We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront location, superb swimming & snorkling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2007

The Calimera Moderna (Royal Al batros)
Great for a relaxing beach/pool holiday- glorious weather.
For the more active a comprehensive activity programme, Disco and kids club.
Tip- if travelling independently from the airport to hotel, taxi fare is £15 (needs haggling!)
Food - fresh and plentiful, delicious salads and the largest selection of gorgeous bread rolls - and to my delight real butter (Lurpak!!). There was show cooking, pizza and pasta stations and delicious Kebabs from the bbq. Desserts were mainly cakes and pastries, but very enticing and delicious. Breakfast finished at 10 am but a late breakfast was served upstairs in the toscini resteraunt if you slept late- great idea!.
Drinks - mainly help yourself but readily available (Pepsi), water readily available (large bottle of water free in mini bar daily). Also coffee and tea facilities in bedroom.
Staff - very friendly and helpful (special mention for 'Gary' in the pool bar!)
Bedroom - spacious two queen size beds, very clean, lovely balcony. Toiletries provided.
3 swimming pools, 1 active pool/1 relaxation pool/ 1 heated pool (quite small), very clean and constantly maintained.
The hotel is directly situated on the sea front and has a wooden walkway over the coral reef to the sea, an ideal place to snorkle, swim or just sit and relax and watch the fish. (Only hotel guests allowed on the walkway so it doesent get to busy). The sea water is crystal clear, and teaming with a wide variety of fish.
There are shops in the hotel and also a pharmacy.
Security - there are a large number of security guards throughout the complex, guests safety a priority.
We enjoyed our stay and will definately go back one day.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,563 - 5,569 of 6,800 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2007

Stayed: April 2006
1  Thank chrisnpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2007

We have just returned from the Calimera Moderna or also known as the Royal Albatross and on the whole can say we had a fabulous time on holiday apart from when we first arrived. After being delayed for 6 hours at manchester arrived to be told that the hotel was fully booked and sent off to the Aqua Park. Dont be fooled by a member of staff saying it is better there it is like Blackpool Pleasure beach with a hotel in the middle of it!!!!Nightmare. After a few phone calls and disagreements we finally arrived back at the Royal Albatross
the reception is very impressive and relaxing. We were told it was a five star but if you have stayed in a five star which we have you will
find it is more of a three plus star. Most of the staff were very friendly especially Sharkey in the Beach Bar. That is great for snacks
at lunch time. They do a good latte in the reception bar. The food was
good although got a bit repetitive towards the end the only thing was that if you fancied a snack around five and not bother with something later then the meals did finish at 1500hrs then it was 1830 before evening meals started. There are lots of Russians at this hotel although it is a very mixed crowd of all nationalitys. The rooms are very very clean. The facilities are good apart from if you want to play crazy golf they try and charge you 10 euros for two people. The snorkelling is great from the jetty but more so to the left as you come out of the hotel at the beach and carry on walking it is absolutely fantastic there worth the 15 min walk. The main problem that we found is that they have a singer who at first is ok but after two weeks he is in the pool bar and from 2000 to 2300 hours he sings the same songs night in night out and also the booming of the beat does get you down especially if you wanted an early night. Apart from that the holiday was great and by the way do not miss out on the quad biking that is offered at the hotel it is fab... see misha at bright shark for quad biking or dive trips and they are not to be missed out on either

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank sueschoey32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2007

My husband and I read a few bad reviews on this hotel before we went so we were a bit nervous but upon arriving we couldn't really find anything wrong with the hotel. Everything is constantly being cleaned, polished, or painted from the windows to the floors. Sometimes it's not perfect but that's to be expected since there are quite bad sand storms at night. There is one review on here that said the pool wasn't cleaned, all three pools were constantly being cleaned (we had a pool view) and you can't swim in them after 6 pm because a cleaning product is put in the water. All towels are clean and fluffy from the bath towels to the beach towels. The rooms are spic and span, when we first arrived at the hotel I thought the bathroom wasn't very clean so I attempted to clean it a bit myself not wanting to complain, but it turned out what I thought was dirt was just stains that wouldn't budge. We left our sliding doors open a lot (had a terrace) and so we got a few very large aunts in the room but your provided with a bug spray that kills them, they're local to the area and the hotel can't do anything about them. The room cleaner also sprayed this in the room whenever he was in. We left the air-con on all the time which he would turned off so we just set it to 17c before he came so that it would still be cool when we came back. Also the sheets and towels are replaced daily if you'd like. We found the snorkling outside the hotel to be fantastic! There are eels, puffer fish, star fish, sea horse, clown fish, schools of fish, really just loads. Along with fantastic corals. The water is not very deep even at the end of the pier but there is still decent enough stuff to see when the tide is in. The water is quite low when the tide is out, we walked from the sand to the ship wreck in our shorts and t-shirt, but you do need reef shoes for this. It was said that if you walk to the left past the two building sights there is better snorkling but I didn't find that, there were no corals or intersting sea life just lots of big fish that were rather dull looking. The staff is mainly male with the exception of the the enterainment crew, a few are female. But I found most of the men to be very respectful, they know how it works so they don't treat you any differently. Most were nice so we gave them one dollar tips, which made them you new best friend. They only get 50 egyption pounds a week and they work non stop for 2 months, it's only 50p to us and they really do appreciate it. The reception also caught on to it being my husband's birthday so gave him a certificate a free cake. They were just some many good things about this hotel I can't list them all. The bad things were few. If you have little feet be carefully on the pier, the planks can be a few inches apart, there is a language gap but the staff do there best to understand you, they're are a few slipping/tripping hazards about but there is no 'health and safety' around so it's to be expected. The only other bad thing I can think of is that thed food is a lot more spicy so if you have a sensitive stomach it can get uncomfortable. There is a british food health award on the wall in the buffet, in full view and it is recent. More than anything it's just commen sense, don't drink the water, avoid salads and if you don't think they cooked your omelet right, don't eat it. If you really want good service go to the sunset bar as the guy who works there is great. Don't book a taxi through the hotel as the price a hugely inflated, the buses are good though, they cost less than local taxis and drive just as poorly. Just make sure you get back to the pick up point early as they do tend to come early and they will leave you behind. Naama bay was paintful as your really pressured and harrased a lot, one man took money from down my shirt because he didn't believe we had a certain amount of money on us. But if you do go to Naama go at night as you can blend in a lot more and avoid being harrased. I would definetly recomend this hotel to anyone but always go with an open mind, we didn't expect to muchand we're pleasently surprised.

Stayed: November 2007
11  Thank swisscuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2007

We spent the October half term week at the Calimera with our daughters (aged 8 and 6) and we had a great time. Please don't be put off by some of the negative reviews you might have read: I really can't see what they are grumbling about!

We were just after a week of sun and chilling out after a rather fraught year and that is exactly what we got. Yes, the hotel probably wouldn't score 5 stars in Europe and it will need a few quid spending on it in a couple of years, but our room was kept lovely and clean, the pool areas and restaurants were fine and the food was excellent, especially the breads, pastries and individual lunch time pizzas. Best of all are the staff, an army of young guys who all work their tails off to look after you and are charm and friendliness itself. They seem to love the British, probably because we are light relief from the millions of grumpy Russians who flock here in their millions. The children were treated like pair of princesses and the odd tip is much appreciated. Look out for Medhat in the main restaurant - we now have a goldfish named after him!

The Calimera is a huge place, like a small walled town, running from the main coastal road down to the private beach so you have plenty of space to run around and plenty of choice over where to plop yourself down. The active pool is a bit noisy with the efforts of the entertainment team to involve everyone, so we didn't spend too long there (and the kids found the water a bit chilly); the relaxation pool is much quieter but again, a bit chilly, so we tended to hang out at the heated pool which was handy because our room opened right onto it! Although much smaller, this pool is lovely and warm and in a nice secluded courtyard.

We had requested a quiet room so we were very happy with this. The rooms in the active pool area would probably be rather noisy as the action goes on into the evening with karaoke in the pool bar and the evening show in the open air theatre, so if quiet is important ask for room 719 or thereabouts.

We had never done an all-inclusive before, so we weren't too sure how it worked. Basically you are attached to a wrist band when you check in which stays on all the time, it's a bit like being admitted to hospital. Each hotel has a different colour. It didn't take long to get used to the idea that you can just stroll up to the pool side bar whenever you like and ask for a beer! (The wine is rough as hell, but the beer is fine and the cocktails aren't too bad either! Soft drinks are in DIY dispensers so the children can help themselves and there are plenty of mineral water stations too.) If you really want to switch your brain off altogether then it is fantastic. And if you feel so inclined you can find something to eat for about 21 hours a day!

Trips: Outside of the finished hotel complexes, the Sharm area is one vast desert building site, so you can't really head off on foot for a stroll and an explore (unless you are in the central Naama Bay area), so to go out and about you need to be on an official trip. My husband spent an afternoon quad biking and really enjoyed it (cost about £20 for 3 hours). We had a trip on a glass bottom boat which was okay but not such a must do if you have been snorkelling. We spent a day at Aqua Park which was good fun but a bit frantic (very loud gangsta rap and R&B constantly) and so full of Russians it was like a Kremlin staff day out! The water slides are fantastic but beware! Aqua Park is manned by dozens of rather officious life guards and they are pretty strict about not letting young children on the bigger slides. We managed to find enough to keep our girls happy (they are 6 and 8 and both quite tall), but any smaller and they would have been confined to the children's area which is best for much younger children. We booked all these with one of the chaps who operate through the hotel: you can find them in the main lobby area or, if you hang out by the active pool, they will find you!

Snorkelling: The snorkelling off the hotel's jetty is limited as the water is very shallow although there are millions of star fish and hermit crabs etc to watch. But if you turn left when you reach the path alongside the beach and walk for about 10 mins past all the building sites which characterise the area (or get the free minibus!) there is great snorkelling to be had on what will soon be the private beach of a hotel under construction - you can't miss it, there are always people there. Also great for snorkelling is Sharks Bay - the hotels tame taxi man will take you there for a fixed fee. Go to the public beach (costs about £2 per adult for use of sun bed) and the beach guys there will point you in the right direction. Fantastic snorkelling from the beach or the jetties.

One word of warning - you don't officially need a visa if you are planning to stay within the Sharm area. But it's a brave traveller who tries to defy the officials who surround each plane lead load that lands at Sharm! You are quickly hustled into queues for the visas and then your passport is checked at least twice to see that you have bought one. It is checked again on the way home! We weren't prepared for this, so £48 of our cash was gone before we had left the airport!

We all came home with a mild case of dodgy tummy, but nothing drastic.

Pretty much any currency is fine - sterling, dollars, euros or Egyptian pounds (there is a cashpoint machine at the hotel).

Have a lovely time!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SarahFW69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2007

We stayed at the Calimera for a week in September. On arrival we were sat down to check in with a cold towel then shown to our room shortly followed by our cases. Overall we had a great stay and cannot really criticise anything too much. If I had to be fussy I would say the bathroom was very slightly scruffy and the grounds had a few small areas of loose concrete and a few broken sunbeds. The grounds were otherwise kept very clean and tidy, the pools were very clean and were cleaned daily. Although it is classed as 5* I think you need to almost class it as how much you paid as obviously some other the other 5* hotels are far more expensive and it stands to reason you will get better food etc. I think the Calimera is excellent value for money.

Our room overlooked the relaxation pool which was nice and quiet but , as the hotel is large, we were a long way from the beach. This wasn’t a problem as it meant some exercise! You get a 1.5 litre bottle of water in your fridge each day but you can also fill it up from the dispensers of you need to.

The food isn’t too bad, there’s a reasonable choice. The soups, although clear, are very nice and the desserts are better than I had previously. Some of the breakfast choices are a bit odd but that’s because I’m English! The pancakes are very good too and they seem to do these most of the day.

We never had a problem finding a free sunbed especially on the beach. The beach is large and spacious. The jetty is quite long (a few hundred metres) and the water is shallow at the end. The snorkelling on first impression isn’t good but it is deep enough and if you look around there isn’t much coral but there are loads of fish to see, we saw loads of eels, a lionfish, parrot fish, puffers and porcupine fish and even a cuttlefish to name a few. As the water is shallow it means you can get really close to the fish. If the conditions are right you can go out further to snorkel over the edge of the reef which is worth it. We also went to the other beach where the water is deeper and much more coral, the snorkelling is very good there. A new hotel (Louis Tiran Sharm) is being built there so may not be able to use the beach for much longer.

Neither myself or my partner got ill and didn’t really notice many others did. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank alison123Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzietaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
2.6 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#10 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,268 reviews
12.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Alcazar
Steigenberger Alcazar
#2 of 33 in Nabq Bay
264 reviews
2.4 mi away
Parrotel Beach Resort
Parrotel Beach Resort
#6 of 33 in Nabq Bay
3,627 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#3 of 33 in Nabq Bay
4,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: $73 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004, the 5* resort has a dream location on the golden sandy beach on the new hotel zone of Nabq Bay, facing coral reefs in the crystal clear waters of the Red Sea, and the shipwrecks of the nearby Straits of Tiran. The main building and the attached two-storey building are surrounded by resplendent gardens extending down to the beach. This elegant all inclusive resort is only 12 km from Sharm El Sheikh Airport, and 20 km from the famous Naama-Bay.Whether you're celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon, planning a family vacation in Sharm El Sheikh or just wanting to get away from it all, Royal Albatros Moderna is the perfect place for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albatros Moderna Hotel Nabq Bay
Calimera Royal Moderna
Calimera Moderna Beach
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El-Sheikh Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing