We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good compromise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good compromise”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good size resort, not too big, not too small. All inclusive quite good.
The house reef is not the most exciting, niether for snorkling nor for scuba diving. Vertical wall down to about 15 m. Quite some current at times. The dive center "Coral diving club" is quite average and does not impress with good service.
The worst thing about is the music under the bridges. They play loud music 24/7. We had to call the reception every night to ask them to turn it down so we could sleep. We come from a big city and are used to noise, but this.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,718
    875
    334
    167
    112
See reviews for
1,001
1,198
175
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just returned from our second visit to Radisson Blu Resort, had a great time. Made special by the staff and the people we met.

We had a marine room which was great as we have two young children. Even got robes!!! I am quite partial to a dressing gown.

Waled round the pool bar was great. Friendly, happy, made great cocktails and a real asset to the hotel. I just feel for him and all the staff for the ridiculous hours they work. Must be 16-18 hour days!

The only thing that let the hotel down is the food. Breakfasts are fine, omelettes, when properly cooked are great, croissants, cereals etc filled the gap.

Lunches are ok, snacks round the pool or at Olivios are ok but repetitive.

Evening meals are not great, very repetitive even though they have themes. Beef or chicken, rice, pasta are passable at best. I suppose they have to cater for so many nations etc so it is ok but far from great unlike the other sections that made our holiday great!

Animation! What animation? The girls would good and interacted well with everyone and my children loved them the chaps were erm ....... Well they were just there! Not sure what they were doing apart from the occasional half hearted dance by the pool or blowing on their whistles shouting, 'volley ball'

Only real grip is the Egyptian holiday makers taking pictures of my daughters and trying to pick them up. This may be just me but its not on, my husband told them to stop as did some people we met and they did but even so p, it was a hassle that we just didn't need!

Overall, I think a bit of time needs to be spent to improve the catering side and bridges, gaps between slats a the sides are just dangerous and need sorting.

We will return again but food needs addressing, only our opinion!

Big thank yous to all of Olivios waiters, sobhy our cleaner, he was great but especially Waled at the pool bar! He needs to be looked after. His knees are bad and whist he never complained you could tell he was in pain. If I could tell surely the management noticed.

Thank you for your kind hospitality ad like I said a few tweaks needed but it could be a smashing hotel if the extras were there.

Room Tip: Ask for a marine club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Radisson Blu for 11 nights (28/3 - 8/4) on A.I. basis for our first holiday in Egypt. We arrived at night and our initial impressions of the hotel were fantastic and the entrance to the hotel from main road is something else. A water feature surrounded by lights and egyptian pottery really provided a wow factor upon arrival. The check in was swift, without hassle and we were assigned marine room 7105 in the beach vicinity of the hotel. We were also provided with a voucher for a meal at the Il Grotto restaurant within the hotel. The concierge transported our luggage and ourselves to the room and his humour and helpfulness typified what was to come for the rest of our stay. It is quite a walk from the foyer to the marine rooms and after a fairly long flight this was a very welcome service.

We were shown to our room and after a brief explanation regarding the hotel safe, procedures etc. we were left to unpack,however, our initial impression of room 7105 was not good. We both felt that this room had been unused for a while as there was a big chip in the bath which had been filled in with a dollop of filler and the sofa had a couple of razor blade-esque rips on it. This was disappointing as the size and location of the room was excellent. As we had arrived at the hotel fairly late we decided to have dinner before the restaurant closed and to make reception aware of our concerns about the room in the morning. We arrived at dinner about 9pm and were really disappointed with the choice of food that was on offer. We, along with a mother and her young daughter (also from the UK) were left to wander around the restaurant trying to obtain some food which could be assembled into some sort of meal. We became aware of a 'live' cooking area which is located just outside the dining area, however, all of the carved meat and freshly cooked food had been eaten and not replenished.

Needless to say we were not very pleased with how our stay at the hotel had started and as we had finished our 'dinner' within 20 minutes we decided to make reception aware of our concerns about our room that evening. Thankfully our poor impressions of the hotel stopped there and the next 11 days were excellent. The reception staff couldn't be more apologetic and summoned the concierge to change our room. Within 10 minutes we had our luggage moved to another marine room (7118) and once the concierge had made sure that everything was in order we were left to enjoy our rest and sleep after a long day. We also saw maintenance tending to our old room probably with the intention of correcting the problems within our old room.

Our first day allowed us to explore the hotel on the way to breakfast and as our room was located in the beach area we were able to look at the amazing and well kept gardens which run parallel to the winding river from the Olivos restaurant to the childrens pool via mini waterfalls and plunge pools. Breakfast at the hotel is very good. There isn't such a thing as a traditional 'full english' choice bearing in mind that this is Egypt and their food sources are different, however, there was still plenty of choice including a continental option and most days we settled for omelettes or scrambled egg which are available from the outside cooking area. The service in the restaurant is excellent and we found that Ahmed was particularly helpful - from his cheery welcome on arrival through to his constant replenishing of tea/coffee and finally to his best wishes for the day ahead on departure.

As for the daytimes, we spent the holiday alternating between the main pool, the kids pool and the beach. All of the areas have plenty of availability of sun loungers and the towel booths at the main pool and beach contain happy, humorous staff who will usually take the towels to your choice of lounger. The main pool is huge. It is quite cold when you first jump in but there is also a choice of a heated pool which can be located within a caved area although we didn't use this pool as the 34c heat soon took the edge off the cold pool. The main pool also has a pool bar alongside it and it is staffed by a trio who are absolutely fantastic. Waleed is great fun. He seems to have a photographic memory for remembering everyones drinks and he also knows the odd card trick and break dance. You can also pick up snacks throughout the day at the main pool which were hot dog/burger and chips during our stay along with a few different flavours of ice cream.

The childrens pool and beach area are tended to by the same staff and they are also exceptional. On the second day of the holiday i was testing my snorkel and mask (which had been purchased in the UK) in the childrens pool before taking it out to sea but it was faulty and letting water into the pipe. Mahmoud witnessed this and asked if he could also test it before confirming that the seal was broken. He then proceeded to make it his priority to find me a new snorkel and within 5 minutes he returned with a new one which he presented to me as a gift. This was amazing customer service and he could quite easily have just carried out his work without paying any attention to the problem that i was encountering. This incident was not a one off and Mahmoud and his colleagues in the recreation team were excellent throughout the holiday.

The snorkelling is well worth the short walk on the jetty and it is like jumping into an aquarium. It is advisable to take every opportunity to do it though as the wind is very changeable and it can result in the jetty being closed if the current becomes too strong or waves become too choppy. When the jetty is open the snorkelling is very safe and there are lifeguards on the jetty along with life rings and a rope which is located on the bottom of the steps as you enter the sea. The water is crystal clear and you can sea all the different fish aswell as the bottom of the coral cliff.

Finally, the only minor complaint we had for the whole of the stay and the only thing preventing this review from being 5/5 are the evening meals in the restaurant. Whilst we were able to find something edible throughout the 11 nights this was primarily chicken, rice or bread although i understand that this is the same throughout the red sea resorts. The only issues that we had with the hotel food were that there didn't seem to be much variation in the choice and the menu of asian, oriental or italian themes did not correspond with what was actually being served in the restaurant. The cooking station chef always seemed to be cooking spaghetti carbonara and a variety of stir frys for example would've been a welcome change. We did use our voucher for the Il Grotto restaurant for one of the nights and this was decent food and served in a tranquil environment plus we also attended a 'special' evening with an Egyptian and seafood buffet and entertainment for $25 each and this was also good value for money.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Radisson and we would definitely return to this hotel if we were to visit Egypt again. The staff make this hotel and i would recommend this hotel solely on their hard work, humour and attitudes.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Mr and Mrs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is nested in a nice surrounding and has a great (albeit rather small) beach with a jetty to the coral reef. The place is perfect for young children as there is a natural pond in the sea at low tide.
The staff is very helpful and friendly. Our special thanks to Mahmoud on the beach!
Animation needs a boost and the spa isn't working but that should soon change thanks to a very dynamic new manager.
Food is average at the buffet but the new chef at the lebanese restaurant turns the place into a special one.
We enjoyed snacks and drinks at the beach in a very pleasant environnement.
The room are quite calm and confortable if you exept the noisy air conditioning....
On the Whole I recommend the place.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 165Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Its a good resort where you get your moneys worth I think some of the really negative reviews are people expecting a bit too much perhaps and are not too helpful for would be visitors!

I went with my boyfriend from 30th March to 5th April primarily for Diving, we arrived at an unsocial hour of about 4am and were picked up by Radisson Blu transport which was easy to arrange directly with the hotel. We decided to upgrade to a delux sea view room on arrival because we didn't want to wait until a standard room was available for check in. The room and en suite were big, clean, with TV, mini bar, hairdryer (always a bonus) with plenty of towels and toilettries and air con! They also provide a big bottle of free water a day.

We stayed half board rather than all inclusive as we were diving during the day, the buffet style breakfast and dinner was fine, quite bland, no different really from any inclusive, buffet style place I have been to abroad, but I am no expert and have to caveat that I'm a fussy eater and didn't eat any meat so I am probably not the best to comment on the food! The Italian restaurant (not part of the all inclusive deal as far as I am aware) had lovely Pizza.

The actual resort is clean, with plenty of staff, all communal areas must be cleaned regularly because they are of a high standard. The beach area is the same. It is also very safe with plenty of security at the resort entrance so you don't need to worry. There were some works going on when we were there (fixing a water feature and some room upgrades) but the distruption of this was minimal as far as I could tell. You can certainly relax here whether its by the pool or at the beach and its perfectly safe with people leaving bags and belongings on sun loungers. There are the annoying people that 'reserve' their sun lounger by the beach all day and spend very little time there but we never found we couldn't get somewhere good to sit. You do get people coming round selling tours and diving but to be honest this isn't too intrusive as they leave you alone if you say you are not interested (unlike other areas of Egypt!).

We went diving with Elite Divers who are a british based dive school as I am still in the process of learning so I can't comment on the Diving school at the resort though as a general rule the quality and safety standards of diving in the region varies quite a lot so whoever you go with do plenty of research at home first, unless you are an experienced diver I wouldn't just sign up for diving without doing your homework with the company first. We rented snorkells from the Diving school however and these were great. The main snorkelling area is between two piers and you can see amazing fish and coral as the sea is so clear. The current beyond the pier varies considerably so just be a bit careful if you are not a strong swimmer. I personally wouldn't purchase snorkell equipment from the shops on the street outside of the resort, we did and the way they were packaged meant that they were a bit misshapen meaning that they didn't fit 100 per cent properly and let some water in and steamed up easily, plus don't be ripped off, initally the guy tried to sell us two sets for about £70 which is ridiculous! Either rent from the resort Dive centre or buy snorkells from an approved Dive Shop to avoid disappointment.

The final thing is be a bit careful in terms of the currency you are paying for things in whilst you are there, the resort deals in Egyptian pounds, dollars and Euros and unless you are looking really closely it is easy to get mixed up. We got caught out (our own fault but nevertheless very annoying) paying for laundry in dollars when we had thought it was Egyptian pounds. We had to do some because we were then going to Cairo for a week but a small amount of laundry cost us about 50 dollars! So don't do laundry or ration what you do!!

Overall, a good resort with some great features (i.e. the overall cleanliness and the beach area and the snorkelling)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jenny2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel is about 6 miles north of Sharm airport and is a reef front hotel with it's own jetty extending to where the reef drops into the Gulf of Aqaba...You can almost see Saudi Arabia across the sea. There are twenty or so similar fronted hotels in Nabq Bay, with their own jettys. We chose Nabq Bay as it is quieter than Sharm.
The Radisson Blu has some 370 rooms; quite a few being in two storey blocks overlooking the main pool. We stayed in a large room in one of the three lines of chalet style buildings on the slope leading down to the sea. Ours was in the third line from the sea with a restricted view of the sea from our small verandah.
Our son, who has special needs and is in his thirties, stayed with us on a converted bed settee for which the hotel provided a decent mattress. The air con was great; the bathroom spacious.
The hotel occupies a long strip of land stretching down from the main road to the sea reef having a big pool in the centre and a smaller pool by the sea.It has a sister hotel, The Park, on the other, desert, side of the main road.
We loved the landscaping; a series of streams starting from near the main restaurant, Olivios (on the lower floor of the main hotel building) which cross here and there, either side of the main pool and meeting below the pool at La Casata (Italian restaurant, very good and very romantic).
To get to the Olivios from our room was about a five minute walk along winding paths and over bridges and was a delight....music drifting from pillars by the wayside and the scents of the well tended gardens...
We went all inclusive (does not include the Egyptian, Italian or Trade Winds restaurants). Breakfast was the best meal....quite varied (omelettes to order), lunch and dinner were not up to Western 4 star standards...we have found this to be normal in Egypt. The Hotel reception bar, Pool bar, and beach bars serve beer and inferior 'look-a-like' spirits and cocktails. Icecreams are available for a few hours at the Pool cafe as are chips and snacks.
The staff were very attentive and courteous - in particular we would single out Mr M.Hamid on the Front Desk, Daniel, the entertainments manager (his mosquito act was most entertaining) and Ramadah Kassim in Olivios. Our room was cleaned unobtrusively and to a good standard.
Reputedly, it has only rained three times in the last ten years in Sharm and so sun and pleasantly high temperatures (it reached 90 degrees F while we there) are virtually guaranteed.
The tropical fish on the reef are a delight...we bought two snorkel and masks for about £12 English from across the main road but a hot, dry sirocco type wind blew down the Gulf from the North for the last three days of our stay....you could sunbathe but the sea was too rough to snorkel (there are life guards on duty at the Jetty end).
All in all, we had a great time in the Radisson Blu and our thanks to Mr Hamid for securing the Presidential suite (with it's five or so rooms, en-suite marble bathroom and own marble jacuzzi; wrap around balcony with views over the whole complex) for our daughter's wedding night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mole47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

As a family of 4 we visited the Radisson blu resort 19th - 28th March. I cannot recommend this resort enough. The reception were very helpful at all times, we upgraded our room on the 2nd day to a larger room ($13 a night including free room service for breakfast, well worth it!) and also got a sea view. Our room attendant, Sobhy couldn't do enough for us in our room with lots of bottles of water and towels made into animals! Wafez at the Trade winds restaurant and Mahmoud, on the beach all so helpful. Food is good however does get a little bit tiresome after a week or so. There is a wide range on offer and they do try to rotate the options, fresh pasta station every night cooked to your choice, normally freshly barbequed kebabs or chicken wings, lots of salad and puddings, plenty of vegetables, bread and fruit. Table service for drinks, wine, beer constantly refreshed. The resort it self, lovely pool areas allbeit the pools were freezing, hard to stay in for any length of time. The sea warmer, lovely snorkeling in the shallow areas or off the end of the jetty, the jetty had 2 lifeguards on watch. Life jackets available as well. Children's entertainment is an area that is lacking. My children are 7 yrs and 12 yrs - the children's disco was aimed at about 4-5 year olds, and the entertainment for adults didn't start until 9.30pm in an amphitheater out of the way, alot of Russians and polish guests so the entertainment wasn't always in English. However the pool staff would play football around the edge of the pool with the children but there wasn't a dedicated slot for this. To be honest though, my children were happy swimming or just relaxing by the pool so it didn't spoil it. Ice cream is available 11am - 5pm but only by the pool, again not an issue as the beach is so accessible. so easy to get a seat on the beach, not so easy by the pool however the attendants will do anything they can to sort it out for you.

Everything is very clean, see attendants out cleaning and maintaining the grounds at all times. On site photographer as well!

A good selection of shops directly outside the hotel so can get all souvenirs and gifts very easily!

If I go back Sharm, then we would visit this hotel again but I would be tempted to book with them direct.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
10.7 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,246 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#61 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#64 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,129 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#20 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,116 reviews
14.3 mi away
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Gold...
#76 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh

Property: Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
Address: Nabq | P.O. Box 180, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nabq Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#13 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm El Sheikh Radisson
Radisson Sas Sharm El Sheikh
Radisson Sharm El-Sheikh
Radisson Sas Egypt
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing