We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Oasis
Nearby Hotels
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa 1881(Riobamba)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Apart Hotel Humboldt(Riobamba)(Great Value!)
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Shalom(Riobamba)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Altar(Riobamba)
$40
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
37
42
31
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
42
31
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstained glasshot waterrock wallsthe ownerdoors and windowsoff street parkinghome away from homenice hostalpretty gardenrooms are cleantrain stationwifi worksdouble roombed was comfortabletwo nightscatshostel
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 115 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Rooms are a little musty and the hot water was more in the luke warm range. However, the outside garden and the very kind family that runs the hostal, make this a nice place to stay in Riobamba. We stayed here twice, both while passing through town on the bus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I *really* wanted to love this place. The family greeted me with a huge smile when I walked in with no reservation at 1pm. When you walk into the courtyard, it's a truly tranquil spot in the middle of a fairly large city. My room had stained glass door and window, with no curtains. Pretty, but lots of light from outside. A problem for some perhaps.

Positives:
Minimal street noise. Impressive for it's location.
Family jumps to assist, and they are genuinely friendly. They even walked me to my cab when I left.
Room overall could be considered nice for the price - except for what I note below.
Big, hot shower.
Refrigerator, stove, and cooking and eating utensils available for guests.
Wifi was fast. I wasn't charged the $1 even when I mentioned that I had used it.
Decent location. About 9 blocks from main action.
Bed was comfortable, room was clean.

Negatives:
Hostal seems popular with young smokers. I did not enjoy having several 20 somethings sitting directly outside my room talking and smoking until past 10pm.
My room - #3 - definitely smelled of smoke and mildew.
In the morning I awoke to the smell of raw sewage coming from the toilet.

Overall it's probably a decent value for the $15 price, but I have no other comparisons in Riobamba. The room smell was a turnoff for me though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin_from_AKandCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

An inexpensive option in Riobamba but a great place to plan your adventures from.
The family that run Oasis are always on hand to help with anything you need. There is a small and fairly basic kitchen but great to prepare breakfast in with fresh fruit fom the Markets that dot the city.

There is Wifi throughout at a small charge, TVs in all the rooms and most with ensuite bathrooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stjohn and Clar... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Pros: Really friendly family running the place.
Nice courtyard garden. Kitchen ok for basic meals.

Cons: our room really smelled of must and bleach. I think that paying and additional $1.00 for wifi per day is really cheeky. Hot water not guaranteed in the shower.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank baileyOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

At first glance it did not inspire confidence but in the end it was ok, we were put in a triple room. a rather eccentric owners. the back of the hostel is lovely. small klitchen. fairky quiet a bit of walk from the city centre and train station. all rooms with tv and hot shower.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms from the back not the front nicer area.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews