We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of Tamra Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tamra Beach
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel and gardens are fab, hotel staff were great. special thanks to rammy behind the bar who always had a smile and tried his best to speak to us in English the best he could. The food was lovely and a great choice. The waiters and restaurant managers were great. The pool areas were well kept and cleaned on a regular basis. The hotel grounds are immaculate. The only downside to this hotel is that all the entertainment is spoken in Italian, but we didn't find this a problem we still joined in with the keep fit and danced the night away with the entertainment team , who may I say were FANTASTIC. thankyou for a fab hol tamra .They was only six English people in the hotel when we were there so we felt a bit out numbered by the Italians !!!!! . Make sure you are well protected from the mosquitoes we got a least eighty bites between us on the first night . Our spray from home wasn't strong enough so had to go to the pharmacy and get some spray called OFF. We had spa treatment a coconut scrub and massage. It was worth every penny it was excellent.Many thanks. Our room was cleaned everyday and it was done to a very high standard.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billywizz_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra_Beach, Quality Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments; it is always great to get feedback from our guests. We are privileged you spent your vacation at Tamra Beach Resort and our staff made your stay enjoyable and a memorable one. Its a pleasure knowing that you had a great time and you were able to relax by using our facilities. All of your kind comments have been shared with the management team and staff here at the hotel, in particular Rammy who you took the time to personally name in your review as providing excellent customer service. It gives us great pleasure knowing that you were pleased with our service and cooking team in the main restaurant and you were happy with the variety and choice of food. We are pleased to know that you thought the hotel grounds were immaculate and the hotel pool area were clean and that you liked the housekeeping services and thought the room was cleaned to a high standard. The hotel caters for a large number of Italian guests, the Tour Company of Eden Village have employed the Animation Team which the activities and shows are provided by as you mentioned in your review guests can join in with there daily animation program and we are glad you enjoyed. Kindly note as well that during the summer season some insects are out of our hand for e.g. mosquitoes. The hotel takes measures to reduce these as much as possible by spraying the hotel grounds twice daily. Rooms can also be further sprayed daily upon guest request. Top tip would be as much as possible try not to sleep with the balcony door open or leave it open for long periods of time during the day, and as you mentioned to buy the local mosquito repellent OFF. We hope to welcome you again at Tamra Beach Resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,121)
There are newer reviews for Tamra Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 472 of 3,121 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

we travelled here for my birthday as a couple, we stayed here 10th may for two weeks. originally booked as a fairly cheap getaway with easyjet, however after all the extra add ons i wish i had booked somewhere else for the same money. i read all the reviews before going but didnt think it being an italian hotel would bother me but it did.

before arrival i emailed the hotel and asked if we could have a first floor sea view, on arrival (6pm) the reception staff welcomed us, very efficient & lovely and our request was met.

rooms - we had a standard room which was more like a flat, lounge area, bed, massive wardrobes, lots of mirrors! separate bath and shower and toilet. if you have a sea view you will be able to see the sea from the bath tub! balcony or terrace. all lovely and clean. had no problems with hot water or pressure from shower. air con was great too, safe was free to use. we noticed they put a lot of english at the top near reception and the rooms were apparently not as nice. housekeeping were lovely and made special towels every other day on the beds.

bars - they have soft drinks dispensers which you could help yourself to, water, coke, fanta etc yes they are plastic cups which i dont have a problem with but they were tiny. reading reviews before i left and noted the MANAGER commented that you could fill you water bottles at any dispenser except the restaurant, this was also confirmed by our rep, yet we still had to fight with the bar staff who were very rude and said we had to pay to fill a bottle up, it was only a small bottle but didnt want to walk to get a drink every 5 minutes. i tried to explain but got me no where and ended up ignoring them and feeling like i had done something awful to have a drink. also there is so much not included in all inclusive no cocktails, no tonic water, no fruit juice, wine is only at lunch and dinner. even if you want to buy imported beers or spirits there is no price list and the bar staff didnt understand what we were trying to order so we stuck to water.
also on booking the trip i was informed ice cream was included in the all inclusive however there wasnt even any ice cream for sale except some sort of cornettos.

restaurant - a bit like a school canteen, not a relaxing evening meal. lots of food art going on which was nice and most of the food was nice. im a fussy eater but my boyfriend eats anything, however i had to get him to try foods due to the labels being wrong or absent, there was once a sign saying 'fish' when it was actually beef in gravy. the chefs were however all lovely especially the pasta chef who always remembered me and my dislike for fish.

pool - i think theres 5 pools all constantly being cleaned, always tidy, cant fault them although some new sun loungers would be nice

beach - very narrow but fairly typical of egypt beaches, very crowded and we didnt really go on the beach.

snorkelling - not a good place for snorkelling very choppy

grounds - the grounds were lovely and the staff were dedicated to maintaining them.

currency - we took egyptian pounds which didnt get us very far, your better of taking us dollers or euros even sterling especially for tipping

entertainment - yes it was in italian but they all knew a little english always said hi with a smile and a few really tried to get us involved which was lovely.

its a lovely hotel but its not ready to be an english hotel, the only things written in english are the things you CANT do. the rooms and grounds are lovely but you can get more for your money at other hotels. the english get white bands where as the italians get orange and we met some english couples who didnt even get a band, we removed ours and no questions were asked. i wouldnt stay here again having stayed at other hotels in egypt but i cant deny that the italians have got themselves a lovely hotel and dont see why it should change to english as there a lot of these in the resort, one day we even got asked by an italian couple why we were there if we didnt come from italy!

think ive included everything but if anyone has any questions happy to answer them :)

Room Tip: 7132 was our room which was lovely. anything in 7000 or 6000 is near the beach and will have a sea v...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Catt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra_Beach, Quality Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review about Tamra Beach Resort. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your accommodation and was happy with your room request and the standard of the housekeeping services. Concerning All inclusive which is given to you on arrival in your welcoming pack which is clear for our guests to see what is all inclusive and what is for extra charge. This information is also provided by your travel agency. Regards to your comments about water, as per travel agent information and agreement we provide 1 bottle of complimentary water to every guest daily and then water dispensers are available at all food & beverage outlets for unlimited and unrestricted use by guests. I have discussed your comments relating to staff attitude with all our department managers and the coming month will see refreshment customer service training cascaded out to all customer facing job roles to further develop our staff and enhance their current skills. In turn we should then be meeting and exceeding our guest’s expectations. If any guest is faced with rude staff in the hotel we would kindly request that this is reported to hotel management at the earliest available opportunity and we will implement internal investigation and disciplinary procedures subject to the individual case. The Resort has 244 rooms but the area is very large and rooms are widely spread out, The hotel is also mainly an Italian club but most of the signs are written in English apart from the ones provided by the Eden Village travel agency (excursions). We are sorry to hear that you thought the restaurant was more like a school canteen but I’m sure you can appreciate that this is the busy season and the hotel is working at a high occupancy. We are please to hear that you thought the hotel grounds and pool areas were well maintained. I hope this goes some way towards answering the points you raised in your review and once again thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Well not everyone expects an Italian hotel in Egypt but how relaxing and different.
Our room turned out to be a full suite with huge bedroom separate bathroom and shower and a large living room all with aircondioning. We were right on the front by the beach with a good size pool right outside. The restaurant was brilliant with lots of choice and excellent service. Not many of the staff spoke very good English but that was part of the fun. Najm was the pool bar area manager and he was a gentleman. Very polite and helpful. The entertainment team were all young Italians but one in particular Jack or Jacope was great he would involve you and explain what was going on. Overall very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank castlecrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra_Beach, Quality Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Reviewer, Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments; it is always great to get feedback from our guests. We are privileged you spent your vacation with us at Tamra Beach Resort and our staff made your stay enjoyable. It gives us great pleasure knowing that you had a great time and you were able to relax by using our facilities, enjoyed your accommodation and that you were pleased with our cooking team and the variety of food. All of your kind comments have been shared with the management team and staff here at the hotel, in particular the ones who you took the time to personally name in your review as providing excellent customer service. We hope to welcome you again at Tamra Beach Resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked this quite last minute and I am totally chuffed with our choice. We arrived late at about 10pm and were starving, the Evening meal had long been finished serving- but they bought us food to our room! The Hotel room was spotless and very luxurious, we had a king size bed and house keeping daily. The grounds of the hotel were lovely and the up keep was second to none. The main pool was huge and there were plenty of orther lovely pools. We were about 150 m walk from the beach, which was busy and the italian entertainment were noisy in the morning but I quite liked that there was something going on. The drinks in the day by the pool and beach were served in little plastic cups but I would rather that than having to worry about walking on broken glass. Yes its mainly occupied by Italian holiday makers which often can come accross as rude and the entertainment is in Italian but It didnt bother us at all, as we just kept ourselves to ourselves and got left alone. The staff at the hotel (excluding the reception staff) are not rude, quite the opposite, we made a massive effort to learn the basics of arabic so we could be polite to staff by asking how they were and saying please and thank you. You can tell not many people do make the effort by the look of surprise on their face when we thanked them and asked them how they were. The food was brilliant, different options every day and there was so much choice. The head chef who was italian obviously took great pride in what he was serving and cared about what he was putting in front of people. If you want chips and burger every day, it wont suit you, I think I saw chips served once. There was lots of fresh fuit and vegetables which was brilliant! The only people I wouldnt recommend this to is people with young kids as the entertainment is in Italian. Would definately go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a doudle king size bed if you are a couple and to be away from the main bar area.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 706Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra_Beach, Quality Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your valuable comments about our hotel; we are always pleased to get feedback from our guests. We are privileged you spent your holiday with us at Tamra Beach Resort and that your hotel room was spotless and luxurious, and you enjoyed relaxing around the pool. We are glad to know that you admired the decoration of the hotel and the gardens as we always maintain it for our guest to admire its beauty. We are pleased to here that overall you were happy with the high standard of service from our staff in different areas, as they are here to satisfy your needs to make it more enjoyable the coming months will see further customer service training rolled out across all departments to ensure staff in all areas are anticipating and exceeding guest expectations. If any guest is faced with rude staff in the hotel we would kindly request that this is reported to hotel management at the earliest available opportunity and we will implement internal investigation and disciplinary procedures subject to the individual case. It gives us great pleasure knowing that you were pleased with our service and cooking team in the main restaurant and you were happy with the variety and choice of food. The Tamra Beach Resort Team hopes to welcome you back for your next vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

After spending months saving up hard earned money and searching for the perfect holiday for our only trip away we get, we arrived a the hotel to find out they had over booked and we had been moved else where. Coincidence the other two couples that got moved were ENGLISH in this ITALIAN resort? I think not. Contrary to this we managed to still have a good holiday at "Nubian village" up the road... No thanks to tamra.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank TabiandLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra_Beach, Quality Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We would like to take an opportunity to reply to your review but we do not have chance to give you a detailed respond by having too general negative picture due to the over booking. We are sorry if any inconvenience was caused but we are glad to here that you enjoyed your holiday. We hope to welcome you at Tamra Beach Resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Firstly, this hotel is NOT 5*. We were told by the hotel manager that its official Egyptian rating is 4* (so, a maximum 3* by international standards). And this was obvious.

The rooms are basic, at best. Our shower was broken and the sink was blocked. We notified the management straight away but the sink was only seen to 5 days later! The room also had a very small, old TV set box. There are 2 English language channels available on Sky which we could barely use as it was difficult to hear anything above the noise from the Italian Karaoke entertainment which went on until midnight, every night.

The "all inclusive" drinks are served in tiny plastic cups and the hotel has a very strange rule which doesn't allow guests to fill up their own bottles with drinking water (they are only allowed the very small plastic cups). The rationale for this is to encourage guests to buy bottles of water (at additional cost). What it actually does is put people at extra risk of dehydration.

The staff are outstandingly rude. I've never encountered such rudeness and aggression from hotel staff ever before. If you're a non-Italian guest at this hotel, the best you can hope for is to be ignored. I was actually scolded by the pool bar staff for not finishing my drinks and bringing back my empty cups!!

In sum, DO NOT stay at this hotel unless you're a fan of rude staff and want to be kept awake listening to shockingly bad Italian karaoke!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra_Beach, Quality Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We would like to take an opportunity to reply to your review which you said you would post due to you having to pay the late check out charge, but we do not have chance to give you a detailed respond by having too general negative picture. Our hotel has wide experience in the hospitality industry and has enough knowledge how to deal with any situations during guests stay and how to make guests satisfied but its harder when faced with difficult guests, The hotel staff try there hardest to please everyone regarding there nationality. All our indoor bars use glasses unless the drink is requested as take away in which case a plastic cup will be issued to minimize the risk of any glass breakages around pools and public areas. All outdoor bars serve with either plastic cups or glasses depending on if you are seated at the tables or around the pool areas. Regards to your comments about water, as per travel agent information and agreement we provide 1 bottle of complimentary water to every room on arrival and then water dispensers are available at all food & beverage outlets for unlimited and unrestricted use by guests. I am sorry that overall you left with a negative impression of Italian guests staying in the hotel, we would hope that guests see this as a positive aspect of their holiday stay to meet other guests from around the world and share their holiday experiences. I hope this goes some way towards answering the points you raised in your review and once again thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Me and my girlfriend, both 18, chose this hotel as all we wanted was sun, a decent beach, sun and pools. To be fair, this hotel had all of the above, and more. The grounds are 5*, excellently maintained and absolutely gorgeous. A lot of the restaurant staff are very friendly and make an effort to speak to you, telling you to enjoy your meal. However the staff outside of the restaurant do not want to know you. We received terrible customer service a couple of times from the reception staff, however there is occasionally an English rep who is happy to help. There is a nice selection of food, but often very fishy, repetitive and Italian. The cups are very small, and it is a bit of a pain when you are ridiculously hot and you have to refill the cup 4 times so you can have a good drink. The Italian people have no manners, and are very rude at times. They obviously don't understand the term, 'queues'.
If all you are after is a clean tidy room, pools, sun and beaches, then Tamra beach is an excellent hotel. However, i would not recommend this hotel to English families. Also, the hotel is quite close to the aiport, and planes seem to just skim over the top of the hotel late at night. Very noisy at times.

Room Tip: A double room in Egypt means two singles.. If you want a double bed, request a King sized one.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 95lukestone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra_Beach, Quality Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for taking the time to complete your Trip Advisor review. We would like to take this opportunity to say thank you for your comments, we are sorry if any inconvenience was caused throughout your stay. We are please to hear that you and your girlfriend thought the hotel was maintained very well. We are happy to hear that you thought some of the staff were very friendly, I have discussed your comments relating to some of the staff attitude with all our department managers and the coming month will see refreshment customer service training cascaded out to all customer facing job roles to further develop our staff and enhance their current skills. In turn we should then be meeting and exceeding our guest’s expectations. If any guest is faced with rude staff in the hotel we would kindly request that this is reported to hotel management at the earliest available opportunity and we will implement internal investigation and disciplinary procedures subject to the individual case. There is an English lady who is available daily she helped you move room as there was some availability, As travel agents reserve rooms based on the room type i.e. standard or family the bed configuration is not specified as king or twin on guest bookings. For guests wishing to specify a bed type this can be added as a request with your booking agent or by e mailing the hotel direct prior to travel. While we will do our upmost to fulfill your wishes it should be stressed that all requests are subject to availability and therefore cannot be guaranteed. The hotel caters for a large number of Italian guests. All our indoor bars use glasses unless the drink is requested as take away in which case a plastic cup will be issued to minimize the risk of any glass breakages around pools and public areas. All outdoor bars serve with either plastic cups or glasses depending on if you are seated at the tables or around the pool areas. I am sorry that overall you left with a negative impression of the Italian guests staying in the hotel. We would hope that guests see this as a positive aspect of their holiday stay to meet other guests from around the world and share their holiday experiences. It should also be taken into consideration that the concept of forming a queue very much relates to the British culture and is not necessarily a concept understood or followed by others, not necessarily because they are rude but because it is not a concept followed in their country of origin. The majority of Sharm El Sheikh as a resort falls under the direct flight path of Sharm International airport so guests may experience air traffic noise across hotels. I hope this goes some way towards answering the points you raised in your review and once again thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you again at Tamra Beach Resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
10.3 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,408 reviews
3.3 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#10 of 32 in Nabq Bay
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sea Club Resort - Sharm el Sheikh
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
3.4 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamra Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamra Beach

Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 11231, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range: $59 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamra Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxury 5-star Tamra Beach Resort is ideal for single travelers, couples and families looking to avoid long airport transfers and for somewhere they can relax and have everything catered for without the need to leave the resort. Tamra Beach resort is in the Nabq Bay area and on the beach front only a 10-minute drive from Sharm el Sheikh International Airport. It also offers 24-hour front desk service. The Resort is mainly an Italian Club, but welcomes other nationalities. The resort is located next to Nabq National park which is known for its colourful marine life and its extraordinary Mangrove colonies. All rooms are air conditioned they also have a bathtub, Rooms have modern furnishings and come with cable TV and a safe Deposit box Free of charge. The resort offers rooms with balconies overlooking the Red Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Tamra Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamra Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Tamra Beach Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing