We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday! :)”
Review of Sea Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Gardens
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday! :)”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Myself and partner (29 & 32 yrs old) have just recently returned from 10 fab nights at the Sea Gardens hotel in Nabq. I was slightly nervous about our first Egypt experience, due to delly belly and being hassled. But we really had a great time! The airport experience isn't great when you land. Very disorganized and chaotic, just try and find the sign for your rep/tour operator and they'll sort the rest. Sea gardens is the smaller of the 3 hotels. They're all behind a sort of walled area, with gates and security guy, which made me feel safe and that randomers wouldn't be walking through the complex. Reception is small, but still welcoming and friendly. Your bags are taken up to your room, and the young guy puts lights on/air con etc and checks your ok with everything. Rooms are very spacious, HUGE king size bed, which is sooo comfy :) bathroom a little tired, but still clean and worked fine (shower pressure was bit rubbish we noticed on first evening, however was immediately fixed when mentioned). There's no problem with sunbeds. We were by pool about 11ish, sometimes but later and always got beds where we wanted. The bottom end away from bar is but quieter and away from the shallow end with kids! Steps at shallow end are main steps to pool, and finished with a sort of sand coating. It is a bit rough but bothing major. There are normal pool steps also you can use, or just lower yourself in from edge! Very clean and tidy, lovely pool. I'm not normally a pool fan, but we spent most days there. Staff by pool chatty and friendly. Mahmoud always happy to help and serve by your sunlounger. Just throw him a couple of pound coin every couple of days and you'll definitely not go thirsty while you bathe! Guys do try and chat to you about trips/massage. We personally didn't book any with them. Just say you've already booked a boat/quad trip with rep and they happily leave you alone. We didn't get poorly at all throughout our stay, to my delight! The food was excellent. Obviously they have different nationalities to cater for, but overall we thoroughly enjoyed it, from breakfast to eve meal. You won't go hungry, there's always something you'll fancy! Burgers round pool were yum at lunch too! In the restaurant you do occasionally find the chef on his mobile while flipping pancakes! But it didn't bother us, we still got fed! (They all work away from their families and stay in a staff house, so don't see their children very often) We ate in all 3 hotels, but as ours was the smallest we preferred the most personal touch and tended to eat there. We went to all 3 al la carte restaurants too, Lebanese (meat skewers on a grill) and tepanyaki (Japanese/Chinese) both really good. food was ok at fish restaurant but it felt but rushed, not as relaxing surroundings disappointingly, but still a nice change to buffet. We found the nightlife to be best at Sea Club. More atmosphere round the lake and bar outside. Very relaxed with music and soft lights. Not much going on at sea gardens on a night, only really the lobby bar, but it's only a few mins walk to other 2 hotels so we didn't mind. The local beer was good, however the spirits are very strong as all local! The gin and vodka taste different to at home, nit that great. That's the only real thing I was disappointed in, but I got a fab piña colada in Namma bay :) the cocktails at hotel are extra, about £4.50, but there is a menu telling you this on the bar. The waiters always tell you if it's extra, ie ice cream and freshly squeezed orange at breakfast. They dont trick you. You just sign to your room and pay when you check out. After a few nights we did get a little fed up of just sitting round drinking. I wish I'd have known earlier, but if you walk up to main gates and get a taxi (don't get from reception, very expensive) go to Nabq bay, few pubs, supermarket and shops for a change of scenery. I think if we'd have done that we'd have been fine on a night. But didn't find out till our last day! There's a few shops on site, but very expensive for crisps/choc. You'd be better going to supermarket in Nabq or soho sq (which is only 5 min away in taxi). Soho sq was good for a night out. Not really that much there to be honest. Please don't do the Ice Bar. £15 in each, and it's basically a big industrial freezer in Tescos! What a waste of £30! Wish we'd not bothered! A day trip to Tiran island snorkelling was fab and only about £35 each. Fish are amazing! Overall you will have a fab stay here. Don't let negative reviews put you off. The staff are so attentive and always smiling. They can't do enough for you. The rooms are clean and big and the weather beautiful. Hope this is helpful, sorry it's long winded but I always find reviews vital in making a decision! Happy holidays, L&J

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Whitestone17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    229
    54
    23
    9
See reviews for
420
247
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just arrived back on the 9th sept 2012 from sea garden hotel and it was wonderful. When we arrived it was around 11pm, it looked nice, we were greated with very friendly staff and told to go eat before the restaurant closed up for the night. Our room was.huge, more like a suite with our own sitting room. We had paid a little extra for this but was well worth the £15 extra!!

The pool area was lovely and clean, staff always smiling and making you feel so at home. We were approached a few times by people selling excursions, which we did buy a few of as they were a good price and all ended up great trips. We were made to feel like friends even after handing the money over, they always made the effort to say hello and have a laugh and a joke.

Sea gardens animation team was also lovely, Ryan and nadine stood out, always chatting and getting you involved but not pushy in any way. If you ever had a query you could always ask one of them and get a good response. The bar staff were great, always so attentive and hard working. Mahmoud, the waiter around the pool was fantastic always ensuring you had a drink by your lounger.

Food was good, although like most all inclusives not everything goes together but had lovely meats and salads, rice, pasta, fish. Burgers, chips and hotdogs served at the pool bar if you didn't want to eat in restaurant. The restaurant staff were also lovely, always there to offer you a drink or to take away your plates. There were also little sandwiches and cakes near the pool bar in silver containers for those who got peckish between meal times.

We thought it was great how you could use the facilities in all 3 sea group hotels, we liked all three, although I'd say I felt you could dress up a little more in sea club as it had a different feel to it. Each restaurant had a theme every night so you could go look at the board in the morning and choose what you fancy. We also ate at the lebanese restaurant, which was amazing!! You have to book into the speciality restaurants but get one free sit in in each of the 3 restaurants throughout your stay. We didn't get chance to book the Japanese or Italian but hope to return next year as therei so much we didn't do!

All in all we had a great time, booked the quad,camel,Bedouin show and meal for one evening and paid around £40 English each, this was a brilliant afternoon from 3pm to 10.30pm and would definately recommend. We also enjoyed the snorkelling and diving trip which is a whole day, but worth every penny! The sales guys in the hotel work for the diving centre so can be trusted, all lovely people and work very hard.

The bar is also 24hours, so you never go without a drink even if you arrive or leave at unsociable hours. You are also allowed to have as many 1.5l bottles of water As you like. We expected to have to buy it from a shop, but it is all free throughout your stay if you just ask at any of the bars in all 3 hotels.

We hope to book again for next year, as it was by far our favourite holiday. We are a couple in our mid 20's, and altho the hotel is geared up for family's as well, we never felt out of place. What a fantastic holiday, with fantastic people and staff. All hard working and deserve a big pat on the back for also working in that heat!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

this was my 3rd visit to this resort.i visited sea life in 2009 for my honeymoon,sea club in 2011 for my 50th and this year with my family.As always the staff was superb even though there was well understaffed from my previous visits they worked really hard to make our stay great and to be honest it was the only saving grace.
right 1st the good points.then the downside
room was large enough for 2 adults and 2 children,
which was clean daily.but not to the standard of our other visits(down to the fact our cleaner had double the amount of rooms to clean)
we had 3 in our room but only 2 bath towels after a request for more towels we got a 3rd(but the day after we got 2 towels again).toilet paper was rare we had to steal some from the bar toilet as our little girl was ill(too much pool water swallowed lol)
the cleanliness of the hotel in general was lower then before but again this was down to a lack of staff.
POOLS
i will start with sea garden pool.PLEASE be careful as the steps leading into the pool are very rough and we got a lot of cut on our feet due to this.also we got a lot of cuts getting in and out of the pool elsewhere same problem very rough sides all the way round.(not tiled).the staff worked hard to keep the area clean but again staffing was low at times only 1 to hand out towels and clean the pool area.the bar staff also worked hard but as they was short staffed could not offer a waiter service(again sometimes only 1 working in the bar).the entertainment staff(animation staff)who have to try to keep activities going was struggling and he was again on his own and was expected to do it all.
sea life was about the same but had 3/4 animation staff.
sea club was way better staffed and did offer waiter bar service.
FOOD(at all 3 hotels)
if you like rice and cheese you are in heaven.as most night they had these in abundance the sweets was the same every night which was very disappointing.
all in all this resort has gone down hill and they seem to be penny pinching which is not good and the only reason i would go back would be the quality of the staff.as a example last year they had 3 beverage mangers this year only 1 for all 3 hotels.
my rating would be
staff=10 stars
food=2 stars
cleanliness=3 stars
also the staff in the shops and selling trips are superb.no hassle.
i would recommend using the shops outside sea club rather than sea life as you seem to get a better service.i would also say to buy any art at the shop at sea club.(some fantastic pictures)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woodhouse-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed at Sea Gardens at the end of August and after reading some mixed reviews did approach the holiday with a bit of trepidation. I have been to Sharm El Sheikh a few times and have stayed in some great hotels (Holiday Village, Tropicana Azure, Coral Sea Splash Resort, Magic Life) but saw some good reviews on this hotel and thought why not.... i really wish i hadn't.
First impression was the Sea Gardens reception, the lobby is small enough to swing a cat in and manned by one man who was pleasant enough but the lobbys in Sharm are usually huge with a team of staff on reception to help you out. Admittedly the Sea Club Hotel had a big reception but this hotel and the Sea Life are mostly occupied by Russians Egyptians and Ukranians. Sea Gardens is definitely the poor relation and is occupied mostly by Brits and Germans.

The rooms are very nice, we had a family suite which was big with a separate room for the kids but all balconies are very small (couldn't fit the four of us on, which is just as well as there are only two chairs!!). We paid a bit extra for the suite but please don't bother as my parents had a family room and there isn't enough difference to justify the cost.

The pool at Sea Gardens is ok except the fact that the steps are made of stone??? which just cut up everyones feet and lots of kids were getting cuts and scrapes. Its the most bizarre thing to have something that is so obviously going to injure people daily. It is sunbed wars i'm afraid with the towels going down from 6.30 am, a lot of these by the towel guy who reserves sunbeds for those who tip him and treats everyone else with disdain. The service from several of the staff here is just trying to get a tip from you otherwise they will literally ignore you. The bar staff are never off there phones and will let people stand at the bar while they finish their conversations and then sigh 'cos they've got to get you a drink. I've never had such bad service in any hotel. I must state this isn't every member of staff, the restaurant staff are brilliant, its mostly the bar staff and towel staff who are quite rude unless tipped.

A warning to everyone is that in Sea Club there is a beautiful bar on a lake and as soon as you sit down the waiter is over asking you if you would like a cocktail. Most people say yes (why not you're on holiday). They then come back and ask you for £5 per drink! They have failed to tell you that cocktails aren't included and you have to pay separately and they are quite intimidating. We refused to pay saying they should have told us beforehand to which the waiter replied he would have to pay out of his own wage. When we still refused he got his manager (mate) to come and try to heavy hand us and that he would take it out of the waiters wages. This is all a con! We refused and they said somehthing in Egyptain at us and then refused to get us any drinks and made us wait at the bar. We did go back to this bar a few days later (after complaining to the english guest relations person and nothing happening) and saw them do this same con on several more people. Some argued but some (more elderley) just paid which infuriated me. We watched the bar manager and he was the one sending the waiters out telling them to do this rip off. If this is the kind of service you can put up with then Sea Gardens is for you. I don't blame the staff as much as the Bar Manager and the Hotel Managers who let this blatant tip/money chasing go on. If you don't tip in the lobby bars the staff ignore you.

Next on to the food. I know that a lot of people have written the food is ok but they honestly cannot have been to a proper 5 star all inclusive hotel. I'm not talking about a mega bucks hotel just most other hotels in Sharm. The food is catered to russians and no-one can dispute that, lots of aubergine and cabbage. The soups are probably the worst offenders as they are obviously packet made and truly disgusting, i normally love having a soup every dinner but no chance here. The food is badly prepared, dry, and often inedible and the kids sections a joke. They do have an egg/omelette station at breakfast (but every AI hotel does) and they do have a pasta section (but again every AI Hotel does) except the pasta is dry and cloggy and the sauce watered down. If you have booked already you won't starve as there is something to eat every night but its more out of necessity than having a nice family meal. Ice cream is charged for £1-£1.50a go.

On the other hand the A La Carte Restaurants are fantastic especially the Japanese and
Lebanese and the steaks and chicken served in these are truly mouth watering. If you could eat in these every day you'd be happy.

There are no lifts in any of the hotels so if you have kids in prams like we did be prepared to carry prams etc. up and down stairs, its unsuitable for anyone with walking difficulties as the steps are all cobbles and the pools unbelievably slippy, again there were people slipping every day. The hotel is miles from anywhere so don't expect to go for a walk anywhere as you're in the middle of nowhere, everywhere is a taxi ride away.

The entertainment is non-existent, honestly its terrible, its mostly done by the animation team so as you can imagine is really amateurish but its actually cringeworthy bad (which i suppose its so bad you can find it funny). The animation guy in Sea Gardens (Ryan) is reallly nice and tries his hardest but you do feel he is looked down on by the other members of the team as Ryan is the only Brit and they cater mostly for Russians etc.

I don't normally write bad reviews as i know how disheartening it can be if you've aleady booked and see a bad review but i just have to be honest and give those considering booking fair warning, i wish someone had told me, but trying to get a real sense of what this place was like before i went proved hard so i just want to be honest. If you've booked don't worry The weather is fantastic, the sea crystal clear, the beer cold and the wine (red and rose but not white) is ok.Its just the food and horrible manipulative service in the bars and towel staff that let this place down (as well as being in the middle of nowhere).

If you haven't booked then don't, go to Holiday Village or Tropicana Azure or look on here for somewhere the food and service is good. The weather and sea(snorkelling) are guaranteed anywhere so these two things are what you need to be good. I think you've guessed i won't be going back. If there are any questions please feel free to e-mail me and i'll answer.

Room Tip: If already booked and have small kids, get a ground floor room. If not booked then don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gez007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Returned on 29 Aug 2012 after two weeks. We are a family of four children 17 and 13. Had the best time. Sea gardens was one of three on the resort of which was the most friendliest and more relaxed, staff could'nt do enough for you. The rooms are very large and spacious if there were any problems you could contact staff and they would sort it out for you. The food was very nice, different theme nights amongst the three hotels being lebanese, far east, barbecue etc which we all enjoyed. The one you all must try is the japanese restaurant, which you do have to book for in sea club and is free once per stay and would also suggest the lebanese restaurant fantastic food not to be missed. the beaches are a must for the snorkelling which is only 5-10mins walk through the sea life hotel and there are plenty of sunbeds available. My family and I had the best holiday many thanks to sea gardens.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are better as you have a wonderful view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

i know this review is a bit late,but i feel after reading some reviews i should put ours on. this was mine n my childrens first visit to sharm ( my husband has been before), i was a bit dubious about other people telling me about deli belly, and i can honestly say not one member of my family encountered it!!! The staff are really friendly and as i was 40 when we were there they made a birthday cake for me and decorated all our table, sang happy birthday and made me feel so special. we had a truly fantastic time at this resort , the food, staff ,rooms and everything were fantastic. we are looking to book again for may next year, so hope to see you soon!!
michelle from doncaster

Room Tip: we had a family room and it was massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pug_chelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Was here for 14 days and it was great, the food was good and we never got ill, the pool was clean thanks to Rafat, the service od Said in the restaurant was really nice. The rooms are big and we where there with 4 people and we had room to spare, the balcony was also nice. The hotel is the newest part of the Sea Group, but beware the other two hotels, Sea Club and Sea Live are full of Russian, Ucrainian and other eastern European visitors. Sea Garden is mostly German and English. The staff in the other otels are also not as friendly as the guys at Garden. So enjoy this place.
Disatvantage is that the beach is 15 min walk away. The housereef is always in the shade and the wind makes the waves crash into the reef making it diffcult for non good swimmers to enjoy. But for the rest it was really agreat place.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
0.1 mi away
Sea Club Resort - Sharm el Sheikh
1.7 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
9.0 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Life Resort
Sea Life Resort
#4 of 32 in Nabq Bay
1,252 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#1 of 32 in Nabq Bay
316 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
#2 of 32 in Nabq Bay
4,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gardens

Property: Sea Gardens
Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#16 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Sea Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gardens Hotel Nabq Bay
Sea Garden Hotel
Hotel Sea Garden
Sea Gardens Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing