We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hotel, great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have used trip advisor to select hotels for a long time now and this one was no different. Having read the reviews they are on the whole a fair reflection of this hotel. The general impression is very good, the hotel looks great (though the detailing is not all there; some broken tiles, plasterboard joints rubbed down) and the attitude and service really good. We had no issues with reception and were offered an upgrade to a cluster 4 sea view which was worthwhile. The staff were, on the whole, cheerful and helpful. The infinite poolstaff we're great; Mido was so helpful. The Phili Phili Bar staff were great fun and made the evening. They didn't chase tips but a 5 to 10 Egyptian pound tip was always greatly received and they then always remembered your preferences. There were a few very minor issues; the entertainment was to our taste and the man on the amp seemed to think the only volume was full. This wouldn't be an issue if the bar by the sea was open at night, it's not and this, in my opinion is a mistake. A quiet bar with a sea view would be wonderful. The Russians are numerous and load; not a problem apart from the push in repeatedly. The final gripe is, though used to set menu's, the sea grill should allow you to pick the ala carte at a supplement not full price and the portions of the set meals should be the same size, all inclusive isn't free it's paid in advance. All in all a really good hotel and a sunny resort (marvellous after all the snow).


Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank IDBSt_Albans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cleopatra L... M, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay , and most of all the hospitality of our staff,
and regarding to your negative comments will be taken in our consideration.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,838 - 1,844 of 3,348 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our holiday got off to a bad start when, about 15 minutes after arriving at the Cleopatra, my husband realised he had left his backpack in the back of the taxi we took from the airport. Not really knowing what to do, we alerted the hotel front desk manager and they sprung into action.

Thankfully, the hotel gate take Taxi ID as they arrive, and within minutes the hotel had the registration no and the driver name of the cab. With egyptian cabs not having central radio control, we jumped into the hotel mini-bus accompanied by some of their staff and headed to the airport to find the cab. Within 15 mins we had the backpack back. We are so grateful to the way this was handled by Emad the Front Office Manager and particularly, Ibrahim, who escorted us out to the airport and managed the whole situation.

Although an unfortunate example this experience typified the standard of service and attention we received throughout our week at the Cleopatra.

Now, back to basics:

Location: The Cleopatra is set in Nabq Bay, about 10 mins from the airport and about 20 mins from Naama Bay. The area itself has little to offer other than the hotels. There is a strip of shops - mostly touristy, chemists, banks and small supermarkets, but nothing really in the way of bars, restaurants or nightlife. I assume this is because all the hotels are moving to an all inclusive model.

Rooms: Our room (2102) was right in the centre of the grounds, next to one of the pools. The room was spacious, modern, with a good bathroom (no bath), fridge and balcony and two queen beds. Perfect and nothing to complain about.

Food: Food in the main restaurant was very good for buffet style offering. Huge choice, brilliant salad bar, a roast and BBQ choice on offer every night as well as loads of other hot choices. I can't see any reason why anyone would complain. Waiter service for drinks was efficient and we didn't see any stinting on wine/beers. The house wines on offer were definitely drinkable and far better than the standard "Omar Khayam" served in other AI hotels we have stayed at.

The hotel offers an inclusive dinner at both its seafood and italian restaurants as part of your stay. Your expectation is high, partly because it is made out to be quite exclusive but also the fact it is not the usual buffet. Although the restaurants themselves are lovely, the food in both, but particularly the seafood restaurant, is disappointing. You also have to order your food in advance when you book which negates the feel of a typical restaurant experience.

Food is served at specific hours but no matter what time of day something is available from either the bool bar, beach snack bar, reception bar or the main restaurants. There is also a handful of shops on site, one of which sells crisps, snacks, chocolate etc.

Beach/Pools: The hotel has two main public pools plus a private one for the villas. One is lively, one is relaxed. The hotel also has a private beach with plenty of sunbeds. (Early April so maybe not the case later in the year). The beach is surrounded by a reef, which keeps the water at the beach shallow and slightly rocky. If you want to snorkel, or really swim, there is a jetty that takes you out to the other side of the reef. This is supervised by a lifeguard and the fish/marine life is great. Well worth the effort of going out with a mask and snorkel.
N.B. note to hotel management. the lifeguards do a great job at whistling to stop people walking on the corals. Why not also put multilingual signs up at the beach and on the jetty to help prevent this?

Entertainment/Kids Club: This is full on typical resort activity. the animation team were international, friendly and fun and made a real effort to get to know you and get you involved. Definitely not our usual scene but how could we resist! There is a kids club which runs day into evening and also babysitters (about £10 per hr to the hotel) and whatever you choose to tip the individual.

Service: The service across the whole hotel was exceptional and friendly at all times. A rate experience when travelling and you can tell the hotel management have worked hard at this. There were so many great individuals who I'd like to comment on but who's names I can't remember - our housekeeper for starters. But Halim, at the pool bar, Ibrahim, as mentioned before - thank you for making it such a good holiday.

The only negative: The onsite dive club reps from Dessert Rose (with a couple of exceptions) - rude, ignorant, pushy, sexist, rip-off artists. If you are thinking of booking diving or snorkling trips, make the effort to look elsewhere. They are not representative of the hotels standard of customer service, care or attitude and let the hotel down.

Room Tip: Our room was beautiful (2102) and more central but friends had an amazing sea view next to the King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HBomb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cleopatra L... M, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so happy to hear that we were up to your expectations and that you had such a great time with your family!

We will pass all your nice comments to our for all Cleopatra managements & staff team and we do hope to see you back soon.
Regarding to your comments are very valuable for us and we will certainly take them into serious consideration.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Staff- were supper Friendly & nice from front desk to kitchen satff
swimming Pools- specially the infinity pool was magical but water is not heated which was nice for me.
Kids Club- I have to say that was the best part of the holiday our daughter was on count down to go back
Food-not amazing but better than average
Rooms- nice but not incredible
Entertainment-not so great
Overall very relaxing and nice

Room Tip: Rooms by the Infinity room where in nice and quite location with good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nazy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cleopatra L... M, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Guest ,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in infinity pool and your daughter enjoyed in kids club ,

Looking forward to welcoming you & family back in the near future!

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and two children (7 and 7) stayed over Easter for ten nights at an apartment on an all inclusive basis. We have been to Sharm El Sheikh before and this hotel is much better than the others we have stayed at. However we did pay more.
The room
We had a modern style apartment, cleaned daily to an excellent standard, with: two air conditioned bedrooms one master with very comfy super king sized bed the other with two small double beds; kitchen (with washing machine and fridge freezer); very large open plan dining and living area; two bathrooms (no bath, large showers); seven balconies (a little unnecessary). Really fabulous apartment overlooking a pool reserved for apartment guests. We didn't use the kitchen facilities apart from the fridge and washing machine. There was little in the way of utensils or crockery apart from some glasses cups and spoons.
The hotel
Excellent overall. All guest areas modern, comfortable and clean. Two main pools both large and unheated. Bar staff good Mohammed in the lobby bar. Ghandalf on concierge.
The food
Good buffet style. Some of the food was very good i.e. Egyptian night very good ...koftas excellent. Ahmed in market restaurant very helpful.
Apologies to the friendly staff at the Itallian restaurant, but the service was a shambles the food was marginally better and made a change to the the buffet. The fish restaurant had a spectacular setting service was better than the Italian, but fish not so good, lamb chops very good. Go figure!
Drinks - good espresso from the beach bar; beer was good always cold lager being local bottled, not draught, served in the usual plastic 200ml glasses. This was different in the lobby bar and in the buffet restaurant drinks being served in glass. Good range of cocktails e.g. Mojito all standard inclusive much better than the usual luminous orange syrupy efforts served at all inclusives. The standard wine (red and white) served with dinner and available at the bars was ok too.

Kids club great - our kids loved it. It seemed a little disorganised at first, but it's holiday not school and the kids club facility was a safe bespoke covered air conditioned building and play area. Big thanks Katie and Lauren our girls loved all your activiteis and having their faces painted like coal miners. There were three sessions available two and half hours in the morning two hours in the afternoon and the could have their dinner in the evening with the club. There was also a supervised disco for the children in the evening.

The beach is fine gritty sand and a bit rocky in places a terraced area with good parasols, sunbeds and windbreaks all kept clean and tidy. Pool areas were excellent. We spent most of our time camped at the quiet (no animation activities) infinity pool with lots of help with parasols from karate Mido. The other pool was busier and livelier with a swim up pool activities such as aerobics and water polo thanks Dima (massive Russian from animation). The animation team would walk round the pool areas in the emorning to let you know what activities were on where and when.

The sea was shallow and warm from the beech and shelved off the reef at the end of a 50 metre jetty where we found excellent supervised swimming and snorkeling.

Overall the holiday was very good and certainly a mile better than anything else we've been to in Sharm El Sheikh.

We'd consider going again.

Room Tip: For the money, if you have a family, go for an apartment they're massive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank egonronnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cleopatra L... M, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your precious time sharing with us your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are so glad to know that we were up to your expectations and that we were able to make you happy and satisfied in all aspects ( apartment , Food, kids club, oriental day,,Amenities and Service ).

We will pass all your nice comments to our Kids Club,

Being aligned with Cleopatra Luxury Sharm El Sheikh has improved a major aspect of our resort's experience, for Guests of all ages. Our aim is to sustain quality and service accuracy throughout our Resort"

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

STAFF- very friendly
POOLS-the pools were amazing in the quite pool the was a boat type thing and it looked amazing
FOOD-I wasn't to keen in the food but it was still very nice the best meal was lunch at the beach grill bar
ROOMS-the rooms were very good and I had an amazing view of the beach and sea
ENTERTAINMENT-the entertainment was good

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rachel0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cleopatra L... M, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay , and most of all the hospitality of our staff, our spacious sea view rooms and our food.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

my family and I stayed here in January( first week )after our initial experience with the Thompson flight(vowed never again) and the transfer with ABC which made a 15 min journey into over an hour long and very bumpy ride(private transfer is better and not too expensive) we didn't have great hopes for our last minute getaway. upon arrival we were pleasantly greeted and offered a drink, check in was fairly quick and we were whisked to our room in the golf buggy.

our room was fairly large with clean bed an average TV and a medium sized wash room, décor was slightly tired, lovely balcony over looking the main swimming pool and with the back drop of tiran island. overall the hotel was very clean and facilities were modern, staff were very helpful and friendly at all times however i found the reception staff slightly grumpy and arrogant. food facilities were clean and adequate but not michelin standard there was never a shortage of anything but after the first few days the theme became boring, the restaurant staff made an effort to remember our drinks and the dine around at the italian and seafood restaurants were a relief albeit not the best! the animation team tried their best to keep the guests entertained.

rather disappointed with the spa, we booked various massages and treatments, which we found costly but the facilities were not of a five star spa more or less we were given our treatments in a beach hut, my son and husband had the massages which they did enjoy and my husband I had the Cleopatra package which consisted of a massage, face mask and coconut body scrub/wrap which was ok, but i was not happy sharing my room with another client, and the bathing facilities were not nice to be polite, walking out of my room in public view with a towel wrapped around me was not appropriate as there were a few male employees sitting directly outside the room, although my masseuse did try her best to keep me covered after i explained that i was a Muslim.

I found tipping when i arrived and when I left was sufficient and kept the staff attentive.

the private beach area was lovely and clean, views were beautiful and ambience was very peaceful, sun loungers and windbreakers kept us relaxed and provided us with privacy.The pier made it possible to snorkel but watch out for the strong currents. All in all we enjoyed our stay and great level of service, we will be going back as will other family members and friends.

our only complaints would be that the menu, evening entertainment and food themes were geared towards the huge influx of Russians there maybe a bit of thought towards the other guests there would be necessary as they are paying guests too!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank firenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cleopatra L... M, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so happy to hear that we were up to your expectations and that you had such a great time with your family!

We will pass all your nice comments to our for all Cleopatra managements & staff team and we do hope to see you back soon.
Regarding to your comments about the massage it's very valuable for us and we will certainly take them into serious consideration.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just back from relaxing stay rooms spacious ground floor overlooking sea. Staff all excellent all incl drink not to my taste beer poor Animation team just too much at times but kids enjoyed. We just wanted too relax. Would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ground floor can have some ants but not too bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sandrawilliams711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cleopatra L... M, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so happy to hear that we were up to your expectations and that you had such a great time with your family!
Looking forward to see you soon.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
10.4 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,651 reviews
9.6 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#9 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,522 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#64 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#12 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parrotel Beach Resort
Parrotel Beach Resort
#7 of 33 in Nabq Bay
3,536 reviews
3.6 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#7 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 33735, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#6 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#10 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: $47 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh is located in the Sinai Peninsula in the splendid isolation of Nabq Bay along the shores of the Red Sea with a water front private beach. The Resort offers one of a kind ambiance and style by reflecting the location, culture and history. The Resort combines the tradition of its host community with exceptional Service & Cuisine a luxury product with attention to detail. This distinction elevates Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh into the upper echelon of a five star hotel destination for sophisticated travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleopatra Luxury Resort Collection Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing