We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday at the Rixos!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday at the Rixos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I visited the Rixos with three friends. We have been to two 5-star all inclusive holidays in Turkey as a group before, one of which was a Rixos. We thought we would give the Rixos in Sharm a try.

We booked our holiday through Inspired Luxury Escapes, although Beds With Ease handled out booking and the coach transfer and rep were provided by a company called MTS.

We booked before the latest political troubles. As a result of these, the hotel was only 35% occupied. Despite this, we had a fantastic holiday.

Check-in was very smooth and we were pleased with our rooms, which were in the deluxe wing near the “new reception”. The rooms and bathrooms were huge. My only criticisms of the rooms are:

1. the air conditioning is very noisy;
2. there should be more hooks or rails for towels in the bathrooms;
3. the rooms were so big that they felt a bit empty. Perhaps some more pictures would help.

One of the reasons we booked this hotel was because of the choice of restaurants. We were therefore very pleased that the hotel kept all of the al a carte restaurants open (half of these on alternate days) and maintained the entertainment programme. Only the second buffet restaurant was closed.

The deluxe rooms surround the activity pool. We found this pool too noisy but there a lots of others to choose from. As the hotel was under occupied, we had no problem finding a sun bed! There are many swimming pools at the hotel and some pools were completely unused. I imagine that the hotel feels quite different when full. We were reassured that there were more sun beds around the pools and beach than beds at the hotel but it might be hard to e.g. get a table at the beachside restaurant at lunchtime.

Dinner at the main buffet restaurant (under reception) was good, with plenty of choice. The hotel generally was spotlessly clean. We preferred to use the al a carte restaurants. The Italian had the best food but the service was very slow, which detracted from the experience. Our favourite was probably the Egyptian or the Chinese.

One comment I would make is that the hotel should think about lighting in the restaurants and the reception – the bright ceiling lights could be dimmed or replaced with table lights.

Breakfast was also more than satisfactory. The egg station was, however, far too slow and I gave up on this most days. I also could not understand why the waiters never brought milk with the tea or, if they did, there would be a lengthy gap before they returned with it! We had the same problem with getting water in the restaurants, with water coming quite some time after alcoholic drinks.

Despite the slightly erratic drinks service, all of the staff were friendly and helpful at the hotel. Particular credit should be given to the entertainment team. We enjoyed the black and white party and the beach party. The electric violinist at the black and white party was awesome! There is also a disco every night from 11pm, if of interest.

One of my friends and I had two massages at the spa and found this a relaxing end to the day, as it went dark just after 5pm whilst we were there.

Overall, we probably didn’t get an accurate impression of what this hotel is really like as it was so quiet. I would, however, recommend it to others. I very much hope things pick up in Sharm. We certainly felt 100% safe at all times, even when we left the hotel for a meal at Soho Square.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are quite a lot larger than standard rooms. The deluxe rooms surround the activity poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Richard H

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and you could see everything is operating as normal.

Thank you for your comments regarding the rooms - your feedback will be shared with the Management and some of these comments will help us when making changes in the future. Step by step we are updating the rooms and the decor is something we will be changing. Overall your suggestions are much appreciated and these are things we are definately looking at changing in the future.

Once again thank you for your feedback and nice comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley

Rixos Sharm el Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,017
    632
    245
    54
    45
See reviews for
1,227
1,871
80
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leyland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Me and my partner returned last week from a week's stay at Rixos. I have been to Sharm about 5/6 times and have stayed in various hotels, including the Savoy. I can honestly say that this hotel is definitely on a par with the Savoy and far better than the rest.
What sets this hotel apart for me is the staff, from the hotel manager who we met a few times, to the maid who cleaned our room amazingly well and always had a smile.
The whole place is spotless, being constantly cleaned. The staff in the restaurants are very attentive at all times, even remembering your preferred drinks on many occasions.
We could always find somewhere lovely to sunbathe, loungers were plentiful although I am sure this was in part to the occupancy being quite low ( around 30 to 50%). I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and especially if you want a lovely winter break in luxury ( before the Russians are allowed back in their droves) get it booked quick! You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: we had a deluxe room at the sea end of block 3.. over looking the green area at the end of the activ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juandneil2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear juandneil2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley

Rixos Sharm el Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have been to the Royal Grand Azure 3 times and it was fantastic. Rixos have now taken over the hotel and it is now even better.
The best holiday we have ever had.
The quality of the food and drink has improved with international branded drinks. The Al la carte resturants were easy to book with a clever auto system and the food and service was excellent.
All round the service was tops.
A personal thank you to Kelly for all her help and friendship, Ibrahiem for his dedication and big smile in the Nerfititit. Samir, of course, in the old lobby and the guys at the Seafood resturant for lunch.
The two lads at the lagoon bar.We have never seen two people work so hard and efficiently with great service and humour. All are an asset to Rixos.
There is no doubt that we will be back. sooner rather then later.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bannic35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear bannic35

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are so pleased you enjoyed another stay here with us and we really appreciate your support and loyalty.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again really soon

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley

Rixos Sharm el Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

just returned yesterday this is our 4th visit to sharm & this was by far the best hotel. hotel staff ALL very friendly. we were in block 4 just outside entertainment pool if i returned i would ask to be nearer lagoon pool or beach as its more relaxed with less russians!!!! me & my husband had a joint massage which was lovely my only concern was they didnt do a health questionaire to see if you had any medical problems. we ate mostly at the al a carte's we tried the chinese, italian, & indian which was our fav. the zodiac restaurant was being refurbished but opened a couple of days before we left the food was good at both big restaurants. the staff werent pushy for tips we decided to wait until the last day this time unlike before & in the restaurants etc i think we got just as good a service. think the room may have been towel decorated a bit more if we had tipped at start but it was clean & well stocked daily. rooms huge & nicely decorated. grounds are lovely. the best thing for us was champagne being part of the all inclusive. owner of the union jack bar over road very helpful & friendly.didnt get to snorkel much as red flag out most of time as sea was choppy but beach really nice & snack bar there was lovely for lunch.only negative was there was a local holiday on & hotel last couple of days was really busy as schools were off so our first 5 days was lovely & relaxed whilst hotel quiet but the last two days got a bit hectic. we will definately return to the rixos in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thecarrs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Thecarrs2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us

Thank you for your comments regarding the Spa Service - we will highlight this to the Spa Management as the health survey is available in the Spa and should be completed by all guests - we apologise this was not done in your case.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley

Rixos Sharm el Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just returned having recharged our batteries, total relaxation in a paradise style location, looked after by some of the most attentive staff we have ever met.
"Don't worry about a thing, every little thing will be alright" should be a motto for this hotel, they look after the small things making the whole experience better.
The guest relation girls are English or English speaking and sort out any queries with such efficiency you will be amazed, our thanks go particularly to Bella who went that extra mile every time we met her. When one of us fell ill, she & lots of other staff stepped in to help and offer salvation. The next day they all came to check on us to make sure we were ok, do not think that we would have had this service anywhere else.
Amadeus, the bar manager in the lobby is like Wayne Sleep, effortless management of the staff creating such a friendly ambiance it was a pleasure to stay there. The Italian, Indian, Egyptian & Chinese 'A La Carte' restaurants are all of a quality better then 5* and we had to be wheeled out more then once!.
Timo, one of the entertainment team is a true gem, acts like Louis Spence, struts around with great enthusiasm, obviously enjoying his job without being overpowering as do the others in the team. His Aqua aerobics are a joy to watch or take part in.
RIXOS need great credit for taking over a paradise then staffing it with those that cannot be praised enough for their skill & work ethics. If you are thinking of going to Egypt, go here!

Room Tip: Another a la carte opening soon, main restaurants & a la cartes are near the sea, aim for the ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justourthoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Justourthoughts

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you were well looked after by all the staff.

Thank you for your nice comments and they will be shared with all members of staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley

Rixos Sharm el Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We First Visited The Rixos In May This Year For Ten Days And We Liked It That Much We Returned On The 2nd Of October For Another Week. We Were Not To Be Disappointed, As Soon We Arrived We Were Met With A Cool Drink And a Very Friendly Welcome From The Reception Staff. Checking In Was Very efficient And We Were Soon Shown To Our Very Clean And Spacious Room Over Looking The Lagoon Pool. The Complex Is Vast And Has A Variety Of Bars And Retaurants And To Be Fair I Think We Tried Them All Barring The Japanese Restaurant And The Standard Is Just Superb. The Staff Are Quite Outstanding, In There Service And Enthusiasm, To Ensure Everything Is To Your Liking And There Command Of The English Language Is Great. The Facilities For Families Are Superb With Kids Club And Water Slides And The Entertainment Team Work Very Hard To Ensure Nobody Could Ever Be Bored.Having Said This, If You Want To Just Relax Around One Of The Quiet Pools In The Glorious Sunshine There Are Always Plenty Of Sunbeds Available And The Poolside Drinks Service Is Excellent. Regarding The Egypt Tummy We Did Suffer On Our First Visit But This Was Down To Forgetting To Use Bottled Water For Cleaning Teeth. On Our Second Visit We Had No Problem And I Must Say The Hygene Standards At This Hotel Are Superb. This Hotel Certainly Ranks As One Of Our Favourites And We Certainly Look Forward To Returning Soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miketibbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear miketibbett

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.

We are so pleased you enjoyed another stay here with us.

Thank you for your nice comments and they will be shared with all members of staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future for your 3rd visit.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley

Rixos Sharm el Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We've just got back from a week at the Rixos and can't speak highly enough of it.
The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful (particularly Ahmed at the pool), the food at the restaurants was all of a decent standard (the Taj Mahal being the best by far) and the room was very comfortable (including free minibar, restocked daily).

We had a pool side room with a view of the beach, and found it pretty quiet even when the beach disco was in full swing.

We booked a couple of trips with Pyramid Dive Centre through the on-site sales guys, who were all super-friendly and not overly pushy. We were approached quite a few times on day 1 but didn't feel hassled, and after that they would stop to say hello but not give us the hard sell (and you can hang a "no selling" thing up if you really don't want to be disturbed).

The only minor gripe would be the finish in the bathroom, which wasn't up to standard (dodgy tiling and the flush was coming off the wall).

All in all a great holiday and I would thoroughly recommend the Rixos.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Ali F

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.

We are so pleased you enjoyed another stay here with us.

Thank you for your comments regarding the rooms - we are now step by step updating all the rooms and your comments will help us in the future.

Once againt hank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kelly Walmsley

Rixos Sharm el Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
10.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
10.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#14 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#1 of 32 in Nabq Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
5.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Property: Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Address: Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
198 Superior Rooms, 290 Deluxe Rooms, 70 Family Rooms and 137 Junior Suites are spread around this beautifully designed modern resort. Several swimming pools wind there way between buildings or there is a gorgeous stretch of beach providing our guests with lots of options on where to spend their days. There are even 3 water slides to entertain the young and the young at heart. Try snorkeling from the wooden jetty or merely a stroll at sunset to see the magnificence of the underworld of the Red Sea. Dining choices include international buffet or choose from the World of Cuisines, with Chinese, Indian, Sushi, Italian, Sea Food or a taste of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rixos Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Grand Azure Hotel Nabq Bay
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing