We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but cheap”
Review of Hotel Tren Dorado

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riobamba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Tren Dorado
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Riobamba
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Very average place, but at a good price. room was a bit noisy. room was cleanish, although not as good as other places i stayed in ecuador. overall, place was good for the price, but was one of the poorer places i stayed at in ecuador.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jszafraniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 103 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

The hotel is located very close to the train station. The owner is very helpful and friendly. Else the place would benefit form some renovation. Specially the breakfast area is dull and messy. We paid 48$ for 3 which is about OK.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I've traveled to Ecuador numerous times over the pat 5 years and have always stayed at this wonderful hotel. Over the years we've become close friends with the owner - we're almost family. The staff is friendly and efficient and the hotel is clean, cozy and centrally located. You can walk to most areas of the town and only 1/2 a block from the train station. There is a great breakfast layout and an on site expedition tour guide, Pablo who can take you to the top of Chimborazo or the Amazon jungle.

I highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgrodriguez_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here on Saturday night as a way to stay close to Chimborazo/Lagunas de Atillo area. Only $16 per person with breakfast included, clean, quiet, friendly staff. The only problems were the yucky smell coming out of the drains in the bathroom and the beachball-like pillows, ha. But other than that, a solid place to stay, especially if you want to be near the train station. Nice big patio inside. Parking is available if you have a car.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisf29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hotel Tren Dorado is a very basic place with few amenities, but this is reflected in the rather lowish price. However the one night I stayed here there were no major problems and I slept okay, so overall I have no complaints.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel is quiet, cosy, and extremely well kept. The location is also perfect for buying those Nariz del Diablo train tickets and going out for a meal or drink. The room was warm even though it was quite chilly outside. The breakfast is also delicious and wholesome and the staff are super friendly and helpful. The shower was also very hot and of good size. I would definitely stay again at this hotel if I were to return to Riobamba, especially when the prices are so reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank esmeralda_attard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is quite nice, but I didn't like Riobamba itself..
The hotel is a safe choice with really good extensive breakfast and a central location! We have just visited to have a break between Latacunga and Cuenca and it suits well for a good night sleep, but next time I would definitely skip Riobamba, it's ugly..

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riobamba hotels
10.6 mi away
Hosteria La Andaluza
Hosteria La Andaluza
#1 of 19 in Riobamba
421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montecarlo
Montecarlo
#14 of 19 in Riobamba
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mansion Santa Isabella
Mansion Santa Isabella
#4 of 19 in Riobamba
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bambu
Hotel Bambu
#10 of 19 in Riobamba
11 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel El Altar
Hotel El Altar
#13 of 19 in Riobamba
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shalom
Hotel Shalom
#6 of 19 in Riobamba
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tren Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tren Dorado

Address: Carabobo 2235 y 10 de Agosto, Riobamba 2235, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Chimborazo Province > Riobamba
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Riobamba
Number of rooms: 337
Also Known As:
Tren Dorado Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing