We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

The Hotel was wonderful both very clean and spacious. The staff were both very friendly and helpful and this made the holiday for us. This is not just the front of house staff but all from gardeners too reception.
We were lucky enough to have a junior suite facing the the pool,We enjoyd every moment of our stay.
We also found the food in the Zodiac Main Buffet Restaurant a feast for the eye as well as the stomach.
We do not have children now but they did seemed well entertaind, and we would be very happy to take our Grandchildren there.
My husband and I Scuba Dive and we used the Camel Dive Club on the beach of the hotel and enjoyed 2 great day,s diving the Red Sea, we would also use them again.
We hope to return with other members of our family in the future , but this was a very romantice holiday that turned out very much like a Second Honrymoon.
To sum up I think the ROYAL Azure Hotel is correctly named.
Many thanks for a great time.
Pierre and Sue Roberts

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank z1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,998
    631
    245
    53
    45
See reviews for
1,215
1,864
79
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

Just got back from a week at Royal Grand Azure, booked through First Choice, travelled with friend and his family, 4 adults, 2 teenagers and two younger children(8&9).First tiem in Egypt. Hotel is amazing and can't fault staff at all. Bar staff were excellent especially Yasser at the pool bar who spent one night entertaining the kids with numerous tricks and even spent time showing me how to do them. Animation team are a really good laugh, look out for Annis from Tunisia. Don't buy a CD from him the're rubbish, but he does keep you endlessly entertained. If I had a moan about the hotel it would be that they the all inclusive doesn't include ice creams/lollies from the bars for the kids. That would be a welcome addition. We went snorkelling most days off the end of the jetty which was amazing like swimming in a tropical fish tank. However it sometimes gets a little rough and there is a current, although at worst it will only take you to the next hotels jetty along the coast. The lifeguards are very conscientious and are constantly blowing their whistles if anyone is in danger of harming themselves or the protected coral which you aren't allowed to stand on or damage in any way. All adults in the party had at least one massage which were unbelievably relaxing. Just what is needed for someone who is 6'2" after almost 6 hours on a cramped Thompson flight, more on that later! We were a little concerned due to some reviews about the 'Russian Issue', but didn't find them a pain at all. It has to be said though that they are very rude and indifferent to the staff at the hotel, obviously thinking they are above speaking to them. That aside, they never bothered us one bit. The hotel pools are amazing, best we'd ever experienced and rooms are immaculate, although some of the 'fine finishing' of Egyptian tradesmen could be improved upon. the cleaning staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They told us they like the English as "we always speak to them". A little tip goes a long way with all the staff!! Despite the hotel being so good our favourite day was quad biking and camel riding in the desert. Book through Blue Bay Excursions across the road from hotel as he gives you an excellent deal if you're prepared to haggle a little. We got both for £25pp, compared to £50pp charged by First Choice. Concerns over H&S were unfounded as bus that took us also picked people up from hotels, obviously booked through their trval companies. We were planning on returning to this hotel Easter 2012 for 2 weeks until the final arrived. A few of us had experienced the 'trots' but easily treated with Imodium+. However, two of the party fell really ill just prior to pick up and on the plane home. This was compounded by a two and a half delay to the return flight in a hell hole of an airport. I think we've decided to give Egypt a miss, although we all agreed it was an excellent holiday. However, out of a party of 8 people, 7 either had a case of sickness or diarrhoea at least once during a weeks holiday. None of us can credit any reason for this, hotel appears immaculate, only person who ate salad or fruit was the one who wasn't ill, nobody ever drank tap water, constantly used hand sanitiser, all the things meant to prevent it but to little avail.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stobbsy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

Hello , first i would thank all the staff members of this hotel !
Mister Said manager , olga and kelly from guest relation , members of the executiv lounge and specialy Hosham the one the make you feel like home every time we are eating in executiv lounge !
We stayed 6 times in egypte , sheraton , oasis blue reef , grand makady , hyatt , for season and now grand azure, we found this 1 one off the best hotel in egypte !!!
I can recommand the ultra all in
You can eat in differend restaurants all off them ware classy and tasty
1 ) The food was incredible lots off differend food , fresch and tasty
2) pools verry beautifull one was heated
3) everything was clean and spottles
4) rooms verry beautifull
5) animation team , was great and evening shows good !
like a told before , it was the first time that our holliday seems like a dream and it will be sure that we are going back next year
The only negatif , wifi in rooms was not good , maybe it was my pc .....vista !!!
Thanks on this great team for making this vacation one we never forget

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank olivier1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

The Hotel is about a 15 - 20 minute transfer from the airport and there are staff on arrival to assist you with your luggage. The Check In was easy.

We were very pleased with our room which was air conditioned, spacious and well equipped. My partner and I had a King Size bed and his Son had a bed settee. We would have preferred an actual bed, but this was acceptable.
There was enough hanging space and draws for clothes, the bathroom was very big and there was a TV in the room. We also had 2 balconies.
The room was cleaned properly every day, with all towels replaced and bins emptied.

The Hotel has numerous, good sized swimming pools with enough sun loungers for all guests, although there was a lack of parasols. There are also water slides, tennis courts, a pool table, table tennis tables, a Doctor's Surgery, Children's Club and Gym.

The sandy beach is right next to the Hotel and there is the opportunity to snorkel in the sea amongst colourful fish and coral.

There are 2 buffet restaurants and 4 specialist restaurants - Italian, India, Chinese and Egyptian.
The buffet restaurants serve various food, which is of a fair standard. We dined at the Italian and Indian restaurant and both were good.

The service from the staff at the Hotel was friendly and willing, although they were slow at handling requests.

The general hygiene levels at the Hotel were very good. The staff kept all areas clean and tidy.

LIKES:

* Proximity to airport
* Number of swimming pools
* Cleanliness

DISLIKES:

* Food in the buffet restaurants was average
* Daily entertainment show in the evening was poor
* Regular attempts to sell you excursions, massages etc - However, people were respectful if you declined.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunDiva2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

We have just spent a week at the Royal Grand Azure, the hotel is fairly new and extremely impressive. Huge, immaculate reception, manned by friendly, polite staff. We can particularly recommend Mr Haitham Wafa who was more than helpful on several occasions, his manner, attitude and English were brilliant.
The main pool was huge, but not particularly deep ( no diving signs everywhere), with a pool bar and a jacuzzi on an island in the middle.There are smaller pools all around so most rooms are close to water.
The hotel layout is like a small village, IE, well spread out so it can take a day or two to find the quickest routes to the beach, restaurant etc. Sadly we only found the water slides by chance about an hour before we were due to leave Quick change and we were up and down them like loonies for half an hour!
Beach is good but sea not deep enough to swim in unless you go to end of pier, then it is very deep as the coral drops away. current can be a bit strong and can get a bit crowded, take a mask and snorkel, it is like swimming in a tropical fish tank, amazing!
Food is the usual good quality buffet, with options to pre book chinese, Indian and Egyptian food, well worth doing. Restaurant staff were friendly with a good sense of humour. Just the usual problems of bad manners and greed from some of the other guests at meal times.If there is just one portion of chips left you might have to fight for it!!
Free buses to shops and superb beach at Naama bay, drivers can be a bit slack when it comes to picking you up though, ours was a bit late!
Internet access a bit poor,best results by sitting in reception or lobby bar.
All in all a fantastic hotel and we have already recommended it to family members.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bahighflyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

First Visit to Egypt and had a great holiday.

Had researched extensively before visit and had reservations given some of the feedback on this site

However, the hotel was immaculate, staff were very friendly and I would say that despite a couple of slight issues offered great service throughout my 11 night stay.

The A la Carte restaurants were of a high standard and with a little bit of chat managed to book all visits to each a la carte restaurant at one sitting with guest relations. The Raj for breakfast and lunch was excellent.

The entertainment is pretty poor for adults , however my 4 year old daughter loved it and also managed to make friends with guests and staff so it made the holiday even more relaxing.

During my visit I must say i was 'skipped' a couple of times in queues by Russian visitors, but having enjoyed a game of football with a group of russians and engaged with people throughout the holiday I actually enjoyed the fact that the hotel was not dominated by UK !!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROBERT183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiskardo, Group Quality Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, October 29, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write of your holiday experience in the Royal Grand Azure. As a new hotel the management team are working hard to develop the hotel facilities and its staff to deliver your holiday expectations. We appreciated all guest feedback as this way we learn first hand the areas we must concentrate on to achieve our goals of guest satisfaction.

We look forward to seeing you again in the Royal Grand Azure

Sue Horner
Group Quality Manager
Premier Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff all were very polite, helpful and friendly. No problems with other nationalities who spoke english better than my russian, polish, german when you take the trouble to speak to them. There are 4 a la carte restaurants included in the all inclusive and the food is super. You have to book at 1000 in the main reception if you want the Italian get there 0940. Rooms are large with good air conditioning and kept clean. There is a safe which is not shown in brochure.No matter what you are told stick to No Ice, No salad wash all fruit with bottled water which is readily available and drink plenty of it. Hope to go back next October. Have recommend it. Well done all at Royal Grand Azure. Manxies

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hukapuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
10.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
0.7 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#1 of 32 in Nabq Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,829 reviews
5.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#4 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Property: Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Address: Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
198 Superior Rooms, 290 Deluxe Rooms, 70 Family Rooms and 137 Junior Suites are spread around this beautifully designed modern resort. Several swimming pools wind there way between buildings or there is a gorgeous stretch of beach providing our guests with lots of options on where to spend their days. There are even 3 water slides to entertain the young and the young at heart. Try snorkeling from the wooden jetty or merely a stroll at sunset to see the magnificence of the underworld of the Red Sea. Dining choices include international buffet or choose from the World of Cuisines, with Chinese, Indian, Sushi, Italian, Sea Food or a taste of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Rixos Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Grand Azure Hotel Nabq Bay
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing