We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Meal, Wonderful Environment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hosteria La Andaluza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hosteria La Andaluza
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Riobamba
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Meal, Wonderful Environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a wonderful meal and were impressed by the nice variety of both local ecuadorian dishes and international meals. My only complaint would be the quality of the coffee, as they could very much use a good barista.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EcuaMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    56
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
105
117
16
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito
Level Contributor
284 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I went to RIOBAMBA because I was going to take the train to The Devil's Nose., and looking in Trip Advisory I found out this was a very good place. No mistake. Excelent service, Very good food, the people, from the moment we enter the Hotel, until we left were courteous, and always ready to help.
For the price the room was very good: probably the bathroom not the best, but good.
The whole Hacienda is marvelous, with many antiques, you can play ping pong stay near the fire place at the dining room.My recommendation ask for a room as far away from The Pan- American highway. Very good food specially the Vegetables Raclette, and the Fondue of Vegetables. Wines they have very good selection.

Room Tip: Ask for the new refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

After a bad hotel experience in downtown riobamba the staff here assured we were well taken care of and comfortable. We called late and they guaranteed we would have food to eat when we arrived. The desk and kitchen staff assured that both the adults and kids traveling were happy with our meals and we were treated very well even though we arrived late and they had to hold the kitchen open for us.

Our room had rose petals on the bed as well as fruit and water available. There was a heater in the room and the pillows were comfortable with down comforters. The bed was just a little hard, but comfortable nonetheless.

The breakfast buffet was amazing. It was one of the best I have enjoyed since beginning frequent travel to ecuador 5 years ago. Quite frankly it was better than many breakfasts I have paid for. It included humitas, nata, chorizo, fine ham, perfectly ripe fruit, and delicious breads, plus more.

We arrived late and had to leave quite early in the morning, so I would love to return to enjoy the property more and sing some karaoke at night. :) The staff here are of five star quality. It may be pricey for ecuadorian standards, but traveling with a US budget you get a lot for the money. A similar place in the US would cost three to four times the price. Fantastic job to management and staff.

Room Tip: We were late to call for a reservation. During high tourist season call in advance, you wont be disa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level Contributor
227 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We're driving the Andes & get to experience the true reality of this beautiful country. Located in the midst of nowhere, surrounded by extreme poverty is an amazing property that appears to have figured out travelers while employing local staff. Servers in tuxedos, welcoming glogg on arrival, rose petals on the bed, fresh floral arrangements throughout ... the only downside was getting to the place if you're driving there for the 1st time. Google map is useless. Suggested putting directions on site to staff.


From riobamba, stay on N panamericana hwy. Pay toll, then ~4km north, property will be on right. We wasted way too much time in riobamba confirming we were headed right way.

Room Tip: Room was spacious, if want quiet, ask for room at beck of property to distance from the highway ; tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dapinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, Ecuador
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

This is an older establishment which is being updated bit by bit. The building is spectacular both inside and out. The rooms are huge, the beds are warm and inviting and views fantastic. The halls, bars, restaurant are home to a wide assortment of antique radios, sewing machines and wood stoves. Just exploring the grounds and buildings would be a worthwhile two day stay. The restaurant onsite has fantastic food. The variety of soups (we tried all of them) and flavours delicous. Best of all the staff in all areas is outstanding and while not all spoke english, helped us with our spanish. WiFi is great everwhere in building. There are fireplaces and heaters to keep you warm at night. A great experience which we will repeat soon!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterandJane357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
148 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel lies outside Riobamba and has the appearance of a converted hacienda. The rooms are large but at night they become quite cold. This affects the bathrooms particularly which are quite uncomfortable.
The hotel is filled with antiques and artifacts which would be quite attractive in different circumstances but do not add to the comfort. The rooms can lie quite a long way from reception. The staff are helpful and pleasant.
Sadly this probably the best hotel in the area

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaAndaluza, Gerente at Hosteria La Andaluza, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Adrian Ross,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us here at Hostería Hacienda La Andaluza. Although we strive to provide a flawless visit for all of our guests, we obviously did not meet this goal for you.
We truly regret that you found our bathrooms uncomfortable and cold, we have set our rooms temperature to a comfortable level for most people, but when we are requested, we increase the temperature of the particular room to make our guests feel more at ease; I am really sorry that we have not solved this problem for you, measures have been taken against this punctual issue.

While we have been recognized in Ecuador as one of the best Haciendas in the Andes, and we are pleased to have very positive comments from our guests from all over the world, unfortunately is not always of everyone´s taste. The valuable collection of antiques that we have is part of the charm of our Hacienda, because some of them belonged to the ancient and historic house; and according to many of our visitors it transports you to a magical antique colonial world.

I am pleased to know our personal was helpful and pleasant, we have passed your comments to all of them and they appreciate your feedback. We hope you will visit with us again in the near future to give us an opportunity to provide the memorable vacation you anticipated and deserved.
Again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back some day.



Best Regards,
Catherine Gallegos
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stopped there to overnight on our way to Cuenca. Comfort and a way the place was decorated shows a great deal of a good taste and a love to antiques. It is a pitty we didn't have more time to spend (another night), but even so there we spent one of the most beautiful afternoons and nights on our way through Ecuador.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nik-tik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riobamba hotels
10.5 mi away
Mansion Santa Isabella
Mansion Santa Isabella
#3 of 17 in Riobamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hacienda Abraspungo
Hacienda Abraspungo
#2 of 17 in Riobamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
9.7 mi away
Casa Real Hotel & Spa
Casa Real Hotel & Spa
#4 of 17 in Riobamba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hotel Bambu
Hotel Bambu
#10 of 17 in Riobamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Zeus Internacional
Hotel Zeus Internacional
#5 of 17 in Riobamba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hosteria El Troje
Hosteria El Troje
#15 of 17 in Riobamba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria La Andaluza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria La Andaluza

Property: Hosteria La Andaluza
Address: Panamericana Norte, Km. 16 via a Quito | HACIENDA CHUQUIPOGYO, Riobamba 060150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Chimborazo Province > Riobamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Riobamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria La Andaluza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hosteria La Andaluza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria La Andaluza Hotel Riobamba
Hosteria La Andaluza Riobamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing