We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great winter break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great winter break”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was our second trip to Sharm, having gone to Sea Breeze last year. We had a really enjoyable week. Our son and his girlfriend came too - we had 3rd floor rooms near the relaxation pool.
The food was lovely. My favourites were freshly cooked pancakes (Tagine) for breakfast, pasta and salads (beach) for lunch, and dinner we were spoiled for choice! The only restaurant we ever had problems with tables and cutlery was in the pancake evening restaurant, which seemed to have far fewer staff.
Facilities at the hotel were all fine, beach was lovely and the staff helpful. The rep was great and really helpful - intro talk worth attending even for those who have visited Sharm before.
The rooms seemed to be a bit hit and miss - we didn't have instructions for setting the safe (not a problem as we borrowed theirs); we had 2xdouble beds they had 2xsingle beds. We had towel art on different days. My bedsheet was too small and would not stay tucked in - the others were all fine. But the rooms were comfortable, and we slept well.
The only thing I really didn't like, was I thought the horse's tether was far too short as it didn't seem able to straighten its neck, which was rather upsetting to see.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,972
    1,701
    651
    231
    156
See reviews for
2,544
2,441
101
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,569)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Just arrived back home hotel states they are a 5 star which is not the case more like a 3and a half star hotel quite out of the way of the main area of narbq bay. the hotel has a shuttle bus service which you have to pay for to go to namma bay, soho square most other hotels run a complimentry bus service.

Room Tip: Rooms very basic some of the finishes need to be seen to ie broken tiles, poor grouting, poor paint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed n for 1 week as a couple for the 1st week in December lovely weather. The rooms were Ok as you only sleep in them we had room 217 facing active pool with small veranda step led straight out to pool. Food was varied each night but as all "all inclusives" it does get a bit samey. They do offer a red flag policy but some of the sales rep just ignore this and try to get you to buy spa treatments and trips. Wi-Fi is very expensive but we found from SINAI SAFARI ADVENTURES/SHARM SOLUTIONS you can hire a portable Wi-Fi unit for £20.00 (£50.00 refundable deposit) and you get 7gb This unit can run up to 10 units by far the best Wi-Fi ever and I can highly recommend. Tim meets you at the gate and sets it all up Brilliant.

Jetty down to the sea which you swim and snorkel from we didn't try this but lots recommended 1st class.
this.

Coffee shop WOW loved it never drank so much coffee on holiday
Most of the staff lovely pool boys, room cleaner all great reception staff are the exception as very grumpy no smiles they need to remember 1st impressions count.

Room Tip: Room 217 great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luvtoholidayallyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to cordially thank you for your very positive summary referring to your recent stay at the Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm-el-Sheikh.

Your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide.

Once again we thank you for all the recommendations. We are looking forward to welcome you again in October.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Went to this hotel in November, booked and paid for a sea view room. After booking in we were taken to our room with our bags on a flatbed golf cart with one of us having to sit on the back with the bags.
Our room was the worst ever of our 14 visits to Egypt. A small ground floor corner room which had the smallest bed, an old TV, not much wardrobe space, a sits bath/shower with curtain hooks but no curtain and none of it looked very inviting. After a phone call we had to go to reception and were given another room to look at. Top floor everything the other one was not – great, now to retrieve our luggage by which time it was 9-00 pm closing time for 4 of the 5 restaurants.

The eating experience we found similar to a food court in a shopping mall, food generally good but hectic, and other people made the same comment.
The staff everywhere were excellent, great service in the bars, tables cleared in the restaurants and the room was made up early every day and to a good standard. Always found a sunbed without having to go down at sunrise even though the hotel was almost full. There were quite a few Russians.

A lot of plus points about this hotel but we had a bad start and it never gave us the WOW factor we have had in so many other hotels throughout Egypt. Also we like to relax and take our time over our evening meal which never seemed possible especially with them closing at 9-00 pm.

Would we go again probably not.

Room Tip: We booked our transfer with Sun International through Travel Republic. Great service Mohamed who sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandMe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from the sunny Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh.
Thank you very much for your kind comments and the “5 out of 5 - excellent” rating you gave our beach resort. We really appreciate your support and the team will be delighted you have recognized their great efforts.

Glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to welcome you again back in November to your second home in Royal Albatros Moderna.

Kindly accept our warmest regards.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torquay
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

would like to say a big thank you to all the staff at RAM, the holiday was fantastic just what the doctored ordered, very relaxing and the weather was great.
we were i room 353 and mohamand was our room guy who was fabulous and really looked after he even taught my husband some aribic which was great.
The bar man Amir was a credit to your hotel he knew what we drank before we even asked him.
The little lad down on the beach bar the guy that had a smile on his face all the time was great too.
All in all the hoilday was great and i really dont see why people moan about the food , nothing to complain about at all,and we were there for 2 weeks and didnt have the same meal over the 2 weeks apart from the breakfast which was fab the omellets made to order were great
came back on thursday 12th Dec and booked again for the same time next year
Hopefully see all the same faces again

Room Tip: active pool rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traceysherfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from the sunny Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh.

Thank-you very much for your kind comments and the “5 out of 5 - excellent” rating you gave our beach resort. We really appreciate your support and the team will be delighted you have recognized their great efforts.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel again very soon, at which time I hope to speak with you and personally ensuring your holiday here in the sunshine will exceed all your expectations.

Blessings from us all at Pickalbatros hotels..

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I have been back from holiday at the ram for less than a week and I am already missing it already.
Anybody who doesn't like this hotel must be very hard to please.From the guys on reception to the waiters in the coffee shops and restaurants all of them make this a very relaxed hotel.
I wasn't happy with my room it was sorted out there and then with no fuss at all if this was a hotel in spain or turkey I would have spent a larger part of my holiday getting it sorted.
On this particular stay I spent more time on the beach which was great the guys there would sort out a set of chairs and some shade very quickly and the beach bar served delicious food and drink at lunch.
As far as the food at breakfast lunch and dinner I have never been in a hotel or anywhere else that had as much choice.
I am definitely going back in the summer and just cant wait to see the staff again.
All I can say is thank you very much to all the staff for making my stay so good.

Room Tip: all the rooms on third floor have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnlburnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from the sunny Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh.

Thank you very much for your wonderful summary about your vacation at our Albatros Hotel.

We are more than happy, that you had such a fantastic holiday with us here and liked our resort with all its facilities and services.

Once again we thank you for your valuable time taken to post such detailed review and for all your recommendations. We are looking forward to your next stay with us here and to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindly accept our warmest regards.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglo Russian
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

A little disappointed on our 5th visit to this hotel (in 5 years), but only a little.

Flights care of EasyJet (excellent). Transfers care of Resorthoppa (not recommended: late, and their local agent seems to answer the phone only occasionally. Fifteen calls over three days, within their advertised office hours, only one of which was answered, by when it was too late to change our pick up time, which they then failed to keep anyway, with more unanswered calls).

Despite arriving at 6.30pm (advertised check-in from 2.00pm), our room wasn't ready and we were kept waiting for 45 minutes, before we gave up and went for dinner. Despite requesting a quiet, ground floor two bedroom family room, with a garden view, (both when booking, and by email to the hotel direct) we ended up with a first floor room and a pool view. Apparently the receptionist thought that this was an "upgrade", despite the notes on our booking. Once unpacked for the night it seemed too much fuss to demand a move the next day. Next year, if we return, I will be inspecting the allocated room before accepting it.

All the troubles in Egypt have made tourists reluctant to visit the country, despite no problems in Sharm. Bookings must have been slow these last few months, and prices fell by 30% over the summer and autumn. The lower prices have brought in the lower classes (sorry, I can't say working classes, since quite clearly some of them have never worked) in larger numbers. In the main though, the mix (with nearly half Russians, half Brits, and much smaller number of French, Spanish and Italians) got along okay.

The hotel's five main restaurants (German, Italian, Mediterranean, Asiatic and North African) are much as last year, with only a few minor changes. The quality of the food is excellent. The Jazz coffee bar is still serving an excellent range of coffees, along with another next to reception (with fabulous ice cream from 3.00 to 5.00 pm), and one outside near the pool (also serving ice cream, but own brand stuff). A new Beach Bar is being constructed, with plans for a redevelopment of the stage and old bar area, once the new site is open.

The beach and the Red Sea are unchanged. At the end of the long (750m) pier new and safer steps have replaced the old ones. The sea was invitingly warm (at the end of the pier, where it's 5* warmer than in the shallower water) even on a day with cold winds in which you needed to wear a coat (if you had one). The shows of fish are well worth the walk, and dolphins could be seen on some days. Despite signs warning that feeding the fish is illegal, and subject to fines, some Brits chose to ignore them, but then those were probably the ones who couldn't read (with their "high qualifications in English Language": you'd probably only understand that if it was you, but then you wouldn't be reading this!).

Beware of the camel/horse rides. We witnessed several guests agreeing to take rides, on the basis of "pay me what you like". Once the ride was over anything less than £20 was considered an insult. On one occasion my 7 year old daughter had money demanded from her, for taking a picture of a camel (which she hadn't done anyway). If you ask the price of a ride first, you'll probably find they want £10, for which you'll get a ride lasting less than two minutes. It seems that overpricing, and sitting around most of the day, is preferable to having a reasonable fixed and advertised price, and doing much more business.

Few guests seemed to risk leaving the hotel, despite there being no danger. A lot of shops have closed because of the fall in tourist numbers. Those that remain are a bit pushy, to interest you in their wares, but still polite and prepared to haggle over prices.

The hotel's staff are uniformly polite, helpful and keen to be of service (excluding only you Mr Receptionist, who failed to read our notes). They are very appreciative of a small tip (£1 or $1), but not once did we feel that anything was expected. You may be asked (in the hotel or outside) to change £10 or £20 of coin to notes (because the banks won't take foreign coins), but only do this in a situation where you can check that you are not being diddled. An Egyptian £1 coin looks at first sight very much like a British £2 coin, but it's worth only 10p. For the hotel staff, or for taxi drivers, changing coin is as good as a tip. It's time the hotel put up a tips box to be shared amongst all the staff (because gardeners, cooks and maintenance people don't come into contact with guests, but do a lot to make their stay more enjoyable).

The Animation team provide entertainment for children during the day, and a mini disco in the evening, which was very popular. They also put on evening entertainment which is enjoyable, and performed with enthusiasm.

The weather in early December proved a bit of a lottery, as it has been on several previous occasions. A very warm first few days, followed by good weather, followed by a big drop in temperature with strong cold winds, returning to good weather at the end of our stay.

Will we return to this hotel next year? If we go to Egypt again, then probably yes. It has always represented excellent value, and whilst there are probably better hotels in Sharm, I doubt that they are better value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WIKRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
12.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,344 reviews
16.1 mi away
Aqua Blu Sharm
Aqua Blu Sharm
#44 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,021 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 32 in Nabq Bay
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
2.1 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#2 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Property: Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004, the 5* resort has a dream location on the golden sandy beach on the new hotel zone of Nabq Bay, facing coral reefs in the crystal clear waters of the Red Sea, and the shipwrecks of the nearby Straits of Tiran. The main building and the attached two-storey building are surrounded by resplendent gardens extending down to the beach. This elegant all inclusive resort is only 12 km from Sharm El Sheikh Airport, and 20 km from the famous Naama-Bay.Whether you're celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon, planning a family vacation in Sharm El Sheikh or just wanting to get away from it all, Royal Albatros Moderna is the perfect place for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albatros Moderna Hotel Nabq Bay
Calimera Royal Moderna
Calimera Moderna Beach
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El-Sheikh Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing