We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not 5 star!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

What a disappointment! This hotel has the infrastructure and facilities to be 5 star but is let down by appalling service, dreadful food and a general lack of care and attention to detail.

The majority of the staff are rude and surly. They have no intention or desire to keep their customer happy.

The food is truly diabolical. Never, ever have I had to eat such cheap and nasty offerings. The lunch time menu at the beach bar is probably the worst. Everything is done for cheap, mass catering. After a couple of days, you start to dread meal times.

We stayed in a family suite. It is a great size, but again there is no care or attention to detail. It boasts "a kitchen" but what is the point of a kitchen, complete with oven, hob and dishwasher if you are only provided with 2 cups and saucers, 2 spoons and 4 glasses?!? We are hardly going to nip down to ikea to stock up on kitchen essentials for a week's holiday?
The cleanliness of the suite was also not up to scratch....cockroaches, lizards and masses of hair in the shower. Not to mention the dodgy electrics which meant we had intermittent lighting for our stay.

The animation team are so dreadful that it is quite amusing! A cockerel crows at 10am each morning, followed by several songs of "We love Egypt"...... It is incredibly amateurish and incredibly noisy. We certainly avoided the pool area each day because of this.

I could go on, but all in all, don't waste your money. The weather is great, it's a short flight time from the UK and small time differential but I'm afraid that's about all the positives for this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank WilsonFamily039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cleopatra L... M, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear WilsonFamily039,
Greeting from Cleopatra Luxury Resort- Sharm El Sheikh,

Thank you so much for your valued time you spent to evaluate our hotel and its service as it is really useful for us to improve our service . All what you wrote is really appreciating but it is surprising .

From the minute at the hotel you have been met by the Front office manager who welcomed you and gave you his business card , he asked you to contact him personally in case you need any requirements . You arrived in the evening and your family suite was ready and tidy before your arrival . For the whole stay you have not asked for anything except more cleaning in the suite which was done at once and you have given an extra visit to the ala carte restaurant to make yourself satisfied. That was done by our guest relation (Kelly).

All the hotel management and staff are working hard to please and satisfy all our clients and to offer them the nice atmosphere to relax . They are having regular training of how to deal with the guest and how to have a smooth operation . The are also able to speak different languages to overcome the language barrier .

Re the food , we have different them nights in the main restaurant to offer the guest the food variety and to avoid repetitive ones . So from 28th of Dec.2013 till 04th of Jan. 2014 the evening meal was completely different each day including the new year gala dinner which you did not mention in your comment at all .

In the beach grill we have a big variety as follows: 2 kinds of salad ( Seasonal salad-Mushroom salad) ,4 kinds of sandwiches (Chicken pane-cold beef-cheese burger-hot dog) , 3 hot dishes (chicken fajita-Beef Fajita-chicken wings) all these dishes with French fries , 3 Kinds of Pasta ( Spaghetti Napolitano-Fuzzily white cream sauce-Penne ala arabbiatta) , 5 Kinds of Pizza (Diavolo-Napoli-Margarita-Vegetarian- Cheese –Sausage) plus Ice cream and fresh fruits as a dessert .

In family suite as you mentioned the kitchen is fully equipped as for the dishes and plats and so on they are available upon request specially for people who booked all inclusive like yourself.

As for the animation you could read other comments and see what people say about them . They have also a daily program and evening show also changed every single day. For example in the day time they have club dance, stretching , water polo , beach volley ball etc… and in the evening they have shows like oriental show , bingo, Karaoke ,variety dance show etc….

We thank you again for your time you spent to evaluate the hotel , and we hope to see you again to remove such negative experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,505 - 1,511 of 3,246 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

What a fantastic holiday. I spent Christmas here with my wife and daughter and we all agreed it was the best Christmas ever. The staff were brilliant, right through from the reception staff to our room attendant, and couldn't do enough for us. It is difficult to single out any one person as they were all great but our special thanks goes out to Essam in the restaurant, along with Sami and Ahmed but not forgetting Ahmed and Tito by the pool, and of course Mohammed the chef and Allla at the pool bar. The girls also indulged themselves with a massage and pedicure (definitely recommended)and I had my first 'real' shave. We will DEFINITELY return next Christmas. Many thanks to all of you for making it a holiday to remember, John Linda and Julie.

Room Tip: A junior suite would be ideal for three adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cleopatra L... M, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Linda H,
Sunny Greeting from Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to spend your Christmas with us. Thank you also for your special mentions of Essam , Ahmed, Alaa , Mohamed & Sami for their efforts will not go unnoticed.

I am very happy you have had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you for your return visit.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at any time in case I could be of any assistance.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My family and friends stayed in Sharm at the Cleopatra Resort for 7 nights during the Christmas Break. Overall, the resort had a friendly atmosphere and it was a very decent place to reside.
However, there are a few points that could have made our stay that extra bit more enjoyable and small improvements that could make a whole lot of difference.

Firstly on arrival, the front of house staff were friendly and helpful and we were offered a refreshment which was very nice, but it did take approximately 10 minutes for them to show us to our room as we were waiting around for a buggy.
Secondly, once we got to the room, it wasn’t the cleanest (dusty) and our kitchenette was not kitted with the utensils as it stated on their website. We did mention this to the front of house staff and they did sort this issue within a few hours which was good. Generally, the rooms are spacious and modern as they are relatively new.
Thirdly, it was very difficult to communicate with the staff working in the market place as the majority of them did not understand English. We had to ask a few times for something before anything was done about it if that, as sometimes we didn’t even get a response. However, there was one manager that did look after our group for the majority of our stay (whose name I can’t remember!) which was really responsive to our needs. Variety of food for vegetarians wasn’t the greatest but the chefs were very helpful when we asked them to point out which foods were suitable for us.

On a positive note, Our room cleaner Ibraham was great and left our room in a perfect condition every day. He introduced himself to us on our first full day at resort and was very responsive to our needs.
We used the spa on 2 different occasions, once for a full body massage and once for a mani-pedi treatment. The treatments themselves were of a good standard and the staff were pleasant, however upgrading the surroundings and equipment that was used would benefit greatly.
The hotel did help us arrange for a birthday cake as we were celebrating 2 birthdays during our stay. The WHOLE animation team and the market place staff were great to us and helped us celebrate the birthdays on both occasions which was perfect.
The entertainment provided by the animation team during the day at the pool (water polo, belly dancing, darts competitions and stretches/ yoga) and in the evenings on the terrace (shows, karaoke etc.) was loads of fun. The whole team would ensure you get involved, make you feel welcome and were always friendly towards us whenever we saw them especially Carla, Fares and Rico.
We had a wonderful Christmas at the resort – the entertainment provided for the evening as well as the gala dinner was exceptional and one we will not forget.

To sum up, we all had an amazing holiday and would definitely return to Sharm again!

Room Tip: We stayed in cluster 9 where the family suits are situated. Location was good as it was right next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cleopatra L... M, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Sunny Greeting from Cleopatra Luxury Resort- Sharm El Sheikh.

First let me thank you for visiting Cleopatra luxury Resort and thank you for sharing your comments and experience on TripAdvisor
Thank you for your review and for choosing to spend your Christmas with us.and let us sharing your Birthday ..

all your comments will be taken in our considerations.

looking to welcome you again soon.
all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have just returned from staying at the Cleopatra Luxury Resort in Sharm and had a wonderful time... in fact we wanted to extend our holiday from 10 days to 14 but were unable to get flights.

Lots of people have given lots of tips and so I wanted to just say about the atmosphere at the Cleopatra. We have travelled to Egypt 7 times and this is only one of two hotels we would return to. The staff are so friendly and fun and i shed a tear when leaving. We plan to go back next year and are in the process of getting prices.

We didnt do alot other than relax due to lots going on at home and we needed a chill down. The all inclusive is one of the best we have experienced outside the caribbean and the cocktails lovely (expecially the ones made by Alaa every afternoon at the swimup bar :).

The staff at the lobby bar were lovely, attentive and good fun and we enjoyed spending a few hours there every night before and after dinner.

Mohammed the breakfast and pool bar chef became a favourite also and Steve (my husband) enjoyed his omelette prepared every breakfast by him.

For lunch we ate at the beach bar which was lovely looking out to sea and Tiran Island and the food here was freshly prepared and lots of it (after 2 days we ended up sharing a meal every lunch hour !).

Hisham could always be found working hard and yet finding time to make sure everything was just perfect for us and we enjoyed his company and will keep in contact. I have included him in my photos and the management should be very proud that you have such good staff working for you.

We made some good friends at The Cleopatra and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a good clean well presented hotel with a good variety of food, very good entertainment staff and very good management and general staff. I think it was the staff and friendliness of them that made this holiday extra special and why i would return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bristolblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cleopatra L... M, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Bristolblond,
warmest regards from Sharm El Sheikh - Red Sea,

Thank you for your review and I am very happy to read that we were able to make your first experience of Egypt Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh a pleasant one, especially at such a special time of year. Thank you for your kind words and your recommendations.
We will pass your nice comments to Mohamed, Hisham, Entertainment and all managements.

look forward to welcoming you back next time as our returning guests.
All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We just returned after staying here for Christmas and New year, the rooms are very spacious and toiletries supplied daily, we also had dressing gowns and slippers supplied and 2 bottles of water every day along with tea and coffee and creamers, if you prefer milk you can purchase a carton from the shop and keep in the fridge. The hotel has areas where you can relax in the sun and read a book all day or an activity pool which is heated where all the entertainment is. The staff go above and beyond to make sure all guests are having an enjoyable time and can not do enough for you. Mohammed who brings drinks around the infinity pool is amazing he gets to know what you drink and just brings them up every half hour, he even knew what time we liked to have a cup of tea/coffee instead of a cold drink and every day brought that to us at the same time. Hisham the bar manager was fantastic as was Karem who managed the restaurant areas. There are too many people to mention because from front office right the way through every department we could not find any fault with anything or anyone. Christmas eve the gala dinner was above and beyond all expectations, the staff worked so hard and the food was amazing, this was again repeated on New Years Eve and although all staff had worked a lot of extra hours and looked tired they were just so happy that it had been such a success.
I used the spa for a facial and massage and the staff in there were great but prices a little high considering the spa is just a wooden building on the beach with no other facilities. The 2 a la carte restaurants you can use once each week and this made a nice change, both restaurants having a nice relaxing atmosphere and are waiter service. I have never returned back to a hotel but feel I will be making an exception with this one and hope to return for Christmas next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kazza22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cleopatra L... M, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear kazza22,
Greeting from Cleopatra Luxury Resort- Sharm El Sheikh.
Thank you for your review and for choosing to spend your Christmas with us at Cleopatra Luxury Resort . Thank you also for your special mentions of Mohamed , Hisham & Karim for their efforts will not go unnoticed.

I am very happy you have had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you for your return visit. Please do not hesitate to contact me at any time in case I could be of any assistance.

all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We searched long and hard on TripAdvisor looking for the best reviewed Hotel in Sharm El Sheik.
We are so glad that we Chose the Cleopatra Luxury Resort.
On our arrival at the airport we were picked up by the Hotels Limousine service for a small charge. He provided us each with a bottle of water for our journey to the Hotel ( about 10 minutes ). When we got to reception we were all served with a Welcome drink and then taken to our room in a Golfing cart( our daughter loved this ).
Our accommodation was fantastic. The room was huge and was cleaned everyday and a large bottle of water was provided daily too.

We ate at the Market place most of the time. Always a good choice of food to suit everyone and the staff were amazing.

Ahmed Zakaria was our favourite waiter in the Market Place. He went out of his way to make you feel special and was such a laugh to be around ! He worked very hard !

Mohammed was also an amazing waiter. He worked in the Beach bar and Grill and never stopped all day ! Bringing drinks to the beach and around the pool. He always remembered what we drank too. ( the weather was so hot but he never stopped !!! )

The animation team were really good ! They knew how to have a laugh with the children and got them involved with the activities. The only thing I think the Hotel could improve on is an animation programme that they could provide guests with on arrival. We missed out on a few things as we didn't know what was happening/times of activities etc. Reco was hilarious !

The Jetty was fantastic. We went nearly everyday for a jump into the coral life. Our daughter bought an underwater case for her iPhone and took some amazing footage. So many colourful fish to see !

The weather was brilliant, about 26 degrees throughout our stay. You needed something to cover up your arms on an evening if you are sat outside though.

We absolutely loved the hotel and the fantastic service from all the staff. We don't know how they remembered everyone's names in the hotel ?! Very impressive !

We stayed from the 19th - 30th December and was so sad that we didn't stay for the New Years Eve Party.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Sharm El Sheik and will stay here next time we come !

Thank you for a wonderful Christmas Cleopatra !

Happy New Year X

Room Tip: We upgraded to a bigger room with a sea view. It was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cleopatra L... M, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Emma M,
Sunny Greeting from Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to spend your Christmas with us. Thank you also for your special mentions of Mohamed, Ahmed & animation team , their efforts will not go unnoticed.

I am very happy you have had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you for your return visit.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at any time in case I could be of any assistance.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went to the Cleopatra after so many great reviews and went through Thomas cook 21st to 28th December. We paid £850 per person half board and had to have a garden view promo room and could not upgrade ( what is a promo room its not on the hotel website ? ). So I sent the hotel an e-mail asking for a high garden view room.Well when we arrived tired after the unpleasant Monarch flight the staff took us to a ground floor room with a few meters of grass and a high wall from our patio. I told them I asked for a high garden room and they said that this is the promo room that we have booked and that our alternative was to pay 140$ UD dollars for an upgrade to a sea view suite. Which we did the room was a little bigger and the view was excellent 6201 and quiet away from the loud music of the heated pool. The hotel was around 20% occupied when we arrived on 21st we put this as the reason the quality of the food in the market was cheap food dressed up to look decorative lots of vegetables with the odd piece of mince meat or fish in it. On 24th the Gala dinner was excellent with quality food and the rest of the week the food was fine now the hotel is around 40% full. What caused bad feeling with us is that they never gave us a garden view room on the 1st or 2nd floor as there were so many empty rooms all week it seems the hotel policy to give guests these low rooms with no out look with the hope to pay the extra £100 for the sea view rooms. The grounds of the hotel are nice and so are the pools and beach only being half board we were told by several staff for us to eat in the Italian or fish restaurants it would cost us a minimum of £20 per person this is UK pound not Egyptian and more for expensive dishes. The waiters are nice and polite and so geared up to all inclusive guests that are brought wine in a carafe that when I ordered a bottle of wine off the wine list when they found it the wine came out after 15 minutes but another 20 minutes passed with no one pulling the cork for me by this time I was on my desert and told the management to take it back that I don't want it now and not to bill me for it. The next night all was ok as they found the cork screw. If they had told me this on the night I would of got my Swiss army knife from my room to pull the cork.
Well will we return to the Cleopatra ?. ( NO )
Will fly Monarch again ?. (NO)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuggerMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cleopatra L... M, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear RuggerMiltonKeynes,
Greeting from Cleopatra Luxury Resort - Sharm El Sheikh,
We would like to thank you for taking time to write your summery about your recent experience here.
Regarding to room issue , we would like to inform you have booked the lowest room category however we allowed you firstly in a superior room which is on next category and you were for dulux room which is 10 meters bigger with front sea view , you agreed and you even sign the agreement request form , by the way the hotel over 50% occupancy while you were here, and any request subject to hotel availability .

thank you for visiting Cleopatra luxury Resort and thank you for sharing your comments and experience on TripAdvisor.

We hope to welcome you again soon in the near future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
10.4 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,478 reviews
9.6 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,318 reviews
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
3.6 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,077 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#22 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 33735, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#6 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#10 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: $52 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh is located in the Sinai Peninsula in the splendid isolation of Nabq Bay along the shores of the Red Sea with a water front private beach. The Resort offers one of a kind ambiance and style by reflecting the location, culture and history. The Resort combines the tradition of its host community with exceptional Service & Cuisine a luxury product with attention to detail. This distinction elevates Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh into the upper echelon of a five star hotel destination for sophisticated travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleopatra Luxury Resort Collection Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing