We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only a 4 star do not expect more from food”
Review of Sea Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Gardens
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Only a 4 star do not expect more from food”
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Truely honest review....
I travelled with an older friend but we have been to egypt over 5 times, always trying different hotels and areas.
Booked this holiday late, so we didnt have a lot to choose from, but with so many reviews taking this hotel to more a good 5 star I thought we couldnt go wrong..

But, first we had to change rooms as , though rooms are large , they gave us one with double bed and two childrens singles which when you walk into the room are in by the wardrobe, no natural light, bit ugly area to be honest, they quickly changed rooms to two single beds in the main room, these rooms in sea gardens are the largest out of the hotel group ,(we asked to see the 5star rooms) and they are very clean, beds very hard and pillows very uncomfortable , both had bad necks and backs all week and still now, and no im not old.

The food in this restuarant is limited and geared at the russions now, the problem is that they have the right theme nights and the right ingredients but the chefs need to be trained again to put it together, I wouldnt even say the food was even up to 4 star sometimes , we eat a lot of evenings at the middle hotel sea life, which was a bit better as had more variety, but 5star sea club , not 5star at all !!
we meet a girl who become seriously ill on the fish on first day!! I had bad belly from salad, which I only eat once! we both had gripping pains which if you go to chemist they dish tablets out like sweets.!
My companion is a vegy, and she really struggled to find good food (no fish here unless you paid for a fish restaurant , wouldnt recommend.) and so pretty much eat the spagetti in sea life which was very good.

But thank you to the sea garden manager in the restaurant made sure we had a bowl of chips, Just because at lunch you couldnt always find them or anything to eat if you had a pallet!, This does look like we are typical english abroad, nothing could be further from the truth, we love good food in any country, just couldnt get it here.

Went to Soho square and had a lovely indian there ,would reccommend these restaurants as part of savoy hotel. cost 50EP.in taxi and you cannot barter them down.

The thing with this group hotel is apart from food and beds, it realy is a nice place , friendly nice atmosphere all round , wonderfull beach and they let you snorkel on low tide reefs which are directly infront on beach , sunbeds all too close to one another on beach and by pools, go to middle of beach to get away from dj noise which they will play from sea club and sea gardens.Why do they do this when the average age here is 40!!!!. though at night sea gardens is soo quiet.

So if you know the food isnt up to scratch and take a pillow with you and you're on a budget , then yes you will enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortcupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    230
    54
    23
    9
See reviews for
420
248
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

GENERAL
The buildings looked in keeping with an Egyptian holiday property and appeared to be well maintained. The layout was excellent allowing plenty of space in between accommodation blocks with a central pool and well kept gardens.

Access to the sister hotels Sea Life and Sea Club is very easy, just a minute stroll from the Sea Garden. The Sea Group, as it is called, is in a remote position at the moment, with no other hotels, shops or bars anywhere near. Even the main Nabq area where these can be found are not within sensible walking distance. A taxi would get you there in a few minutes or to Naama Bay in about 15 minutes.
The hotel does offer a Shuttle Bus to Naama Bay but only the morning and early afternoon slots are free of charge and it has to be booked one day in advance. A taxi outside the complex is only 50 Egyptian pounds (£5) though. Other than a visit to Naama out of curiosity we weren’t at all disappointed by the fact that the Sea Group was our base for a week. Due to the overall size and variety of all three hotels you can still have a nice stroll around so it doesn’t feel claustrophobic in anyway.

There is no beach access from the Sea Garden Hotel but 3 minutes through the Sea Life Hotel brings you out on a nice private beach with a lovely swim out over the corals with many beautiful fish to see. The Sea Club also has beach access.

It is confusing that some of the advertised fees for certain extras were in either US dollars or Euros but Egyptian pounds were accepted. Checkout is 12pm but the night before you leave if they have room you can pay extra to keep your room. The fee varies depending how long you want to extend your stay. We paid about £14 to stay on until 3pm. The All Inclusive lasts until you leave the hotel.

Sunset is quite early in November. Most of the Sea Garden pool was without sun after about 3pm but the other pools and beaches received the sun at least another hour longer. It was warm at night but comfortable in either shorts or jeans with a T-shirt.

The clientele is shared mainly between Russians, Germans and British. We found no problems with either of these nationalities, though the old ‘towel out at dawn’ was still alive and kicking. There were plenty of sunbeds to go around. Towels are provided for the pool in exchange for cards given to you. Careful though, loss of card or towel is a 15 euro fine. The pool was well maintained and cleaned thoroughly.

We would highly recommend this hotel.

ROOMS
We didn’t book a suite but got one anyway. The bedrooms are huge, with a large king-size bed. The suite also had a room with two settees and a chair. The bathroom was a good size and all in all the room was in good condition. The shower was a good sized walk-in affair but the water flow was not as we have over here. Not surprising given that water is not as readily available as in the UK. Both bedroom and living room had air-con, which worked a treat but was a little noisy.

FOOD
We were misled by our holiday company about the All Inclusive times but those that were in force were very acceptable. Breakfast 0700-1030, Lunch 1230-1430, Dinner 1830-2200 with snacks also available if required from morning until about sunset.

We are both picky about good quality food which is why we scoured Tripadvisor looking for a hotel like this one. We were not disappointed. Buffet style meals can never compete with a 3 course meal at a quality restaurant but for a buffet style meal, the Sea Garden was second to none. The food quality was excellent with so much variety it was difficult to choose what to eat. Of course initially we were just full because we chose to eat too much!
Even those with a limited palate will find something to eat but for the more adventurous the hotel has different theme nights, there are 10 in all. I disagree with anyone that thinks that the food is bland. The food is different. Don’t expect it to be laden with excess salt, sugar or E numbers, the type of food that usually ruins your palate.
You can also choose to eat at the sister hotels but their dining rooms were larger than ours and we preferred the intimacy of ours so didn’t try the others. You can also pay to eat at some of the other venues on offer but the standard of food was so good this did not appeal to us seeing as we were All Inclusive.

DRINK
All Inclusive drinks consisted of soft drinks, such as Coca Cola, Fanta, Sprite etc. Local beer and wines on pump and local spirits. The wine was nothing spectacular but perfectly drinkable, the local beer was nice enough (made by Heineken). You can of course pay extra for International beer or spirits. The All Inclusive ends at 11pm whereby you can pay for drinks. There is also a night club where you can continue if you like at each of the sister hotels but we didn’t try these.

ENTERTAINMENT
During the day there were staff members, (Russians who spoke English), that would organise activities such as volleyball, pool volleyball, waterpolo, pool aerobics. We were there simply to relax and we weren’t at all pestered to join in. There is also access to scuba diving and massages but these require a fee.

We were there for rest and relaxation. None of the activities or occasional touting for sales interrupted that. A quick polite 'no' was all that was required.

At the Sea Club there is a health & beauty area consisting of Sauna, Turkish bath and Jacuzzi, all with a charge. There is also a well equipped gym utilizing Technogym equipment with two treadmills, two elliptical trainers, two bikes, a good selection of weight machines and some free weights. The gym was free but the downside was that there was no fresh air, not helped at all by the staff member lighting incense sticks!

At night there were a variety of shows but these did not start until 10pm after the dinner service finished, which we thought were a bit late, certainly for anyone with children. We didn’t see any of them as they were at the other hotels and preferred to relax elsewhere.

STAFF
Apart from a couple of ‘grumpies’ the staff were amazing. So friendly and helpful. None expected a tip but were very grateful for any given. They were happy with £1 coins if that was the chosen tip because they would simply exchange them with guests for paper cash. I did give some personal tips out but preferred to leave a tip after each meal as the chefs and other staff members deserve their share as well.

The cleaners were all male and the cleaning was outstanding. Not surprisingly our cleaner received many tips and he would go to the trouble of making the bed a different way each day, arranging items left about neatly and placing flowers on the bed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pcsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level 5 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

arrived at 10pm and checked in with out any probs,read reviews on this hotel before i went and agree with most of them.the rooms were very spacious,bathroom ok (although poor shower( very little water comes out),but we could live with that.tv had a couple english speaking channels on.rooms cleaned everyday and if required clean sheets everyday and towels also.the grounds of the sea garden hotel were kept very well,only real downside for us was the quality of the food,although there was a decent choice we found the majority of it was very bland (tasteless),it had a good bread selection (buns,rolls,etc,,,)the sweet selection looked great,again untill you tasted it (tasteless).the beach wasnt up to much,we went into namma bay to do our snorkling was much better and calmer waters (much better if you have kids with you) as been stated of other posters below,regulary coming round to sell you different things all day whilst sunbathing,but didnt really bother us too much.tried the tappanyaki (restraunt in sea life) and was very good indeed) this was an about £15 pp i thing,we really enjoyed that.the beer was good at hotel although spirit were terrible.hotel is a bit isolated,but we realised this when we booked

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank les1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend for 8 days at the end of october / early november. We had a wonderful time - the hotel and area had everything you needed. The great thing is, the "Sea Resort" area has 3 hotels, Gardens, Life and Club and by staying at Sea Gardens you get to use all the facilities of the three hotels, including the pools, beaches and restaurants.

Naama bay is a 15 min car ride away - about £6 return for 2 people or £12 taxi ride (one way). it's great there though - amazing cheap shopping - especially fake designer things!

I would advise taking some insect repellent as I got bitten quite a lot in the evenings. It gets dark at 5pm so get it out in time!

A wonderful hotel though, food so lovely with loads of choice, amazing big rooms, beautiful beach and pool with all sorts of facilities - diving, snorkelling, spa etc as well as people selling all sorts of excursions - boat trips, quad biking etc. I would definitely recommend the night time quad biking where you see the sunset and camels in the desert.

Really good fun.

Would definitely go again - no complaints - oh just one tip - you can haggle on everything so make sure you do it! They up the prices a lot. We did a camel ride (i saw a camel took a picture and next thing I knew the guy was getting me to go on it with my boyfriend) so worthwhile but then we got off and he wanted 400 Egyptian pounds!!! We got that down to 60 egyptian pounds (roughly £8)

Have fun!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miniperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed here for 11 nights in October. Sea Garden is the smaller, and quieter, of the 3 Sea Group hotels. We had a large family room with a king size bed and another room with two single beds. The rooms were very clean and pleasent; good TV selection including Sports and English language films. The air conditioning was well used with the temperatures outside of 33 - 36 degrees during the day and 25 - 28 at night.

The Sea Garden pool was clean and quiet, with no problems in getting four (very comfortable) sun beds all together. Clean towels are available at each pool, daily. We were occasionally approached by hotel staff trying to sell you trips, services or drinks, that you had to pay extra for. The staff were always friendly and are only trying to make a living.

All staff are very hard working, helpful and very responsive to any question or issue we had.

The key to our great holiday at Sea Garden Resort was to use the facilities of ALL of the Sea Group hotels; the Dive Centre, Gym, Pools, Private Beach, Nightly Entertainment & Restaurants.

The food, overall was good; wide selection each night plus several additional restaurants (pay extra). Breakfast selection did not change much and the poolside food tended to be lookwarm.

Yes, the airport is close by and planes skirt the resort during take-off, but they did not impact on our holiday.

The Sea Garden resort lived up to the comments on Trip Advisor, and exceeded the brochure description, and delivered a relaxing holiday without ever seeing a cloud.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfNutScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed here for a week in October. The hotel is one of three in the resort and is the smallest and quietest. We had a large family room that had a king size bed and another room with two single beds. The bathroom was a good size with a large walk in shower. The rooms were well cleaned but were very tired looking.

The pool was nice and never had a problem with the sun beds. There was also plenty of shade which we were thankful for in the 36C heat. We were constantly approached by people trying to sell you trips or drinks that you had to pay extra for. They were always friendly and only trying to make a living.

The entertainment was non existent and what did upset me was that on the couple of occassions that enertainment was put on they wanted to charge you for it. Surely this should be part of the all inclusive package.

Me and my husband both had the massages at the spa and they were very good. I also had a manicure and pedicure and these were both bad. I had to go back and complain about my manicure. I got another manicure for free that was slightly better!

The food was average. I am a fussy eater and only one night did I struggle to find something I liked. We eat in the other hotels but all the food is the same in all the hotels.

My husband did get an upset stomach but we bought the Antinal tablets in the pharmacy as advised in previous reviews and it cleared up within a few hours.

Overall the hotel is good value for the money and I would visit it again for a quiet chill out holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnepLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2010

As always with Egypt, great weather but we felt let down by the hype of the reviews we read before we booked.

We booked for a week after reading the tripadvisor reviews, but we were surprised that the airport being on the flight path, the average food and requests to buy massages, trips or attend party nights whilst relaxing around the pool were not mentioned.

We went with our three year old daughter who enjoyed the wonderful pool at the Sea Garden and the very friendly staff but the food choices for all were a little repetitive despite the different theme nights. We did however eat in the Japanese restaurant one night for a change which was well worth the money and one to be recommended, particularly as they catered for our daughter off menu.

The rooms in the Sea Garden were very large and spacious and the pool area was great but the restaurant was not the cleanest and seating area a littel cramped, so it was good to be able to use the facilities in the other two sister hotels.

No need for a bucket and spade on the beach but the snorkelling was great (sea shoes are definitely recommended as are flippers as the current was quite strong).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbflatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
0.1 mi away
Sea Club Resort - Sharm el Sheikh
9.0 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Life Resort
Sea Life Resort
#5 of 32 in Nabq Bay
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#2 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4,126 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#1 of 32 in Nabq Bay
377 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Club Aqua Park & Spa
Sea Club Aqua Park & Spa
#12 of 32 in Nabq Bay
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gardens

Property: Sea Gardens
Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#17 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sea Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gardens Hotel Nabq Bay
Sea Garden Hotel
Hotel Sea Garden
Sea Gardens Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing