We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Xmas at Rixos Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Rochdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant Xmas at Rixos Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

On arrival at Rixos we were quickly checked in without being offered a welcome drink or hot towel, which we have always found to be customary, in five star hotels. We were all a little disappointed by this, however being shown to our Large and very clean, comfortable rooms lifted our spirits.

Hotel: This spacious resort is extremerly clean and well maintained, providing all the facilities you would expect from a Five star Hotel.

Rooms: Our rooms had ample wardrobe space, safe, large modern bathrooms and very comfortable beds. Everyday the rooms were cleaned to a high standard.

Food: We found the food in the adults only buffet restaurant to be of a good standard, with plenty of choice. Especially on Christmas eve when we had the opportunity to try ostrich for the first time, which was delicious.
We ate at the Italian, Chinese and Indian restaurants which were all excellent and highly recommended.

Entertainment: We feel that this is an area that needs to be improved upon, myself and my husband did not enjoy the loud music, which was part of the entertainment programme every night. We would have prefered an option in the evenings that catered for a more mature audience.

Staff: As we have found with every hotel we have visited in Egypt the staff were once again extremerly friendly and obliging. Do make an effort to communicate with them as they really do enjoy the British sense of humour!

If you are considering visiting this resort, don't hesitate as you won't be dissapointed. We intend to visit other Rixos Resorts in the future!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGASharm, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Barbara K

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are pleased you enjoyed your Christmas here with us it was our first Rixos Sharm el Sheikh Christmas and New Year and it was very successful and we received great poistive feedback.

As we have such a large resort we have the advantage of being able to provide entertainmnent in a number of areas. We are catering for a lot of nationalities and age groups so provide both lively and relaxed areas of entertainment. The Piano bar is the quieter area of the resort in the evenings in comparison to the Rixos Life Centre and Blue X Beach Club.

Overall we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley

kelly.walmsley@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,996
    631
    245
    53
    45
See reviews for
1,214
1,864
78
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

as i mentioned before, it's a really good hotel.
at that time not too many people around (as i heard, because of the procedure of changing the owner - i hope they would not change the staff...), so, the whole place was quite quiet.
another perfect relaxation.
thanks!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bistvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGASharm, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear bistvan

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

During the change over period it is common to be quiet as you commented due to the change over of contracts with the Tour Operators. We are now continuing to work on more European contracts but we are still available with Thomas Cook UK & Germany, Jetair aswell as several other European Tour Operators.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley

kelly.walmsley@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

we first visited in sept 12 when all the building work was going on we went back for xmas and new year and i must say the place now looks fantastic we got a wonderful welcome back
the food was as good as ever and the place was really clean
thank you Bella and Kelly for looking after us you did it so well as usual they now also have ladies working in the bar areas which is good news they were all lovely but especially the lovely suzanne she is an asset to the hotel
we can't wait until we go back in the summer and we will not be trying any other hotels in sharm as we have found the best by far
thanks again to all that made our holiday and i would reccommend giving this hotel a try you will not regret it
oh and thanks for the mattress toppers they make a big difference to the beds lol

Room Tip: if you want a room away from the evening entertainment then ask for the rooms by the heated pool as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGASharm, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Jackie R

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here wuth us.

We are pleased you returned after the changes during your first stay in order to make the most of the new facilities.

We look forward to you returning in the summer for your 3rd visit.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley

kelly.walmsley@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our stay at the rixos was fantastic. The hotel decor, comfort and staff were second to none. They were helpful very friendly and went out of their way to help us. I couldn't fault it at all.
We were celebrating a 50th birthday and the staff arranged a cake for the room and decorated the room, it was lovely and a great surprise.
We ate in the Italian, Chinese, Indian, and seafood restaurant and all were exceptional.
The adult restaurant which was a buffet was also lovely with plenty of choice.
The entertainment was also very good but catered a lot for the Russians, but we did make our own fun from it

Room Tip: Use dollars for tipping. If you are not thinking of travelling out of the resort don't bother wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackieclare86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGASharm, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear jackieclare86

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are pleased you enjoyed all the a la cartes available.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley

kelly.walmsley@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Overall stay was very good, below are the best bits and areas that I think the hotel still needs to work on.
GOOD:
- staff were very friendly with special thanks to Mohammed in the main reception /piano bar serving drinks and the room cleaner that cleaned room 4126.
- landscape of the hotel was very nice.
- food was generally good in the buffet and al a cart restaurants, again the service was extremely good.
- as all inclusive you can use each of their al a cart restaurants once per stay. The restaurants are generally good food and service and better than that buffet meals. Most times over the Xmas period the al a cart places were empty!
- booked a taxi transfer on arrival through a request on Rixos website and I got a reply saying its all booked, however when I contacted them again just before my arrival they said nothing has been booked. Luckily I re booked the service again, as picking up local taxis from the airport is never advised..
BAD:
- WI FI signal was by poor in the main lobby and I would expect a lot more from even a 4 star hotel.
- having only one heated pool made the main pool very busy whilst all the other pools remained empty. From a 5 star hotel I would expect at least a couple heated pools to use during your winter months. Having 6 pools empty is just a waste.
- cocktails are very bad throughout the hotel. Probably the worst cocktails I have ever tried! And we tried nearly all of them. The hotel definitely needs improving in this area. The spirits on their own are ok and so is the local beer..
- hotel taxi service charging 20 USD for airport transfer seems excessive as I know how much local taxis cost in Sharm. We felt that the hotel taxi service is ripping off its customers. As a top rated hotel customer satisfaction should be your priority and you should charge a reasonable fare. Even in London a 15 minute taxi ride costs less!
- late check out costs 45 USD which is crazy! I've stayed at 5 star hotels before and never been asked to pay for late check out. This is poor customer service from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side view and non ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VP London V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear VP London V,

Thanks for your positive and negative comments. Your comments and reccomendations have been passed on our management. Taxi service which is provided by hotel is done by a luxury car company and prices are related with car type. Of course all our guests free to use local taxi or a luxury taxi service.

Hope to welcome you again at Rixos and happy new year.

Regards,
Your Rixos Team
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at The Rixos 13 - 20 December with my wife and 2 daughters. It's the 5th time we have stayed there but the first since the change to Rixos from Royal Grand Azure. We liked it when it was the RGA but the changes have all been for the better. The new beach bar and seafood restaurant in particular are welcome additions. We always thought the food was reasonable before but now it is the Rixos they have definitely upped their game even more. Take advantage of the included A la Carte restaurants which serve excellent produce.
Best thing about the hotel is the staff and that starts from Kelly all the way down. They are nothing short of amazing - always smiling and friendly.
I'm not surprised to see the Rixos climbing up the rankings. My wife and I are planning our next trip - for some guaranteed sun and service it is very hard to beat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGASharm, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear David P

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We would also like to thank you for your continued support and we are pleased you like the changes we have made.

We are still upgrading certain facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 6th visit.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley

kelly.walmsley@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I have not previously left a review on Trip Advisor but having been so impressed with the Rixos Sharm I have been moved to do so. I write this having been fortunate to stay in a number of 5 star hotels around the world. The Rixos Sharm is an exceptional hotel. We stayed here for a week in December 2011 and were sufficiently impressed with our first stay to book two weeks at the hotel for the end of 2012. We stayed at the hotel between the 19th December 2012 and the 2nd January 2013.

Between our stays at the hotel the owner changed to Rixos. The hotel used to be called the Royal Grand Azure. A change of management can cause concern as we hoped that the excellence of the 2011 holiday would not be diminished. It wasn't diminished at all. In fact I would say that the hotel is better. We stayed (like last time) all-inclusive in a Junior Suite. The room was an excellent size, well appointed and had a super bathroom. The room felt very clean. It had a view over one of the many pools and part of the coastline.

There are a number of things which make this hotel truly great.

First and foremost are the staff. Having been at the hotel for two weeks during a very busy Christmas and New Year period I was able to observe how the staff coped with this challenge. They coped excellently.

I cannot praise the staff highly enough. From our room cleaner who left towel sculptures which delighted my kids (including an elephant, a peacock and a heart all laid out with fresh flowers), to the wonderful and attentive waiters in the restaurants, the chefs in the Zodiac restaurant who served with a thumbs-up and a smile, to the reception staff and waitresses who brought delicious coffee and biscuits, to the concierge team, to the pool side staff who helped with towels and recliners, all of them helped create an unforgettable holiday. You got the impression that the staff worked flat out to ensure your stay was enjoyable. I would happily employ any of them if I owned a hotel. Our two kids adored them and were made to feel very special.

The second aspect which makes for a great hotel are the facilities. The hotel grounds are very large. They stretch from a main coastal road all the way down to the beach. The grounds are very attractive and green, being well watered. There are a number of swimming pools dotted throughout the grounds however the heated pools are close to the main reception. Doubtless in summer heated swimming is unnecessary but in the winter period the other pools are a bit chilly. Because the grounds are so large it is possible to get away from the noise and music of the main pool and find many secluded and quiet parts to sunbathe near other pools. The private beach is also very attractive with a hotel jetty, toilets and nearby bar and restaurant. The sea is beautiful, clear and full of stunning fish for those wishing to snorkel. There is a gym, surgery, massage, hairdressers etc.

The third aspect of importance (especially if you are all-inclusive) is the food. We ate outside the hotel only once at Soho Square (a shopping area). We ate within the hotel for the 14 days we stayed. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food was, without exception, excellent. The variety and quality was as good as any five star hotel I have been to. Each day sees fresh fruit, fresh salad, cold meats, a variety of international hot meals, burgers, pizzas, barbecued food etc. There is food for every taste (including for fussy kids). The staff evidently take great pride in the presentation of the food and it is appreciated.

Just opposite the hotel is a pharmacy. The pharmacist speaks good English. Coming out of the hotel and turning right (about 10 minutes walk away) there are shops and a quite decent modern supermarket which is not unlike a Tesco express.

Now to some brief advice.

1. Changing travellers cheques is a real faff as there is only one place in Sharm which does it and its some distance from the hotel. Bring cash. Each room has a safe and in reception there is a cash conversion machine which gives a better rate of conversion than was offered in the UK. Shops will also accept sterling.

2. Sharm used to be desert and largely still is. To maintain the lush grounds water is fed around the hotel. This hotel, like all the others which have similar irrigation systems, has mosquitos. They are not a particular problem but I was badly bitten on my first night on my ankles and leg. There were mosquitos in my room. I bought a can of Raid from the pharmacy to deal with the existing problem. I also bought a Raid anti-mosquito plug-in liquid 300 hour diffuser for £5 sterling from the pharmacy. It worked a treat and no mosquitos came in the room for the remainder of the holiday. I would also suggest packing some repellant (again available at the pharmacy).

3. Wifi works but is very patchy. Some areas of the hotel are covered and some aren't. It comes and goes and is limited in what it allows you to do. It may take several attempts to access emails even on a smart phone.

The only criticism or concern I had about our stay related to the beach. There is a local lad who owns a number of camels and plies his trade on the hotel beach. I doubt he is employed by the hotel. On our first day he grabbed our youngest daughter and shoved her on a camel despite us saying we had no money on us. He proceeded to walk her about 12 paces and when I objected sought to demand 150 Egyptian pounds (£15) for the ride. When I refused to pay him he demanded I go to my hotel room and get money. I refused and he became aggressive. We left the beach with our afternoon having been spoiled. Over the course of the next couple of weeks we went back down to the beach and on each occasion watched him have a similar argument with other guests. On a further occasion he clearly didn't recognise us (having no doubt argued with so many people) and attempted to try the trick from our first day. When I said 'no' politely he swore and used the f-word in front of a number of children including ours. Avoid this guy. He works as follows: you look at his camels, take a photo, he gets off, suggests you get on so he can take a photo of you on his camel, you get on he takes a photo and gets his camel to sit up and walk. He then tries to grossly overcharge you for a ride. I hope the hotel can sort this aspect out as it's the only part of our two week holiday which was unsatisfactory but it certainly didn't spoil it.

In summary if I was going to holiday in Sharm El Sheikh I would, without doubt, return to the Rixos. It has everything you need for an excellent holiday and fully deserves the five stars I have given it. Having had two thoroughly enjoyable holidays there I can fully recommend it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Richard,

We are greatful for you kind comments and so happy to hear that you enjoyed our new concept and facilities. We would like to inform that wifi is improving day by day with additional access points. We are so sorry for the inconvenience that you had with camel man, this is something which is related with Egypt and it is cultural and immune for this nationality. We do our best toright their behaviors.

Thanks for your honest feedbacks and hope to see you soon at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh.

Regards,
Your Rixos Team
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
10.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,098 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
4.1 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#3 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Property: Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Address: Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
198 Superior Rooms, 290 Deluxe Rooms, 70 Family Rooms and 137 Junior Suites are spread around this beautifully designed modern resort. Several swimming pools wind there way between buildings or there is a gorgeous stretch of beach providing our guests with lots of options on where to spend their days. There are even 3 water slides to entertain the young and the young at heart. Try snorkeling from the wooden jetty or merely a stroll at sunset to see the magnificence of the underworld of the Red Sea. Dining choices include international buffet or choose from the World of Cuisines, with Chinese, Indian, Sushi, Italian, Sea Food or a taste of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Rixos Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Grand Azure Hotel Nabq Bay
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing