We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return traveller.”
Review of El Badawiya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Badawiya Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Farafra
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at the hotel last year with a group of 12 friends after 5 days camping in the amazingly beautiful White Desert. The hotel was very welcome with it's cool calm ambience and after checking in, with no fuss, I was soon by the pool relaxing in the dappled shade of a tree.
I shared a basic room for three, although only two of us ended up staying in it as it only had one double bed, on a kind of mezzanine, and one single. I will be happy to stay in the same room again.
Meals were basic traditional food, which is what I wanted so all good there.
The hotel in built in a traditional style which I found very appealing and relaxing. It was also very quiet and peaceful.
The hot spring we went to is admittedly less inspiring even in the moonlight, being a concrete basin, but regardless it was still an interesting experience and I'm glad I went. It's authentic though, not prettied up for tourists.
The staff and management could not do enough for our group and made us feel very welcome.
I'm going again in a few months, with mostly the same group of people so I think that says it all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wellheld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for El Badawiya Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 26 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

The rooms were clean, so was the pool. The food was alright, albeit standard oasis fare (rice and chicken or beef). Nothing extravagant, so maybe a bit overpriced. But with the lodging options lacking in town, it's difficult to avoid.

Located a short walk away from the centre of the village, so it's easy access to food if you're looking for lunch or dinner.

Good WiFi in the lobby area. Staff tends to disappear in the middle of the afternoon, and it can take a while before finding someone to help you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joseph34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Built in a traditional style with a plethora of domes and arches. All public spaces are cavernous, giving an impersonal feel with little atmosphere. Accommodation is offered in standard (Euro 25) or suite (Euro 35) combinations (+ 12% tax and service) with or without half board. Our standard room was clean, if a bit gloomy - spartan rather than cosy. A curious split level sleeping arrangement, meant the bed was on a raised platform above the bathroom which necessitated clunking up and down the wooden stairs in the night. The walls are also paper thin - we were kept awake by our Egyptian neighbour making mobile calls for what seemed like the whole night. The staff - mostly young guys - do their best and are eager to please but communication was difficult. The food was rather mediocre.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saritrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

A place where you feel at ease, wish i could spend a month every year . very friendly habitants, normal prices for every need ,may be less than normal.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MohamedAbouArab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed in thi hotel for one night after being in the desert.

The rooms were very traditional with reed cielings (traditionally used to act as heating when cold and to cool the room down when hot). The only downside to the rooms were that we had two single beds rather than one double which was a bit inconvenient as this was our honeymoon :-))

The rooms were lovely and clean with spacious bathrooms.

The hotel complex itself had ample outdoor seating which was great for relaxing in the sunshine and a small pool which was great to cool down in!

It was very quiet as other than ourselves there was only a young Egyptian family at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and attentive and could not do enough to help us.

I think this hotel is a wlecome break after camping out in the desert.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mapsuita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We made the mistake of booking up and paying in Cairo for a 3 day stay in Farafra. Having arrived in an empty Badawiya hotel our family of 5 were placed in two rooms about 1km apart. There had been no communication between the Cairo office and the hotel in the oasis, who were themselves chaotically organised. It was not helped that some members of staff tried to rubbish the drivers who we had travelled with, in order to get us to use the hotel's drivers. It all felt tawdry and low. We left after two days, having had further unpleasant experiences about payment.

Rooms themselves nice, with balconies (though the camp bed option for the third child was uncomfortable. Swimming pool good. Some lovely staff - the gardener/horseman and some of the kitchen staff.

A reflection of the managemnt of the place was their inability to send on a child's bikini that had accidently been left behind.

PS - the hot springs in the area are sulphurous gushes of boiling water into concrete basins...not your swimming idyll (unless you're blind, anosmic and insensitive to water temperature). Obviously - this has nothing to do with the hotel, just a word of caution about the trips you may be persuaded on. What is unmissable is the drive to the dunes of the White Desert. Ask for Yahya - brilliant driver and super-cool desert guide.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kingsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We stayed here during a trip through the desert. The cost was about 40 euros. The rooms were clean but very quirky with the bed in a loft, the matteress on the floor and a mosquito net that wasn't attached very well. It all resulted in an uncomfortable nights sleep. For this price we had much better rooms in Egypt.
The breakfast was fine - if a little basic.
We wanted to do a trip in the white desert for which they quoted us 2000 EGP for 4 people for a day trip. We thought that was very expensive as in fact the trip was less than a full day. we eventually paid less than half that - and the guide doing the trip wouldn't pick us up from the hotel because they boycott guides who under cut them. When we told them we were not going to use their trip because it was too expensive, the attitude became very unfriendly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank campiTw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Badawiya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Badawiya Hotel

Address: Gamal Abdel Nasser St. | New Valley, Farafra 12311, Egypt
Location: Egypt > New Valley Governorate > Farafra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Farafra
Price Range: $22 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Badawiya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Badawiya Hotel is a traditional mud brick building with all the modern comforts, situated at the entry to the Farafra Oasis, featuring stunning rooms in a variety of styles, complete with fireplace, private outside seating areas, refreshing pool, and an elegant vaulted restaurant, serving a variety of dishes with fresh organic vegetables from the hotel's own farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your El Badawiya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing