We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience - don't go there!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Faraana Heights Resort
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Rotterdam
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible experience - don't go there!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have went on holidays to faraana heights the beginning of August for one week.
Based on the experiences which i will describe below I sincerely do not recommend this hotel to anyone. Furthermore I recognize many negative comments posted by other guests.

Lets start from the things, as those are quite limited in comparison to what I really have to say about this place.
So, to be the honest the biggest and probably only asset of this hotel is the general appearance of the hotel as the big pool, location by the sea and design make a good impression. Also the rooms are quite big and relatively clean.
Another good thing was that actually we lost our camera which was returned by the staff of the hotel. Many thanks for that!
That would be all in terms good stuff.

Let's start from mentioned in the other reviews bad opinions about food. It was horrible! Cold, not fresh (looked like some things were recycled through a couple of evenings). The salad bar was a joke, and taking sth from it could result with stomach ache. Further it was tasteless. For breakfast I had once a boiled egg which after oilling from a shell was greenish obviously recycled from previous day or sth.
We had an option all inclusive snack bar, which meant that instead of having food from a restaurant we had snacks. What a joke! For snacks there were usually like 4 things, two of them were standard: pancakes and pasta with tomato sauce, from the other things you could have burgers, some kind of omlet baked potatoes, sounds good mhhm? There is one big BUT... From all things actually only pancakes were edible... An believe me after 3 days of them you are done, especially that they are the only one thing served as snacks between lunch and dinner! So what was wrong with other things: pasta though tasted ok it was permanently everyday simply cold, burgers were burnt to black, sometimes they served a roll with cut in pieces hotdog sausage, the thing is that this sausauge in my opinion was again recycled from the couple of breakfasts before. During this snack time you could forget about any sort of vegetables, fruit or sweets. Generally the snack bar was served by a swimming pool, which was ok but like I said did not gurantee a warm meal.
Next thing : the location of the hotel. If somebody plans to stay 7 days in the hotel and does not step out of the hotel area, he can skip this paragraph. The rest please read it carefully. The location is a disaster. It was " the end of sharm" and to get there you had to even drive partly through the desert because the road was not completed. That meant also higher taxi costs generally. It was far to old market, naama bay, you could be satisfied though with small shopping area called la strada. Further the info that hotel provides the free transport to the city is a joke because it is like 1/2 times per week and some of the destinations are paid.
Beach: when i checked this hotel on maps, i was very happy with the fact that The hotel is located by the beach but actually due to some fence around the beach it is rather difficult to make it by walking especially during very hot august. Furthermore the beach of this hotel is very boring, no music or a proper bar lcated there, so the drink which we have been served with was almost boiling, yummie! No snacks whatsover provided there. It was also disapointing that the beach was supposed to be a coral beach, however to see corals and fish you would have to swim very far as the hotel did not build a pier like i saw in different places, so i have not seen any corals/ fish in this location.
A service was disappointing, though it was generally ok, i was annoyed by one incident when our soap was empty so i asked by the reception to refill it. I was asked to be patient since it was still before cleaning time. I have explained that we have already waited 3 days for refill and it didnt happen. I was asked to wait patiently, if not then to call. Of course it was not refilled though after the call it was. Further in reference to the service, guys better buy a pack of water, because the hotel does not provide a new bottle of water every day just for a welcome, which was a big surprise for me. At the end of the stay we had to wait more than an hour for our laggage to be picked up. The hotel does not have also a storage room, so if you want to leave your things behind on the day of check out you just do it in the lobby where everyone has access.
Further the place was full of russians and animators were also russians i did not mind but if somebody has a problem with that please stay away from this place.
Just to add the bigger swimming pool as sb else mentioned was had so much chlorine that i was crying when i got to the water first two days. Also i have to warn that though the hotel has two nice pools the other smaller/ quieter one had no bar and towel service, so almost nobody used it.

All in all, i would advise to find something nice in naama bay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    58
    33
    24
    31
See reviews for
56
60
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Koscierzyna, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

In general, this is a good hotel. It has good and poor points, however. The good points: friendly staff, a nice, Egyptian-style architecture, a spacious swimming pool with an island in the middle, a 300 metre walk to the sandy beach (or you can take the hotel bus). The hotel is situated on the outskirts of Sharm el Sheikh, so when you look behind the fence you can admire a desert with some mountains on the horizon. The poor points: the weakest point of the hotel is the food (I wasn't hungry, of course, but the lunch food, for example, was simply cold!!! - every day, so I think it wasn't an accident...). The situation of the hotel may be a good or a bad point - it depends what you expect: it's quite far from the centre, to get to the closer district, called La Strada, you have to take a taxi (4-5 dollars) or walk (about 30 minutes). It's true there are a lot of Russians, however, I don't mind it. And the swimming pool isn't warmed in winter, it's better to have a swim in the sea.

Room Tip: 20 dollars at the reception desk for one-week stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jacek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

we stayed at the hotel for 10 days going for new years eve, it is a lovely hotel very spacious on the beach location.it was also full of russians i just wish people would tell you when you book it that is for russians,dedicated to russians and not anybody else.there was only one more couple who was from england the whole of the holiday.myself and my partner made the mistake before about another hotel in marsa alam in egypt that was full of russians also it was called the pensee lovely hotel but no english there should be somrthing in that states russians only then we would find another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collandkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

the hotel is well-kept, staff is friendly, food is good, pools are great (!), short walk to the beach with a house reef for snorkling nearby.
What I did not like was that the majority of the (mostly Russian) guests have different standards to personal space, waiting in line, etc causing me to feel annoyed. Also, it's very remote, there's no shops nearby or anything so you need to be prepared to not come off the premises for your entire stay.
Would i come back? Not sure....maybe if the area is slightly more developed and if the balance of guests flips more to a culture that i can relate to better I would. For now though, I dont think i wont.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueEyesTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

i really enjoyed my holiday, thanks for everybody , and special thanks for animation who looked after my kids, definatewly will come back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Demi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

At first want to say that the hotelis really the last in the city, but there is good service of hotel shuttle buses and taxi. And the atmosphere inside was like paradise!!!!!!!1
The location of the hotel gives u a chanse to enjoy the the sea from every place in the hotel, and it was smth unbelievable, it is not shallow like almost everywhere without any coral to walk on, just sand
the food is common for egypt with a good variety of fruit, i travelled a lot b4 and to be maybe sick for 1 day it is normal, cause the food is different what what i got used to eat at home
the pool. the pool area is really nice with fake waves even, a lot of waterfalls which make the view better
there is another pool where is qiuet and u can relax more
staff r very friendly, everybody from the cleaners to managers
animation. all the animators are very friendly and polite, with experience to work with different nationalities. Just one weal point i want to add that the theatre is not finished yet and it occurs some problems for the evening show, the place when they make it , is not for this at all
the rooms so big and well designed
wish to come again, i had really good time there

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank armane44ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czestochowa, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

super animacje, ciekawe spedzanie czasu swietne enimatorki, full rozrywek, ciagle usmiechajaca sie mila obsluga :) jedzenie zalezy jak kto woli ale pychotka, pokoje dziennie czyste, klimatyzacja ochladza cieplo bijace z tego miejsca ;) WYCIECZKI MEGA CIEKAWE !!!!!! polecamy quady oraz cudowna rafe koralowa :) mam nadzueje ze jeszcze tu wrócimy poniewaz mozna poznac tu duzo ciekawych ludzi.

Room Tip: very good :) full
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
3.2 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#9 of 31 in Nabq Bay
868 reviews
16.6 mi away
Faraana Reef Resort
Faraana Reef Resort
#121 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aqua Hotel Resort & Spa
Aqua Hotel Resort & Spa
#28 of 31 in Nabq Bay
421 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh
2.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Sharm El Sheikh Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faraana Heights Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faraana Heights Resort

Property: Faraana Heights Resort
Address: End of Nabq Road | Sharm El Sheikh - South Sinai, Egypt, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Faraana Heights Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Faraana Heights Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faraana Heights Hotel Nabq Bay
Faraana Heights Resort Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing