We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October 2012 just back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Ok here goes... Firstly do not book a trip with on the beach if you expect the reservation to actually have been made! This isn't the place to go into how awful that company have been but you gave been warned! Luckily despite the rixos reception advising us they had no access to international calls (!) our issue was sorted by Kelly in guest relations in moments on our second morning after a lot of hassle with "on the beach" incapable of offering assistance! The check in process is pretty slow but the reception is a large comfortable lobby area with drinks swiftly delivered so a relaxing process I would assume for those who actually have a room booked! Our room was large and clean with a partial sea view from the balcony. The bed was a little hard but we slept very well and the noisy aircon soon became soothing! Anyone worried about building works please stop as these appear to be complete. There were some minor works while we were there 20-27 October but they were barely noticeable and we had been really worried about this as we wanted a quiet stress free week of relaxing! In fact the speed at which the beach cabanas were constructed and then painted was interesting/impressive and other minor works and ongoing landscaping/improvements were a sign
of investment in the hotel by the new management. Food was ok not 5* in my book but probably the best on offer in egypt without paying 4 seasons prices! You have to book but we tried most of the a la cartes as the two buffet restaurants and their ecclectic selection of foods and often hectic or souless atmospheres weren't really our style. The beach snack restaurant was good for lunch and the buffets were actually good for breakfast especially the egg chefs. What is nice is the fact you don't wear a wristband or sign for your food/drinks and everyone is on the same ultra all inclusive plan with mini bar unlimited water etc. None of the nonsense some hotels have about not finding a sunlounger the beach area and several pools mean this us no problem. The staff are great, in particular abdullah and George at the middle pool bar and sam in the piano bar. Guest relations girls are hugely efficient and helpful. Everyone is friendly and we did not feel in the hotel that there was a tipping culture but a thank you when we left was appreciated. Not many English people though the Thomas cook contract is apparently starting up again and will no doubt change this. The staff love to hear a British voice as the majority of customers seemed to be Russian or Arabs and often have no time for ps and qs or banter with the waiters etc! We did 2 day trips both great particularly the snorkelling trip to Tiran island booked on site with pyramid dive school. No idea what the daily ents programme is as for most of the week it wasn't published but by our last day this was on the notice board. Evening entertainment was ok the cobra show probably best the guy translating into 4 different languages was loud and annoying but with the diverse mix of customers I guess this is necessary... The main negative was the stage recently built on the beach meant that the insanely loud music with thumping bass was very noisy in the room until midnight on Thursday night and later on Saturday despite our checking at 12.30am and there being just 10 people on the beach enjoying the random rave!!! All in all a beautiful hotel with a lovely beach great staff and potential to be even better!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RichmondLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear RichmondLaura,

We would like to thanks for your valuable comments. Thanks for giving us a chance to write here our new improved services. Now we have 3 lobby guest relation agent who is assisting you during check-in and makes all faster with our professional Front Office team. Also they are giving a detailed information about hotel services. Our Turkish chief cook is offering to all our guest a big variety in all restaurants. We hope on your next visit you will share with us again your valuable comments.
Hope to welcome you soon..
Regards,
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,220 - 2,226 of 4,436 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just returned from Rixos Sharm El Sheik and it was superb. 6 a la carte restaurants, 2 main restaurants, high quality and varied food, fast and good service.. on our check in they served us cold drinks and one guest relation lady helped us for fast check-in, with buggy cars we escorted to our room and our room was very clean and big, it was more than my expectation. on our first day I tought that it will not be easy to walk each day to the beach side but after first day you enjoy walking inside the hotel with its green landscape. In Egypt it is very good to have a Rixos and being sure that you will get good service, smiling and interested management, clean and varied international food... we would like to send some special thanks to chief Ender for his care, Guest Relation and Entertainment Team for their assistance and all Rixos Management. We recommend this hotel and hope to be there soon again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
4  Thank E-sound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGASharm, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear E-sound

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are pleased to read you had such an enjoyable stay.

Your thanks have been passed on to all mentioned and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
Rixos Sharm el Sheikh
kelly.walmsley@rixos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Rixos Sharm El Sheikh and were extremely satisfied and pleased with our stay The design fits perfectly with the location and is truly elegant.
You will not be disappointed with this resort.
We were upgraded to one of the units closer to the water, but all of the units seem to be wonderful. The room is very large and luxurious with a very nice outdoor area as well. The linens and furnishings are high end and very comfortable.
The grounds are stunning and perfectly kept. There are many pools, each beautifully landscaped. There are many lounge chairs throughout the grounds so you never have to fight for one. The beach is beautiful and very well kept.
We enjoyed the wonderful breakfast each morning which included tons of different high quality options. The restaurants are also excellent. foods were delicious.
Overall this is a wonderful resort that does everything right.
I'd like to special thanks and congratulate to the directors ,who managed magically modern but purely local
We cant wait to return and enjoy it again!

Bernard O. Pennsylvania U.S

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernard o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TubaYolcu, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Bernard,

We would like to thanks for your nice comments and very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. All our team will be happy to welcome you again and have the opportunity to serve you with our new concept and facilities.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further assistance.
Your Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Team
sharmelsheikh@rixos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed in the Rixos with my two other friends in September for a week.From the first day of our stay, we were made to feel welcomed by friendly staff who can't do enough for you. The facilities are very useful, good location, delicious authentic food and very accommodating staff are the positives of the hotel.
Yes it was a shame that some renovations work was taking place at the hotel during our stay but i guess that's what they have to do to make this great hotel even better and it didn't effect our holiday one bit!!! It's already an amazing hotel and when we come back next year (already decided ) improvements the hotel will only be an added bonus.
I envy those who are preparing to go to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh in the near future and i'm desperately looking forward to next year to my holiday back at this beautiful hotel..
ps: we loved the complimentary upgrade!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27_lavinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGASharm, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear 27_lavinia

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of your stay here with us.

We are pleased that the work did not affect your stay and you still had a great time, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future where you can make full use of all our new facilities.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
Rixos Sharm el Sheikh
kelly.walmsley@rixos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

.this is probably is the one of the best hotel i ever stayed.the hotel is spotlessly clean and meals are a feast,very friendly staff they are always there when needed.Incredibly convenient location, good solid value for the price. highly recomended.i would love to come back again.d.ozen england

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank deano o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGASharm, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear deano o

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of your stay here with us.

It is great to read we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rixos Sharm el Sheikh in the future.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
Rixos Sharm el Sheikh
kelly.walmsley@rixos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed in the Royal Grand Azure (now known as the Rixos Sharm El Sheikh) for a week, at the start of October and the experience was awful.
To cut a very long story short, there were extensive building works being carried out while we were there which we were only told about 3 days before our departure and which were far more extensive than we'd been advised by either the hotel or our tour operator. I won't go into all the details as other people have already described them in their reviews, but sharkdivejen gives a very fair representation.
These building works ruined what should have been a great holiday. However, I'm far more disappointed by the terrible customer service we received from both the Rixos Customer Service team and the Thomson/First Choice rep. I accept that sometimes things go wrong and feel that the important thing is how issues are dealt with. Both Rixos and Thomson were dismissive and unresponsive to say the least. Some of the Rixos staff were downright rude.
I feel that we received terrible value for the money we paid and I know that Rixos have implemented a large price rise since taking over the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank muddywestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGASharm, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear muddiewestie

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We informed all Tour Operators of the work taking place in the resort in September. Unfortunately we are not responsable for what they then do with this information. It was unfortunate that during your stay you felt that the staff were rude, it is suprising to read that you were so disappointed and did not inform and member of Guest Relation or Management.

During the period of your stay all work was 95% complete and we were finishing the interior decor so it is difficult to understand where you found the extensive building work?

As you have commented there is a slight rise in the price however this is still excellent value for money as we have improved so many facilities including a new entertainmnet area, spa, seafood a la carte and we have upgraded the all inclusive concept providing mini bar in your room and imported alcohol available at all bars.

It was unfortunate you did not have the stay you were expecting but we hope to see you return to any of our Rixos Hotels in the future.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
Rixos Hotels
kelly.walmsley@rixos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Got back on Thursday night from a week at rixos, had a great time hotel was lovely yes some building work was going on but dint bother me or my partner as the hotel is so big u dint have to sit near it but think we turned up as it was slowing down which was good! This hotel is the biggest I've ever stayed in just when u think that's it there's more, it's all very clean! Rooms are big with great big bath and great shower got cleaned every day clean towels fresh bottles of water and would refill you on milk, tea bags and sugar happy with room overal! All the pools are big u have the busyer pool and quieter ones and pool slides and two pool bars, I dint rate the drinks they put to much alcoholie in then so can't enjoy them but then most country's do that, food was good two big buffet restraints plenty to chose from breakfast wernt that great also had dinner at the Indian, italian, and chinese restaurants l a carte all very nice also u could eat at the beach restaurants better food at this all inclusive than others ive stayed at all staff are helpfull u don't even need to get up to get a drink they will come to u went on VIP cruise very good and soho square trip I would not go out of the resort just cos u don't get left alone but that's eygpt for u! Right about Anna the rep, was half hour late for meeting , was very short dint go through the trips with us as a group as we had a bit more of an understanding just said wanna book just ask me! Went back and booked the VIP cruise with a couple we meet also to go on the Sunday anyway got at reception waited over an hour finally got picked up said to the guy VIP cruise and he said yes got on after about ten mins on the coach guy says where in Norway r u from, what we ain't from Norway and said this is a meeting for ppl from norway in Narma bay so said we had to get off we said its your mistake u need to take us back they wernt having done of it so we had to get off me and the other girl got quite scared just bein left in the middle of no we're, had to get a taxi back with out own money an Egyptian taxi ride was one of the worst things I've done was hell, finally got back couldt get hold of Anna she don't give her number out to the hotel which was bad so had to wait till the next morning to get hold of her she said there was some mix up as we wernt booked on it so she booked us on it again for wesenday so that day come again got there at 8:10 as told and got to 8:45 and still no sign on a coach lucky enought Anna was in the hotel at that time so my partner ran round to where she was and we wernt even booked on it again but she ring the guy who runs the trip and as he was still picking ppl up he came and got us and finally we went on the trip we wouldt of minded so much but we payed her on the first time we was supposed to of gone on it and then not being booked on it again is a joke I also booked on 5k extra luggage did that get put on either no as I asked at the airport on way back if it was on my booking and said nothing so I've only payed for that too, I said to Anna can I have a receipt or somthing to proof that I payed for it and from her I got na it's def booked so we have complained to first choice as I want my money back and we also wasted 3-4 hours of our hoilday on the mix up of these trips having to get up super early too, overall the hoilday was really good just such a let down from first choice rep u could just tell she didn't wanna be there! And we also dint get told the hotel was changing names ago that was a bit of confusion when coach picked us up! Just be aware the Egyptians will try get money off u when ever they can did have it twice of the pool staff too which I don't think they r allowed to do would def go back as they r changing to thomas cook :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beckiellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGASharm, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Beckiellis

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us at Rixos Sharm el Sheikh.

We are pleased to read the improvements to our facilities did not affect your stay.

Unfortunately we are not responsable for the Holiday Representatives in the hotel but i recall speaking with you on your return from Naama Bay and all your comments were noted and forwarded to her Manager.

It is a shame it put a dampner on your stay but we hope to see you return again in the future as i can see we met all your expectations and we really look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
10.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,697 reviews
10.1 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#10 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#1 of 33 in Nabq Bay
544 reviews
2.2 mi away
Steigenberger Alcazar
Steigenberger Alcazar
#2 of 33 in Nabq Bay
264 reviews
5.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#4 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Address: | Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: $217 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
198 Superior Rooms, 290 Deluxe Rooms, 70 Family Rooms and 137 Junior Suites are spread around this beautifully designed modern resort. Several swimming pools wind there way between buildings or there is a gorgeous stretch of beach providing our guests with lots of options on where to spend their days. There are even 3 water slides to entertain the young and the young at heart. Try snorkeling from the wooden jetty or merely a stroll at sunset to see the magnificence of the underworld of the Red Sea. Dining choices include international buffet or choose from the World of Cuisines, with Chinese, Indian, Sushi, Italian, Sea Food or a taste of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rixos Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Grand Azure Hotel Nabq Bay
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing