We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, when I eventually got to stay in it!”
Review of Tamra Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tamra Beach
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel, when I eventually got to stay in it!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I travelled to Sharm el Sheikh on 20th April 2013 for a week long holiday. We arrived at the hotel around 9.30pm and didn't make it in the door. We were met by two members of staff who informed ourselves and another couple that the hotel was overbooked and we were being put up in a 'better' hotel, Club Sharm I think, and were told we could stay if we wanted. Around 10 people, all British incidentally, boarded the shuttle bus back to Tamra Beach at 8am the following morning all with similar poor impressions of the hotel we had stayed in. It was deserted!
We made it through the doors this time, and the room we were given was excellent. The views were incredible and it was very clean. You really can see the sea from the bath! Our cleaner was very good and was very willing to accommodate your schedule when cleaning your room. The towel crocodile he made was worth the trip in itself.
The pools and garden areas are immaculately kept by a constant staff group who never seem to tire. The beach was very tidy but largely overrun by the Italians so we prefered sitting by the quieter pool which was almost outside our bedroom door.
The food was very good and varied. Italian food is a favourite in our house so we were very happy with the choices we had. The Egyptian night was probably the worst but I still found enough to keep me happy. The breakfasts are excellent if you have a sweet tooth and the omelettes cooked to order are very, very good. I didn't understand the logic in cooking omelettes for dinner one night though.
All in all, we had a very enjoyable trip only slightly blighted by the first night. We would be very happy staying in this hotel again, especially if we could stay in the same room again. The other British couples we got chatting to were largely positive as well however a couple were slightly put off by the large Italian presence, feeling as though we, the Brits, were being treated as 2nd class citizens.

Room Tip: Get a room in the 6000's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra_Beach, Quality Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments, it is always great to get feedback from our guests. We are Happy to here that over all you and your girlfriend were pleased with the hotel minus the hiccup on arrival, The room was excellent and you liked the housekeeping services and thought the room was very clean. It gives us pleasure knowing that you thought the surroundings are beautiful and knowing that you are pleased with our cooking team and you were happy with the variety and choice of food, having the Oriental theme night for our guests is to let them experience different cuisine and culture. We hope to welcome you again at Tamra Beach Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,870
    769
    203
    75
    63
See reviews for
1,025
1,033
103
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Me and my husband (both in our early thirites) just returned from a week at the Tamra. As previous reviewers have said this should be advertised as an Italian hotel, we expected the resort to be full of Italian holiday makers but I wasn't prepared for the preferential treatment that they received. The staff were not interested in talking to any of the English holidaymakers, they made no attempt to make the English feel welcome, I would go as far to say that they were extremely rude and we most definitely felt very isolated and to be honest I was glad to leave. Everything is geared towards the Italians, all the entertainment is in Italian, all food is Italian, all signs in Italian, Italians were clearly given a first class service whilst other guest of other nationalities received no customer service at All. If management wish for this to be an Italian hotel only then they should advertise it as such rather than allowing people from other nationalities to book and making them feel very unwelcome. On a positive note the grounds are gorgeous and very well kept, pool areas are lovely, beach if very busy and loud but there are 5 pools which to relax around. The weather was pefect not a cloud in sight, the food served whist Italian was very nice and varied and healthy. The Italian guests are pretty rude, at dinner there is no order, it's a free for all, Italians pushing and shoving and pushing in to get what they want. The entertainment staff were actually pretty rude, they would talk away in italian to you, then find out you were english, pull a face and walk off!! This hotel has all the things that should make this a nice place to stay but creates such an unwelcome atmosphere for non Italian guests that i would most definitely not recommend this hotel to non Italian guests.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whale112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra_Beach, Quality Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review. we are sorry if any inconvenience was caused throughout your stay. All of the points you raised in your review have been shared with the hotel management team and I wanted to take the time to share some of their feedback with you. We are please to hear that you thought the hotel ground are gorgeous, pools are lovely, and the hotel food was nice and varied. Near enough all the signs around the hotel are in duel languages, you may find the odd food sign in the restaurant as the food is constantly being improved by the chefs, All information about the resort, bars, all inclusive, animation are in the welcome pack on arrival. The Hotel has a large number of Italian guests as you mentioned in your review, just to clarify that The Tour Company of Eden Village have employed the Animation Team which the activities and shows are provided by. In the Coming months we hope to improve Entertainment for the British guests. I can assure you all the staff though out the hotel try to teat all guests the same regardless of there nationality as you no this in an Arabic speaking country some staff do speak better Italian as there are more Italian guests so they pick the language up quicker, But most speak basic English but wont be fluent as its not there native language, I am sorry to hear that you left with a negative impression of the staff, and felt unwelcome at the hotel. I have discussed your comments relating to staff attitude with all our department managers and the coming month will see refreshment customer service training cascaded out to all customer facing job roles to further develop our staff and enhance their current skills. In turn we should then be meeting and exceeding our guest’s expectations. If any guest is faced with rude staff in the hotel we would kindly request that this is reported to hotel management at the earliest available opportunity and we will implement internal investigation and disciplinary procedures subject to the individual case. I am sorry that overall you left with a negative impression of the Italian guests staying in the hotel, The hotel would hope that guests see this as a positive aspect of their holiday stay to meet other guests from a different country and share their holiday experiences. It should also be taken into consideration that the concept of forming a queue very much relates to the British culture and is not necessarily a concept understood or followed by others, not necessarily because they are rude but because it is not a concept followed in their country of origin. I hope this goes some way towards answering the points you raised in your review and once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Me and my boyfriend just got back from this hotel on the 20th of April, we stayed for a week, the weather was incredible! The hotel however was very clean, the food was good and fresh although not always labelled in english and I am allergic to fish so I had to study some of the dishes before eating them to make sure there wasnt any as 90% of the staff don't speak english. The entertainment is full ON theres something on every hour however ITS ALL IN ITALIAN and the reps assumed a few times we were italian and would come up to our table as if to join us in the entertainment even though we had no idea what anyone one was saying or what was going on and when we would tell them we spoke english they wouldnt translate it to us they would just walk away and carry on! the cups are RIDICULOUSLY small, sounds petty but when your so hot its annoying to have to pour 3 cups of juice just to quench your thrist. there was the most lovely bar tender that was the only one that made effort to the english speaking guests called mohamed, honestly 10/10 customer service from him! we made sure we tipped him! we had an incredible holiday as a couple as we just wanted a clean safe hotel with plenty of places to swim and sunbathe and chill and thats what we got. But i would never recommend it to a british family, but couples yes as long as you enjoy each others company the whole holiday like we did other wise you will be bored out your minds. Also be VERY carefull of the taxi drivers that wait outside the hotel only use the white and blue cabs, there was a disgusting taxi driver in a grey mitishbushi car literally harrassing us to use his unofficial taxi and he threatened to wait outside the whole day and bug us if we tried to get another taxi!! and he did so we had to abandon our whole days plans and get the hotels shuttle bus instead the next day, this taxi driver wears a white robe and has very brown teeth and is very aggressive, and because the receptionist and the guy that sits outside the hotel both dont speak good english they couldnt of cared less when we tried to explain what was happening so there was no way of getting rid of him!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra_Beach, Quality Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to take the opportunity to say thank you for your comments, we are sorry if any inconvenience was caused throughout your stay. Please be reassured that all of your comments will be used to improve our service and facilities. Over all we are happy to hear that you had an incredible holiday and are pleased to hear that you thought the resort was very clean, safe, enjoyed the pools, chilled and the food is good. Near enough all the signs around the hotel are in duel languages, as you mentioned in your review you may find some not in the restaurant as the chefs are always coming up with new ideas to improve the food. If you had spoken to the Head Chefs they would of been able to show you which foods had fish in them. As you no this in an Arabic speaking country some staff do speak better Italian as there are more Italian guests so they pick the language up quicker, But most speak basic English but wont be fluent as its not there native language. The Hotel has a large number of Italian guests as you mentioned in your review, just to clarify that The Tour Company of Eden Village have employed the Animation Team which the activities and shows are provided by but guest can join in with there daily animation program on arrival to the hotel you would have received a daily animation program with times and places. In the Coming months we hope to improve Entertainment for the British guests. All our indoor bars use glasses unless the drink is requested as take away in which case a plastic cup will be issued to minimize the risk of any glass breakages around pools and public areas. All outdoor bars serve with either plastic cups or glasses depending on if you are seated at the tables or around the pool areas. We are pleased to hear in particular Mohamed who you took the time to personally name in your review as providing 10/10 customer service. I am sorry to read that you found some staff to be unhelpful, I can assure you your comments have been passed on to the Management about the Taxi driver. The hotel provides frequent customer service training to our entire customer facing departments and we will review this to offer refreshment training. Refreshment training should enable our staff to enhance, improve and further develop their current customer service skills thus ensuring that we are meeting & exceeding our guest’s expectations. I hope this goes some way towards answering the points you raised in your review and once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just came back from a week at the Tamra Beach in Egypt. This resort is clean, the staff are very friendly, facilities are good and the food is good if not a little boring. However the reason for my title is that this resort should not be sold to the UK market as it is an Italian resort and only caters for Italian people. There are loads of other reviews saying the same thing, some people were greatly concerned about this and other didn't care. I was recommended this resort by a friend and so only check Trip Advisor after booking. For me it wasn't a huge problem but for other English people on the resort it was ... they felt extremely left out and isolated which is very unfair, especially if you are a couple or travelling alone. Nothing is catered towards English people and why would they? In a resort that has over 600 guests if only say 10 are English, why would you bother with changing everything to duel languages?? So things to watch if you are booking this resort:

The staff do speak very little English although all are fluent in Italian and Arabic
There is NO KIDS CLUB FOR ENGLISH PEOPLE. They only take Italian children and no one tells you that until you get there
All the food is catered for Italian people, no cooked breakfast in the morning, no chips :-) although this wasn't such a bad thing
Some of the staff especially at reception and on the bars come across as very rude but I think that this is a combination of the fact that ALL the staff are male, arabic and have very little patience for English people
Swimming with the Dolphins excursion is not great value for money - at nearly £60 per person for 15 minutes the whole emphasis is about getting good photo and video shots so that they can then sell these to you in the shop. You only only get to swim with them for about 3 minutes

I would say that the majority of the Italian guests on the resort did not speak or understand English, big problem for my children who wanted to play with the other kids! They very much stick to their own kind so again make you feel very isolated and there is a lot of pushing you out the way in the food hall.

Did we have a good time? Yes but I wouldn't go again.

Room Tip: Say what you want before arrival (i.e. room with sea view, ground floor, near to the pools. Also lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellissima01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra_Beach, Quality Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to take the opportunity to say thank you for your comments, we are sorry if any inconvenience was caused throughout your stay. Please be reassured that all of your comments will be used to improve our service and facilities.
We are pleased to hear that over all you had a good time, thought the resort was clean, staff were very friendly, and the facilities, food are good.
Near enough all the signs around the hotel are in duel languages, you may find the odd food sign in the restaurant as the food is constantly being improved, All information about the resort, bars, all inclusive, animation are in the welcome pack on arrival. As you no this in an Arabic speaking country some staff do speak better Italian as there are more Italian guests so they pick the language up quicker, But most speak basic English but wont be fluent as its not there native language. The Hotel has a large number of Italian guests as you mentioned in your review, just to clarify that The Tour Company of Eden Village have employed the Animation Team which the activities and shows are provided by. In the Coming months we hope to improve Entertainment for the British guests. Regarding the cooked breakfast some items such as pork sausage & bacon cannot be implemented as they are not readily available in Egypt due to the fact that it is a predominantly Muslim country. I am sorry that overall you left with a negative impression of some of the Egyptian staff and Italian guests staying in the hotel, It should also be taken into consideration that the concept of forming a queue very much relates to the British culture and is not necessarily a concept understood or followed by others, not necessarily because they are rude but because it is not a concept followed in their country of origin. The hotel provides frequent customer service training to our entire customer facing departments and we will review this to offer refreshment training. Refreshment training should enable our staff to enhance, improve and further develop their current customer service skills thus ensuring that we are meeting & exceeding our guest’s expectations. I hope this goes some way towards answering the points you raised in your review and once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Having read previous reviews my husband and I knew this was a predominantly Italian resort but decided to try the hotel as the reviews on the food and cleanliness were good.
On arrival we were quickly escorted to our room 2110 which overlooked the pool and pool bar 2000. The room was large it had two comfortable double beds and the small mini fridge contained one bottle of water. The water is not replaced once used and although there are water dispensers and plastic beakers around for you to use there are notices asking you not to fill your water bottles. Water can be purchased from the shops on the complex. Tea and coffee facilities are not provided in your room but are easily available from the bar areas. The room was cleaned daily and clean sheets and towels were provided. Beach towels are available but you have to leave a deposit which is returned at the end of your stay.

Breakfast
We were surprised at how many cakes an Italian eats for breakfast! However we stuck to omelettes cooked freshly by a friendly man who was the only one in the restaurant who attempted to converse with us. The restaurant is self service so don't expect to be waited on, it was a little noisy too so no fine dining.
Lunch and dinner
Upon entering the entertainment staff wish you a good meal in Italian which is a nice touch.
Good choice of food. Wine and beer on draft available in glasses too! Vegetables such as broccoli and cauliflower were available which meant I didn't come home craving fresh veg!
We did find the food a little too salty at times especially the spaghetti. Italians wore an orange band and in our opinion received a far friendlier service probably due to the language barrier. The cakes were delicious and there was a weekly parade of profiteroles but as the speech announcing them was in Italian we were not really sure of the reason for this. Ice cream was only available once a week and when it was gone it was gone.

Pool and pool bar 2000
The pool was cleaned twice a day at least. The tiles inside the pool were cracked and need to be replaced. The water was cold on entering but that was probably due to the time of year. There is a heated pool but we chose to stay by this one as most of its visitors were english! My husband dived regularly and I felt safe to sunbathe here alone. The weather was good with only a couple of windy days. Sabat the bar man was very friendly he could speak English and made us feel welcome.

The only disappointing part of our holiday was the inability to have a civilised drink in the evenings.
Flimsy beer beakers were given which held 2 mouthfuls of beer. Glasses would only be given after 8pm and then only for beer if you specifically asked for one. Wine and fruit juices had to be paid for and therefore the only mixers available were coke and lemonade... So much for all inclusive. The Italians seemed happy to drink only tea and coffee in the evenings.
The entertainment was entirely Italian with no other translations so we did retire early some nights to read but found it noisy in our room due the the amphitheatre Entertainment.
It is a shame the pool bar 2000 did not stay open in the evening with some English music quietly playing in the background
Overall we had a nice holiday, however we would not choose to come back to this hotel but only because we are not Italian.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thegolfwidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra_Beach, Quality Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments they have been shared with the management team and staff here at the hotel, in particular Sabat who you took the time to personally name in your review as being very friendly. As you mentioned in your review the hotel is mainly an Italian club but welcomes other nationalities. In the coming months we hope to improve the entertainment for British guests. It gives us great pleasure knowing that overall you were pleased with our cooking team and you enjoyed the food. We have a Buffet style Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, help your self service so guests can choose what they would like to eat. I apologize that you were not happy with the all inclusive drinks service, Wine is only severed in the restaurant during Lunch and Dinner. All our indoor bars use glasses unless the drink is requested as take away in which case a plastic cup will be issued to minimize the risk of any glass breakages around pools and public areas. All outdoor bars serve with either plastic cups or glasses depending on if you are seated at the tables or around the pool areas. I am sorry to here that you thought Italian people were treated better, our staff try there hardest to give a friendly service to everyone. The coming months will see further customer service training rolled out across all departments to ensure staff in all areas are anticipating and exceeding guest expectations. I hope this goes some way towards covering the points you raised in your review and once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We knew before we traveled that this was an Italian hotel catering for mainly Italian guests so having Italian food, signage and Italian domination didn't deter our visit. However we did feel quite isolated at times as any entertainment was in Italian so we couldn't join in, having said that the guy who seemed to run the show always spoke to us in English and did his best to include us

We were upgraded to a suite after I informed them it was our second anniversary, we were thankful of that but to be honest the room seemed odd for a suite and more of a family room, the second room had two single beds and a sofa in so was quite redundant during our stay. The room was quite tired and we had to hold the shower head up with a luggage strap during our stay, no effort was made my the room boy to fix this and he was happy to leave this bright pink strap in place for the fortnight!! The bed was very comfy and the room kept clean, it just needed updating, we did have plenty of storage and a fridge, please note you only get one bottle of water for your whole stay, this was unacceptable in such a hot country

Food was good if you love Italian food then you`ll enjoy your stay but there was only so much pasta, pizza and risotto we could handle, if you get there when it opens prepare to be in queues for the food, if you get there after the rush they didn't seem to replenish some of the dishes. Breakfast is continental so we missed having hot food in the morning. And everything is help yourself so don't expect to be waited on

The bars need to sort out their glasses for soft drinks, all drinks come in the smallest, thinnest plastic cups we have ever seen, you`ll be lucky to get two mouthfuls out of them, we went in to Nabq bay and bought some hard plastic mugs which Sobet at the quiet pool was more than happy to fill for us

The staff are nice enough and you have a couple of really good ones who looked after us. Would we go again - No, would we recommend - yes if you like Italian food and enjoy your own company as there are not many English there. The English guests we met all seem to be put in the same part of the hotel

We have been to Sharm eight times so we know our way round quite a bit. Nabq bay is up and coming and have lots a restaurants to choose from, its about 40 minute walk or £2.50 in a taxi (make sure you state the price for the taxi before you get in) Facilities are a lot cheaper in Nabq bay than Soho square or Naama bay and we would highly recommend the Three Crowns opposite Grand Azure for a fantastic steak at very good prices

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a fantastic view, we found up near the reception to have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKcoupleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra_Beach, Quality Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
All of the points you raised in your review have been shared with the hotel management team and I wanted to take the time to share some of their feedback with you. The hotel is mainly an Italian club but guests can join in with the animation team as you mentioned in your review the main guy speaks English and always tried to include you for activates. You were upgraded to a suit when we received your email informing us that it was your second anniversary, Useful tips for all future visiting guests when you request via your travel agent at the point of booking they don’t always inform us, e mail your requests directly to the hotel approx 3 weeks prior to travel. We will do our upmost to fulfill your wishes but it should be stressed that all requests are subject to availability and cannot be guaranteed. Regards to your comments about water, as per travel agent information and agreement we provide 1 bottle of complimentary water on arrival and then water dispensers are available at all food & beverage outlets for unlimited and unrestricted use by guests. We are pleased to know that you liked the housekeeping services and thought the room was very clean however if you had have informed a member of the reception about the shower head it would have been fixed immediately. Regards to food as I am sure you can appreciate the hotel aims to cater for different nationalities, cultures and personal tastes and the Chefs do there best to replenish the food as quickly as possible. All our indoor bars use glasses unless the drink is requested as take away in which case a plastic cup will be issued. All outdoor bars serve with either plastic cups or glasses depending on if you are seated at the tables or around the pool areas. Plastic cups minimize the risk of any glass breakages around pools and public areas due to the matter of safety because plastic is not as dangerous as glass. We are pleased that our staff looked after you, as they are here to satisfy your needs to make it more enjoyable. It gives us great pleasure knowing that you will recommend the Tamra Beach Resort. I hope this goes some way towards answering the points you raised in your review and once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

if you are English speaking ALL the entertainment is in Italian and the food also predominately Italian so if you want to join in the very full entertainment programme you need to speak Italian. For us, this was not a problem as we were looking for rest, relaxation and snorkeling only. the grounds are beautiful, with a full gardening team working on then constantly throughout all the day, mowing, trimming watering and even climbing to the top of the palm tree (attached to only a rope round his waist) and they were all so friendly.
the animation team were enthusiastic and very hard working- every hour from 10 am to mid night there was something to do for all ages, for example (ones that I remember) archery at 10, aqua aerobics 11.30, yoga 4.30 etc etc.
there are loads of pools, 2 heated at the moment and the rest not. I braved swims in most of them and to be honest a couple of lengths in the unheated ones after a sun bathing session in 32 degree weather was invigorating and the heated ones I just used for relaxing.
rooms are amazing and large with nice marble steps up to the bed room from the living room area. the balcony was a lovely sun trap spot for reading with a useful clothes drying area after a great day at the beach.
the beach is lovely and relaxing. Plenty of cushioned loungers to go around and the jetty gave access to the deeper sea and dramatic coral edge. between the beach and jetty end is amazing shallow corals that you can snorkel over or even just paddling in- you will see amazing sea life either way.
food is amazing and varied. I love salads and fish and my hubby is a carnivore and we both had plenty of choice. the menu varies each day with the chefs walking around after the evening service asking (in Italian) if you enjoyed your meal. there was a huge salad bar ( I had this every day with no tummy problems) with different types of cheeses and char grilled veggies. Hot plates and a a grill was available each day for fresh pasta, chargrilled fish, steak etc.a separate dessert bar with lots of cakes, pastries fruit ect with a special each night like freshly made doughnuts. The bread table was huge with great array ofs freshly made breads and rolls.
in terms of all inclusive, its your usual fare with local wine, beer and spirits available all day (till midnight) with breakfast, lunch and dinner at set times. The beach bar and central bar serve late breakfasts every day (pastries and croissants), freshly made pizza and garlic flatbreads mid morning and tea and cakes in the afternoon. Friday night there was a gala night with sangria and canapes followed by a lovely meal with a flaming Vesuvius as a desert finale.
i tried the spa and it was relaxing, but if you are a first timer in Egypt be aware that the treatments are normally naked and the spa facilities not as pristine as the UK. that being said I had a lovely fresh coconut scrub with a hamman, sauna, jaccuzzi and massage for £50 for a 2 hour experience.
We were on a relaxing holiday so mostly spent the time swimming, sun bathing and snorkling. The vodka, gin, beer, white and red wine were all palatable (but mostly served in tacky plastic glasses) and only took a couple of trips out- the star gazing with camel riding and bedouin dinner which I thoroughly recommend; great fun and really interesting and a short day trip to cairo which was a private activity as I have a colleuge that lives there. cairo is amazingly hustly and bustly and I'd only recommend going on an organised tour.
the resort is not central to nabq bay and therefore quiet.
In summary the place is lovely for a relaxing holiday but in my humble opinion if you want the real Egypt go to Luxor.
I tried to take pic-s that I thought tripadviser reviewers would be most interested in.

Room Tip: we were in 6112 with great sea views but a way from the bar so very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinklady71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamra_Beach, Quality Manager at Tamra Beach, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
We would like to thank you for you overall positive comments. It gives us great pleasure knowing that you had a great time and you were able to relax by the swimming pool, snorkeling off the hotel jetty and enjoyed your spa treatment. The hotel is mainly an Italian club but guests can join in with the animation team as you mentioned in your review they work daily and have many activities. We are glad that you thought the hotel surroundings and gardens are beautiful as we always maintain it for our guest to admire and that the staff were friendly, you liked your accommodation and you were pleased with the food & beverages team and kitchens, variety and choice of the amazing food and you enjoyed the gala dinner. As you mentioned in your review as standard we heat 2 Outside pools in winter months and aim to obtain a temperature of between 25 & 29c. Currently heated are pool 7000 and the pool near the central bar. Also there is a heated indoor pool inside the spa center (for extra charge) but we are happy to hear that your braved the non heated ones to cool down. All our indoor bars use glasses unless the drink is requested as take away in which case a plastic cup will be issued to minimize the risk of any glass breakages around pools and public areas. All outdoor bars serve with either plastic cups or glasses depending on if you are seated at the tables or around the pool areas. On behalf of our team we hope to see you again at the Tamra Beach Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nabq Bay
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
10.3 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,246 reviews
3.3 mi away
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
Barcelo Tiran Sharm
#10 of 32 in Nabq Bay
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#4 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Sharm El Sheikh
3.4 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#7 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamra Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamra Beach

Property: Tamra Beach
Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 11231, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamra Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxury 5-star Tamra Beach Resort is ideal for single travelers, couples and families looking to avoid long airport transfers and for somewhere they can relax and have everything catered for without the need to leave the resort. Tamra Beach resort is in the Nabq Bay area and on the beach front only a 10-minute drive from Sharm el Sheikh International Airport. It also offers 24-hour front desk service. The Resort is mainly an Italian Club, but welcomes other nationalities. The resort is located next to Nabq National park which is known for its colourful marine life and its extraordinary Mangrove colonies. All rooms are air conditioned they also have a bathtub, Rooms have modern furnishings and come with cable TV and a safe Deposit box Free of charge. The resort offers rooms with balconies overlooking the Red Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tamra Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamra Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Tamra Beach Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing