We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel I have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Me and my partner stayed in this hotel in early September and loved every minute of our stay.
When we arrived we were checked in immediately and had a buggy take us to our room with our suitcases. Shown us everything around the complex and was incredibly helpful.
Our room was lovely cleaned everyday and also always left us towel art which was gorgeous to come back to after a day round the pool.
The pools and aqua park are lovely we mainly sat around the aqua park with the double sunbeds as it was always good fun.
The food was amazing every night I don't think that I ever had a bad meal. There is the Italian, Asian, tagine, Mediterranean and beach bar to eat in also from 4 until 9 there are fresh pancakes and donuts with icecream inside.
My favourite is the Columbian coffee bar which serves the best coffees and frappachinos ever!!
We went on different trips the quadding and star gazing and the Tiran island boat trip which is highly recommended if you want to snorkel and see amazing fish. The beach at the hotel is lovely especially off the jetty, best idea is to take some bread off the jetty and the fishes will come out get some lovely photos.
Places we visited were soho square, naama bay and nabq bay. Soho square is lovely but if you want deals on anything naama bay is the place to be. But Nabq bay is amazing with tgi Fridays and hard rock café so nice to go and chill put with cheap drinks offering a free shisa pipe.
Such a lovely holiday and can't wait to return next year!

Love Lauren and Jack

Room Tip: Try and get a room round the activity pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LozzaS1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

I would like to cordially thank you for your very positive summary referring to your recent stay at the Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh.

We are glad, that our resort with its facilities and services were up to your satisfaction and you enjoyed your stay.

Once again we thank you for your valuable time taken to post such detailed review and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Royal Albatros Moderna .

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,950
    1,694
    643
    229
    151
See reviews for
2,516
2,429
99
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,569)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have stayed at the Royal Albatros four times and had a very good experience each time. We have two young children who are now 2 and 4 and the childrens pool was excellent for them. The small slides were perfect for my little girl to play in. The beach was clean also and kids loved playing there. Food was fantastic - ate far too much! the childrens restaurant was great, providing a childrens area which was nicely decorated and had mini tables and chairs and mini meals with a good variety - meals were provided earlier too which was good. Adults food was amazing, great selection .. not one bad stomach from our party of 6 over 10 days :) breakfast has a lovely variety in the many restaurants .. the fresh falafel was amazing! .. Childrens entertainment in the evening was good, not that we made it that late with little ones .. the playing of kids movies on a large screen outside was good plus ice creams at any time of the day. The hotel also a quieter non kids pool (large) location which was good for peace and quiet. Staff very professional and friendly and rooms great, clean and great standard. We stayed in January which was lovely and hot still! will def re-visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Warmest greetings from the sunny Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh.

Thank you very much for your wonderful summary about your recent vacation at our Albatros Hotel and we are very pleased, that we could provide you with a great holiday.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us here and to welcoming you back soon.

Kindly accept our warmest regards

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

First trip to Sharm! What an amazing experience!!

The only disappointment out of the week was the room we were "upgraded" to at check in (if that was an upgrade I'd hate to ser the room we paid for). After a chat with the guys at reception we were quickly moved to a much nicer room - a little dated but it looked like renovations were being done elsewhere in the hotel!!

The restaurants were good, buffet food was a bit hit and miss in all, but all freshly cooked food was lovely!! Koftas in the Tagine restaurant, pizza and pasta in the Italian were definitely our favs!!!
The fresh pancakes and dougnuts in the afternoon were scrumptious!


The pools were fantastic, we only really used the active pool though!!

The beach is fine, we LOVED the jetty, playing spot the fish on the walk up and down, then snorkeling off the end! Beware of the steps though especially if the red flag (windy sea) a few people had difficulty staying on!!!

The entertainment team were fantastic! We went to the Beach Bar most evenings to see them, then onto the Irish bar. They had the day off on Saturday and the guests seemed to be lost without them in the evening! Water polo and aqua aerobics were very popular during the day!!

Bar and waiting staff were very attentive especially around the pool!!
However the drinks were not always brilliant, some of the cocktails were overly syrupy. The strawberry daquris from the active pool bar were delicious and refreshing. The spirits were slightly watered down but it is what you expect from all inclusive holidays.

The excursions were fab, boat trip to Tiran island is well recommended by us especially if you snorkel/dive. The quad biking is also amazing!

Namma bay is a complete nightmare I wouldn't recommend it, you are constantly pestered by shopkeepers they come at you from nowhere!!
Soho square was a much nicer experience for shops and bars, the fountain lights are amazing.

The Spa and Diving staff do disturb you around the active pool, we didn't bother picking up the red flag (a sort of do not disturb sign) from reception as we were only aproached 3 times a day and the people with red flags all seemed to be getting disturbed anyway.

I will definitely be returning to Sharm and this hotel will be highly recommended by us!!

Thanks RAM for a fantastic week! It definitely wasn't long enough!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panic92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are more than happy, that you had such a fantastic holiday with us here and liked our resort with all its facilities and services and I shall pass your kind words on to the staff.

We are very pleased we met your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a really good week at Royal Albatross

First visit to Sharm el Sheikh and went for this hotel on a recommendation. It's an enormous complex with lots of choices of restaurants, food, bars and coffee bars

Spotlessly clean and well kept, staff were delightfully friendly, rooms very comfortable

I'd wholeheartedly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimsterUK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Warmest greetings from the sunny Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh.

Thank-you very much for your kind comments and the “5 out of 5 - excellent” rating you gave our beach resort. We really appreciate your support and the team will be delighted you have recognized their great efforts.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel again very soon, at which time I hope to speak with you and personally ensuring your holiday here in the sunshine will exceed all your expectations.

Blessings from us all at Pickalbatros hotels..

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Went here in September 2013 (16-23). The room (519) was adequate, but only that. The wardrobe was tiny, and had no hangers. Once house-keeping brought us some (6!!), I still had to have clothes lying on the floor of the wardrobe due to lack of space. We did try to change rooms on the 2nd day, but the room they offered was really no better (but at least we nicked their 6 hangers, so we had an adequate supply in our room).

I know 5* in Egypt is not like 5* in the UK, Europe or even the Far East, but I was surprised that the room was really barely 3*. Grouting in the bathroom was poorly finished. Ants everywhere, and a friendly wee lizard, The bath is a little small, but that's often the case abroad. The TV was ancient and the remote control was taped up as the back was missing (but I don't go on holiday to watch TV)

I don't want this to sound like too much of a negative review. The pools are fantastic. There's a huge main "active" pool where there's music (sometimes a little intrusive in volume), water volleyball, water polo, aqua-aerobics etc during the day. Then there's a quieter second pool - still very large and peaceful. A 3rd pool is hidden away - much smaller, and I only ever saw a couple of people by that pool. There's also an Aqua-Park for adults (proper water slides) and a small one in the active pool area for the kids. We were lucky that (due to the current political problems) it was very quiet. No need to reserve beds by the pool - in fact there was almost too many!!

On top of that there's a lovely kids play area with lots of stuff to climb and swing on. The beach is close, and there's a jetty to wander out into the clear waters on. They have a spa (which we didn't use).

There are a number of bars and restaurants with different culinary styles in each. The drink is limited, and variable. The cocktails are sometimes nice, other times ingredients are omitted - pot luck. The selection of spirits was very limited, the beer was acceptable as was the wine (although red was served cold). The food was a buffet affair, but the choice of restaurants was good. The food was better than the standard all-inclusive fayre you get in Majorca etc, but was not exactly fine dining.

A big disappointment...Each restaurant has a sign outside pointing out that as it's a 5* hotel, for evening meal, they expect the guests (male) to wear long trousers. However, this rule was not enforced, so those of us who made the effort were sitting next to people in beach shorts and a vest often as not. I'm not sure why they have the signs everywhere, but don't turn people away who were inadequately dressed.

Overall, I wouldn't rush back, but I wouldn't put anyone off going.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

got back today from two weeks at RAM. first time in Egypt and the hotel was everything we could ask for. fantastic service from all staff but an especially big thank you to guys at the relaxation pool bar. they made the holiday so relaxing with their excellent service. the hotel itself is very clean and pools sparkling, some rooms may look a bit tired but then people need to realise this is not 5star England. the food was excellent and lots of choices, the coffee lounge was great and I visited this every morning for my fresh cappuccino. spirits are not that great but I don't drink so it didn't affect me. partner drinks Bacardi n coke and he said it was ok. entertainment was the only let down, but again this didn't ruin holiday.my only niggle is that it would be nice if the pool bars opened before 10am for coke/sprite ect. listening to other people at the airport on return, I think we got the one of the better hotels. the snorkelling was amazing off the jetty here, but be warned it is quite a treck. the only thing I cant comment on is what it is like at full capacity, I think we where a bit spoilt as only 35% occupied due to cancelled flights from other countries. if I return to Egypt it will be to this hotel. well done RAM.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1975debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam ,

Warmest greetings from the sunny Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh.

Thank you very much for your wonderful summary about your vacation at our Albatros Hotel.

We are more than happy, that you had such a fantastic holiday with us here and liked our resort with all its facilities and services.

Once again we thank you for your valuable time taken to post such detailed review and for all your recommendations. We are looking forward to your next stay with us here and to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindly accept our warmest regards.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have never been to Egypt before so wasnt sure where to stay, so we decided to stay at this hotel. It is more than what we expected and lived up to every penny. The staff are fantastic and couldnt do enough for you, plus very friendly and made you feel really at home. The hotel overall is amazing and looks the part, it has plenty for everyone including young families. They have a private part of beach which is guarded at all times for extra security as are all main entrances to hotel. Food had something there for anyone and we are quite fussy and could always eat with no problems. All the pools are fantastic and lovely and big. It is a very clean and hygenic resort and they keep it like this morning noon and night. If your not sure on where to go and want something value for money with a great feel this is the place to go, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieBaby88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from the sunny Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh.
Thank you very much for your kind comments and the “5 out of 5 - excellent” rating you gave our beach resort. We really appreciate your support and the team will be delighted you have recognized their great efforts.

Glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to welcome you again back in November to your second home in Royal Albatros Moderna.

Kindly accept our warmest regards.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
12.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#10 of 32 in Nabq Bay
795 reviews
16.1 mi away
Aqua Blu Sharm
Aqua Blu Sharm
#41 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
2.1 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#2 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4,048 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#21 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Property: Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004, the 5* resort has a dream location on the golden sandy beach on the new hotel zone of Nabq Bay, facing coral reefs in the crystal clear waters of the Red Sea, and the shipwrecks of the nearby Straits of Tiran. The main building and the attached two-storey building are surrounded by resplendent gardens extending down to the beach. This elegant all inclusive resort is only 12 km from Sharm El Sheikh Airport, and 20 km from the famous Naama-Bay.Whether you're celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon, planning a family vacation in Sharm El Sheikh or just wanting to get away from it all, Royal Albatros Moderna is the perfect place for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albatros Moderna Hotel Nabq Bay
Calimera Royal Moderna
Calimera Moderna Beach
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El-Sheikh Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing