We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
South London
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“great beach”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Not a hotel I would normally book as more for families with younger children. Everything was maintained to a high standard. There were several pools and an area with slides and the most amazing loungers to rest on while the kids enjoy the slides.

There is no shortage of drinks, food, cakes, and a fantastic coffee shop to rival Starbucks! Always busy and sometimes you have to wait a few minutes. I would have to say that the food is not up to 5* star standard although plentiful. I think I had more pizza and pasta as these were freshly prepared than I normally would in Egypt! The bread was always stale. There was no fresh coffee in any of the restaurants. My friend said the beer was not nice but the wine wasn’t too awful.

I paid extra for a sea view room and I was happy with the room itself, spacious with large bed. The staff work very hard at keeping the place clean and tidy and were always friendly. Although the reception staff can be a bit short with you and they should be the ones with the most patience!

For some reason they play piped music from speakers across the site and unfortunately I had one under my balcony! They play music from 7am to 11pm.

Internet charges were outrageous. I did buy 15 mins for €3 but half the time was spent waiting for the pages to load.

There was entertainment in the beach bar most evenings which could be a bit loud when you are staying that end of the complex as I was.

The beach was lovely and again plenty of sun-loungers and comfortable cushions. The pier was amazing very long with sun-loungers at the end! We had very windy weather so the black flag flew quite a lot but I did manage to snorkel from the end of the pier once which was good.

There are a lot of Russians in Egypt this year and I am afraid to say they are quite rude and noisy and don’t recognise queues!

If you want a taxi to the airport just walk out of the hotel and you will get a better price. There are a few shops just a few minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hawkeye9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for your kind comments and invaluable critique of your recent stay with us. We value all of our guests and their comments and take on board all relevant items that can help us move forward the quality of our service delivery.

Our bread products are produced in our in-house bakery minutes before the restaurants open (and restocked through the service) to make sure they are all to our highest standard. The fresh Italian breads available in our Italian restaurant - made by our authentic Italian chef - are famous around the resort for being the softest and freshest guests have ever tasted. At our live cooking stations we also offer various breads (Asian Naan, local Egypt bread, French croissants, etc) which are cooked to order before your very eyes, and are delicious - you can't get anything fresher in any international 5 star hotel.

Fresh highest quality South African coffee is available at all our bars and 3 specialty coffee lounges. The quality of our wine and beer (beer from bottles to ensure freshness) is higher than the usual standard all inclusive resorts offer. In fact our in house questionnaires show greatest guest satisfaction from our beer and wines.

Our high speed internet service is charged at the standard international 5 star rate. Our wireless internet access network (wifi) covers all rooms and public buildings.

We have a in-house taxi service which I would like to recommend as I can personally guarantee the quality of the service and cars is to the highest standard for our prestigious guests.

The Royal Albatros Moderna has been awarded 5-stars by the Egyptian Tourism Board and we are regularly critiqued by the board to keep our standards high. We have also recently won the hotels4u Best Seller award thanks to our huge numbers of repeat guest bookings - almost 40% - which is unheard in any International hotel.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel once again in the future and at which time I look forward to speaking with you and personally ensuring your next holiday will exceed all your expectations.

Yours sincerely

Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,972
    1,701
    651
    231
    156
See reviews for
2,544
2,441
101
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,569)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

i went to royal albatros moderna on the 18th march for 2 weeks with my husband when we got there my first impression wow very big hotel very clean so many restaurants to chose from warm food al the time had pool view very beautiffuly maintained gardens room was cleaned every day waiters couldent do enough 1 waiter his name was ahmed he looked after us he use to work on the beach retaurant and in the evenig they had entertainment he use to serve us drinks entertainment very good snake shows belly dancing etc beach very good people were snorkling very nice weather in march i would go again

Room Tip: try and have room 409 side its in the main block second floor overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rukhsana04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank-you for your very kind comments of your recent stay with us. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel again very soon, at which time I hope to speak with you and personally ensuring your holiday here in the sunshine will exceed all your expectations.

Yours sincerely

Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Returned on Fri 20th April after 2 weeks at this hotel, it is a good hotel and there is plenty to do for all ages. We spent all our days on the beach where there was a nice cool breeze as the temperature was in the 30's, you do need beach shoes if you go in the sea and the sand on the beach is quite sharp. The restaurants are very good with food cooked to order if you wish, even the fussiest of eaters such as myself could always find plenty to choose from, the only gripe we had was there seemed to be a lot of supervisory standing about chatting to each other while the waiting staff were pushed to keep up with demand (too many chiefs and not enough Indians).WE also booked to swim with the Dolphins and the Dolphin show through our rep Abbas, a fantastic experience and well worth the money. All in all a good holiday and we may return one day.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 135 - 137, being newly refurbished as we left
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for your kind comments and invaluable critique of your recent stay with us. We value all of our guests and their comments and take on board all relevant items that can help us move forward the quality of our service delivery.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel once again in the future and at which time I look forward to speaking with you and personally ensuring your next holiday will exceed all your expectations.

Yours sincerely

Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg

Yours sincerely

Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I had a weeks holiday in this hotel at the end of March 2012 with my husband and another couple and we had a great relaxing week.

The hotel was much bigger than I imagined with lots of sunbeds so no need to worry about putting towels down in the morning and the overall atmosphere was very chilled. We mainly stayed by the relaxation pool which was great. We went snorkelling quite a bit as well which was gorgeous, you had to walk down the jetty to get to the reef but once you were there it was well worth it to see all the beautiful fish!

All the communal areas and bedrooms were spotlessly clean and the staff were generally really friendly. 3 of us had massages which were really good although prob on a par with British prices so don't go thinking it'll be really cheap. Even though we're in our 30's the slides were a great added extra. We used the coffee lounge everyday which I thought was a fab addition to the hotel and they made all types of coffee which we took full advantage of (although you have to be pretty chilled as the service was sometimes slow, good job we were on holiday).

There was lots of variety with the food and as a vegetarian I always managed to find something that I liked. The alcohol was ok apart from the gin, give that one a wide berth. From the amount that we drank I don't think that they're the same %'s as in England (either that or they're watered down a bit) but the cocktails were ok and I quite liked the wine, others I was with happily drank the beer.

Wifi is always one of my bugbears and it just annoys be that in this day and age they still charge for it - and it's not cheap, but hey that might just be me!!

All in all a really relaxing holiday that I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkielynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for your kind comments and invaluable critique of your recent stay with us. We value all of our guests and their comments and take on board all relevant items that can help us move forward the quality of our service delivery.

Our high speed wireless internet services (wifi) are charged at the standard international 5-star hotel rates.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel once again in the future and at which time I look forward to speaking with you and personally ensuring your next holiday will exceed all your expectations.

Yours sincerely

Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

It was our first time at this hotel and we were expecting good things from a 5 star rated hotel , on our arrival at 7pm after leaving home at 3am , we were hoping for something special , the welcome meeting in a room to the left of reception was not needed and the room was claustrophobic and full of tipped and dirty orange juice glasses ,we were given a room key and escorted to our room , number 602, well they say first impressions go a long way ,well if they cared they would not have put us in this room it was drab in very urgent need of decoration never 5 star , struggle to make a 2 star, we asked to be moved immediately and we were moved to a family room which was much better 4 star. Any way first day over.
Room location ground floor looking across over the main pool very good.
Pool area and grounds well kept very good.
Beach area jet and snorkeling excellent.
Restaurants , a bit hit and miss food average , chinese asian best , waiters in restaurants near to be more attentive to guest needs, I blame restaurant manager for this , guest should not have to fetch their own drinks when having a meal in the evening , as our holiday went on we made some good friends and we did enjoy , but this definitely is not a 5 star hotel , it only jest scrapes a 4star in our opinion .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daiharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for your kind comments and invaluable critique of your recent stay with us. We value all of our guests and their comments and take on board all relevant items that can help us move forward the quality of our service delivery.

We offer a variety of rooms, from “promo” promos - which are our best value rate - to some of the best Red Sea views rooms in Sharm el-Sheikh. We also have pool view, family rooms and a selection of luxurious suites.


We are sorry that you felt our variety of food available during your recent stay was insufficient. To be fair, whilst recognizing and valuing your opinion, we were somewhat shocked and bemused to hear this. Food is available for our guests 24 hours each day from our many restaurants. If we try to count the items of food offered each day then the total is in the thousands. We offer food varieties originating in the cuisines of the home countries of pretty much all of our guests. We offer dozens of meat dishes, fish dishes, countless varieties of vegetables, pulses, vegetarian dishes, etc. We offer tempting kids meals and we meet the dietary needs of those requiring special eating regimes. Room service is constantly available as are snacks from all the pool and beach bars.

Whilst not wishing to be contentious, we cannot help but feel that if you will consider the situation of any hotel or restaurant you may have visited, the menu at any of them cannot be infinite but is to some degree restricted. However, were we to publish daily a menu of all the food items available in this hotel, we would be providing you with the biggest and heaviest menu you will have ever encountered. We remain exceptionally proud of our kitchens, our restaurants, the value for money we offer and the sheer variety of food provided to our valued guests.

Our room rate and all inclusive concept is possibly the very best value for money 5-star offers in Sharm el-Sheikh. We offer numerous dining options, 24-hours snacks, high quality drinks and all the features and services of a 5-star hotel. Many guests return to us again and again as our the value for money at our resort is irrepressible.

The Royal Albatros Moderna has been awarded 5-stars by the Egyptian Tourism Board and we are regularly critiqued by the board to keep our standards high. We have also recently won the hotels4u Best Seller award thanks to our huge numbers of repeat guest bookings - almost 40% - which is unheard in any International hotel.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel once again in the future and at which time I look forward to speaking with you and personally ensuring your next holiday will exceed all your expectations.

Yours sincerely

Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a family room over by the entrance to this large hotel and it was by a service road, which on arrival in the dark, i wasnt overly happy about as i thought we would be woken early- but luckily it was fine.
The family room had one massive bedroom for the adults, with a super king bed and was extremely spacious. The kids room had bunk beds and a large single. Both rooms had flat screen tvs. The bathroom was spacious and met our needs. The furniture is a little dated, but the room is spotless and we spent very little time in it- so it did not affect me.
The grounds are so well kept it's unreal. I even saw them washing the road up to the entrance one day! Whilst in the gym,i saw one guy on the ledge cleaning the rails and outside windows- sheer dedication.
The food was fairly varied and we always found something to eat,as there are a lot of places to visit from the fresh pizzas, to kebabs, to fish and chips and lots of other choices. We loved the fresh baked criossants, that went like hot cakes. My favourite food was at the Tagine restaurant- consistently good food,as after two weeks it did become a little samey- not a criticism though. We went over Easter and had turkey, which was freshly carved and they even made their own Easter eggs.Oddly, the salad at breakfast was better than at dinner. I could never find coleslaw or beetroot at night. If i have to criticise it would be that i would like to have seen the fresh fruit from breakfast in the evening as i am not a big cake lover- but that is just personal choice. the new coffee bar is great as is the ice cream place- still odd that you cannot get ice cream with dinner and have to go down to the ice cream parlour though.
The gym was adequate but very hot when we would visit- around 5pm every night. It coled down when the sun went down though.
The drinks were a bit hit and miss in that diet coke was not on tap and in bottles, but normal coke was on tap ( i think it should be the other way round?) and when asking for diet coke at night, it was handed out in the same glasses as the shots- random i thought as it was gone in one mouthful and we had to keep going back for more. The bar staff would be less busy if they used bigger glasses in my opinion. Beer on tap would be another good idea too.
We never had a problem with sunbeds and found loads on uur first morning at 11am. the place is so vast and has so many pools, it was never a problem, but we did get out about 9amish,so maybe some people struggled later- as the hotel did get a lot busier over the Easter period.
The beach doesnt have any sand to speak of and i never speant time there as a bit gravelly for my liking- but that is the geography of the coast line, so nothing to be complained about there.
The lounge bar was nice and it seemed like refurbishments were being undertaken around the hotel and what has been done so far is impressive. I like the sofas outside near the ice cream parlour/coffee bar.
A few more chairs to sit out at night around this area and the bars would be nice, as it got fairly busy over the time we where there and you did have to get there early to get a seat.
The staff are all very haard working and fun and love the kids- spending lots of time joking with them.
The water slides were great fun and never too busy. The smaller slides are ideal for younger children too. Snorkelling is great, but you can see lots of fabulous fish with the naked eye,just by looking over the jetty.
There is a lovely promendae to walk along down by the beach and extends to three miles, taking you past all the hotels, so good for a nose and a proper walk or jog- if so inclined.
Overall, a very good holiday and great value for money and i would recommend it. It's not the same opulence as you would see in Dubai ( i have been there loads and stayed at all diff places but they are expensive- so you get what you pay for), but it's value for money and a great climate and we werent ill whilst there.I have been to Egypt four times now and i think this hotel sits at the top of my list. For a value for money visit, you cant go wrong.
Go into soho square at night if you want some better night life.

Room Tip: I would go for a family room if possible and avoid rooms near the heated pool as they seemed a bit d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhardy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear M Hardy

Thank you for your kind comments and invaluable critique of your recent stay with us. We value all of our guests and their comments and take on board all relevant items that can help us move forward the quality of our service delivery.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel once again in the future and at which time I look forward to speaking with you and personally ensuring your next holiday will exceed all your expectations.

Yours sincerely

Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Second time in Sharm, First stay at Royal Albatross Moderna.

Hotel great, all facilities wonderful.
Enjoyed the food and drink. Loved the pancakes and the coffee bar.

Rooms nice, big balcony and nice view over pool area. Only thing i would say is that the corridors to the rooms are very dark and there are a few steps scattered here and there. We went with my elderly dad and had to watch him in the corridors as he is accident prone.

Pools lovely and clean, plenty of sunbeds. Slides were great, big lovely beds with mattresses around slide pools.

Beach area nice, good for snorkelling in the shallows where there are pools or in the deeper water. Steps from pier into sea quite slippy. We didnt see as many fish in the sea here as we did went we went to the other hotel further down the coast. But still great holiday

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank finnrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for your kind comments and invaluable critique of your recent stay with us. We value all of our guests and their comments and take on board all relevant items that can help us move forward the quality of our service delivery.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel once again in the future and at which time I look forward to speaking with you and personally ensuring your next holiday will exceed all your expectations.

Yours sincerely

Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
12.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,344 reviews
16.1 mi away
Aqua Blu Sharm
Aqua Blu Sharm
#44 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,021 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 32 in Nabq Bay
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
2.1 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#2 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Property: Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004, the 5* resort has a dream location on the golden sandy beach on the new hotel zone of Nabq Bay, facing coral reefs in the crystal clear waters of the Red Sea, and the shipwrecks of the nearby Straits of Tiran. The main building and the attached two-storey building are surrounded by resplendent gardens extending down to the beach. This elegant all inclusive resort is only 12 km from Sharm El Sheikh Airport, and 20 km from the famous Naama-Bay.Whether you're celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon, planning a family vacation in Sharm El Sheikh or just wanting to get away from it all, Royal Albatros Moderna is the perfect place for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albatros Moderna Hotel Nabq Bay
Calimera Royal Moderna
Calimera Moderna Beach
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El-Sheikh Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing