We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My fiance and l stayed here from 7th -21st December 2012 and we loved it. First time in Sharm. We had a room on the ground floor at the relaxation pool. Many reviews mention the fact that the pools are cold, and they are but that is what l loved about them. There is no point being in a warm pool in the sunshine! Anyway, food was very good overall, the entire hotel was spotless, the beer was great (although the wine and spirits are pretty poor to be honest!), staff were first class, pier out to the sea was long but the walk was enjoyable.....and overall we were delighted with our stay. I am not a person who likes to go to the same resort twice, never mind the same hotel but if we were going back to Sharm in the future then we would definitely stay here again. Some say this is not a 5* hotel and it probably isnt by European standards but it is excellent. If you really want 5* accomodation in Sharm l think you can go to Four Seasons....but it's 3 times the price of this hotel so take your pick. For us the trip was cheap, very relaxing, very enjoyable and we would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank chris1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,517 - 3,523 of 6,735 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and we have to say the addition of the waterpark and the coffee lounges/ice-cream bar has made a great improvement. We went for 12 days during October half term, 4 adults and 3 children. It is a very big hotel and was fully booked but never had a problem getting sunbeds at any of the pool. The staff were all very friendly. Rooms very clean with lots of towel art from the cleaner, the fridge which is refilled everyday with bottles of water, beach towels with a towel bag, and is air-conditioned. He was always around if we needed to change beach towels.
Not sure why there are complaints about the food. There are 5 restaurants and we travelled with 3 fussy kids, a vegetarian and one of the kids has a peanut allergy and the staff were helpful when we were checking what was in the food. Plenty of choice at breakfast with egg & omelette stations, cereals, toast and fresh croissants in the Italian restaurant. We mixed and matched from all the restaurants. The active pool has the entertainment team coming round trying to get you involved in activities and trips or you can go to the quiet pool if you don’t want to join in. The bar staff at both pools regularly come wound to see if you want a drink and they also make coffes. They are really friendly guys and after the 2nd day knew the names of our children and would shout their names and joke around with them. The waterslides are such fun with double sun lounger beds. The beach is nice; you can either look at all the fish off the long jetty, or shallow snorkel half way up the jetty or swim off the coral reef and see some really big fish. The Entertainment Team worked ever so hard by the pool during the day and putting a little show on at night by the beach bar. The beach BBQ is a nice change to eating in the restaurants and they do a little fire show which the kids loved and joined in the dancing afterwards.. The mosquitos were pretty hungry when we went so we bought a can of “Off” and that kept them away. Great holiday!!

Room Tip: 2 Bedroomed family suites by the Active pool are big and nice big balcomies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbysdadgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the RAM for 10 nights Jan 11 to Jan 21 2013. On arrival at Sharm we were swiftly transfered to the Hotel in about 25 mins. Must say i booked this Hotel based on all the good reviews from Trip, and also a Work colleague who has stayed 3 times. We departed the bus and was told to leave our cases outside reception, the staff quickly checked us in, applied our wristbands and then we were escorted by what can only be described as our own personal guide through the grounds to our Hotel room. I thought this was a great personal touch as he described everything to us on the way. He opened up the room, and the cases seemed to arrive about the same time by buggy, the room was spotless and the view from the 3rd floor was great. You seem to get a feel early on that things are going to be ok and this was no exception.The choice of food was excellent, just locate yourself centrally say outside the Meditterainian, and pop in and out all of them, (thank goodness for the gym) its all well cooked very hot and tasty, Lunch at the Beach bar fantasttic. Drinks now then, reviews say they all taste the same, i know where they are coming from, the first night i must have tasted almost everything and here is my review. Bottled Lager ok not a bad drop, but try and remember to take a pint pot with you, they only ever give you halfs.Vodka and diet coke, not bad, Wines try and ensure you get the chilled stuff on draught from the Terrace Bar White and Red acceptable with your meals.Cocktails not to bad pinar collada lovely. Push come to shove take your favourate tipple in with you, they let you put it behind the bar with your room number on it. Pools very clean and also very cold, lots of sunbeds which are very comfortable, pool attendent saved ours every day for little tip. Relaxation pool very good, and in general mostly English, aqua park great, activity pool very nice, but now the only negative mainly Russian sector. They must be the most ignorent people in the World, no respect, manners appalling, and they talk to the staff like s--t. The only people to stand up to them are the English, but to be fair i only heard of one incedent.The Staff at this Hotel are amazing, nothing is to mouch trouble and they will go out their way to make sure you have everything you need, the waiters are lacking a little in 5* sevice, but hey this is Egypt and they are triers. I can go on and on, Coffee Shop brilliant idea, open Cinema for kids, donuts, ice cream, kids restaurant and disco, Irish bar, clean towels and beach towels every day, free safe in your room, where do you stop. I tell you stop here in this Hotel, for the Money if you can get any better let me know cause ill be on that plane and give it atry. Ram thanks see you again sometime.

Room Tip: Rooms around relaxation pool very quite we stayed in 1864.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jottjott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

6 of us in our 30's travelled to the RAM for a weeks holiday from the 19th to the 26th. We have all been to Egypt a number of times at different hotels and this was our first stay at the RAM. We had a lovely time and there is so much to share so bear with me.

Check-in was nice and quick, we received a drink on arrival and were given rooms by the relaxation pool, which we were informed was away from all the Russians....this is a good move and will explain later! Rooms were absolutely fine, nice kingsize bed, air conditioning, flat screen tv with a lot of channels (not that you want to spend your whole time watching television), balcony, good shower etc.

We loved the food, I can't believe people cannot find something to eat in this place?! It's was the best we have had in an Egyptian hotel. There are 5 restaurants, the Tagine (my favourite) which services local / african cuisine such as beef kofta's, hummus, some fabulous rice dishes, cous cous, stuffed aubergine, lots of lovely sauces etc. L'Asiatique which serves Indian / Chinese, German restaurant, Meditarranean restaurant (this was a standard anything and everything buffet) and an Italian restaurant. You can pay to eat at the White Elephant which is Thai and Sushi but we were happy with the food in the others. Other reviews have mentioned that they have closed off all restaurants as they used to be open, I can't comment on this but I liked the fact that they were separate and this made it seem more intimate We tended to have breakfast in the italian they did some fantastic warm cheese croissants straight from the oven, and we often had lunch at the beach bar which has pizza, pasta, fish, chips, salad, burgers etc.

The coffee shop as others have described is fantastic, make sure you get a hot chocolate they are yummy....I miss them already. Crepes, donuts and ice-cream are also available throughout the day, you can literally eat 24 hours a day.

The weather was lovely (apart from the last two days where it was a bit cloudy) up to 28 degrees. The pools are freezing, I'm sure they must purposefully keep them extra cold, I saw one or two brave people have a dip but it wasn't for me! There is one heated pool near to the relaxation pool area which was fine. The aqua park is great, the yellow slide where you sit in a round little boat is great fun.

The jetty is so long to get to the reef but the snorkelling is great, you can hire snorkels at the end of the jetty for £2 for the day, the lifeguard (sorry I've forgot his name) is lovely and really helpful. There are a number of shipwrecks close to the reef and he took us to one of them, explained the history of the shipwreck and pointed out all the sealife along the way. I would definitely recommend you take him up on his offer to go and visit the shipwreck.

The outside cinema in an evening shows lots of animated films for children and after that they often showed live football matches which the men in our party thought was great. They always seemed to be showing games on the televisions throughout the hotel. The shisha cafe was fine though you have to pay for the shisha whereas in other places I've been to it's been free.

The evening entertainment isn't the worst I have seen in Egypt, for what we paid we didn't expect world class stars and they work really hard all day long. We mainly went down to the beach bar in an evening and then had a couple of drinks at the terrace bar.

There are a couple of reason's I didn't give the RAM 5 stars; the alcohol on all inclusive leaves a lot to be desired, the beers is ok, the spirits and wine were (in my opinion) awful. I took the advice of a previous review and took some duty free which was a good move. If not then remember to take some gaviscon or rennies as you will need it! You can upgrade to ultra all inclusive for an extra £30 per day which includes international brands. You also had to pay for things like crazy golf and billiards which was something crazy like £7. The final issue (which is out of the hotels control) is some of the people staying there, the hotel's guests are made up of 50% Russians, with the rest English, Italian, German, Egyptians etc. I don't want to dwell on how rude the Russians are but the majority are so awful to the staff who do a fantastic job, I can't understand if it's a lack of manners or they somehow perceive themselves as superior?? They do push in but the staff know their game and often ignore them until they end up having to join the queue (we English love a good queue).

The place is spotless, the staff are lovely and work so hard to ensure you have a great holiday. We would definitely return....with our duty free!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KirstyLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the RAM. The weather there was wall to wall sunshine every day and temperatures in the low 20s and perfect for both walking and sun-bathing. The package was very good value for money as we had a choice of 5 different buffet restaurants to choose from and a beach bar. The food was very varied and tasty with friendly service. There was also an excellent coffee bar, Columbus coffee bar, which was a real treat for us. The sea was about 23 degrees, so I found I could swim in it for about 10 minutes before feeling cold and there were plenty of fish to watch, though very little coral. It was a twenty minute walk from the hotel, through the grounds to the end of the jetty where the reef was, so we only went once a day. The hotel also had a heated outdoor pool which got up to a very pleasant 26 degrees. We were able to go for long walks along a path in front of the sea, past numerous hotels and I did some keep fit and dance classes. My one gripe is the misinformation and lack of information about activities and entertainment. Reception didn't know anything about this and directed us to the 'Animation' staff. A beach BBQ was advertised, but we were the only people on the beach & it had been cancelled but there was no notice about this. Some of the fitness and dancing classes do not appear on the activities board. For example sometimes there are salsa dance classes at the beach bar, but you need to ask about these. There was entertainment each evening at 9.30pm at the beach bar but this wasn't obvious. The Egyptian 'Oriental' show with a 'Dervish' dancer and a belly dancer and the Fire show are worth watching. Internet access is available but charged at 5 Euros an hour. Don't bother to take Egyptian currency as pounds or Euros around the hotel complex are fine. However we didn't explore further afield.

Room Tip: Rooms around the relaxation pool have good access to the restaurants and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the RAM from 7th Jan for 7 nights. This was our 2nd time back and we had a fantastic time. we stayed in room 1807. As returning guests you do receive privilidges, which is a nice touch. We had a lovely pool view & we had the sun on our balcony from 6.30 am until sunset. the room was lovely & spacious. We had excellent maid service. The choice in the different restaurents was excellent. My favourite was the oriental. the new coffee lounge is lovely. We tried the different coffees with the flavoured syrups. They were excellent. The hotel is spotlessly clean and which ever faciities we went to use at any time of the day they were clean. the red & rose wine was nice and we drank the ouzo. you could always find a sunbed on the beach we used to go to the relaxation area of the beach. The staff are very attentive to the guests.This is the best hotel we have stayed at in Nabq. We have booked to return for another week of sheer luxury in March and carn't wait to go back. Thank you to all the staff for a lovely holiday

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I am starting to write this review as I sit in the tangine restaurant eating breakfast! The place is fantastic I really do not know how anyone can fault it, i am a travel agent and have travelled the world and i am very fussy as to where i stay! I was dubious after reading a few negative reviews but I really shouldnt of worried!

The photos on here and Infact on the hotels website do not do it justice in real life it is far better.

The staff are so nice and friendly and attentive without being over bearing.

Our room is lovely we are in 808 around the relaxation pool this room is really big and seems newly refurbished.

The whole hotel is emaculate they work very hard to maintain this.

The food is just great with lots of different restaurants to choose from, I love tangine the Moroccan restaurant as they have amazing fresh bread cooked outside by the lady and also rotisserie chickens of a night time, but all the food in all the restaurants is to a high standard really the Asian restaurant is also amazing!!

The place is great for all ages but kids must be in heaven! So much for them to do.

All I can say to sum it up is just book it you won't be dissapointmnt value for money can definitely not be Beaten I have been to sharm 4 times previously and this is best value for money by far. 




  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank homeindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,074 reviews
12.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,476 reviews
16.1 mi away
Aqua Blu Sharm
Aqua Blu Sharm
#42 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
2.1 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#3 of 33 in Nabq Bay
4,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: $62 - $826 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004, the 5* resort has a dream location on the golden sandy beach on the new hotel zone of Nabq Bay, facing coral reefs in the crystal clear waters of the Red Sea, and the shipwrecks of the nearby Straits of Tiran. The main building and the attached two-storey building are surrounded by resplendent gardens extending down to the beach. This elegant all inclusive resort is only 12 km from Sharm El Sheikh Airport, and 20 km from the famous Naama-Bay.Whether you're celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon, planning a family vacation in Sharm El Sheikh or just wanting to get away from it all, Royal Albatros Moderna is the perfect place for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albatros Moderna Hotel Nabq Bay
Calimera Royal Moderna
Calimera Moderna Beach
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El-Sheikh Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing