We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday, top service and fantastic snorkelling”
Review of Tamra Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tamra Beach
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great holiday, top service and fantastic snorkelling”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We've just come back from a superb 10 days at Tamra Beach and would happily recommend it as a great place to stay.

Cheryl from Guest Relations was keen that I write a warts & all review, so here goes...

We were there as a family of 4 (2 kids, 10 & 8). We had a great apartment with a fantastic view of the sea (room 3144).

Positives
- accommodation was tasteful, spacious and clean. The grounds / pool are kept spotless by the staff. Well laid out so it doesn't feel like a huge hotel. No complaints at all.
- Staff are really friendly and went out of their way to help. Most spoke some English, and we tried to learn a few words of Arabic too, which goes a long way to help.
- Food is very good for a hotel of this size – plenty of choice and lots of fresh salads, freshly cooked pasta etc. Beer & wine very drinkable (although red wine served chilled, which we're not used to in UK)
- Weather was great. We were there from 10-20 Feb, and it was sun tan lotion and sunbathing every day except one, when it was windy & clouded over.
- Snorkelling on the reef is fantastic! There's a pier that runs 100 yards or so over shallow reef to the drop-off, which is teeming with beautiful corals and hundreds of amazing fish. Light is best in the morning when it's shining on the face of the drop-off (ca. 15m high). Take a waterproof camera and you'll get some great pics. (I've posted some of mine titled 'Coral reef off Tamra Beach pier'). A couple of days it was a bit choppy, but when it was calm it was definitely the highlight of our stay.

Negatives
- As other people have said, it is mainly aimed at Italians, so we were very much in the minority. This wasn't really a negative for us, as we knew this was the case when we booked it, and joining in with the activities/evening entertainment wasn't a priority for us (we were after some winter sun, lying by the pool, snorkelling and reading) but might be worth bearing in mind if it's important to you. The only thing that wasn't made completely clear beforehand was that the Italian staff aren't insured to look after English speaking children, so if you want kids to join in the activities, you have to attend them too. I know Cheryl is looking to address this.
- At some points it felt like there was a bit too much loud music coming from the beach and the pool bar. Again, depends what you're after and maybe I'm just getting old, but if you're after peace & tranquility you might want to escape the Italian pop music. There are some quiet pools tucked away, but they're not heated, so chilly in winter time.
- The main pool looks fantastic, but was too cold to swim in, so we spent most of our time in the one heated outdoor pool, which was fine, but smallish. There's another indoor one that you have to pay for, but we didn't feel the need. I understand it's not realistic to heat a huge pool like that all year, and also we were there in winter - most of the year it's probably fine.
- There were some mosquitoes, but I can't blame the hotel for those!

None of these negatives were major enough to spoil the holiday though, and we had an overwhelmingly positive time.

Other
- we arranged a couple of day trips: One boat trip to Tiran island. The highlight was seeing dolphins, but apart from that (and despite the friendly crew) the snorkelling was better at the hotel! The other was a day trip to Aqua Park (huge water rides/flumes theme park), which is fantastic if you've got kids. Each trip cost around £80 for a family of 4.
Apart from that, we didn't feel the need to venture out of Tamra. The little I saw of the rest of Sharm struck me as pretty touristy – again, depends what you're after.

All in all, definitely worth a visit and I'd have no hesitation in recommending Tamra for a great holiday.

Many thanks to:
- Cheryl for quickly sorting any issues/answering any Qs
- Ashraf in the restaurant, and his team (Waleed, Asem, Sharif, Fathy to name just a few)
- Waled on towels who helped us learn Arabic numbers
- Waseem who tidied our room and made the girls laugh with his towel designs
- Mohammed & Abdo at the pool bar
- Mahmoud on the pier who kept an eye on the girls snorkelling
- and the dozens of unsung heroes that cooked, created fantastic food designs for the buffet, and kept the grounds looking great.

Shokra – for a great holiday!

Room Tip: 3144 was a great family room with a fantastic sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prettygood, Guest Relations Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to see that you described everything in detail. negative and positive. I will follow up on everything to improve the resort.
I will personally reward those that you have mentioned.It is a great honor for the staff to be mentioned on Trip Advisor . It keeps the standards at a high level and that is what we are searching for .
Best Regards
Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,869
    768
    203
    75
    63
See reviews for
1,025
1,031
103
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Excellent:
Grounds are stunning; the trip advisor pictures don't do it justice. It's spotless and well kept and the gardens are amazing.
The snorkelling from the jetty is incredible and included and the staff make you feel safe in the water even if you're not a strong swimmer.
The food was great - we found plenty of vegetarian options and the 2 special dinners made us laugh because of the atmosphere and entertainment and the amount of effort that had gone in.
The staff seem genuinely proud of their work and will do anything to help.

Not so good:
One bad spa experience: paid £50 for a luxury pedicure which wasn't as advertised and caused pain.
Reception didn't always have English speaking staff on duty and we had occasional misunderstandings with them.
We knew this was an Italian hotel and didn't want to join in with lots of entertainment, so this was perfect for us, but if you're not Italian and want to join in, you will find it difficult and some Italian staff were occasionally rude to us.
Excursions: we couldn't book through the Italian reps and the hotel rep provided for the English guests was very expensive and then canceled on another family without explanation.

These were minor blips made up for by the attentive Egyptian staff who looked after us and spoke English. Special mentions:

Ahmed the chef is a sweetheart and provided a personal recommendation service every mealtime. His son helped out too.

Waleed the waiter, what can we say?! He's a charmer! Perfect service every time. And Ahmed the waiter, Waleed's sidekick, was just as attentive.

Ashraf in the restaurant, strong and silent!

Sala makes the best towel art ever and kept our room immaculate.

Mohammed in the bar (upstairs and pool bar) whistles like a bird and has a great sense of humour.

Mohammed the beach boy who offered us lilos and anything else we wanted, thank you.

Both Mohammeds who took us snorkelling from the jetty, thank you for making us feel safe and encouraging us to swim.

Gina in the spa, thank you for making me feel like a princess.

Cheryl, thank you for all of your help. If you have any problems not finding an English speaker in the hotel, track down Cheryl and she will sort it for you.


We wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying here. Travelled as sisters (26 and 23)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prettygood, Guest Relations Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear reviewer,
thank you for taking the time to write a comment on our resort. We are very glad that you were satisfied with almost all the services of our hotel, and that you found yourself happy with all the hard work of our staff. As regards the language problem, we are sorry that you had a bad experience with reception. It is actually the first time that we hear that some of our reception staff have difficulties in understanding english, but we will take the chance to check about this situation and make sure that this will never happen again. Thank you again for all your positive and negative feedbacks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely lovely hotel, amazing that you can snorkel right from the private beach, even the kids can do this in the shallow area and see marine life. Amazingly clean, very, very friendly staff, never waiting for a tip. Waled the waiter was outstanding, always smiling and spoke excellent English, all waiters very friendly. Room was amazing, had a birthday cake made out of towels on my birthday! Mostly Italian so unfortunately you can't understand as all the entertainment is Italian so did miss this but found 2 other English couples who were lovely, Hi Bob and Sue and Rose and Roger! Beer was beer but the spirits were rubbish tbh. Food was amazing and well prepared. Pools were great. If you want a holiday away from the mass English crowd and to be left alone as they don't seem to involve you in their entertainment then this is the place for you. We went to Tarin Island for a day and Cairo! Both amazing! Will we be going back to Sharm? Absolutely! Would I go back to this hotel? Yes I would but would be nice if we had some English entertainment, or when the bar gets a bit empty and the Italian are having there entertainment maybe they could put on some English tunes? Had a very relaxing holiday, was not pestered and was well looked after. Thank you Egypt and thank you Tamra Beach!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prettygood, Guest Relations Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear reviewer,
thank you for taking the time to write a comment on our resort. We are glad that you were highly satisfied with our hotel and services. As regards the entertainment we are trying to create an english part right for our enbglish guests, but it will still take a few time to get it ready.
We hope to see you again among our guests in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We went for a week to get away from the weather at home. We did our research and decided we did not want a hotel full of rude Russians and pushy Germans. We decided upon the Tamra beach resort and we were not dissapointed. The majority of guests were Italian and they could not have been nicer. The staff were brilliant, they could not do enough for us. I want to mention inparticular Waled the waiter whom my partner thought resembled Antonio Banderas (Hmm).Salam the room man who decorated our room every day, and the lovely Cheryl from Guest Relations.
The food is without doubt second to none and certainly the best I have tasted abroad. The rooms are large and the beds comfortable. There are plenty of pools, loungers beach beds and areas to sit and relax. The grounds are well kept.
The downside is the evening entertainment. If your Italian is not good then you will miss the humour. It would have been good to have a bar where you could relax with music and maybe a little dancing. There was also the fact that outside the dining room you could not get wine?
That aside if you want a relaxing break with great food, top accomodation, excellent staff and nice fellow guests the go here. You can always make your own entertainment.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room with a doble Bed and thats what we got. Might be woth asking for ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobandSue2085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prettygood, Guest Relations Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear reviewer,
thank you for taking the time to write a comment on our resort. We are very pleased to know that you liked our hotel and services. We are aware of the issue regarding the entertainment, and we are trying to create an english part of it, but it will take a few time to be ready.
Anyway we appreciated your feedback, which is very important for us, and we hope to see you again here in Tamra Beach in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I decided we wanted 10 days in the sun in the middle of the English winter - and we certainly got that! We both loved the hotel, the food and the facilities that we used. The room was clean and well appointed, and our cleaner was very keen to be helpful. We particularly found all the staff to be friendly, and they all made an effort to communicate with us, even though it meant them speaking English, but they did very well. The food was brilliant, I don't think we've had a better experience of dining on holiday - and the pasta was out of this world.
The fact that most of the guests in the hotel were Italian didn't bother us at all, we knew before we booked that they would be. We did chat to some English people that we met there, and that was fine for us. As far as the animation team was concerned, my husband and I are both well able to amuse ourselves with reading, walking, listening to music and, OF COURSE, sitting in the sun, so we would not have been interested in that side of things even if it was directed at the English.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to others, it really is lovely, and if you like sun and good food, in lovely surroundings, then you will have a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vianney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prettygood, Guest Relations Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear reviewer,
we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a comment on our resort. We are very pleased to know that our hotel and services satisfied all your expectations, and we hope that maybe in the future Tamra Beach will be again that location for your holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Tamra resort gave my children and I a lovely holiday. I travelled with 3 young children (aged 4-8) & they loved it and I chilled out. Little problems were no animation/entertainment for English speaking children & the Italian team seemed tired but I think that will be addressed by the management and the program did appear good. There was so much natural entertainment in beach, pools, chatty Egyptian staff and Casanova the camel (always near the resort) that they never picked up a tablet and we eventually didn't miss the lack of kids entertainment. Egyptians & Italians in general are very child friendly and family orientated and my rabble felt very very welcome.good trips were available at reasonable prices. Recommend star gazing at the Bedouin camp & the cruises with or without snorkelling. Definitely get a guide price for Taxis from staff and haggle before setting off.
Food reasonable, beautiful setting and rooms nicely designed and immaculately clean. I would return again. Good for families, very pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prettygood, Guest Relations Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear reviewer,
thank you for taking the time to write a comment on our resort. We are very pleased to know that our hotel and services have satisfied your expectations and gave you a nice holiday. As regards the feed back about the entertainment we will take into consideration your opinion and try to improve the entertainment for our British and international guests, children and adults.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This is very nice, green and cozy hotel with the perfect italian food. But the most valuable thing here is the animation team. We are from Ukraine and before our vacation read some reviews saying: if you are not from Italy - better do not go because here is all in Italian and for Italians. But this is not true. Firstly, the italian animators are very friendly and cool. And secondly, we had a nice surprise to find there Katya (Katrin), the animator from Russia who speaks both English and Russian. She was not only our personal guide these days but became as part of family. She has perfect communication skills and can find approach to any person doesn't matter your age or nationality. Thanks to Katrin we had very good time at Tampra beach and it would be perfect to come back one more time. So, if you had any doubts about-simply go and enjoy good facilities and people.
Tania, Kiev

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Taniaoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prettygood, Guest Relations Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor on you stay at our resort. Tamra Beach Resort.
It is always good to have positive feedback from our guests. I am glad that your stay was pleasant and everything we offered exceeded your expectations .
I have forwarded your review to Katrina's company as it is always good when people find good in other people, and I thank you for informing us about her good services.
Hope to see you here in the near furture and if you do return, please send me an email of your dates.
All the very best for the New Year.
Kind Regards
Cheryl Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
10.3 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,241 reviews
3.3 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#10 of 32 in Nabq Bay
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#4 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
358 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
6.2 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#21 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamra Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamra Beach

Property: Tamra Beach
Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 11231, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamra Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxury 5-star Tamra Beach Resort is ideal for single travelers, couples and families looking to avoid long airport transfers and for somewhere they can relax and have everything catered for without the need to leave the resort. Tamra Beach resort is in the Nabq Bay area and on the beach front only a 10-minute drive from Sharm el Sheikh International Airport. It also offers 24-hour front desk service. The Resort is mainly an Italian Club, but welcomes other nationalities. The resort is located next to Nabq National park which is known for its colourful marine life and its extraordinary Mangrove colonies. All rooms are air conditioned they also have a bathtub, Rooms have modern furnishings and come with cable TV and a safe Deposit box Free of charge. The resort offers rooms with balconies overlooking the Red Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tamra Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamra Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Tamra Beach Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing