club reception and you could only book 1 restaurant each time meaning you would have to go up there 5 times at least, i did not see a reason why you could not book all together.
Staying on the subject of food our best meals we eaten outside the sea life resort we decided to go out to nabq bay (la strada) which has a lovely chinese restaurant called peking, lovely food and good prices! the strip itself was long and holds many bars and shops. We also went to soho square twice as we have been there before and really like the area we ate at cafe chino and the indian called bombay both great meals!
(prices in taxi to soho £12 and to la strada £14)
Unfortunately those of you wanting to know details of the entertainment i can not provide much insight as most of the night entertainment is in russian. We were invited by one of the entertainment team (which consisted of nearly all russian members there was just one english girl.) to a music quiz game when we arrived it was mostly spoken in russian and it was hard to understand the game, after this we didn't really go back to the nightly entertainment.
I understand that they have to cater to the biggest group of people staying in the hotel which was Russians i would say 90% of the guests were russian but it would have been nice if other nationalities were catered for slightly better. (why invite us to the entertainment when the staff know it will be in russian!)
Overall we did have a nice holiday but if we compare with other experiences from egypt this was defiantly lacking

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank christina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Just returned from a fab 2 weeks in Sea Life the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble especially Ahmed in the lebonese restaurant and Alex and his team in the beauty salon. Can't wait to book up for my next trip

Room Tip: Rooms close to entertainment area will be noisier
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ingrid_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed at Sea Life between 1st May - 15th May, what a great hotel , it surpassed all the expectations we had. From the moment we arrived we were impressed by the genuine friendliness of all the staff at the hotel, from the waiters, chefs, cleaners, gardeners and bar/restaurant/pool staff.
The room (1821) we stayed in was spacious, spotlessly clean with a big comfy bed, a big walk-in shower and good decor. The hotel grounds are kept immaculate by the hard-working gardeners, we did not see one bit of rubbish anywhere around the various gardens.
The pool area is quite large, there always seemed to be a sunbed available even though the hotel seemed to be heavily populated with guests.
If there is one thing that the hotel falls down on, it is the quality of the food. It isnt BAD, but the variety does not seem to differ too much, and they have a problem with keeping some of the food hot, and some of the meats I discovered were not cooked through at times, therefore I suffered with an upset stomach a few times whilst there, one time quite bad lasting 3 days. Please dont forget to bring anti-diarrhoea tablets with you just in case, as we had to pay £20 for a 2 course treatment of tablets!
We ate at 2 of the specialized restaurants whilst we were there, the Lebanese restaurant El Diwana and the Japanese Restaurant, both were very good and have no hesitation on recommending them.
Another downside to the hotel, although we did not tend to let it affect our holiday, was the behaviour of some of the Russian guests. The hotel seemed to be 90-95% russian, and a good portion of them were rude to staff, arrogant, and ignorant. The staff deserved better than their abrupt, demanding behaviour and they also did not understand the concept of queuing at all, and also that you don't have to fill your plates 2 foot high with food at once, you can actually go back for more food if you want it. The amount of food wasted by them was disgusting. They also did not seem to tip at all either. How the staff manage to be polite in the face of all this whilst performing 12-14 hour shifts is beyond me, they deserve a medal. Apparently this is not just confined to this hotel, but we heard from other holidaymakers that this is the case in most hotels in Sharm. The entertainment shows and activities also caters for the russian guests so we tended not to bother too much with these
The beach is man-made with tons of sun beds, and the sea is great for snorkeling if a little rocky, and there are jetty's in which you can jump off deeper into the sea and see even more fish.
Overall, it's a nice hotel and deserves an 'excellent' rating solely on it's cleanliness and the friendliness and helpfulness of all staff, and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Bring anti-diarrhoea tablets with you just in case, medication is expensive to buy!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevo1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Last year we stayed at the Sea Club this year we stayed in the Sea Life hotel. The third hotel in the complex is mainly for families. We had a sea view room which was spacious and had large comfortable bed. Could do with a light in the shower as quite dark!

Grounds, gardens and water features all well kept and maintained.

Food good varied choice only let down by the fact they do not label vegetarian foods even though they were asked to and it is so easy to do so, so hit and miss whether you are going to get a mouth of squid or chicken! The chefs will come out to help you but are often confused in their descriptions. Food must be separated and marked i.e. V or N for nuts etc they just couldn’t understand. They also have little or no understanding of food separation techniques regularly using the same utensils for meat and non-meat and argued extensively when this was pointed out. They did not understand that vegetarians can get sick if infected with meat bacteria. Last year I explained this to the breakfast cook that using the same spoons for ham and vegetables was bad and they should use separate spoons which they quickly did. This year they were back to the same old behaviour and argued till I gave up eating from the egg section. On a number of occasions the chef would say all this is meat free but when I pointed some strange item out he would say it has chicken or beef in it. Hopeless! You can eat in any of the three hotels on the complex. Staff in any of the hotels very helpful some were a bit bad tempered and tutted a lot!!

Pool rather cold. Plenty of sun loungers and shade by the pool and on the beach front.

I joined the stretching and yoga classes but didn’t really see any of the entertainment.

You have to pay for the internet and we bought 90 minutes for $16 which we were supposed to be able to use in the room but it didn’t work at all in the 3 days we had the card for either in the room or in the lobby. Every time we asked about it they would say “it will be fixed in an hour”. The truth seemed to be something they were very unwilling to give when it meant returning money. When we were due to leave we asked for a refund but they were still insisting that it would work in one hour and refused ending up with nearly 20 minutes of arguments. Eventually they agreed to refund our $16 but only after calling the internet section thieves! You can access the internet on the PC’s in the lobby but this is not a safe or an option we wanted. I have to say that it was the same last April so they should look into changing their internet provider!

There are a lot of Russians in Egypt this year and I am afraid to say they are quite rude, very loud and don’t recognise queues!

Room Tip: had a sea view room but wind made sea quite noisy
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hawkeye9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
0.1 mi away
Sea Club Resort - Sharm el Sheikh
1.7 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
4.7 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#10 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,417 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Club Aqua Park & Spa
Sea Club Aqua Park & Spa
#12 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,607 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Life Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Life Resort

Address: Bay of Nabq, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: $124 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Life Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Life Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Life Hotel Nabq Bay
Sea Life Nabq
Sea Life Resort Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing