We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who needs tuna when we have crabstick!!”

White Elephant Thai Restaurant and Sushi Bar
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Nabq Bay
Price range: $19 - $64
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Who needs tuna when we have crabstick!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We ate at the restaurant as we were staying on in the hotel itself. We eat alot of sushi each week so we went for the big sushi boat. Unfortunately when it arrived we were told our red tuna (very expensive) had been replaced by crabstick which don't contain any crabmeat in them by the way. The only fish on the plate was salmon so not much variety to say the least. I complained but was insulted when I was told by the manager that crabstick were much better than red tuna. He said he would compensate us with a free bowl of fruit salad that we could have had by walking back into the hotel with our all inclusive wrist bands.

I read the reviews before booking which said you need to dress up with trousers shoes etc. First sight when walking into the restaurant was two guys with swim shorts and barefeet sitting at the bar watching football. Hardly romantic. Then again they did have rocky 3 playing on the other tv. Can't beat sly getting beaten up by clubbers lang whilst looking at your loved one.

We booked a table for 8pm on a Saturday night in the restaurant and apart from the football fans in their speeds at the bar, we were the other ones in the entire restaurant.

Very disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    16
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“nice restaurant”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

it was a nice & different food -you have to taste it
sea food soup & sea food dish are delicious
the view is wonderful

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank khaled s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“White Elephant Thai restaurant = Gorgeous!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The food was lovely. It was the first Thai meal myself and my husband have had and we enjoyed it very much. We were lucky to receive a complementary meal and we were not disappointed!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DenbyDaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant ;-)”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This is simply the best restaurant we've had the pleasure of going to. We were invited as return guests and ended up going back twice more during our holiday. The ambience and food is superb and once again the staff are fantastic. Can't wait to go back in 10 weeks time x

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Sushi and sweet and sour fish is a must!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Having visited this hotel numerous times I always have to eat here when I return. I've just got back from 3 1/2 weeks and ate here 3 times during my stay. Having never experienced sushi until now Ive got to say its beautiful not just in taste but how it's presented in a boat etc...these small touches make it for me. The Sweet and sour fish and rice is to die for...Michael and Allan the philapeno chefs are amazing and very talented in their profession....just wish we had some chefs like these here in England :) keep up the hard work boys x

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikitab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Elephant Thai Restaurant and Sushi Bar also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh
 

Been to White Elephant Thai Restaurant and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing