We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2009

Spent 5 nights at the hotel. We had booked two rooms but when they saw we arrived with two young children they put us in a family suite - a really nice big modern room, with separate bedroom for us.

The food is perfectly fine - the salads were excellent - we particularly liked the freshly prepared pizzas and the freshly cooked food stations. Like all buffets we seemed to spend alot of the meal time collecting food and not enough time sitting and talking - but it was fine with kids. If you tip the waiters they are happy to bring drinks - but they really are busy - there are about 1,400 guests for each meal and not really that many staff (which is why the prices are so reasonable). The staff are very friendly though if you take the time to chat, maybe a bit fed up with the Russians and Germans (and rude Brits?) Dont bother with the seafood market - the seafood is really bad and not worth paying for (better fish in the restaurant). If you want a special meal you will have to go out of the hotel.

the drinks selection is very limited - no way to buy better drinks - the beer is good and easy to drink- wine is BAD - and the cocktails a good way to cover up the rough local spirits. NO TONIC WATER IN THE HOTEL!!! PLenty of uices.

The activity programme is really quite good - we thought the shows were fine - given they are free!!

Do go and check out the coral at the end of the (long) - you will need a mask and snorkel (you can buy them there) turn right at the end of the pier and a 400 yard swim brings you to a superb shipwreck - with excellent visibility - huge numbers of fish and we even had turtles swimming with us!

No really problme with the sunbeds - they are all reserved by about 10am but plenty around still at 9am - again with 1,400 guests hard to provide enough. The quiet pool always has plenty of space.

gym is free - spa is overpriced compared to the level of hotel. Very good haircut!!

As others have said - spotlessly clean, we felt no need to leave the hotel while we were there. They gave us a late checkout without any quibbles.

Overall we couldnt really figure how they can provide it all for the price you pay - yes its not "real" 5 star - but then I dont think with our kids we want that!!! No loutish behaviour - just too many guests being rude to the staff - generally a bit of tipping and polite behaviour got us a long way - we will go back again for a well priced relaxing holiday with everything provided.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunburnt8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,726)
There are newer reviews for Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,298 - 5,304 of 6,726 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2009

We stayed at the Albatros this Oct 09. I am one of these people who go online and thoroughly research holidays, gadget and so on until i find the best deal possible whilst affordable.
Well what can i say...this was one of the most value for money holidays i have been too. The hotel is clean, well managed with a friendly environment. My two kids are aged 10 & 9 and the other couple who went with us have kids aged 7 & 5. The kids enjoyed the pool so much that they were never out of it. The drinks and snacks available all day were superb. My son is so fussy when it comes to eating. There was always something on the menu that he loved. From Italian pizzas to pasta, chips and other kid loved foods.

For those of you who love your indian food, there is a restuarant which is managed by an indian chef. He had all varieties of curries on the menu every night. From Chicken tikka, beef, lamb, lentils, spinach curries and many many more along with hot freshly made naan and a different meat on the bbq every night. Me being indian tried and tested his food can say it tasted very homemade style.
Admitably the breakfast was basic, but after a couple of days, I get sick of fry up and omellete, but there was lovely pastries and hot crossiants every morning.

The hotel staff could not do enough for us to reach our needs. The kids club kept our kids entertained. The pool is huge so you always got a space around the pool.
They also have a relaxing pool so those of you who want a little peace and quite can go to the other side.

They have a spa. If you haggle you can get buy one get one free treatments. We had one treatment on day 3 and another on the last day, so our tans looked glowing and lovely.
The hotel is really big. Our room was quite a way from the hotel reception, however we overcome that by packing everything we needed into our bag the night before so that we didnt need to keep going back to the room.

The room has plasma tv with satalite tv. It was spacious and really clean. The housekeepers were friendly. Extra towels, pillows were no problem. The room had a/c and a ceiling fan.

The cons of this holiday was the beach is a little gritty however there is a free shuttle bus to Naama bay every day so you can go and enjoy the beach there.

All in all we had a lovely relaxing time and will go again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gill-Emids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

We were offered this hotel as our first choice was cancelled. We were a little apprehensive so we checked it out on Trip Advisor and the reports looked good. All I can say is that most comments were accurate. The hotel location was fab, all facilities, restraunts, pools etc around the hotel were spotlessly clean. All the staff were eceptionally helpful. We spent most of days on the beach and ate at the beach bar. Thanks to Clever and all of the other waiters we felt really comfortable. The sea was incredibly clear and snorkeling was brilliant. The food in all the restraunts was particually good with a very varied menu that suited all. We didn't want to go to far at night so this suited us to a tee. The rooms were spotlessly clean and evreyting we needed was available, kettle, cups hair dryer. 2 litres of water a day was great bonus. Drinks were plentiful and we hardly had to move as the waiters would soon be at your table with a top up. All in all a great holiday. Just a thought, treat the staf as you would want to be treated yourself.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank DaveandChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We just came back from this hotel and it was brilliant.
The transfer from/to the airport was well organised and as we stepped on Egypt soil everyone was really friendly.
The rooms are big and comfortable, the entire hotel is thoroughly clean, there is a wide selection of meals throughout the day....it is fantastic!!!
The staff are sooooooo friendly and they all try to make you feel welcome and if you tip them with £1 or something like that that goes a long way......

The best thing was snorkelling!!!! The hotel's 500m long jetty takes you to the coral reefs where you can see the most wonderful types of fish and corals. Don't miss this if you go to Royal Albatros, it is a brilliant experience.

Over all it was a great holiday and we are definitely going back.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank cokojlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Many thanks to all the staff, especially Mohmed the house keeper, Roshdey and Lotfey on the quiet pool bar and Mohamed on the active pool bar, every one a STAR !!!
This was our 4th visit and, if anything , its getting better.
Great food, great staff, fantastic weather, what more can i say,
except we will definitely be going back very soon !












1

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cripes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Just arrived home from our 4th stay at the royal albatros moderna in sharm el sheikh. The fact that we keep going back speaks for itself, spotlessly clean, polite, efficient staff, food very good. We searched our brains to find something to critisise and could think of nothing! If you have children the kiddies pool is fantastic - very well designed. The staff are all so friendly and welcome us back with open arms each time we go, and even remember our names! We will definitely be going back next year and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moseyWatford_herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We travelled to The Royal Albatros in October 2009 with my wife, daughter aged 12 and my son aged 6. I will try and give an honest review of the hotel but I think it will be tricky to get across the feel of this hotel. We have stayed in all kinds of hotels from Travelodges in the UK to 5 star resorts in Australia so I think I have a wide and open opinion. First of all all the staff are very friendly and helpfull, even the shop owners are good and not too pushy. The rooms are very spacious and are in an OK condition. The rooms are cleaned every day and we were given 4 litres of fresh bottled water every day. The pool area is great, there are 4 pools in total a heated pool that was never heated, a relaxation pool, and active pool and a childrens pool. The childrens pool had some fantastic slides and a wet play area. The private beach was clean and the jetty that goes out into the sea is fantastic. The only problem I had with the hotel was the food, they seem to cater much more for a russian traveller and the breakfasts were not too good. The scambled eggs were very runny, the toast thick and hard, the sauasage were hot dog style and cooked with peppers and onions as were the mushrooms. However you can get a fresh omlette with any filling you like, fresh fried eggs and pancakes. The evening meals were veried and the Callimino italian restaurant cooks fresh pasta, pizza and fries every afternoon and tea time.
Overall we had a great holiday, BUT I think we will go to a different hotel next time. Thet just need to tweak the food and update the bathrooms and this hotel would be 5*'s

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thaiknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#10 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,033 reviews
16.1 mi away
Aqua Blu Sharm
Aqua Blu Sharm
#45 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,044 reviews
12.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
2.1 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#3 of 33 in Nabq Bay
4,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: $70 - $818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004, the 5* resort has a dream location on the golden sandy beach on the new hotel zone of Nabq Bay, facing coral reefs in the crystal clear waters of the Red Sea, and the shipwrecks of the nearby Straits of Tiran. The main building and the attached two-storey building are surrounded by resplendent gardens extending down to the beach. This elegant all inclusive resort is only 12 km from Sharm El Sheikh Airport, and 20 km from the famous Naama-Bay.Whether you're celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon, planning a family vacation in Sharm El Sheikh or just wanting to get away from it all, Royal Albatros Moderna is the perfect place for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albatros Moderna Hotel Nabq Bay
Calimera Royal Moderna
Calimera Moderna Beach
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El-Sheikh Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing