We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We just got back from a brilliant holiday here. It was for our 15th wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. We only booked a twin room as that was only availability at the time but put in special request for double in a quite spot with sea view on holiday booking. We thought if we had any of the three would be a bonus but they put us in exactly what we had requested so thank you to whoever organised this. The food is excellent and the staff are so friendly especially at the beach bar. Also they have a great entertainment guy called Omar really friendly.

We also had a great snorkelling trip through rixos and pyramid special thanks to moody out snorkelling instructor. I am not a confident swimmer and he gave me the guts to get in and give it a go also such a funny friendly guy.

I want to be back there now which says it all really. An absolutely amazing holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotte35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Lotte35,
In name of Rixos Hotels, we wish you a long happy and healthy mariage, we hope you will chose us for your coming special occasions also. It is big happiness for us that you enjoyed your stay with Rixos...
Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance for your next holiday.
Regards,
Your Rixos Team
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,025 - 2,031 of 4,290 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

I booked a week at this hotel for my honeymoon based on a recommendation and the reviews. I am a regular visitor to red sea resorts and have stayed in lots of 5* hotels and am making my review based on comparing this hotel to others that i have stayed at. My overall view is that this is a pretty hotel but that the service really lets the overall experience down, I did not think my overall experience was worthy of the cost we paid. Sadly I can only repeat what other reviewers have said in that it felt like 95% of guests were russian and it felt more catered to them that all nationalities. You do get free wifi around the resort in the main buildings and around the pool which was useful.
Arrival
We were greeted with a welcome drink, check in was quick, I found reception staff to be quite unwelcome and short, something i found from quite a few staff over the complex which i found strange as egyptian staff in hotels i have stayed at in the past have normally been wonderful, welcoming and very chatty and make your hotel experience.
Rooms
We were originally given room 3236 right next to the main loud pool and kids water slides which i was disappointed with, especially as i had talked by email to staff who told us as we were on honeymoon we would be given an upgrade. The room was nice but my husband was not happy that our balcony was next to a communal terrace and the doors did not lock and then the safe did not work, we had to wait a while and after 3 phone calls to reception some workers turned up to fix the issues. At this point I felt really disappointed and went to speak to reception about my unhappiness, the member of staff was rude and said nothing they could do but speak to guest relations. Thankfully the guest relations team who are english were understanding and spoke to reception for us, the hotel (700 rooms) were completely full but we could upgrade if we paid an extra $50 a night, i then requested a refund/check out to go to another hotel but the manager kindly then heard our complaints and we were moved to another room near the quiet pools which was more suitable. The porter Hani was fantastic member of staff and really went out of his way to make you happy. Our room cleaner Attaya was also amazing, leaving a cake, fruit tray, wine and bouquet of flowers along with amazing towel arts every day. The rooms are nicely done, very comfy beds. Bathrooms with toiletries etc. Mini bar topped up every day with bottles of water, cans of beer and soft drinks. Our room was never cleaned until after 5pm which was a pain as once the sun goes in at this time and we went back to our room we couldn't get ready to go out until they were done.
Hotel & Grounds
Hotel is huge and I felt it was a little disjointed, being its an old hotel refurbished with other new buildings, having two receptions and certain services available in each. Hotel has a little shuttle bus service around the hotel resort which is needed as it is alot of walking. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained. The only thing i didn't notice at this hotel that you see regularly at others is the "smoking" of gardens to rid mosquitos and I never seem to suffer but my husband and other guests we spoke to had been bitten alot.
We had a look around the spa, the gym is well equipped with Techogym equipment, looked around the spa but didn't use the facilities, hotel could really do with an outdoor spa area and some proper jacuzzis that make use of the views.
There is an onsite company offering excursions and diving trips, we booked one and went with some other english guests and were promised two dives and a PADI dive book/certificate, once we got on the boat we were told we paid £85 for snorkelling and had to push for what we were promised even though i had them write down what we got. We complained to one of the team when we got back who promised the manager Saladin would speak to us but that never happened, we never received the PADI book either. My husband said it was one of the best dive sites he had seen but we were both concerned as to whether they did check PADI to see if we were qualified and that they took him down to depths he was not qualified to go to. There is lots of shops across the road from the hotel if you run out of anything or need a pharmacy. We took a trip to Naama Bay and Soho Square, by using a local taxi outside the hotel and paying 100EGP return so make sure you haggle.
Pools/Beach
We didn't really use the beach, its nice enough with a good jetty to take you out far enough to do some snorkelling, the day we went down there it was very wavy. There are camels along the beach to do rides if you want.
We spent our time by the beach pool which we found was the nicest. The hotel desperately needs to invest in some decent sun loungers as they were so uncomfortable. The towels are also in need of replacing as on a couple of occassions they were dirty and threadbare.
The pool opens at 8am but the staff start cleaning the pool at this time which I found unusual, the pools are in need of some maintenance and a good clean. We had to laugh when we watched one of the pool staff "test" the pool by drinking the water, I never once see staff do any chlorination tests like at other hotels. The hotel is in serious need for more sun loungers and has masses of space where no beds are put for no reason, we wanted some peace and moved our beds one day around the deep end only to be told hours later we had to move as manager did not want us there but days later other guests did the same and didnt have to move. We had to get up at 6am to put towels out or we would have never got a lounger as most are taken by this time and lots of guests were heard complaining to pool staff, i think the hotel needs to operate a no reserving policy like other hotels as because of the clientele at this hotel they tend to reserve beds early but never used them till late in the afternoon. The main pool has miniature sun loungers for kids which i've not seen before and thought was a nice touch.
The bar staff at the pool bars were great, you can only get ice creams at certain bars like the beach bar which I thought was pointless when you are far away in the pool area and something hotel needs to look at, they were also always running out of snacks like crisps.
I didn't find the pool staff to the service level of other hotels, at other 4 & 5 star hotels, staff bring you towels when they see you here you have to trek across the pool area for them, there was hardly any drinks service around the pool area so you continually have to go to the bar, other hotels offer this as standard service and most i have visited bring round frozen towels midday to cool you down etc and snacks.
Food
The standard of food and choice was really good but again was let down by service, i felt the main restaurant was understaffed as staff come and take your drink orders when you are seated but on some occassions we waited 20 minutes and when I tried to get myself one was shooed away from the bar and told it would be bought to us only to continue to wait for ages. Lots of fresh counters for pizzas and pasta etc along with a BBQ, we found we had to fight to get to these counters and get some food again down to certain other nationalitiies.
The al la carte restaurants I found to be a little bit of a fad compared to how they are marketed, you literally have to book them all in advance as soon as you arrive, we were there a week and could not even get a booking for a number of them. What they dont tell you is that they allow about 6 tables for bookings on a number of sessions but lots of tables are reserved for those who want to pay to go their again.... this i felt was unacceptable as if you are paying and are supposed to get this they the hotel should ensure guests get this. We went to the italian which was nice and worth a visit, we went to the indian and the food was nice and mild but drinks service terrible, the one I would recommend is the egyptian restaurant as the food and the service was amazing and the team here could really show the other staff how things should be done.
Overall it was an ok hotel but if you are looking for a true 5 star all inclusive experience I would look elsewhere until the issues are addressed, any Qs just let me know.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank puntolmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear our guest,

Thanks for choosing Rixos Hotels for your holiday and your time for sharing your valuable comments on Tripadvisor.

We are so sorry for the inconveniences that you had during your stay but it is good to hear that you upgraded later to an available room and you were happy with this room. We would like to make clear a misunderstanding that our colleagues, who are incharge to reply our guest request e-mails, know that we are not able to promise any room upgrade request to not make any disappointment according to the hotel high occupancy or having non availability for the concerning room types. We always take our notes inside your profiles as we replied to your e-mails to remember all conversations on your arrival day.

For your diving center complain, we would like to get from you a detailed e-mail to investigate and give more feedback and solution. Please e-mail your detailed comments to tuba.yolcu@rixos.com.

In Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, we have 11 pools and all pools are cleaning regularly 24 hours, so our colleagues are cleaning and controlling pools one by one all day long. According to our guests valuable comments we would like to inform that we purchaised new and more sunbeds for our guests service. I already shared your comment with our Recreation Manager to investigate about testing pool water.

All Rixos Team at your service before/during and after your stay. When hotel is fully occupied, most important issue for us to be reachable for all our guests and assist them for any kind of needs. We are so sorry to not able to reach you about your all comments and not able to give any feedback for your inconveniences.

We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you again on your next holiday and see your second comment as %100 satisfied. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.

Warm regards,
Your Rixos Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

this place has everything in abundance. if people have not rated this hotel as excellent/good then ignore them. the rooms are spotless and very spacious. the grounds and pools are all meticulously cleaned and tended on a daily basis. you could not wish for more pleasant, smiley and courteous staff. all the food is very tasty whether a sandwich from the pool bar or any of the a la carte restaurants. special thanks to all the towel/sun lounger boys at the lagoon pool, never too much trouble to find you something, regardless of what time of the day. chalkie, muhammad and metwaly at the pool bar, and the two boys at the beach bar george and abrahim. they all went out of their way to make sure you wanted for nothing and were happy. kelly and the girls in customer relations were very efficient and dealt with any problems promptly , not that we had any. made some lovely friends and all in all a fantastic break. although the world is a big place , we may well return to this particular place.

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the lagoon bar on the ground floor seem to be the best placed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Steve,

Thank you very much for your good comments regarding your stay with us. We are awaiting you for your next holiday to have more sun, fun and relaxing days at our resort with our friendly team.

Best Regards,
Your Rixos Team
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I usually would not bother writing a review but thought I had to for the Rixos as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a week from 29th April - 6th May and were given a room in block 4, room 4146 a deluxe room. This was a pool view room of the entertainment pool. We were originally told when we booked this that it would be a sea view room but when we arrived Megan (the Guest Relations lady) told us the tour operators say this without knowing the layout of the hotel. The room we had was fine though and sea view did not matter to us. Ali our maid was great and made us lots of towel art; swans, crocodiles, elephants etc. He also made sure we were happy when we returned to the room & gave us extra water if we needed it. We tipped him a cpl of Egyptian Pounds each day.

The pool we enjoyed most was the lagoon pool and the romantic pool. These were quiet enough for us to be able to relax and the lagoon pool also had the lovely swim up bar, which also offered snacks. Chicken Sherwarma wrap was delicious!! Osama & Mohammed the towel guys were lovely and so helpful!

Food was amazing! Lots of variety in the Zodiac (main buffet) but as this was very busy we decided to mainly eat in the Nefertiti restaurant (under the main reception) which was an adult only restaurant. This also had a lot of variety - calamari, pizza, pasta, salad, vegetables, potato wedges..... Something for everybody! Neither of us were sick or had a dodgy tummy when we were out there and neither did other guests we spoke to.
Cocktails were ok- piano bar made the best mojitos. I found the red wine to be lovely and my boyfriend was drinking Heineken or Egyptian Stella.

Entertainment team was great! Omar was brilliant and so funny, plus a great dancer!!! They did not bother you too much of you did not want to get involved.
We drank at the beach bar a lot and tried the shisha while we were there. Very relaxing to sit on the giant beanbags and chill out. Ahmed was very attentive.

The spa and excursions guys were constantly trying to sell things throughout the day but if you politely say no they should leave you alone.
We booked the tiran island boat trip (with Blue Lagoon reps) from a different hotel. It was good to snorkel but the boat was not great as we were picked up at 7.45am and were not given food until 3pm. Drinks were very sparse too; only a cpl of bottles of sprite and coke. not enough for 25 passengers. We were also promised 3 snorkelling stops but the boat only made 2. Pyramid tours may be better - it will be worth speaking to other guests to see if they recommend the boat with them.

All in all we had a fab holiday and definitely will return!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarmurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Sarmurt,

Greetings from Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Family...

It’s great to hear that our standards and services were up to your complete satisfaction and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at our resort in the near future to enjoy once more our friendly atmosphere.

with warmest regards from your Rixos Team
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hi,

I have visited this resort 3 times once when it was Royal Grane Azure and twice when it changed to Rixos. This is a 5* Hotel and the treatment you receive from the staff is tremendous. The food is lovely and since it has changed it's name they have made a few changes, seafood restaurant, hair salon and a gym for all the keep fit fanatics.

Will be visiting again as all of the staff are the same with a few changes but it still feel's like our 2nd home as the staff are like family. Mohammed who works in the executive lounge polite and friendly and nothing was a problem for him, Simon who works on the beach bar, he really knows how to make a good drink, Mohammed on reservation also helpful and friendly, not forgetting Kelly Warmsley guest relations.

Overall the best place to stay. I have been to Egypt 4 times and I refuse to try any other hotel no matter how good the reviews. Rixos is a taste of paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samantha5876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Samantha,

In name Rixos Hotels we would like to thanks for your sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed our new facilities and hope to welcome you again on your next vacation with more new restaurant and facilities. We are planning to have 1-2 more new a la carte restaurants and re-design Zodiac Restaurant for next year.

We pass your thanks to our colleagues and please do not hesitate to contact with us for any assistance before your visit.

Regards,
Your Rixos Team
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We returned from the rixos on bank holiday Monday 6 May 2013. Top notch resort, very large comfortable rooms, fully stocked fridge and massive bathroom. The only fault I could find is the shelf in the massive shower is not big enough for bottles of shower gel, shampoo and conditioner!
The resort is big and there are plenty of restaurants to choose from. Nefertiti opened mid week and we preferred this one as it is adults only although they quote adult as over 12! It is a lot quieter and laid back than the main, massive zodiac restauant. We tried all the restaurants except the Indian and the Chinese and I have to say the food is excellent. We were really impressed with the Beach snack bar as you choose from the menu and everything is freshly cooked. The piano bar is very relaxing in the evening and the cocktails are varied and brilliant. Finally the staff are lovely and very friendly. I must say I would prefer ultra all inclusive to include late checkout, this hotel was fully booked on departure and we had to leave the room at 12 midday and our flight was 21.15, but as we did not arrive until after 18.00 I think you should be entitled to keep the room until the same time on departure day. Although saying that we could get showers and change in the large spa premises on his resort. The only down side of a fully booked resort is a shortage of sunbeds and umbrellas but it was their Easter holidays.

Room Tip: Request a high room for a good view. Request a room near the beach as a lot of walking involved whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Kim,

Greetings from Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Team.
Thank you for choosing Rixos Hotels, we are so happy to receive such a nice review of your recent stay in Rixos.

We appreciate all the feedback from you and also recommendations. Late c-out is always available upon hotel occupancy and as you mentioned as been fully booked we could not assist you with your late c-out request.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rixos on your next vacation and please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.

Regards,
Your Rixos Team
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

What a fabulous place, everything and more that you'd want from a 5* hotel. Lovely rooms, very comfortable, super bathrooms, but most of all the service is exceptional.
Unfortunately I was unwell during our stay but the care and concern shown was exceptional a big THANK YOU to Dr Achmed and all the customer relations team.
The food is lovely with a great choice of restaurants, although the hotel was quiet for the first 3-4 days even when a large influx of guests arrived the service remained the same, the waiters are absolutely super and cannot do enough for you to make sure you're having a good time.
So once again Thank you Rixos for a lovely holiday and I feel sure we will return in the future.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quieter than pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank auntywhitLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear auntywhitLancashire

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

It was so unfortunate that you unwell during your stay but we are pleased the Doctor was very helpful and your comments have been passed to him and the Guest Relation Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
10.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,484 reviews
10.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,329 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#64 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
0.7 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#2 of 33 in Nabq Bay
437 reviews
5.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#4 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Address: | Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: $230 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
198 Superior Rooms, 290 Deluxe Rooms, 70 Family Rooms and 137 Junior Suites are spread around this beautifully designed modern resort. Several swimming pools wind there way between buildings or there is a gorgeous stretch of beach providing our guests with lots of options on where to spend their days. There are even 3 water slides to entertain the young and the young at heart. Try snorkeling from the wooden jetty or merely a stroll at sunset to see the magnificence of the underworld of the Red Sea. Dining choices include international buffet or choose from the World of Cuisines, with Chinese, Indian, Sushi, Italian, Sea Food or a taste of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Hotwire so you can book your Rixos Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Grand Azure Hotel Nabq Bay
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing