We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel, Great Value, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel, Great Value, Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

This is the 2nd year we have stayed at the Royal Albertros moderna and really cant fault it again.

The weather in egypt was over 100F every day but because of the excellent location of this hotel right on the beach, there was a good breeze every day to cool people down.

The hotel itself has had some improvement from last year, a new italian restaurant with fresh pasta and pizza every night, a new front to the existing restaurant with new bar and snack area. Improvement to alacarte resturant as well, which how houses both thai and sushi specialities (additional cost but excellent!) Which only improve the hotel further.

The staff are so friendly, Sharky in the beach bar is the pick of them all, he is so good with children and really makes your stay special

After some arguement about our room we eventually got a pool facing room on the ground floor (recommend you get this because there is building work going on next to hotel)
Rooms are cleaned every day, and are spotless, safety deposit boxes are available at reception for every room.

The only downside to the hotel is the situation over the sun beds, with nearly everyone reserving sunbeds before 8am, and the management not doing enough to stop this. The pool guards are on the take as well and can be bought to reserve your beds every day for about 10 egyptian pounds!

Entertainment wasnt world class, but was enough as we found it nice to simply chill and have a few drinks and were in bed most nights by 12am! (the beach party on the tuesday was the exception and this was excellent with some top tunes pumping out!!)

I would not recommend the kids club and we wont say anymore about that the english girl who as there last year has gone and it didnt seem to be as organised as last year , although the mini disco was great for the kids and ours really enjoyed this

We booked a course of massage which was excellent, and well priced, and did a few excursions again through Sharm Excursions who were excellent. Cairo, scuba diving, quad bikes all were excellent!

All in all, i cannot fault this holiday again the location is excellent for those who want to relax and are happy to stay on the complex.

I would recommend it to all, and would not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolStevelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,915
    1,679
    639
    227
    148
See reviews for
2,483
2,409
99
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,567)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

Great food...(buffet style...enough food there to end world famine!) great service, great rooms and great entertainment!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zabairh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanberis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

yes the glasses are small.. but tip the bar guy and they get big..
no sunbeds.. there are if you look we got up at 9 every day and found beds no problem..
food .. there are loads of different places to eat and these places are what you make them . yes some did look like dog food.. but trust me they tasted great.. there were chips at lunch so all you had to do was find beef,chicken,veal,turkey,fish,burgers or if you really didn't feel brave enough fresh hand made to order pizza / pasta. there was salt and pepper on the table so seasoning was up to you...
Drinks.. all the wines are very good if a little small but if you ask with a smile there was no problem getting a tall glass..All the spirits tasted the same... but who cares in a cocktail..lol beer was better than I've had in cuba,turkey or greece.

tips...Take pound coins and £5 notes tip with the coins .. and then the guys can swap the coins for the £5 notes so they can convert the notes to local money.
change any large egypt notes to 5's and 10's as these are good for tipping and if you give big notes to the taxi guys you won't get change...
only use blue and white taxis they are real..

be nice to the guys in the town who try to get you in the shops (and they try hard) they are just trying to make a living.. don't be rude theres no need .. just say no thanks a few times .

I'd say take cash not travelers checks as there are only 2 places in town that will change them (HSBC next to macdonalds. and thomas cook main road) these have odd opening times that don't tie in with the hotel bus service.

lastly we had a great holiday , it was spotlessly clean great service from the rep Kareem and the rest of the staff . beach was good .. sea amazing .. go on the sand buggies they are brill , holidays are what you make them

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leesmallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harlow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

Having just returned from this hotel I have very mixed feelings. On arrival we had booked a transfer from the airport to the hotel, my partner and I played a game on the way grading each one out of ten and before we even knew it was ours this was the only one we gave a ten. Also having taken the trip to the water park we passed many hotels and from the outside even the marriot and hilton in Naa'ma bay did not compare.

At check in we were delighted to be greeted with a friendly welcome and a cool towel (well appreciated after a long journey) and a glass of fresh cold juice. We felt this was a lovely gesture and the hotel still seemed above average. We were shown to our room and although it was rather small compared to the ones we had seen online it had great air conditioning and a pool view and as we were literally going to be just sleeping in the room we werent fussed as to size. It was very clean and bed was very comfortable.

On the second evening of our stay things started to go wrong, work started on tiling the patio by the pool (2 metres from our back door) and all we could hear was drilling and tile cutting and we could not sleep, we visited reception several times to complain and finally they called the work off at 2.30am - we felt that this was wrong as we had come away to relax we did not want to be kept up by this horrible noise. Reception advised us that as the hotel was now 5 years old some updating was necessary and that the works would continue every night for the rest of our stay so they offered us the opportunity to change rooms which we accepted (they could not do this in the night as the hotel was full but they did so the next morning as soon as the opportunity arose). The next day at 10am they changed our room and arranged a meeting with the guest services manager who apologised and offered us a free late chekout, VIP minibar for the rest of our stay and 50% off the fish restaurant.

We checked into our new room and was very pleased with the location as it overlooked the active pool. However, the back door did not lock and we had no hot water. We called reception and advised them of the problem, they said they would send an engineer in 10 minutes. The engineer for the back door arrived 3 hours later and the engineer for the hot water did not arrive until about 6 hours later and we had made several calls to reception as we were waiting to get changed an do out for dinner. They fixed these problems for us in the end and the next day we arrived home to find a fresh basket of fruit (so the hotel do try their best to please and if you complain politely you will be listened to).

Thouroughly enjoyed the daytime activities and the animation team were fantastic - really got to know the guests and tried to engage everyone, but those who did not want to join in were not forced. The activities were great, but were at the same time every day, so not much variety. The evening entertainment was a show for about an hour (by the animation team) this was very enjoyable. We tended to go to bed at 10.30when the show ended as although the hotel had a disco we were the only two in it apart from saturday night.

The snorkelling was amazing and was definintely one of the best experiences of my life. We had 5 days of white flag (calm sea), one of red (windy sea - ok for strong swimmers) and one black (do not swim). If you do go snorkelling make sure you buy the proper shoes that available in the hotel shop - the hotel recommend them and I would consider them necessary as the corals are sharp.

We took an excursion to the Aqua park one day and paid £30 each. Do not go - this is a con - we were taken to another pickalbatros hotel over an hours drive away (we were told it would be half an hour at most) and it had 12 adult slides - not what I would consider a water park and the annoying thing was although it was pickalbatros we were still expected to pay for drinks (lunch and one drink was included). The Aqua Park had a two hour power cut (which apparently happens every day because the hotel cannot identify the reason. All the slides were out of action during this time. Waste of money.

My partner did quad biking but he said it was too slow as you had to stay in line.

My next point is the food, breakfast was ok, the pancakes were delicious and a real life saver for me as I really did not like the local egyptican food (the pancakes are open 4pm til 6 and then again they open for an hour and a half from 9.30pm). The food other than that was awful and not much choice - most nights was boiled beef or chicken and rice in the mediteranean restaurant. In the Italian it was mostly food cooked in unappetising sauces, pasta or really uninteresting looking pizza (you could choose from 3 topping - one of which being cheese!). The egyptian food is very over spiced with Cumin and it is a very overbearinbg taste, basically both me and my partner returned to England hungry as we did not eat much of the food at all. The other restaurant basically served, a mix of one or two indian or chinese dishes, but not what you would expect here in the for example uk as they had for example minced meat naan bread - most unusual.

Glad I went to experience the snorkelling but would not return to Egypt - from the sounds of it with discussions with other tourists at the airport tey all had the same problems with the food choices, most people had bad stomachs, I was fortunate not to get this but did not eat any fruit or salad during trip as it is all washed in local water - would advise any traveller to do the same.

I would also note that by Egypt standards this hotel probably is 5* but here in the UK it would be 3*+ at a maximum.

You get alot of hassle from people walking around the sunbeds all day trying to sell you things after day 2 we realised the only language they didnt speak was greek so we made up the words as we went along and told them we were from Athens - this got rid of them very easily as they speak most languages (English, French, Russian, Polish, Italian and spanish) but no Greek - would advise others to do this to get peace!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ria12314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

We stayed here from end of June for 2 weeks and were delighted with our choice, after spending months chosing a hotel!! Travelled with my sister and my two 8 year old girls and we had a great time!

Cleanliness of the rooms and hotel are great, food choices and restaurants were far better than we had anticipated. Great that water was left in room each day too!! We also had room service which was lovely!! Thai and Sushi Restaurant is a must, went there on our last night the service we received was great and the food was perfect!! Mohamad and his team really made you feel welcome. Although we encountered many happy / helpful staff the 'Welsh' waiter (sorry didn't right down his name but it was his little joke that he came from Wales!) from the little beach bar really deserves to be mentioned, always happy, chatty but not overbearing and ready with a soft drink when you came out of the water!! The staff work really hard but still managed to smile when we did witness rudeness from some guests. The hotel is fantastic for children, pool areas great, beach great, snorkling by the jetty a must!!

We did 3 excursions: Cairo by air which was an amazing experience, though no air con in the museum was just too much for 2 of us, but pyramids and nile experience definately worth it!! Snorkling in national park - fantastic, girls loved it and the divers and crew couldn't do enough to make sure they were happy and safe! Star Gazing including camel ride - this trip was a bit disappointing but only as far as the information we were given was that the girls would be strapped onto each of us, this was not the case, single seats on camels, cushions at rear where the girls were supposed to cling on for dear life!! I refused to let them do it, one ended up so scared that I took her back on the bus, the other though went on her own camel and had a great experience!! The rest of the evening was good though and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!!

Girls went to kids club about 4 times and although mainly Russian and Polish children there Laura made my girls more than welcome and made sure they were not left out, she became they're hero as she did with many others which you witnessed during the kids disco when they were all pushing to dance and sit near her!!

Overall, couple of small niggles but certainly nothing to ruin a holiday and would most definately return to this hotel if decided to go back to Egypt.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HighlandsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

nice hotel for familys with children i was there 2 years again and i come back this year again they build a lot of new stuff... the staf is very friendly and they allways try to make the guests happy... special mario and sharky.. they allways try to make u happy if u need some special dink or food or need some informations about any place to go they try to give it to u. the only thing which i really dont like to see is how the management treat her people... the beach is not so nice but u got many poolareas which u can use the food is good and u got a lot of different stuff to choose...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank connald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

My 4th visit and another great holiday. The hotel is clean and impressive and the staff are so helpful and friendly. They just can't do enough for you especially my friend Saed Hemdany in the terrace bar. The choice and quality of food is really good in all of the restaurants throughout the hotel. There is to be another restaurant added next year along with an adult water park which will make this hotel even better

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
0.7 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,143 reviews
12.6 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
10.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#2 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,990 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#19 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,045 reviews
10.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Property: Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004, the 5* resort has a dream location on the golden sandy beach on the new hotel zone of Nabq Bay, facing coral reefs in the crystal clear waters of the Red Sea, and the shipwrecks of the nearby Straits of Tiran. The main building and the attached two-storey building are surrounded by resplendent gardens extending down to the beach. This elegant all inclusive resort is only 12 km from Sharm El Sheikh Airport, and 20 km from the famous Naama-Bay.Whether you're celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon, planning a family vacation in Sharm El Sheikh or just wanting to get away from it all, Royal Albatros Moderna is the perfect place for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albatros Moderna Hotel Nabq Bay
Calimera Royal Moderna
Calimera Moderna Beach
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El-Sheikh Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing