We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Riobamba”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda Abraspungo
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Riobamba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Lots of space
Beautiful rooms
Amazing bathrooms
Great price
Family or friends

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olsenmoeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 386 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

Abraspungo was recommended by another ecolodge member, and what a great referral!!
The rooms and the grounds were absolutely gorgeous, and the food was amazing!!!
Definately worth a stay!!! I wish we could have stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We spent one night here after a great train ride to Devils Nose. Place was very comfortable with warm fireplace in the common area's. Room was clean and the food was good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Went to this simply beautiful and elegantly appointed hotel that has taken the owners over 20 years of finding and placing antique paraphernalia in the different rooms of this gorgeous Hacienda. The bar has dozens of hats from the area adorning the wall, while the upstairs dining room has horse tacking from the past. Antiques, antiques everywhere. The rooms are fantastic , with working fireplaces in the room, that they come and light while you are checking in so they are nice and comfy when you enter them. Very large and very comfortable. The restaurant is excellent and the breakfast was fantastic, with perfectly done fried eggs, with ranch grown bacon and fresh breads, and oh those lovely fruit juices. Worth the price and more

Room Tip: Don't need one, they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toberua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Great, huge and nicely decorated rooms, the whole hacienda is very cozy and has nice gardens. Good breakfast but dinner was average.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lahueca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I deliberated for days about whether or not to write this review. My personal guidelines are to only post either excellent reviews as top recommendations, or terrible reviews as warnings to other travelers.

So here I am with a warning about our terrible experience with Abraspunga Hotel.

We booked our entire trip through an excellent and very high end travel agency, and we paid well in advance, guaranteeing our reservation for two nights. The plan was to stay two nights, one day to visit Baños about 1.5 hours away, and the next day to get an early start to reach Alausí and catch the train to Devil's Nose.

The day before we were to arrive at Abraspungo our travel agent called quite upset and embarrassed to break the news that Abraspungo had "overbooked" the hotel for our first night and that they would move us to another hotel at an equivalent level.

The trouble is that there is no such hotel in the area. After bouncing us around between two hotels, we finally had to settle for a hotel located 45 minutes away. We ended up arriving late at night, and since they were not expecting us we had to spend the night in an unheated room, which at that elevation in the Andes is unacceptable. But we were nonetheless grateful to the charming staff at this hotel for their efforts in helping us out at the last minute.

When we originally arrived at Abraspungo, we were met at the reception desk by a gentleman named Carlos who identified himself as the hotel manager. He nervously broke the news to me that he had no where for us to stay even though he acknowledged that we had a guaranteed reservation.

His story changed a couple of times while we discussed how to best resolve the situation, but by this time I had discovered that the real story was that a large group staying at the hotel needed an extra room. We were bumped out of our room to accommodate the large group! Carlos tried to explain with yet another story but by that point I just wanted to get out of there and find a place to stay, it was already getting late.

In the end we spent several hours trying to find another hotel, twice bumped by Carlos and the Abraspunga staff to 1 or 2 star alternatives, and for which we would not be credited the price difference.

The hotel did offer dinner as compensation for our troubles, but we declined as we could not stand to be there even for a free meal --not to mention that by this time we were tired, concerned about where we would be spending the night and thus "underwhelmed" by the gesture. There was also no other alternative for that city without compromising comfort and safety and thankfully, our driver and guide for the trip, Patricio Vallejo, insisted on contacting a particular hotel. They would take us and even though the accommodations there were not good (leaking water from the ceilings, no heat, etc...) we were still very grateful!

As an aside, we selected Abraspungo because on the website it appeared to be in the country, but in reality, it is located in a suburban subdivision and no where near the countryside.

Riobamba itself is a bustling large town, with noise and traffic as would be expected, but we failed to find much charm. The real attraction is Chimborazo volcano, which is surprisingly nearby (30 km) and spectacular! We even saw a beautiful inn but did not catch the name, should have stayed there...

For those taking the train to the Devil's Nose, which I recommend, there is unfortunately no where to stay in Alausí, where the train station is located. My suggestion would be to stay in Baños and get a very early start or go to Cuenca and double back. Alausí is a lovely town with small cafés and a lively market, it's worth spending a little time there.

If you do select staying at Abraspungo, just know that a prepaid, guaranteed reservation means nothing to them in the face of bumping you off for a better deal.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank CarlosRojasMonteAzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

They marketed it as an hacienda but it is not. Rooms, food and service is OK.

Room Tip: Rooms are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riobamba hotels
9.5 mi away
Hosteria La Andaluza
Hosteria La Andaluza
#1 of 19 in Riobamba
413 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mansion Santa Isabella
Mansion Santa Isabella
#3 of 19 in Riobamba
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Real Hotel & Spa
Casa Real Hotel & Spa
#4 of 19 in Riobamba
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Zeus Internacional
Hotel Zeus Internacional
#5 of 19 in Riobamba
135 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Bambu
Hotel Bambu
#10 of 19 in Riobamba
11 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hosteria El Troje
Hosteria El Troje
#15 of 19 in Riobamba
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Abraspungo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Abraspungo

Address: Km. 3 1/2 Via Riobamba - Guano, Riobamba 060150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Chimborazo Province > Riobamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Riobamba
Price Range: $128 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Abraspungo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderful Hacienda Abraspungo is located at 2,754 metres above sea level and is surrounded by the magnificence of the Ecuadorian Andes. It is named after a glacial valley which is situated between the Chimborazo Volcano and Carihuairazo, in the exact centre of Ecuador.Hacienda Abraspungo, with its comfortable, charming and high level installations offers a personalized service in the ideal spot to enjoy the peace and beauty of the Andes. The architectural style found here offers the best of traditional colonial design often used in the ancestral mansions and haciendas of Ecuador. The Hacienda is adorned with old photographs and illustrations of Andean landscapes, which today constitutes as a testimony to eras gone by. The antiques on display in the social areas give a colonial flavour as well as a feel for the pre-Colombian cultures of the region. The visitor can truly appreciate the richness of the natural resources offered by the Chimborazo Province and Ecuador in general. Each room takes its name from one of the mountains of Ecuador. That mountain is shown in the photographs displayed within the interior design in the room. The owner’s commitment is to create a working environment which allows sustainable growth, enhancing positive image and generating an overall feeling of trust between the working force, the clients, and the community, aiming to become a point of reference within the tourist industry of Ecuador and the city of Riobamba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda Abraspungo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abraspungo Hotel Riobamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing