We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Christmas at Coral Sea Splash”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral Sea Aqua Club Resort
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We've just returned from a wonderful chilled out 12 days at the Coral Sea Splash. We arrived Sunday 18th December & flew home Thursday 29th.

To get the bad out of the way first, I have to say the flights out & on our return were awful. Thomson have reverted to the bad old days of no extra leg room as standard, horrible, horrible food (soggy pizzas or bacon roll) & no inflight entertainment unless you're prepared to hire a psp with games & a selection of films you've probably already seen! As if we haven't paid enough for our seats already! I feel they've gone backwards 6 years!

Also, upon arriving at Sharm airport, we walked into scenes of chaos with super long queues to get through customs & passport control. Having travelled to Egypt on five other occasions & never having experienced any problems with this part of our holidays, we assumed it was a blip but, sadly coming home was the same, if not worse. So, anyone travelling out in the next few days/weeks, be prepared!

Now the good... Upon arriving @ the Coral Sea Splash, we checked in no problem and were shown to our room (1102) without any delay. We were right next to the main building and faced the children's water slides where the bucket fills up until it spills over the thrilled kiddies who stand under it! As the door was opened, we saw a series of doors off a main corridor which to our huge delight opened onto a bathroom to the right, a bedroom with 2 single beds to the left, the main bedroom with a larger en suite bathroom (yes really... 2 bathrooms) and a living room at the end. We had a total of 3 large flat screen tvs, plenty of wardrobes, drawers, mini bar which we emptied as we only wanted to put our free water bottles into it (red topped bottles are all inclusive whereas blue topped are chargeable). Patio doors then led out to 2 separate balconies. All in all, our accommodation was amazing and we were very impressed with the cleanliness and with how spacious it was.

Don't really want to repeat what every other reviewer has already mentioned so, basically will sum up all the good things about this resort and few niggles:

Sun beds... One of the pool guys laid towels out for us everyday in our preferred spot next to the wooden platform by the coloured sand seller.

Service... Amazing! Always with a smile & a friendly bit of banter. Special mention to Sam (blue t-shirt) who brought us drinks all day long so we didn't even have to get up off our sun beds, Mohammed no. 1 & Mohammed no. 2 & Mahrous in the buffet/American diner, Mario (White framed glasses) in the sports bar & special thanks for being so super friendly has to go to Moody on the flow rider who is a cheeky but oh-so lovable guy (reem).

I'd also like to thank Jody (customer relations manager) who by the way, does not want any blue cheese & crackers lol, and Claire (Thomson rep on site) for their help and advice dealing with my husbands very sore tooth. This resulted in two visits to a genuinely lovely Egyptian dentist, Dr. Ahmed Sherif, who was located within a 10 minute walk of the hotel. My husband needed root canal & a nerve extraction to fix work done by an English dentist prior to us flying out to Egypt. Would you believe it! he was charged 1200 Egyptian £ (about £120) which we will recover through our insurance.

Water park... Absolutely no queuing except maybe on the flow rider as it is sooo popular with everyone. I tried the inner tube slide and the 4 slides on the right hand side of the park, our girls tried all, and the lazy river which ranged from being freezing to bearable.

Weather... Glorious! We all have fantastic tans as good as the ones we got during our summer holiday to Mexico. Say no more!

Food... Delicious! Something for everyone from fussy to eat anything!

Niggles, of which there are few:

Yes we were pestered by flies on sun beds but, hardly felt them if you decided not to let them bother you.

Mozzies... We were all bitten on first night to varying degrees; grandad was the worst bitten countless times on the backs of both ankles, down to my eldest who had 1. We bought a can of OFF and sprayed our uncovered bits resulting in no more bites for the rest of our hols. Also, everyday at 5 pm, a chap goes round to fumigate the resort.

One word of warning... Re. Flow Rider... My husband is a 6 foot 3 big guy who threw himself off the top of this fun surf simulator with what is essentially a smallish body board! He did a bit of damage to a couple of ribs and was in a bit of discomfort for rest of his holidays and so, a little caution should be applied.

That's it! It's also worth mentioning that as on our previous holidays to Egypt, we always try and speak a little Arabic, you know the usual, thank you, good morning/afternoon, goodbye! The Egyptian staff absolutely love it and feel very proud when they hear you speak to them in their language and this small gesture goes down very well.

We would definitely go back as this resort although smaller than other resorts in the area, has a very friendly atmosphere at it's heart and heaps of genuine Egyptian hospitality. You will not be disappointed.

Our group consisted of Grandad (70), Nan (67), Dad (46), mum (46), two girls (15 & 12).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoralSeaFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,624 - 2,630 of 2,847 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at the cssr from the 23 oct til the 6 nov 2011. We arrived late in the evening checked in at reception and were immediately taken to our room by buggy.we had a swim up room 2115 which was amazing even my son had his own little private area. The hotel and grounds were always spotless and the staff were constantly cleaning. The pool and slide areas were amazing we have never been anywhere where there are so many lifeguards. We made some very good friends and spent evenings out with a few of the lifeguards mainly Ali Mohammed Mahmoud and rabbie,who we are still in contact with and will be seeing them again in 2012 when we return. however I would like to point out all the other guys were great.the food was great always plenty of choice even for our son who can be very fussy but believe me he never went hungry. We also ate in the American diner which was lovely. The evening entertainment was very low Key but it is the same all over Egypt. We spent evenings at the bus stop with friends which is only a few minutes walk away and is a great place for adults and children alike. We would like to pass on our thanks to all the staff who work so hard and very long hours for making it a great holiday and finish by saying see you all in oct 2012. If anyone is planning a trip to Egypt and considering this hotel do it you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank telliesscooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We have just got back from spending christmas at this resort and we had a great time. We have two kids 11 and 7 and they both went off most days with friends they had made and my husband and i had a nice relaxing time. The rooms are modern, clean and roomy and the bed was massive and so comfortable, we had no concerns with the room. Food was good, varied and cooked nice with good flavour. The pools and slides were great fun,lazy river was great for all of us but just a tad cold, my kids especially loved the wave pool and my son loved the flo rider (surfing simulater). the animation team are good, they get you involved in pool games during the day but not with too much pressure but the entertainment in the evening is pretty average bordering on poor, really needs to be looked at and sorted. My husband and i had a massage,pedicure and i had a manicure and he had a turkish shave in the spa and it was very good. You do need to bargain a price with them though and dont pay the price they try to give you at first.Now for a few words of caution, definately needed while you try and sunbathe is insect reppellent! You simply wont be able to relax with out it, the flies are a real pest! and if i was going to be picky i would definately like the pools that arnt heated to be heated, it would really make a difference. The staff are very friendly and funny and i dare you to go there and not enjoy it we certainly did.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharonwells92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Up until the day i went i was on here reading reviews and was slightly worried but i had no reason to be, i thought the hotel was amazing.
Me and my boyfriend are only 18 and quite fussy with food ect but we had no problem, the food was never cold or undercooked and there was really something for everyone although we mainly ate out of the kids corner every night! We never had to queue for anything and was in an out quite quickly. We ate in the american diner on our last night and it weren't as good as i expected but the food was still fine!
Our Room was absolutely lovely, the bed was so big and really comfortable, it was spotless and i think you have to be really picky to find a problem, there were no cracked tiles or anything like that. The towel art was also amazing although our cleaner did leave our door open one day and then another day he left the mastercard in our room!
I was quite looking forward to the slides ect but after going on the first one and getting stuck halfway down and then them sending my boyfriend down and us bashing into eachother i steered clear of them. also the water was freezing so we only went in the main pool as it was heated.
One problem (if you could call it that) was tipping as we had no idea everyone expected a tip, when we first arrived the man who took us to our rooms stuck his hand out and as i had no money all i could do was give him what english change i had left, this did not please him-so be prepared to have a little something! also people from the hotel spa and diving centre will come round to you at the pool , as long as your firm with them they should leave you alone.
We also done some trips, quad biking in the desert, soho square and a red sea cruise, all of which are great!
Over all i would reccomend it to anyone, the staff are so kind and really will do anything for you! If i ever go to Egypt then i will be straight back to CCSPLASH. Enjoy it :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank zoemurrayx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Coral sea splash Resort is a lovely hotel,the majority of the hotel staff were so friendly , Nabil the waiter is such a lovely person, he made me and my Partner laugh so much everyday ,also he was being chucked into the pool all the time (and its the eyptians winter) and he still had a smile on his face.The rep that worked for the hotel called Mido made our holiday experience excellent he generally wanted to chat and make our holiday a good one,he was defiantly the best and he also took us out to the clubs and made sure we were safe ,Luke was also very good typical english bloke,Kerry the kids rep was also very good although i only spoke to her once she always had the kids engaged in what she was doing.We booked a suba driving trip with a guy called 'X' who came round the hotel and he was very friendly my partner did two dives and absolutely loved it , I was too scared but next time i will do a dive.We also did the ultimate dessert trip and it was amazing.There is a bar called Viva two minute walk from the hotel which was quite good ,its small but if you want to go somewhere close and abit liveier i would recommend it(It also owned by two english blokes). The water park on site of the hotel was really good and would be great for families as it will keep the children entertained and happy all day.Overall it was a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: I personally think the swim up rooms are a rip off unless you are in peak summer in that case it wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jade K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

HI all,

This was an excellent holiday, weather was great for this time of year, much better than expected. the staff at this place really made it!

The buffet had something for every one and I can honestly say that no one in our group of eight went hungry, the only disappointment for us was the American diner which which didn't quite live up to expectations. The food in this restaurant was fine but no better than the buffet next door.

The splash part was excellent fun!

We would return to this hotel again, 4/5 I would say.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank garyeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

This place if it is what your looking for to be brilliant. We travelled as a young couple (25+27) for two weeks and would say its great for families but our second week was too much. I say rough diamond because it is a relatively new hotel and almost unsure of what it wants to be or who it wants to cater for. Also there were just things that didn't have the finish like in the spa it opened before it was finished and there were light fittings hanging loose, bowls and plates were left by the side of the wave pool for the entire duration of our stay, there cracked tiles that didnt cover the whole wall, but read on as there were lots of positives..
Rooms - the beds, wow, one of the best beds I have slept in, as other reviewers have said you get fantastic towel art a couple of times a week and they do a fantastic job at keeping the your room spotless. you have a mini bar but it is not included, you can ask for it to be emptied so you can put your water and anything you may buy from the supermarket in there.
The pools - the main one is heate but only half of that area gets the sun because of where the pool is which results in everyone being lined up, fine if you like that but we chose to sunbathe in the quiter areas where it was less...cosy....the waterpark area was fantastic but we were surprised to see it hardly used by other guests (it was like our own private one!) the slides are really good fun - the space bowl was not working for the two weeks that we were there though.
The grounds of the hotel were spotless and staff worked constantly to look after it.
The animation team in the day work hard to get you involved and work hard, great if you want to get involved and they left you alone if you didn't.
The food.........there was a pizza station where a chef would make your own fresh for you, then the standard pasta salad bread etc. The hot food at the end of the first week did start to become tedious, we had a giggle wondering what last nights food would be on the lunchtime menu (Chicken Vermicelli turned into chicken and noodles in a tomatoe sauced but looked and tasted identical!) The A La Carte restuarants, what completely different experiences we had, the Asian beautiful food, service and settings and one that I would happilly pay to go to had it not been included, The american however was a different story, the setting was not the best, service was appalling and with the exception of the starters it was like McDonalds with dimmed lights!
If you come out of the hotel and turn left you will find a sports bar that does karaoke and things, a beautiful and fairly cheap chinese restuarant, starbucks, TGI's and Mcdonalds KFC etc.
The bar staff are fantastic, in particular Ramy in the lobby bar very rarely in the two weeks did we approach the bar, as we raised our glass to take the last sip he would be there with a refil always with a smile and chit chat.
Entertainment - it is very very low key - lobby bar has a violinist (plays beautifully) and then there is a sports bar which we were not keen on.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are not worth the extra as it is away from the main pool and the patio's for them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Benjamin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
1.4 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
14.7 mi away
Aqua Blu Sharm
Aqua Blu Sharm
#42 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,050 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Waterworld Resort
Coral Sea Waterworld Resort
#33 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral Sea Holiday Village
Coral Sea Holiday Village
#26 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,326 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sea Club Aqua Park & Spa
Sea Club Aqua Park & Spa
#12 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#2 of 33 in Nabq Bay
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Aqua Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Aqua Club Resort

Address: Sharm El Sheikh, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: $66 - $1,661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Coral Sea Aqua Club Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the dynamic pulse the moment you walk into the Coral Sea Aqua Club Resort. It is home to the most prestigious aqua park resort in the fashionable Nabq area on the Red Sea. The aqua park entertains guests with: Boomerang and the Speed/Bowl slides. On top of that, you can race down the multi-laner or go for something calmer like the lazy river. But the real big boy has to be the flowrider ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Coral Sea Aqua Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Splash Hotel Nabq Bay
Coral Sea Aqua Club Resort Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing