We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely would go back”
Review of Sea Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Gardens
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Clean, spacious room. Reliable, tasty food in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Teppenyaki (free once per visit) was fantastic! Lebanese and Il Pescatore were passable, as were the poolside snacks.

Very attentive pool staff.

Lovely and out of the way, but still on the Sharm pick-up routes for excursions.

Internet (extra charge) is very slow.

Staff have very good language skills (English).

I've been to Sharm before a decade ago, and did the "Egypt must see tour" last year, so I was very happy to lounge around by the pool in a hotel of this quality, on an all inclusive deal. I'd definitely go back for a week of relaxation, albeit in a slightly warmer month than January!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XidiaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5MouradIskander, General Manager at Sea Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for choosing Sea Gardens hotel for your vacation, we appreciate your positive review regarding your stay and for recommending our hotel.

It was our pleasure and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The feedback enables us to continuously review and improve our services to ensure guests have a pleasant stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sea Gardens in the future.

Kind Regards
Mourad Iskander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
There are newer reviews for Sea Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 922 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

we stay at sea gardens from 24th of dec to 7th january, and we are so glad to be home. this was no way a 5* or even a 4* we would give it 3* and that is being kind. the food was the same all over the resort and that wasnt good, beef was not fit for a dog, chicken was cut small and always got splinters of bones in your mouth, not impressed with the food apart from breakfast. As for our room we had bed bugs bitten all over which was not a good start,dont know what the cleaner done for the 2weeks we were there but yes he wiped the sink and made the bed fancy but we dont think he knows the meaning of mopping and dusting, the dust just got thicker and thicker, the bidet had hair in it when we arrived all round plug hole and was still there when we left so we never used that, human muck on the tiles between sink and toliet, black mould in the shower, and we had to fix that ourselves to get it to work, chipped tiles everywhere, sea gardens resteraunt was dirty flies all over food windows floor could not eat in there for flies disgusting,tables never wiped properly stains on the floors never saw a wet mop all the while we were there, lobby bar a joke as was the reception, reception sofas falling to bits food down the back of them and full of dust, bar was outside so if you wanted to drink there you had to wear a coat, and that was the 24hr bar.would not recommend this to my worst enemy,the only good thing about this holiday was the weather. Not english friendly, rep admmitted they did not like the english, and in 14years of going abroad we have never had such bad stomachs, spent 3 days in room, never even got to New Years party, which you pay extra for and we were not the only ones going down like flies.

Room Tip: dont even bother going to sea gardens choose sea club but the food is the same all over the complex
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aprilrise53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5MouradIskander, General Manager at Sea Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us in Sea Gardens. I would like to apologize that the hotel didn’t meet your standards and address a few points you have made.

We offer 10 different theme nights which rotate around the resort ensuring there is different food available in each hotel every night. I am aware that you spoke to the Guest Relation during your stay who offered you the use of our A La Carte restaurants as well as cooking you the meals you requested however you declined as you did not like the idea of choosing your meals in advance.

Your comments regarding the cleanliness of the room and the main restaurant were taken seriously and looked into, however the main restaurant is cleaned before and after all meal times once the guests have left the restaurant, as well as tables being constantly wiped down by the waiting staff throughout meal times. We were able to locate your report made with the Guest Relations, the room you stayed in was checked and no traces of Bed Bugs were found as well as no comments regarding suspected bugs.

I can assure you we welcome guests of all different nationalities and certainly do not discriminate against any of our guests.

Kind Regards
Mourad Iskander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We've just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Sea Gardens. Overall would rate as very good but not excellent. Starting with the positives, the hotel is very well kept and clean. It's part of a 3 hotel resort and you can use the facilities in each which gives you a change of scene when you feel like it. Rooms are OK decor-wise and pretty spacious and we found the beds really comfy so always slept well. We had a pool view room which we would recommend. The staff are great (though we didn't always find Reception that helpful!). Particular thanks to Said in the restaurant, the Kids Club team, our fabulous cleaner and the pool bar staff. Towel guys also lovely.

The main downside to the holiday was the food. We weren't expecting fine cuisine (you get what you pay for after all) but even for buffet food the quality was not great. Also all 5 of us got ill. While I know this is not rare when holidaying in Egypt this is our third trip to the area and we didn't have any problems at either of the two hotels we stayed in previously.

As expected the food was much better at the 'New Year Gala Dinner' but did not in any way whatsoever justify the £225 price tag for the five of us. We knew about the supplement when we booked but we couldn't opt out so just had to take the hit. Even so, charging over £30 a head for a 5 and two 3 year olds (who each ate a bowl of pasta and a cake) seemed pretty outrageous. And we were even charged extra for our Champagne!

So would I go back? Probably not due to the food but also because I think there are so many other resorts we would like to try in the area. That said, despite illness we did have a great holiday thanks to the staff and the sunshine!

Room Tip: Would recommend a pool view room - central, quiet and good aspect.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5MouradIskander, General Manager at Sea Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay in Sea Gardens Resort. We are glad that generally you were satisfied with your holiday however are concerned about some of the issues you were not happy with.

I'm sorry to hear you were unwell during your stay however i can assure you this was not a problem throughout all of our guests. As stated you were aware of the supplement for the New Year Gala dinner before booking your stay and this was the same for all of our guests who booked to spend the New Year with us. The Champagne was for extra charge as it is not normally free within the All Inclusive package, however Spirits, Wine and Beer were included in the supplement costs. The Food and evening entertainment also made up the supplement.

We appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continuously review and improve our services to ensure guests have a pleasant stay. We're pleased that you did enjoy many other aspects of your holiday within our hotel. Should you decide to visit us again in the future may we encourage you to reserve in the A La Carte restaurants which are free of charge once per stay for all guests.

Kind Regards
Mourad Iskander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have recently returned from a two-week stay at the Sea Gardens, and can safely say it was a good, but not a great, hotel. To make things easier we will go through different aspects of the hotel in turn:

Overview - The Sea Gardens is the smallest of the Sea Group resorts, the others being the Sea Club and the Sea Life. We quickly realised we had picked the right one of the three. The Sea Club, particularly, is Russian-dominated, and while we are not expecting to stay with exclusively British people, we felt it was nicer to have a mix. The Sea Gardens' guests were British and German mainly, with some Russian, Swedish etc. Guests can eat at and use the facilities of the other hotels which means you can sample another buffet if a given one is not to your liking. However, as the buffets rotate on a 10-day cycle you are probably better staying put.

Room - We ( a family of 2 adults and 2 children) had a junior suite which was roomy enough, although the only wardbrobe was in the children's room. The sheets and towels were changed every day, although the bathroom could have been cleaned more thoroughly. The cleaner was very keen to make sure we were happy, but could have spent more time attending to basic cleanliness and less to the traditional towel designs. The beds were large and comfortable, though.

Food - This was the downside of the stay for us. All of us suffered from Egyptian tummy at some point during our stay. This is not necessarily a reflection of the food, which was varied and well-presented. It could have been the way it was cooked, and just a personal thing. A good idea would be to bring snacks if children are there. We definitely felt buffet-fatigued after a week or so, which I am told is par for the course with all inclusive holidays. There was pasta available at nearly every meal, but our advice would be to choose wisely. Immodium would be a useful addition to the packing!

Staff - This was the biggest plus point of the hotel. The staff could quite simply not do enough for you and some names need to be mentioned here - Mahmoud, who was always there when we needed a drink around the pool, Galal and Fatima at the restaurant, who were always smiling and welcoming, and lastly Nadine in the animation team, whose seemingly boundless enthusiasm made her very popular with the children. The staff are the hotel's biggest asset, and I can only hope that they are being adequately rewarded and well treated in terms of pay and hours.

Entertainment - There was enough on offer if you wanted to take part, although the start time of 9.30pm made it a little late for this family after a day of sun and fresh air! We went to karaoke sessions at the other hotels, and the less said about Mr Sea life, the better!

In general, the food and cleanliness of the room have prevented us from giving a 5, but this was definitely a value for money holiday and we have returned refreshed and rested. We would warmly recommend this hotel. It is also a 10 minute drive to the airport and convenient for the Red Sea.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 45eminence45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5MouradIskander, General Manager at Sea Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you for choosing Sea Gardens hotel for your vacation, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your stay.

We are glad that in general you enjoyed your stay and would recommend our hotel, however sorry that the room cleaning was not done to your standards. This will of course be looked into as the priority is to ensure the room and bathroom is spotlessly cleaned.

You mentioned that you felt buffet-fatigued after a week despite the different theme nights. Should you decide to return we would encourage you to make use of the A La Carte restaurants which are free once per stay for all guests.

The feedback enables us to continuously review and improve our services to ensure guests have a pleasant stay.

Your thanks will be passed on to those mentioned in your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sea Gardens in the future.

Kind Regards
Mourad Iskander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here on the 13th-24th December we had a nice time overall but wasn't out favourite hotel we went to in Sharm El Sheikh

Sea Gardens is the smallest hotel in the Sea Group resort but I preferred it this way as it wasn't too busy and there were far more brits here than the Sea Life and Sea Club hotel.

We had a lovely spacious room (3427) which was in one of the quieter areas of the hotel. The Bathroom was a bit iffy, i ended up cleaning the bathroom myself as there was soap scum in the bottom of the shower and there was dirt splashes all over the tiles. I swatted a mosquito on the first day and it was still there on the day we left! Most people have said the hotel was clean but I don't feel like it was up to the standard we are used to. other people at the same time as us said that their rooms were lovely and clean but I don't think our sheets were changed while we were there and there was loads of dust under the furniture. I also saw one of the bar men lick a tissue and wipe the drinks machine! We all had dicky tummies a few times whilst we were there but have never had it at the usual hotel we go to.

This didn't ruin our holiday at though and we cannot fault the staff at all, They are all lovely and fantastic with children.

There was a lot of choice of food as you can eat at all 3 restaurants and they all have different themes each night, The a la carte restaurants are good, We ate at the lebanese, Italian and Japanese and the japanese was amazing, they put on a great show for the kids.

The beach at sea life was good, we spent most of our time here but make sure you take shoes down there and keep them on until you get to the sunbeds as there are rocks sticking out and my partner got quite a nasty cut from one that was sticking out.

The kids club is behind the bar on the beach and the lady will let you borrow them for the day as long as you take them back, We gave her a tip at the end of the week to say thank you.

Overall a nice holiday for us but would probably choose somewhere else next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in block 3
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellybeanswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at the Sea Gardens from 29th Sept to 13th Oct 2012. We travelled as a family celebrating a Birthday and Anniversary and had a fantastic time. We were very well looked after. The staff went all out to make our celebrations perfect.

The 3 hotels which you can use are fab. Our room was a little dodgy and seemed to have a pull for ants however the management moved us with no problem at all. We had a suite which was huge and served us really well. Our cleaner was great and couldn't do enough for us. Infact all the staff were very attentive. Beshov in the lobby bar always kept our drinks full and our evening happy. Would highly recommend this hotel. Clean, food was good. Always something different and the salads are amazing (yes i did say salad in Egypt...)

Its a little out of the way of everything but if you're happy to barter with a taxi driver its not to expensive to get about to either Naama bay or La Strada.

If you want a quiet chilled holiday with on tap drinks, no one bothering you, fantastic staff and just a full on relax. This is the place for you!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShesAHustlerBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed with a friend in the first week of December, the purpose being to relax in the sun and have a relatively peaceful break. The Sea Group resort consists of Sea Gardens (4*), Sea Life (4*) and Sea Club (5*) and I would definitely recommend staying in Sea Gardens if you're looking for a relaxing holiday. We visited all three areas for eating, drinking and entertainment but always felt that going back to Sea Gardens was like going home, I wasn't entirely comfortable anywhere else. The staff at Sea Gardens are superb, very friendly, very keen to ensure you have a nice time, and genuinely interested to hear lots of feedback and suggestions for improvement, but really there's not much they can improve on. To watch the staff playing with guests' children was quite touching, they all seem to enjoy their jobs so much even though they put in long hours and are probably not paid a great deal.
Cleanliness was excellent and the gardens were immaculate. Talk to all the staff, gardeners and cleaners included, and they are all happy to converse with you and have a joke, although not all of them speak good English.
I stayed in a family room and the main room was very spacious and well presented. The childrens beds are outside the main room and a tip if you are an adult sleeping in one of those beds is to get the cleaners to change the bedding to a duvet rather than the blanket and cover they give you. It's a much more comfortable sleep!
I was very impressed with the food but remember they are catering for many different nationalities so some of the food may not be what the British are used to. I thought there was plenty of variety every night and the food was cooked really well. I went back for seconds on several occasions.
As for the Russians that so many people mention, they are definitely different to the British but they don't tend to stay in Sea Gardens, hence why I recommend staying there out of the three areas. They appear quite rude but it's probably just a cultural thing.
The beach was lovely and only a very short walk from all of the accommodation blocks. The pool areas were also well maintained and very pleasant to sit around.
Plenty of trips outside the resort you can do and cheap to get taxi's. Naama is well worth a trip, it's quite an eye opener. As we were travelling as two females, I expected to get hassled more than we did. Just be friendly but firm if you don't want to go in a shop or buy anything, they appreciate politeness and will generally leave you alone. Be cautious though as they are all out to rip tourists off! Plenty of fake designer handbags around (don't believe them when they say they are leather, I didn't see a single leather bag) but some of them are quite nice and I am very happy with the one I purchased.
Be careful of taxi drivers taking your money in the darkness of the taxi and then swapping the note in their lap and telling you you've not given them enough. Generally, just be very careful and sensible.
For anyone worried about the troubles in Egypt, Sharm is well protected, lots of security checkpoints on the roads and to get into the resorts. I felt very safe there.
All in all, a very enjoyable holiday and I would definitely like to go back to Sea Gardens again. Thankyou to all of the staff there who made the trip so special.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anana123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nabq Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Sea Club Resort - Sharm el Sheikh
1.7 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
0.1 mi away
Sea Life Resort
Sea Life Resort
#6 of 32 in Nabq Bay
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#3 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4,206 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#2 of 32 in Nabq Bay
407 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gardens

Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#17 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: $140 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gardens Hotel Nabq Bay
Sea Garden Hotel
Hotel Sea Garden
Sea Gardens Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing