We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Not long returned from a wonderful holiday at Rixos with my family (wife, 1 year old son and my parents). There were so many things to enjoy it's hard to know which one to write about first. All aspects of the hotel are spotless and immaculately kept. This is my first stay in an all inclusive resort and I'm sure it will be hard to top it for the money.
The main high points for us were the quality and variety of the food, the cleanliness and amenities on offer at the hotel and most importantly the staff (waiters and guest relations). The staff were not only professional, but also happy and offered a personal service, meaning that we didn't just feel like another guest at a large resort.
We managed to sample all of the restaurants, with the exception of the seafood restaurant, and they were all fantastic. I was a initially a little apprehensive with how the Zodiac would be based on other reviews, however it far exceeded my expectations. The food was very varied and it was a joy to see fresh and interesting meals and desserts on a daily basis. All members of my family did however have some 'bowel upset' (I don't think more details are necessary), which I have read from other reviews. This was nothing major other than one needed sometimes to have close proximity to a toilet. Having returned, I read that in Egypt this can be because of the local water and the fruit and salad. It is mostly fruits with the skins on i.e. dates, grapes, strawberries etc. Seen as we all didn't touch anything other than bottled water, it seems most likely to be the fruit or salads. As I said, nothing major, but hopefully this will stop others falling into the same problem.
Although a 5 star review and hotel, no place is perfect, so here comes the slightly negative experiences we had. I was a little surprised by the sand on the beach. Don't get me wrong, there is no major problem, but seen how pristinely kept the rest of the hotel was, I think the beach could do with having the top skimmed so that it can be freed up of some debris. We spent half of our time there so it did not detract from our pleasure of being there, but something I would recommend to be considered. One more problem was that the WiFi didn't work all of the time and during our visit it was only available in the two hotel receptions. It appeared that this was being worked on while we were there and may well be all over the resort now, but if you need the internet while you are there, best to check first as it was a bit shaky.
I'm sorry to say, but seen as first impressions count, I would get rid of most of the reception staff and replace them with the much more professional and friendly waiters. Without going in to details, we had a rather negative experience with our check in and trying to resolve matters, which was mostly due to poor service. The waiters seemed to speak much better English and were more personable, so these guys should be the front of house. Seen however that my review is 5 stars, I think this goes to show how a negative first impression can be turned around and more!
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a few days of pampering in the sun and luxury! My hat goes off to the management behind it all is this is one well oiled machine!

n.b. Glass bottom trip was OK, but sad to see that the coral and fish seemed to have suffered with the development in the area (could have just been where we went). Also booked a trip to Cairo, which was an eye opener! Definitely worth it for the pyramids and a lesson in insane driving although be prepared for a loooong day.

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the Oasis pool. Not as good a view as those over the Lagoon pool, but furth...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,206)
There are newer reviews for Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,927 - 1,933 of 4,206 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Me and my wife are just this morning back from a truly amazing stay at the rixos. The a al carte restaurants and bars all make for a relaxed and fun filled holiday but what made the trip so good was the amazing staff. They could not be any more attentive and friendly, from mojo and mido in the lagoon bar to metwaly in the beach bar they truly made our stay what it was. If you're looking for a 5* experience in sharm look no further.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shrekkybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh during last week of June. It is the best all inclusive concept hotel we have ever visited. Considering it with the amenities and the price we paid for all, it was marvelous! Of course some small problems did occur, but those were rather minor after all and could happen anywhere.

Arrival:

Check-in was very quick and efficient. Despite our early arrival (4 AM), we were immediately given a room.

Room:

As requested, the room was close to the beach and the main restaurant. It was always very clean. The technical service was super-fast: On our first day we found our that the shower head was broken. 15 minutes after I reported the damage, it was already changed! Only one day we had the housekeeping very late, around 7pm, and then we realized that neither minibar nor toiletries were replenished, and bed linen was not changed. Other than that, we were very satisfied with the cleanliness of the room and care of the housekeeper. Everyday we had a lovely surprise from him, with a different figure on the bed.

Weather:

Don't be afraid of visiting in summer season (at least in June). The temperature was in high-30s - low-40s range. It was not humid and there was constantly breeze, which made the heat very pleasant. It is not sweaty at all, definitely much better than our previous Mediterranean summer experiences, where the air is very humid. Sun rays are very strong though, don't even go outside without sunscreen.

Red Sea and the beach:

Actually we were quite concerned in the beginning as in the previous comments, the sea was fairly ignored/disregarded, which made us suspect whether it would be a highlight at all. Honestly, the sea is literally an aquarium, we could not help ourselves enjoy the snorkel diving during our stay. No jellyfish in the sea. We think the sea is quite underrated in the reviews. We would go there even for just the amazing Red Sea experience! The beach was also very well kept. There was abundance of sunbeds. Around 9-10 AM it was very easy to find a good spot.

Swimming Pools:

Can't comment much. They look very nice and clean. But we did not spend much time in the pools as the sea is very warm in June and we think Red Sea is charming and unique. You can find similar swimming pools in any location, but Red Sea, corals, the beach are the real main highlights of Sharm El Sheikh.

Guest Profile:

Our expectation was to experience Russia in Sinai, as many reviewers mentioned the hotel has mainly Russian guests. Maybe due to the summer season, we observed there were more Turkish guests than Russians. Nothing to complain about the attitude of the guests, the profile was rather high and majority of guests were either young families or middle age couples.

Ultra All Inclusive Concept and Dining:

Seriously, you cannot find that generous all inclusive offering easily. Very good quality food and drinks are offered. That concept is guilty for the weight we have gained!! Nefertiti Restaurant was unfortunately closed, but the food quality was very high in the main restaurant (Zodiac). Though the food offering does not change largely day to day, there is a huge variety in the buffet that you can choose from, and most of them are very tasty. We had no stomach trouble during our stay. The only unpleasant thing was that once we saw a maggot in the salad. They are naturally in it, but probably it could have been washed better before serving. We kept eating salad, only with a little paranoia. Anyway we did not have any other similar issues so thought it happened by chance. We experienced no big queues or waiting times in the main restaurant. The service in the restaurant was okay. Especially for dinner, the staff usually disregarded asking for drinks and quite often forgot to bring after ordering. Therefore we had to ask for our drinks in the bar at the restaurant, then we were told we would be served at our table. Seriously, if we had been served, we would not have bothered going there, would we?:) We visited 5 of the 6 A-la-Carte restaurants. Our favorite for service was the Seafood Restaurant, they were very kind and attentive which made us feel special. We loved the atmosphere in Feng Shui and the Sushi Bar. The sushi was also very good, though there is room for improvement in the service. The oriental restaurant has also decent food and very nice service.The Italian restaurant has good food; while the service was still not bad, it was not as good as the others. A la carte restaurants are a must visit.

Bars:

Our favorite bar for the daytime and sunset was the beach bar. They had very nice staff and the service was excellent. They also had relatively 'decent' drinks like Bacardi, Jim Beam available free of charge. We liked the cocktail quality Rixos Lounge, though in the peak time service was not very good. After the entertainment, we regularly visited the Piano bar. The service, atmosphere and the cocktail quality were the best there. The terrace of Piano bar has very nice view of the hotel and is pleasantly breezy at night.

Some Notes on Staff:

Our favorite staff was Doa, she is very kind and nice. But we observed that partly same staff were working during breakfast, lunch and dinner. From breakfast to dinner, the working time makes more than 12 hours. If that is the case, we cannot complain anymore for the service inefficiencies during dinner, no one can work effectively under that long working hour conditions. We hope their conditions are not very harsh.

Check-out:

We checked out by noon and were allowed to stay until our transfer at night. We used the luggage room in the meantime, all our belongings were kept safe. Nevertheless, we wish we had a more pleasant goodbye: When our transfer arrived, we had to wait in the car for some minutes, then we were asked to go to the reception for 'check-out', which we obviously did during daytime. We were quite pissed off as the receptionist apparently suspected that we might not have paid, and asked us to get off the car and go to the reception. While he explained that he was given the wrong room number by the transfer company and thus confusion happened, we were not fully convinced with the explanation. Anyway the credit card details were given as guarantee during reservation and even in the worst case if a guest attempts to leave without paying, it is better to authorize the card upon that happening, rather than such an attitude.

In overall, it was a tremendously nice holiday for us at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh. Surely no stay of 7 days can end without complaints anywhere. We were anyways very happy that our complaints were on a minimized level and the guest relations did their best to clarify issues and were very helpful. We wholeheartedly recommend this hotel. It will be definitely not our last visit to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh!

To Guest Relations: We totally loved the playlist in the Sushi-Bar. Is that possible for you to share that playlist with us? It would be very nice to have it!

Room Tip: Rooms close to the main restaurant (Zodiac) are quieter, close to the beach, and still central.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zurigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our ninth holiday in Sharm and we have to say this hotel is fantastic in every way.
On arrival we were quickly taken to our room, lovely & spacious but we had a small problem with the patio door which couldn't be resolved so we were moved to an even nicer room.

No problems finding a sun bed & parasol and easy to find a nice spot to enjoy the fabulous sunshine. A large hotel yet we never felt crowded. Pools are gorgeous, gardens immaculate, room cleaned well every day. Extremely clean hotel. Cleanest toilets we've ever seen in Egypt and there are dispensers containing paper toilet seat covers too.
Nice beach with jetty. Amazing fish visible even without getting into the sea
Lovely beach bar.

We ate in 3 of the a la carte restaurants and enjoyed them all. Food beautifully presented especially at the seafood restaurant. This was also our favourite place for lunch where the menu included chicken fajitas, burgers, pasta, pizza...all presented so nicely.
We liked the fact that the a la carte restaurants were all inclusive regarding the wine/beer/soft drinks.
Ronaldo look a like in the Italian restaurant!! Good laugh as were so many of the waiters. They all are so attentive & really eager to please.
Nice touches included nuts & crisps served with drinks in the evening. Also at the pool bars if you ask for them.
Cocktails very nice. Wine & beer very good.
Beautiful reception with huge chandelier and gorgeous flowers.

Attention to detail in this hotel is so apparent. This puts it above the other Sharm hotels we have stayed at

Minibar in room all inclusive, beer, juice, soda water, tonic water, coke, fizzy orange, water. Replenished once daily. The fridge actually does work!

Good size safe in the room- bigger than we have had in other Sharm hotels.

Slippers & fluffy bathrobes as standard.

Tea/coffee making facilities as standard.

Plenty of electrical sockets in our room.

A big difference at Rixos compared to the other hotels we have stayed at is the Guest Relations team. They genuinely seem to care about their guests, they have a strong presence in the hotel and are always interested in your opinions and are eager to help sort out any issues and to generally make sure guests are happy with things.
A big thank you to Bella so enthusiastic about her job, lovely to chat to and really helpful. Miss you Bella! Sorry we thought you were Russian !!! And to Megan too. It is so reassuring to know they are there and so easily available.

Fantastic holiday, first time at a Rixos hotel and will definitely return.
John & Caroline

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeaSalt_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear John&Caroline,

Thank you for kind detailed comments and we are so happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We have 9 multilanguage speaking Guest Relation Agents who is doing their best to assist our guests for an unforgatteble stay. Our Management is also caring too much for hygiene and doing our best and regular checks for a clean hotel and qualified service. This efforts are also certificated by Cristal Company ( Haccp - Health&Safety).

We hope you will choose Rixos Hotels again on your next holiday plan and please do not hesitate to contact us for any further assistance.

Regards,
Your Rixos Team
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We booked this as a pretty cheap deal for us, our two children (11 and 1) and my mother-in-law. Check in was friendly and nicely done, our room was excellent (we were in a family room for all of us). The room had plenty of space, a decent size bathroom (although no actual bath) and a nice terrace, and was spotlessly clean and well maintained.

The facilities were also excellent - the pools, playground, gardens and beach area were all well maintained and clean with so many choices of lovely places to lie in the sun, which is guaranteed! We also hired a cabana by the lagoon pool on our last day, which was very nice (although despite calls, our buggy didn't pick us up to take us there, and half the services offered weren't delivered - we were given a decent discount to compensate for this).

The choice of places to eat was excellent, and the food in all of the a la carte restaurants we ate was of a good standard. The buffet restaurant had an amazing range of choices although did not differ hugely from day to day.

As a family, we went on one of the operator excursions on a glass bottomed boat which was well worthwhile and I went out diving for a couple of days, but other than that, Sharm doesn't have a huge amount to offer outside of the hotel complex. Cairo is a 9 hour bus journey (or an hour's flight, if you can afford it). There are plenty of places you can go in taxis or shuttles to shop or eat, but that's it.

What really made the stay special was the staff. They were nearly all very friendly and eager to please - they couldn't do enough for you. They lavished attention on the children and seemed genuinely determined to ensure we enjoyed ourselves. The few little issues we had were dealt with quickly and with profuse apologies.

Overall, we were impressed by this hotel and would definitely recommend it for any family wishing to find a great option for an all inclusive break.

Room Tip: It was great being on the ground floor as you could access the pool direct from the room
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elly_Virgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Elly_Virgo

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are so pleased we met your expectations and we really appreciate your nice comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just returned from the Rixos Hotel. Faultless holiday great staff Resturants. pools and gardnens fab.Showen to our room by porter it could not have gone better even the cleaning staff went out of they way to speak .We will definitely return great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Robert A.,

We are glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh. Hope to hear from you soon for your next holiday plans and please do not hesitate to contact us for any further assistance.

Regards,
Your Rixos Team
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

i was a bit dubious about an all inclusive holiday in the touristy sharm as i didt think it would be my cup of tea but how wrong could i be!!!! this hotel is just wonderful, from start to finish the staff were fabulous, attentive and friendly (they particularly like the brits it seems as we are far more polite than the russians!), the food was incredible, we went to 5 of the 6 a al carte restaurants in the week we were there and the service and quality of food was exceptional, particular favourite was the fish and italian restaurants. the lunch food was full of choice as was breakfast and you could go crazy on over indulgence if you arent careful!

the grounds and the pools are stunning, spotless everywhere and our favourite was the lagoon pool, quiter, plenty of sunbeds and mojo our barman was top class, we had such fun!

our room was huge (deluxe room) and spotless everyday, this really was a luxurious trip and although mysefl andf my gf were only there a week we thoroughly relaxed and can have no complaints about anything!!

ok the entertainment is a little to be desired and yes there are loads of russians which people seem to moan about but to be honest, if you just ignore them they can be quite funny to watch at times and in no way did it detract from our experience, in fact, the fact the staff arent keen on them means it probably enhanced our experience with the staff.

I dont want to rumble on but it genuinly is as good as people say, i would consider going back if i wanted that sort of holiday again without a doubt (and before it there is no way i prob would have been saying that as i get too restless doing nothing!).

Thanks for the experience, it was a brilliant holiday!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adampops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear adampops,

Thanks for choosing Rixos Hotels for your holiday and your comment on Tripadvisor. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our facilities were over your expectations.

All our Rixos Team will be happy if we have chance to welcome you as our loyal guest again at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh.

Please do not hesitate to send us e-mail for any assistance.

Regards,
Your Rixos Team
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
10.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,408 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#62 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,140 reviews
10.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#2 of 32 in Nabq Bay
407 reviews
5.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#4 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,676 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Address: | Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: $211 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
198 Superior Rooms, 290 Deluxe Rooms, 70 Family Rooms and 137 Junior Suites are spread around this beautifully designed modern resort. Several swimming pools wind there way between buildings or there is a gorgeous stretch of beach providing our guests with lots of options on where to spend their days. There are even 3 water slides to entertain the young and the young at heart. Try snorkeling from the wooden jetty or merely a stroll at sunset to see the magnificence of the underworld of the Red Sea. Dining choices include international buffet or choose from the World of Cuisines, with Chinese, Indian, Sushi, Italian, Sea Food or a taste of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rixos Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Grand Azure Hotel Nabq Bay
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing