We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly 5 stars resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I stayed for a week with my husband at the begining of March to cellebrate our wedding anniversary. We have been several times to Dubai to Jumeirah hotels and we can say we were impressed with Royal Grand Azure. Fantastic value!!
When you arrive at the airport they will try you to pay a tax of 13 pounds, don´t do it, no need for staying at Sharm el Sheik. We went with Thomson, be aware of this and go straight to the passport control.
It´s only 10 minutes drive to the airport, we booked a taxi and it was very cheap.
WEATHER
It was lovely and sunny during the day although a bit windy. It got abit cold in the evenings so bring a jumper or a light coat.
RESORT
The hotel has beautiful grounds, lovely gardens, several pools, although in this time of the year the best is to use the Heated Pool, with a lovely bar, plenty of sunbeds and close to the Royal restaurant (the adults only one).
This pool has the animation activities and I can not undertstand why people wre complaining in previous reviews. You can do waterpolo, belly dancing, aquagym... It´´s up to you if you want to join the activities or not but they wonñt disturb you while resting in the pool area. The animation team are lovely and they make a great effort.
The resort has private beach and it´s perfect for snorkelling, and you have sunbeds at the beach but you can not expect a lovely beach to swim because it´s not that type of beach.
The resort is so big that when you arrive you will be taking with your luggage to your room by buggy.
I would recommed to stay in a building in the middle of the resort so you are more or less close to everywhere. Block 10 is nice, and overlooks the lagoon pool. But anyway you will have to walk a lot because it´s really big.
There is a special area in the lagoon pool for massages, they are not very cheap (similar to European prices).
ROOMS
We had a superior room, lovely, plenty of space, King size bed, flat TV, terrace with chairs and a table.
It´s true beds are a bit hard but itñs not so bad, pillows need an improvement.
If you have kids better a ground floor room because they go directly into the garden. Otherwise first floors are more private. There are no lifts to go to the rooms.
Junior suites are lovely with a living area.
ALL INCLUSIVE
This is fantastic, I don´d undertand previous complaints about drinks, there is a wide choice of cocktails and they are fantastic. Tequila Sunrise and Jamaice worth a try.
You will have breakfast, lunch and dinner in the two buffet restaurants, Zodiac has a better choice and it´s bigger but we loved Royal because was adult only and more intimate. The buffet are really good and the food presentation is very good what it´s important for us.
They have 4 a la carte restaurants, you can try one per week stay so this means you can try the four of them: chinese, egyptian, indian and italian. The food is outstanding but the chinese was our favourite. They are in a building called the World of Cuisins (excepting the indian which is independent). You have to book at Guest Relations in advance to get a table.
The are two bars, one in the old reception when you have animation every night and the new reception lobby bar which is great and it´s new and it looks very luxury. Drinks are included every day from 10 in the morning until 2.00 am. You have bottle water and wine what is a bonus, rose is really good.
Bottle water is free and they leave some in the room for you too.
The lagoon pool bar and the beach bar offer snacks but they weren´´t very good.
My biggest dissapoinment was the afternoon tea, we went to the Bar at the old reception and nothing, only 3 types of small cakes in a small box. This needs improvement.
STAFF
They are fantastic and really make your stay. They are friendly and very helpful, Mohammed and Mahmoud at the reception, Sameh is great running by himself the pool bar and preparing amazing coktails, Mario who organizes taxis, and the waiters are lobby bar and royal restaurant are fantastic...
TIPS
Do it, In Egypt they don´t earn a lot of money so tips make a difference. I recommend you to take some pounds or euros coins and to tip. The best thing is they won´t hassle you for tips but they will really be grateful for them and they deserve it because they do a wonderful job.
TRANSPORT
The taxis are very cheap so they are the best option. I would recommend to use the hotel ones. Look for Mario at the old reception and he will organize for you lovely private cars to drive you to wherever you need at a very cheap rate.
EXCHANGE MONEY
The best option is to cross the road and go to the Agrycole Bank, they have the best exchange rate.
HOTEL OUTSIDE AREA
In fron of the hotel there is a good English Pub with karaoke, two chemists, a Bank and several tourists shops.
SHOPPING AREAS
Go to Soho Square for shopping, it´s new and luxury but it doesnñt have plenty of choice.
For real Egyptian experience go to the Old Market, reallt cheap and please bargain.
We went to Naama Bay and we didnñt like it, noc charm, very touristy and lots of hassle.
There is a shopping area only 5 minutes by taxi from hotel calles Al Khan and that´s nice and new sith lots of shops, MacDonals, Starbucks...
TELECOMS
If you want to call home go to a Vodafone shop and get a Vodafone holiday card, its the easiest and cheapest way to call home, if your mobile is unlocked.
The Lobby is wifi althogh Internet is not very good in Egypt.
There is a Vodafone shop 10 minutes walk on the left outside the hotel where you can use the Internet.
KIDS
They have a Kids Club for young Kids with private gardens.
MOSQUITOS
I had a problem with them but got a repelent spray in the chemist and no more problems.
GUESTS
Mainly from UK, Russia, Germany and Italy. We were the only ones from Spain.

What else can I say? Of course I am planning to go back and as soon as possible. If you are looking for a luxury resort in the Red Sea, this is it. We saw other resorts and this was the best by far.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Malaga.Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationRGA, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Dear Malaga.Spain

Thank you for your fantastic review of our hotel.

It is great to read we met all you expectations. Just so you know for next time we now have an ATM Machine situated in the New Reception which provides money exchange.

Your comments have been forwarded to our Food & Beverage Manager and he will review the Afternoon Tea Concept.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write about your holiday experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
Royal Grand Azure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,501 - 2,507 of 4,324 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

Have just returned from a week at The Grand Azure. A bit dissapointed as we e mailed before to see if they would give us an upgrade of room as we were celebrating our Ruby Anniversary. They did upgrade us but only to a pool view. However the room was spacious with a lovely bathroom, but same complaint as everybody else the beds are so hard. More Russians there than other nationalities they are quite arrogent. Whole place is very clean immaculate gardens and pool area's. Even though it says you can't save sunbeds they don't seem to enforce this and towels are put on the beds round the heated pool as soon as the pool opens.
Not great entertainment but the animation team are great and work very hard. Although after a couple of days the loud music round the Royal (heated) pool does get on your nerves a bit sure they could tone it down just a little.Went to Naama Bay on the hotel bus what they don't tell you is it stops 1k outside and you have to walk the rest of the way and back to pick up from same place. Fine if it's cool but in 32c not great. My advice would be to take a hotel taxi costing about £16 return. We eat in the Indian very good,Chinese just ok, Italian was fantastic and the two buffet restaurants were good. However we both got stomach upsets which were very unpleasent.
There are no lifts so if you have a problem with stairs ask for a room on the ground floor.
Samah and Ali at the royal pool bar were great and had a good laugh with them. We did a lot of research before we went and we chose the right hotel. The only problem we had was booked a late check out which was $60 and they did not service the room that day so we did'nt get any clean towels to shower before we left. However we complained about this on check out and they did not charge us for it which was good customer service. All in all we had a good time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near middle of complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chrisb1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationRGA, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Dear Flash082

Thank you for your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We were happy that you chose to celebrate your Ruby Anniversary here with us at the Royal Grand Azure. We do try our best to meet all guest requests but sometimes when the hotel is operating at full occupancy this is very difficult.

We do enforce the no reservation of sunbeds rule, this is also very difficult especially in the winter periods around the one heated pool as there are a large number of guests, this being said there are enough sunbeds for everyone.

The entertainment team work very hard, during the day they make all our activites in the Royal Pool, hence the music, we do however have several other pools where there is no music at all if you are looking to relax.

It was nice to hear you had fun with some members of the pool bar staff, and overall you had an enjoyable stay, we really look forward to you coming back to the Royal Grand Azure in the future.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
Royal Grand Azure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We had two weeks from 2nd to 16th March 2012, and had a great stay at the RGA.
I emailed Kelly before we arrived to ask about room location and on arrival, we were advised we had been upgraded from a standard to a huge superior room (with separate shower cubicle).
Our room was relatively clean, but being used to cruising, it was not up to the standards we have come to expect, although was large and comfortable, although the bed was hard. Our room was in block 4, overlooking the Royal Pool (heated) and we were on the 1st floor which suited us well. We did not find it too noisy as you are not really in your room much during the day which is when the Animations team are making their noise. Poolside entertainment is available if you want to take part, but we chose to enjoy the sun and relax. The music was quite loud at times but this did not bother us too much.
The resort is huge and well located in Nabq Bay. We were able to get the free wi-fi even in our room although you got much better reception in the Old Lobby. There are plenty of places to find a sunbed as long as you don't require the use of a heated pool as this does get busier, and there are some water slides but we didn't use these. The gardens are kept immaculate and the whole resort is clean and very tidy. The staff were very friendly and polite and the reception desk were always happy to help.
Food was the only real let-down (in the buffet restaurants), as the food is quite repetitive, albeit you won't go hungry!
I would definitely recommend the a la carte restaurants where the food is great, and our favourites were the Indian and Chinese. We used the Egyptian the 1st week but didn't bother to rebook for the 2nd, and the Italian was quite good although the pizzas were not too authentic! We did not try the Sushi restaurant which did have a small cover charge. These restaurants should be booked as soon as possible as they do get booked up quite quickly.
The larger family-friendly buffet restaurant was brighter and had a better atmosphere, although you did get children in there. The adult-only buffet restaurant had dim lighting and this gave it a less-appealing look although was closer to our room so we tended to eat there more often. The waiters got to know us and got to know our drink choices, and were very pleasant and attentive.
We had great weather (up to 35 degrees in the second week), and we used the beach which has a great snack bar offering light meals - well worth visiting!
Whilst in 'Charming Sharm', we did 3 excursions which were pre-booked with Sinai Safaris before we went on holiday. The company is run by two Brits Janet and Tim who are great and very helpful. Do check them out too!
Opposite the hotel is a great pub called the Union Jack, which shows UK football matches and is run by Brits primarily for the Brits on holiday - great place to visit!
This was our first trip to Egypt and I think we made a great choice with the RGA. We would go there again, and would recommend it to anyone, and we have already in fact!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintlysoccerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

i have just got back from the royal grand azur in sharm el shiek before i start i am not trying to put anyone off from going to this hotel the hotel is fantastic it is part of the tropicana hotel group and this and another of its sister hotels the trpicana grand azur which i have stayed at i wud recommend to any one the staff are great and will do any thing for you the lobby bar waiters are great they speak realy gud english we had 2 waiters that looked after us reda and abdul realy went out of there way to make our stay great and the animation crew bobosh ahmed, kirsten,lucia,and lucas realy do a fantastic job with the kids and entertaining the adults now for my what i call down sides to the hotel the hotel claims to be a 5 star premier hotel well im sorry it isnt our room was realy clean and the house keeper is great he cleans it realy well but some of the finnishing work to the room is bad the bathroom 1 of the cieling lights was loose and nearly hanging from the roof they had had a leek from the top floor and you could see the brown stain left as it had dried out some repairs had been done to the sink area and had been repaired but left in a bad finnish state the grounds of the hotel are beautifull but the man holes covers in some areas are broken or dont fit correctly which especialy round the pool and slide areas could lead to some bad accidents the food in the hotel is very gud there are 2 main resaurants 1 is for adults only the food in these restaurants is realy good if your there for a week if your there for longer it gets boring and like us you end up eating out then there are 4 alacart restaurants indian excellent chinese excellent egytian very good we didnt try the italian so cant cmment on that 1 the beach is a private beach to the hotel the problem with that beach is that if its a bit breezy people use all the sunbeds as wind breakers so if u go down a bit late in the morning u cant get a sunbed this the hotel should not allow to happen as we saw it cause an arguement wen some one did ask for a sunbed at the beach that was being used as a windbreaker also it makes the beach area look realy bad all you see is stacks off beds not a sunbathing are there are several pools at the hotel but only the royal pool is heated which means everyone wants to be at that pool early on in the year you get the usual people getting up early to get the good beds but some were paying the pool guys to put there towels on the beds for them i no this is also how the pool guys make there money the problem with it is they do this then people dont come to the pool till dinner time or after we have seen some towels on beds and no one used them all day because they went out and didnt tell the pool guys so they wasnt used all day also the royal pool is realy over crowded we went to the lagoon pool the water is cold the but once you have been in a min its fine now would i go back to the royal grand yes i would im planning going back next march but i would like to see things have change on the points i have made i did make arrangments with the tour rep to put my concerns and points forward to the hotel i was told that the customer relations wanted to speak to me about them so on the day i was leaving i made my self available the rep told them i was there and were i was sat but no one ever came this looks realy bad for the hotel as it makes it seem as the managment dont realy care but i know the hotel group that own it do care and i know they read trip advisor so i hope you can do some thing as i wouldnt want to change going to your hotels

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keith186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

General: Very good facility visited predominantly by Russians, some English and few Germans. Responsive staff and great choice in dining options. Staff will relocate you or upgrade you for free if unsatisfied with room. While not a 5 star a definite 3-4 star.

Rooms: Go for the rooms in the lower section (standard) vice the upper area (superior) as these rooms are closer to the beach, the dining areas and quieter as the upper area has the heated pool and daytime entertainment.

Food: 4 theme restaurants, Indian, Chinese, Egyptian and Italian as well as two main buffet restaurants. You get a free visit to each theme restaurant once each week. Book these with guest relations immediately as they fill fast and never to capacity. meal quality is much better and the atmosphere while a bit spartan gets away from the feeding trough feel of the buffet areas.

Room Tip: Get the lower price but quieter rooms down in the lower section, smaller but quite nice with balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank don g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationRGA, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Dear BLP_9

Thank you for your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do not want any of our guests to leave the hotel unsatisfied so if any guests have any issues with the rooms we always try our best to relocate them but not necessarily upgrade them. I am sure you can appreciate this is not always possible especially when the hotel is operating at full occuppancy.

Its great to read overall you enjoyed your stay here with us. The a la cartes are very popular as they provide a different and more personal experience in comparison to our buffet. You are ordering your meal from a menu, therefor the food and service is automatically different from the buffet. This is why we advise to book early to avoid disappoinment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Grand Azure in the future.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
Guest Relation Manager
Royal Grand Azure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

we were delighted when we arrived for our weeks stay at the Royal Grand Azure Hotel. The hotel is stunning, the grounds are beautiful and our room was great. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. Massages at the poolside cabanas are a real treat.

Unfortunately we both became quite ill in the middle of our week and remained so until after we returned home, needing GP treatment for food poisioning. There were a number of people on our coach transfer to the airport who had been similarly ill.

It was such a shame because the hotel is stunning and the people lovely. We would not return to the Royal Grand Azure but only because of the illness.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry_Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationRGA, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Dear Kerry

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

It was nice to hear you were impressed with the grounds and the hotel staff.

It was unfortunate that you became ill during your stay. This could have been for many reasons as you are abroad. It is more unfortunate that you did not speak with any members of staff, your Holiday Advisor or see our Doctor who is available 24 hours. Had you spoken with our doctor he would have assisted you and you may not have remained ill for the rest of your holiday.

We hope you will return to Egypt and hopefully to the Royal Grand Azure in the future.

Thank you
Kelly Walmsley
Guest Relation Manager
Royal Grand Azure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This was the best hotel we have stayed at in Eygpt out of the 6 before , food , space , bars all spot on ,all restaurants were excellent , we did upgrade to junior suite which gave us loads of space there too
I thought all staff were very well trained and did not once feel pestered to tip , tip when you get good service

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tessadog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationRGA, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2012

Dear Tessadog2

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear you had the holiday experience you expected.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Grand Azure in the near future.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
Guest Relation Manager
Royal Grand Azure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
10.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,527 reviews
10.1 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#11 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,400 reviews
2.5 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#11 of 33 in Nabq Bay
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#2 of 33 in Nabq Bay
462 reviews
5.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Address: | Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: $223 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
198 Superior Rooms, 290 Deluxe Rooms, 70 Family Rooms and 137 Junior Suites are spread around this beautifully designed modern resort. Several swimming pools wind there way between buildings or there is a gorgeous stretch of beach providing our guests with lots of options on where to spend their days. There are even 3 water slides to entertain the young and the young at heart. Try snorkeling from the wooden jetty or merely a stroll at sunset to see the magnificence of the underworld of the Red Sea. Dining choices include international buffet or choose from the World of Cuisines, with Chinese, Indian, Sushi, Italian, Sea Food or a taste of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Rixos Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Grand Azure Hotel Nabq Bay
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing