We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in an Oasis”
Review of Sands Baharia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bawiti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sands Baharia
Ranked #3 of 5 Bawiti B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We spent only one night in this amazing hotel. Unfortunately we were the only guests because everone else cancelled (with no good reason) due to the recent clashes in Tahrir square in Cairo. Please don't cancel your trip to Egypt. We were there for the supposed clashes and protests (Nov 19 to Dec 6th) and we never felt unsafe. We did 5 days in the desert which began with our stay at the amazing Sands, Baharia. Family run hotel amids an orange grove beneath the starry desert skies. The rooms are charming and large. The dinner and breakfast were lovely and exceeded our expectations by a mile. The service was perfect. We were offered Shesha (our first time) around the campfire after dinner. You have to experience this to believe it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TTBToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2010

Not sure why this is listed under B&Bs rather than hotels....

We struggled to find this place - there are no signs and the locals appeared not to have heard of it.

The welcome we received was great. The rooms are smart, clean and well air-conditioned.

Food was excellent (set menu when we were there) and the beers cold!

Swimming pool small but refreshing.

I really enjoyed the three nights we spent here.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
4  Thank Rally_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

I spent 2 nights in Sands Baharia and they were definitely worth writing about. The hotel itself is very comfortable and perfectly sized to give a true experience of coziness. The rooms are very comfortable and are done in such a way which brings the desert feel inside. Who would've thought that a straw bedframe is sturdy enough for a fully grown adult to sleep in AND sleep like a baby???!!! The outlets are really well designed. I loved hanging out in the living room at night and having a great time with my friends.

Now comes the food... Yes I did gain a few pounds but it was well worth it!!! The salads and appetizers were muy delicioso!!! (Everything came from their vegetable garden which is on site). Being vegetarian can sometimes be a challange. But in Sands Baharia there were so many yummy vegetarian dishes way more than any human stomache can possible take... But, I made sure not to miss out on any! My friends were also raving about the roasted chickens and savoring each bite of beef they had...

Now the good news for pet lovers is that this hotel is pet friendly. And trust me, this is very rare in Egypt. I had my 1 yr old Chihuaua with me... It was his first time in the desert and he couldn't believe there was a place that was actually bigger than out livingroom :) Throughout our stay, the staff was very very friendly to him and that added to my personal happiness!

The hotel organized a tour of Bawiti town. I almost skipped it in favor of staying in the hotel and enjoying the surrounding beautiful dunes and vegetable garden... But, I am glad my friends talked me into going. We were accompanied by the hoitel Manager who made sure everyone was comfortable and answered all our questions. We saw the golden mummies and several other Greco Roman remains as well as the local art museum. Then we headed off to the hot springs where we took a good dip followed by a relaxed chat under the palm trees sipping extra sweet tea made by a very nice and rather entertaining Bawiti guy. The last destination was the lake which we reached after driving through the desert and stopping at the "English Mountain". I really thought that we were just going to look at the lake and leave. But to everyone's great surprise, we arrived to a very nice seating area with cushions, rugs and low tables set up by the hotel staff who had arrived before us! And it was time for a "quick bite". The "quick bite" was not quick... The array of salads, appetizers and cold drinks were out on the tables to compliment the beautiful view of sunset by the lake!!! ...

Throughout our stay, every single hotel staff member was very courteous efficient AND fast!!! I can't remember anyone of them not wearing a smile on their face!

Oh! And starting off the day (remember you are literally in the middle of the dessert!) sipping aromatic expresso was a true luxury!

Although coming back to the crazy city of Cairo was a big anti climax, it is calming to know that Baharia is only a few kelometers away and doesn't need too much preparation. Actually, my friends and I are going back to Sands Baharia early April. And I just can't wait!!!

I am not sure who are the staff members who will read my review. But I do thank each and everyone one of them for the absolutely wonderful experience we had... And I look forward to being there again in April!

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dashAKAdollz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

As a regular visitor to the Western Desert and to the Baharia Oasis, it's always been disappointing to me that there hasn't been a good-quality place to stay in the Oasis town. The existing options have been basic and most travelers stay for just one night in Bawiti on their way to or from the Desert. Many are relieved by that fact.

A new hotel, Sands Baharia, was recommended by friends and a group of us visited last weekend, spending two nights there. I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality, service and overall experience that we had. The hotel sits in a large reservation of land, surrounded by an organic garden that grows vegetables that are used in the hotel kitchen. The food was very good - classic Egyptian fare of grilled meats and various salads. The hotel has a nice relaxing bar area, pretty terrace and small pool (which was being cleaned at the time, in the wake of a major sandstorm).

Overall, the quality of the hotel merits the price, which is a bit higher than one might pay in the other Baharia establishments. That said, the friendly staff bent over backwards to help us and organized a nice picnic on the edge the lake after we took an oasis tour. Sands Baharia is really well situated to serve tourists who might want to experience the nearby Black and White Deserts for day trips rather than camping. I'd certainly have no problem spending another weekend there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter-Egypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puriko53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank numerozerosix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bawiti hotels
20.8 mi away
Alpenblick Bahariya Hotel
Alpenblick Bahariya Hotel
#10 of 11 in Bawiti
4 reviews
0 mi away
International Hot Spring Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ahmed Safari Camp & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sandrose Hotel
Sandrose Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bawiti
14 reviews
0 mi away
Western Desert Hotel
Western Desert Hotel
#11 of 11 in Bawiti
12 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Aliyah Lodge
#5 of 7 in Bawiti
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Baharia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Baharia

Address: New Siwa Road | El Kasr Village, Bawiti 12311, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Bawiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bawiti
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Baharia is an exquisite eco-friendly boutique lodge in the Baharia Oasis; ideal for a break from the big city. Building architecture, interior decoration and land construction are made from indigenous materials that are harmonious with the traditional lifestyle of the breathtaking Western Desert. 23 spacious, individually designed rooms and suites; each enjoying its unique theme, antique furniture, air conditioning and its own bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sands Baharia Egypt/Bawiti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing