We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Resort & Spa
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Sharm Bride is a really nice hotel and deserves at least 3 stars.
at first we weren't happy with the room we got, it was a massive 2 bedroom flat at the far end of the complex. it would have been nice had it been finished and cleaned and all, it looked as if the builders had just left and noone had a chance to clean after them.
anyway, we asked for the room to be changed and we got very lovely and big apartment, very close to the main pool.
the food was nice, always something to choose from and desserts vere delicious.
the staff super friendly, all of them (waiters, pool guys, bar staff, cleaners) except for the reception staff, especially the night shift, they were just rude at times and not very helpful.
my overall experience was very good though and I would definitely recommend the hotel adn consider going there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karolineLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 425 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2010

Well the best way is to break this down into three parts.

THE BAD:-
Management, rule with fear and seem to sack the staff who get on with the English. We experienced one guy being fired in our week and then found out that four had gone over two weeks.
The manager swans round the dining room, dishing out orders to the staff and seems to lack and management skills. It needs a good team in there who would transform the place withing a month.
Food, initially the food was not labled and pretty hard to distinguish, only in the last few days of our stay lables started to appear explaining that it really was mashed potatoe for breakfast.
Food appeared to be geared up for our Russian comrades.
The pool chef was seen on his break having a smoke with his gloved hand then returned to serve up the chips with the same hand (yes no tools!)
The hotel, although only aproximately 5 months old resembles a building in the middle of a refurbishment. Parts finished, although looking tired, our bath was peeling, the tiles dated, the bar inside edge broken and sharp, I could go on and on.
On the short walk over to the second pool which was favoured by the english, there were missing man hole covers along the way. Really dangerous if you were not paying attention. Im sure that the bottom of an Egyption foul drain in not one place you would want to visit!
Our biggest gripe was the Top Choice Rep, Eamon (yea this is your 5 minutes of fame), after arriving and having his sales pitch and introduction meeting we decided to book a trip which was billed as the best one by far, four in one jeep safari. This was booked on our first day and 16 hours before pick up. Unfortunately 3 hours before the trip which started at 6:30am my wife was ill with a stomach bug - pretty common in Egypt - so I waited at reception and told the guide we would be unable to go. He promptly called Eamon who said we would loose our money, I then saw him when he arrived at 11:30am and was told we had not cancelled withn the rules, 24 hours notice they say???? How are you suppose dto do that 3 hours before? He offered no alternative, said it was his managers decission and not his, then wanted us to buy a £40 medical certificate to claim on our insurance. The trip cost aporx £112. I aske dthe doctor if thsi was a con to be told 'we not conning you, we conning your insurance!' SHOCKING. My wife then spoke to him for a third time for him to stand up and say he was not prepared to speak to us and walked off.
The trips as it appears do not all live up to the hype, some other guests complained of Eamon panting a nore rosy picture of the wonders they would experience; however to be fair some trips did seem to get good reviews.
Russians - even the staff would serve an English guy before a Russian, - dont need to say anymore on that one!

THE GOOD:-
The staff, reception were helpful, the room cleaner friendly, hotel shop staff friendly and up fpr a bit barter and not hard sell all the time. The bar staff wonderful and although not provided with any equipment i.e cocktail shakers (has to use a sprite bottle as a shaker), did do their best and were very resourceful.
Very small galasses, but a £100 Egyption pound works wonders and if your right with the bar man he will treat you like a king, I even got a big glass for my last 3 days.

TIPS:-
Outside of the hotel the shop traders are very pushy, you cant browse in a shop! We walked away from the shop fornts and did not make eye contact which means we did not get hassled.
The Three Crowns provides a killer steak for £6:50, and after the terrible restaraunt selection in the hotel came as a welcome change and worth every penny.
Dont expect too much, its good weather pretty much guarenteed and thats the reason to visit the country in my opinion. I would never use it as my main holiday.
I dont think the all inclusive is all that good in this hotel, you have to pay for ice cream, tea and coffee outside of meal hours although you can request a kettle for your room but will need to get your cups, tea and coffee from the restaraunt.

To try and put my ramblings in perspective, the staff dont think that its a good hotel and many were planning their exit within the next few weeks to go to better hotels.

Could be a good hotel with the right guidance, shame it falls way short at the moment.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a15cro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

The Good and Bad of the Sharm Bride
GOOD POINTS
The weather, some of the Staff and the Food is ok
The Rooms are a Good size
The Room Cleaners are Great

BAD POINTS OF THE GOOD POINTS
Staff cant really be judged because they don't stay at this hotel very long
The food although it is quite good, it is pretty much the same everyday
The Rooms are of bad build quality and tatty

BAD POINTS
Reception Staff are not very helpful
No Money changing facilities in this Hotel ( bank outside but its not open Thursday to Saturday
Reception Toilets are not as clean as they should be
Glass tables outside have very badly fitted glass with sharp edges ( Dangerous for children and adults alike )
Toilets outside ie: Nr Pool 1 are very dirty and smelly always
Restaurant is always dirty
Cups, Glasses and Cutlery are all hard to come by and always dirty
Coffee Machine is poor and works only 50% of the time
The Restaurant Staff are very annoying always taking your plates cups and glasses and normally before you have finished
The Pools are Lined and on close inspection it is all either coming off or just not fitted right. Manhole covers all around the complex don't fit correctly ( so don't run, don't forget you will be wearing soft footwear )
This Hotel has a sewage problem and it smell real bad
Drinks from the Bars served in either paper cups or plastic cups ie: vending machine cups if you are lucky you may get a small whisky glass or if you are really lucky or give the barman a tip then you might get a slightly larger glass
The Beer is warm 90% of the time
Bars Frequently run out of Beer and Vodka when your an all inclusive customer ( but if you wish to purchase a drink after the bar is shut then they find some )
Tea and Coffee you pay for ( if this happens tell the food and beverage manager )
Entertainment team are pretty annoying and all the evening entertainment is in Russian
or near as damn it
Paper sellers don't take no for an answer
Rooms are tatty with sharp glass on top of the units broken door handles bulbs not working, bare wires on lamps and switches ripped curtains etc...etc
Internet either not working or booked and it costs
Games rooms cost and even table tennis table outside costs

NOT ABOVE BUT......
I read the reviews on this site before we went to this hotel and at the time of reading, this hotel was punching well above its weight...
When we arrived we found the staff in reception not helpful or friendly they tried to change our rooms before we had even got in them..ie: they wanted to give us 1 room to sleep 4 but we booked 1 twin and 1 double, after 40 mins in reception before taking us to our rooms they tried again to swap our rooms. We then got our 2 twin rooms I asked for a double but hey just told us to push the beds together, we had no door handle on the main door and a 1.5 inch gap under the main door 4 bulbs out, no plug on the lamp just bare wires, broken glass on top of the bedside unit it also didn't fit and was very sharp. The door handle was broken on the patio windows and the curtains were ripped.
The air con is good but noisy and on our 8th day ours leaked from the ceiling and flooded the room ( this was fixed and cleaned up straight away )
the main pool was green when we arrived and was shut for 3 days but I was told it was shut for a day prior to this too so that's 4 days.The Music is far too loud there is not much chance of an early night here.
There have been 3 fights during our stay ( between the staff ) one girl got knocked out cold by the guy who sells the massages, builders fighting with sticks and shovels ( don't forget this is a new hotel and it is not finished yet so there are builders about )
3 of the best bar staff were sacked whilst we were here and we think quiet a few cleaners have left last week too as we have seen a lot of new faces over the last couple of days. The Hotel does have a sewage problem and smell accordingly but with this problem it also means it attracts a large number of flies. I know its a new hotel and it really has only been open a few months, but to be honest it looks like it has been up for about 20 years and is in desperate need of a face lift.

4 STAR HOTEL
Honestly in the UK this Hotel might scrape a 2 STAR but I do think this is being kind

POINTS OF INTEREST
Book your trips with the guys in reception ..cheaper than the Reps and they run ontime
English Bar Attached to the Hotel.....Cold Beer
3 Crowns, St George, McDonalds, TJI Fridays all close just short taxi from hotel taxi in reception, Free shuttle bus from reception to the beach and get your drink vouchers from reception before you go.

Personally I think if you have booked this Hotel, go back to your travel agent before you go and try to change hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sigarfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We booked this holiday through lowcost holidays and although it was a quite a cheap deal, it was suppossed to be a 4* hotel. when we booked this hotel it is advertised as a brand new hotel, which yes it is however it is not finished and is still like a building site!!!!
we arrived at sharm bride hotel in the evening and was welcomed by some very rude recpetion staff, didnt get a hello or how was your flight, just handed me and my boyfriend a piece of paper to fill in and asked for our passports, then sent us off to eat!! we then had to go back and say which room are we in and where do we go. once getting in our room which was very dirty and not anything we had requested (when booking you could request a seaview, double bed etc) we had no seaview as we wasnt even by the sea!! and two twin beds which we went down to recpetion and said the room is dirty and doesnt have a double bed, he just responded with "push the beds together!!"
whilst staying here the main pool was green for a few days and closed down however there was no sign to say this you could just see!! we also had no water for around 5-6hours which also meant the toilets werent working!!
Most of the waiters and bar staff were very accomidating and friendly!
food was very much the same for the whole of our trip, and sometimes nothing to choose from! the resturant doesnt have enough tables to seat everyone so people would all barge in as soon as resturant was open for lunch or dinner, most of the time someone would be seated with you on your table.
This is the first hotel we have been to that is supposed to be all inclusive, however stops selling drinks at 11pm (although you can pay after this time) and that serves drinks in shot glasses,which are filthy and on numerous occasions we had glasses that had lipstick marks on them and smelt like wee!! drinks are never cold and 9 times out of 10 are flat!
Impossible to get a decent night sleep due to music blaring until 11.30pm, and the airconditioning which sounds like a steam train!
Entertainment was okay they made the best out of what they could, the animation team always did the show bar a few when people came in.
Hotel is full of rude russians, that do not understand the meaning of queing or waiting there turn.
this hotel is not on the beach they offer a few shuttle bus to one of the beaches which is not really worth the visit, its smelly and not enough sunloungers. it is a nightmare getting on the buses as the russians just push in and you are let waiting there for another bus.
they do advertise another beach which you have to pay for which you have to walk to, (only 10mins walk but a nightmare to walk in 36 degree heat) this beach is excellent for snorkelling and diving! although you are not actually suppossed to be on this beach as they point out when you arrive, as it belongs to a hotel (another way of making money out of you)!!
lots of good shops to vist although not good if you just want a lesiurely stroll around the shops as you are hassled every minute.
we have visited egypt a few times and have been to sharm before and have had amazing times which is why we went back, the hotel had its faults but was okay just for having a lie around the pool holiday! you make the most of what you have!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coralandy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Where do I start. I read the reviews for this hotel and it appeared to be improving over the summer. Admittedly not one of the most expensive but at 4* you would expect a decent quality hotel.
The first night we arrived and were shown our rooms in the new wing of the hotel( basically a building site) the rooms were large spacious and the air conditioning welcome, but they weren't finished. One of the rooms didn't even have light switches on the wall just the hole where they were supposed to be. Eventually 2 couples of the party of 4 got shown rooms in the main hotel and to be honest these were very good. The other 2 couples stayed where they were as no more room at the inn.They were promised a move the next mornng but we had to chase this up. The one couple decided to stay where they were and after a day out at the beach came back to find the painters in their room repainting a wall and grouting the bathroom. Funny I know but surely this should have been done before letting the room. Reception weren't helpful when asked how long they would be. Told us they were finished in an hour. When we went back the plumbers had moved in taking the water heater off the wall and leaving it leaking when it wasn't before. Our fault apparantly we had complained there was something wrong (Don't remember complaing about the water heater).
The food was much of a muchness. Pretty average although you could find something to eat on most occassions
The drinks were served in thimbles.(like shot glasses) and when I went for my 3rd thimble of wine I was told to slow down by the bar staff (Well that's not what I call all inclusive if you have to watch what you are drinking) and I don't recall tham ever saying anything like that to the russains who seemed to drink from morning til night.
We had about 5 hours without water which had to be tankered in and then ran out again so hygiene must have been in question as it was from lunch until dinner.
And finally the pool broke and became a sludge of dirt and mess and was closed for 3 days, but not closed immediately so some people were still swimming in heaven knows what.
On the plus side we went on boat trip to red sea and it was brilliant. Hubby and the men went quadding at sunset which they said was also brill.
We spent an awful lot of money on drinks at the jive bar but it was worth it to get cold beer and wine.
Would I go back to Sharm el sheik? Probably but not the sharm bride. As one of the hotel staff said you get what you pay for!!!!!!!!So again it must have been our fault!!!!
If it hadn't been for the people we were with we would have had a miserable holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coconutWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

I read lots of reviews before booking this hotel and I must say we were dissapointed. The worst aspect was the awful so called entertainment, very loud head-banging music which went on till 11: 00pm every night and seemed only to be enjoyed by drunk Russians which made up 80% of the guests. The tiny all inclusive bar was a pain as you were queuing for a long time to get a drink which was often served in filthy glasses. Afternoon snacks by the pool consisted of greasy chips in polystyrene trays, you even had to pay for ice cream (when available) 10 Egyptian pounds for a tiny scoop. We had to keep asking for toilet rolls as they would not replace them even when the holder was empty. They also "run out" of water one afternoon so no showers untill the late evening, and one of the pools had to be shut for 2 days as the water had turned green. The final straw for me was getting food poisoning the day before we flew home.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

First time in Egypt went there with my sister (we are 46 and 35) We were over the moon with our rooms the beds seemed to be more like 3 quarter beds than single and there was fridge, sofa and a safe which was free (no deposit required also). On the day after arriving we went round the pool, don't take beach towels as these are provided!.... there was plenty of entertainment from morning exercises, aqua aerobics, volleyball etc.
Everything was extremely clean with the pool being cleaned out every evening. The food was lovely but very samey... we could guarantee that every lunch and dinner time there was rice, chicken and fish. The salad bar didnt seem up to much there was hardly anything on there but plenty of different breads and a fabulous range of desserts.
We booked this hotel because it stated that it had a gym etc.... my sister goes running every morning but because it was dark until about 7 she gave up trying to run as the heat after that was so strong. The gym wasnt finished and so we felt like this was false advertising!..... they have just finished building apartments in the complex and though the workmen were still about we thorougly enjoyed going around that pool... it was gorgeous, quiet and hardly anyone was using it.
Have to say that the housekeeping standard was extremely high. Maqmood was our housekeeper and we often came in to monkeys made out of towels hanging off the ceiling, crocodiles, flowers and swans made up on the bed! Hisam from the pool bar was so lovely.... my sister ended up with Egyptian tummy and he was making up special hot drinks for me to take up to the room for her. All of the waiters are so friendly and will bend over backwards for you.
As we went with lowcost holidays and booked through the internet, we were surprised to find that we had a rep (Victor) He was the most fantastic bloke we have ever met and nothing was too much trouble for him. We ended up getting on so well with him that he gave up his own time and came with us into the desert to the bedouin tents and rode camels with us while using my camera to take pictures and video us! Our room was right opposite the bong hut where guests can pay to smoke the local hashih.... only on an evening the guy running it would have the tv in there blasting so much after all the other entertainment was finished that it was impossible to sleep..... after informing Victor he spoke to the reception staff and we had no problems after this.
I recommend that you don't buy gifts from the shops inside the hotel near the pool.... because we bought something on a couple of occasions the guys from there were always making a beeline for us and trying to get us into their shop to give us free gifts etc..... only don't be fooled they arent free... we found that they charge between 3 and 5 times as much as the local shops. The little supermarket just outside the hotel sold a lot of the same gifts at a fraction of the price. We went in there a few times for drinks etc to fill up the fridge for through the night and they were really friendly.
There was a free shuttle bus to the beach and we only went there once.... as soon as you get there a guy comes round trying to get you to have a massage/manicure etc etc....he didnt leave us alone and so we ended up going back to the hotel early he was trying to get us to try oils on our skin, we kept saying no and that we couldnt have anything on our skins due to problems......he kept coming back just to chat to us and sitting on the side of my sisters sunbed which was really annoying. The only thing I would say is if your a couple of females going on your own.. think again. If we go again we will definitely think about taking male friends with us as even the guys giving the beauty treatments around the pool wouldnt take no for an answer unless you said it about 20 times!
Overall the whole holiday/hotel was good and if your thinking of going on a trip the pyramids and sphinx in Cairo is a must! It cost £160 each as we flew to Cairo from Sharm but be warned its like a cattle market when you have an inflight... well worth it though. We took lots of pound coins to tip and once they get 5 or 10 they will ask someone English if they can either change it for an English note or for Egyptian pounds. I gave a couple of the guys £5 sterling and you would have thought they had won the lottery as this is worth 45 EGP to them (the banks wont change the coins for them) We tended to tip the porter, housekeeper, Hisam from pool bar, the lad with the beach towels and a couple of waiters. If you tip them 10 EGP it is only about £1.20 over here! Word of advice... don't change much money before you go as you can get nearly 9 EGP to £1 over there and the banks are plentiful! Overall we would probably return to this hotel, especially once the gym is complete!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoroFan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
13.2 mi away
Xperience St. George Homestay
Xperience St. George Homestay
#47 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
13.2 mi away
Verginia Sharm Resort
Verginia Sharm Resort
#150 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Oriental Rivoli Hotel & SPA
Oriental Rivoli Hotel & SPA
#138 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
985 reviews
2.6 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#12 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,209 reviews
13.1 mi away
Sharming Inn Hotel
Sharming Inn Hotel
#165 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Resort & Spa

Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: $22 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aqua Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Aqua Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Choice Sharm Bride Hotel Nabq Bay
Aqua Hotel Resort & Spa Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing