We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2012

just back yesterday , what a great hotel , if your looking for 5* luxury then this is not the place for you its more of a 4* but is still a very good hotel , personally i would say its one of the better hotels in sharm , rooms round the active pool on the left hand side if your looking from the main building have sun all day which was a nice bonus , there is a good selection of food on offer in the restaurants and the day we left they were just finishing the new coffee area which was looking very nice and they are moving the coffee wagon by the active pool down to the beach , they are also building a new heated pool which i was imformed is due to open september the staff are fantastic and go out of there way to accomodate you if possible , rooms were kept spotless by hemley our cleaner he couldnt do enough for us and works his socks off, moustafa who seemed to be our waiter in the evenings was a absolute star , i must say it was one of our best holidays we have had and we are well travelled , the pancake bar was always a big hit if you could eat anymore , the slides at the aqua park were great fun , this hotel is the type that if you dont want to go out of the resort you dont need to as there is always something going on and the atmosphere is great , i must agree about the vodka thou we couldnt work out if it was rum or vodka , wine was nice, beer was good ,and the new coffee bar by reception was to die for we enjoyed it so much we are looking to return again at the end of october or early nov and we never stay at a hotel twice , we met many people who return to the ram time and time again , i think that says something in itself well done ram what a great hotel you are feel free to ask any questions

Room Tip: rooms to the left side of the main buildings have sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank traceyp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_ragab, Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you for your kind comments and invaluable critique of your recent stay with us. We value all of our guests and their comments and take on board all relevant items that can help us move forward the quality of our service delivery.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel once again in the future and at which time I look forward to speaking with you and personally ensuring your next holiday will exceed all your expectations.
Kind regards
Yours sincerely

Mahmoud Ragab
Area Director of Operation

mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,110 - 4,116 of 6,786 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

Got back from RAM on Tuesday last week.First thing I would like to say as a caution is this - we went for 3 weeks and on arrival at the Airport,we were met by our transfer people EASTMAR travel (Remember the name)because they escorted us to a desk and told us that because we were there for more than 15 days we had to pay for a Visa and that it would be £15 GBP each.I promptly refused stating that we would not be travelling outside of Sharm.The reply was ,"if you don't pay now it will be £20 GBP each on our return to the Airport".I think this is a SCAM,because we sailed through departure on our return.Four of us travelled together.so
that would have netted them £60 GBP.My advice is get more advice.
Now about the hotel,firstly we made a mistake in going at half term for kids,because in our first week, there were lots of them,not a problem really apart from the fact that some mothers/fathers (English) have no control over their offspring.Allowing them to go wondering of
in the restaurants,letting them climb on the seats,up the walls and across the ceiling sort of thing and filling there plates with enough food to feed a family let alone one child and then discarding the mountains of food that was not consumed.
Having said all that,this is a lovely hotel and could not be faulted.All of the staff work tirelessly to make your holiday special.Every nice comment that has been made in previous reviews are spot on,so enough said.I would like to thank the manager at the desk for sorting out a lovely room for us on request (Room 1378 )and checking us in really quickly.Also a big thanks to our room cleaner HOSAM SAID who looked after us well,plus a mention about one of the most efficient waiters on the complex AMIR RAFAT,what a nice guy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimoHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_ragab, Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you for your kind comments and invaluable critique of your recent stay with us. We value all of our guests and their comments and take on board all relevant items that can help us move forward the quality of our service delivery.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel once again in the future and at which time I look forward to speaking with you and personally ensuring your next holiday will exceed all your expectations.
Kind regards
Yours sincerely

Mahmoud Ragab
Area Director of Operation

mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

stayed for a week at the end of January. Weather was warm, but not too hot. Hotel facilities were very good...pools were freezing though!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ch26876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_ragab, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for your kind comments and invaluable critique of your recent stay with us. We value all of our guests and their comments and take on board all relevant items that can help us move forward the quality of our service delivery.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel once again in the future and at which time I look forward to speaking with you and personally ensuring your next holiday will exceed all your expectations.

Yours sincerely

Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

we had a lovely holiday here, but we only paid £280 each for the week (inc flights - it was a bargain!!). we went in March 2010 and were impressed by the pool area and the service that we had. our room was basic but spotlessly clean with two single beds (would have liked a double) massive bathroom and balcony. The room didnt look like any of the ones on the website but we think we were given the basic room due to the price we paid. there was a fridge in the room for our water and keep snacks from the buffet cold (for midnight munchies after drinking!).

we loved the beach bar and got stuck into the karaoke and the entertainment that was going on but most evenings we justsat had afew drinks and enjoyed each others company. Food was buffet style and our favourite was the italian out the back as had a romantically lit patio to eat on. we were never short of something to eat and there were familiar dishes as well as more unusal ones that we enjoyed trying. Its not gourmet food but its tasty and lots of it. I even ate salad and fruit everyday and was fine.

I enjoyed the wine and the spirits when made into cocktails (never knew a whiskey sunrise existed before being in Sharm!!). the beach and the pier were also great.

would return if we got it at the same price, but i wouldnt pay much more.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethLaw24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_ragab, Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you for your kind comments and invaluable critique of your recent stay with us. We value all of our guests and their comments and take on board all relevant items that can help us move forward the quality of our service delivery.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel once again in the future and at which time I look forward to speaking with you and personally ensuring your next holiday will exceed all your expectations.
Kind regards
Yours sincerely

Mahmoud Ragab
Area Director of Operation

mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

my husand & i just retuned home after our 10 day holiday @ royal moderna which was excellent our room was most comfortable massive king bed lovely pillows @ sparkling clean throughtout our stay we had room 1472 with sea view. it has been 2years since our last visit to the moderna & we found the new changes they have made are excellent we loved the new coffee shop tip top all the new restarants super our personal fav.was the asian but they al were good it was hard to pick.we would like to say a very special mention about the wonderful staff from hani who brought our luggage to Sharky & Salah(gary) & the lovely staff especially Mario @ the beach bar which by the way serves delicious fresh fried or grilled fish everyday111 cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Stayed for one week lovely hotel lovely people. Great for the price only cost £400 each for flight and hotel. Absolutley massive hotel took me till near the end to figure where everything was. Our room was where the water park is and heated pool so it was a hike to the main area and beach, took 20/30 mins walk to get to the beach which was the only problem, but I think we were on the best bit as its closer to the main restaurant and reception. Pancake bar and coffe bar was the best bit!!! Also the pools were icy cold the sea was warmer we couldn't use the pools because we were that cold when we got in them. Water park is fab although the man working where the bar is with cake was a very rude man and was miserable and shouted at me for asking for a spoon and also greeted me with a middle finger when I went up to get a drink for my daughter, utter rudeness. Overall this is a beautiful hotel and I loved it! Should be 5******

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val1237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_ragab, Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you for your kind comments and invaluable critique of your recent stay with us. We value all of our guests and their comments and take on board all relevant items that can help us move forward the quality of our service delivery.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel once again in the future and at which time I look forward to speaking with you and personally ensuring your next holiday will exceed all your expectations.
Kind regards
Yours sincerely

Mahmoud Ragab
Area Director of Operation

mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Just returned from a 10 night stay at this hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed it and are sad to be home. We had room 828 which overlooked the heated pool, room was lovely, bed was really comfy and location really quiet. We based ourselves on the sunbeds at the aqua park everyday, the slides were brilliant, water in the pools was cold due to the time of year but you didn't notice it much when you come down the slides as you're not in the water for long! All the lifeguards at the aqua park were lovely and very friendly.

There is loads of choice of food throughout the day, we tended to eat in the Italian restaurant the majority of the time, in there at breakfast you could get freshly baked croissants which were lovely, then made to order pizza at lunch and dinner. Liked the freedom of being able to walk through all the restaurants to see what was on offer before deciding on where to eat, or have a mixture of things from a few of them....all in all we ate far too much food, but thats holiday!!! Agree with the comments about the spirits, they are horrible, but they always are whatever all inclusive hotel you stay in! I went prepared and took a bottle of vodka with us, but actually ended up drinking beer most of the time which is nice.

The hotel complex is massive, with loads of different places to go, so you don't get bored, coffee bars are really nice, evening's entertainment at hotel is pretty normal for Egypt!....Very cheesy and not great, but loads of other stuff to do. We walked out of the hotel a couple of nights into the centre of Nabq which is about a 15min walk, nice English bar there called Bus Stop which has free wifi and ipads on the tables which are free to use (there is also one of these bars in Naama Bay), opposite there is a supermarket called Metro in which all items are priced up which makes a change, so was easier to buy things from there than having to worry about asking for prices and bartering in other supermarkets along that strip.

Although we didn't sit on the beach (as we prefer pools) it looked really nice and the walk along the jetty was really good, great to be able to see so many different fish and sea snakes etc without having to get in the water, although thoroughly recommend getting in and having a swim as its really nice.

Would definately return to this hotel and would recommend to friends.

Hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Room Tip: If you want to be in a quieter place, then try and get a room around the relaxation pool or heated p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_ragab, Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you for your kind comments and invaluable critique of your recent stay with us. We value all of our guests and their comments and take on board all relevant items that can help us move forward the quality of our service delivery.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel once again in the future and at which time I look forward to speaking with you and personally ensuring your next holiday will exceed all your expectations.
Kind regards
Yours sincerely

Mahmoud Ragab
Area Director of Operation

mahmoud.ragab@pickalbatros.com
Report response as inappropriate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
2.6 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#12 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,209 reviews
12.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Parrotel Beach Resort
Parrotel Beach Resort
#7 of 33 in Nabq Bay
3,526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Alcazar
Steigenberger Alcazar
#1 of 33 in Nabq Bay
206 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#3 of 33 in Nabq Bay
4,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: $65 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004, the 5* resort has a dream location on the golden sandy beach on the new hotel zone of Nabq Bay, facing coral reefs in the crystal clear waters of the Red Sea, and the shipwrecks of the nearby Straits of Tiran. The main building and the attached two-storey building are surrounded by resplendent gardens extending down to the beach. This elegant all inclusive resort is only 12 km from Sharm El Sheikh Airport, and 20 km from the famous Naama-Bay.Whether you're celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon, planning a family vacation in Sharm El Sheikh or just wanting to get away from it all, Royal Albatros Moderna is the perfect place for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albatros Moderna Hotel Nabq Bay
Calimera Royal Moderna
Calimera Moderna Beach
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El-Sheikh Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing