We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveler rating
10
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering google translate empanadas otavalo area one night verdant chickens fires guide waterfall property meals mountains fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 11 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2018

My husband and I stayed here with our 8 and 10 year olds in March and couldn't have been more pleased.

First, the property is stunningly beautiful. It's nestled in a verdant, eucalyptus-filled Andean mountain valley. A creek snakes through the property, just a stone's throw from the casa we stayed in (Casa Ana).

Casa Ana was beautifully decorated. The large sun-filled kitchen and dining room were perfect for morning and afternoon meals, while the fire-lit salas offered a cozy spot to sip one's morning coffee or enjoy an evening glass of wine.

The staff couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. They took our children under their wings and showed them the ropes of farm life, from milking cows to making cheese and empanadas, collecting eggs for breakfast, feeding the animals and more.

The day we arrived was my son's 8th birthday and Janine arranged for a family pinata party for him. Such a special and fun way to kickoff our stay.

Although this is set up to be a self-catering place, we were able to arrange to have meals prepared for us. The food was fantastic. Home cooked, often using ingredients grown or produced right on the farm.

Janine arranged for us to have a guide one of our days. Our guide was fantastic--the best we had during our 10 days in Ecuador.

A few caveats: the drive back in to the valley where San Juan de la Vega is located is long and bumpy. So while it's well located for doing some sightseeing in the Otavalo area, it's probably a bit remote for someone wanting to go into town frequently. Also, the staff's English is limited. If you don't know much Spanish, it might be helpful to have Google translate. Finally, as another has mentioned, we had virtually no cell service while there. None of these were problems for us, but just wanted to make others aware.

San Juan de la Vega alone would be a reason for us to return to Ecuador!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MnTravelingMom00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Janine told me in advance that her place wasn't the right place for me, but I wouldn't listen. It turns out that she was right, though it's not at all what you are probably thinking. You see, I needed a hotel to use as a jump off point to visit several destinations in the Otavalo area. It turns out that Janine' place IS a self-contained destination.

It's out of the way, kind of hard to find, tranquil and stunningly beautiful. A nearly perfect setting for a peaceful holiday or extended weekend with family or friends. However, as I was traveling solo, had a sightseeing agenda and only limited time, it was not the right place for me.

The property features several guest cabins or rustic guest houses. My quarters appeared to be the smallest by far, suitable for one or two guests at most. Except for the flat screen TV with Nextflix, it was a relatively plain space, though fully furnished and equipped. My unit had a kitchenette, included dishes, etc., so you could cook your own meals, provided you thought to bring supplies, which I did not. In addition to its natural beauty, the property features horses and other livestock, including goats, cows, llamas and chickens. All in all, quite an eye feast to a city dweller like me.

My criticisms? First, the place doesn't accept credit cards, which is a bit of a hassle. Second, it could be more clearly advertised for what it really is: a resort, as opposed to a traditional hotel. Perhaps because it's out of the way, while there I had trouble getting a clear internet signal and had no telephone service whatsoever. Finally, while Janine's staff could not be nicer or more eager to please, no one spoke much English. In combination with a lack of phone service, I felt a bit isolated.

Janine was very understanding when I decided to move after only one night, and even offered to refund some of my money, despite the fact it was more "my bad" than hers that I departed early. Knowing what I now today, however, I might one day return, fully prepared to take advantage of what this splendid property has to offer.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

I cannot say enough about this beautiful place! This was the 2nd time we visited San Juan de la Vega. We decided to stay here when we renewed our vows. We booked 2 of the houses on the property,Casa Ana and Casa Monica. The property is beautiful, it's like you are in your own piece of paradise. There is so much to do that you do not have to leave or you can tour the surrounding tourist areas. The caretakers are eager to please and their service and attention is incredible. Janine, the owner was amazing at helping us plan our vow renewal celebration. She went above and beyond to make sure it was special. She planned it as if it were her own celebration. The houses were impeccable, the beds were very comfortable with top of the line bedding and the amenities were abundant. I would highly recommend this place, go as a couple or go with family, your stay will be memorable. We will always add this destination as a must when we visit Ecuador. Thank you JANINE and David, we can't thank you enough for your attention and warmth! See you next year!

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Odyssey578785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful, peaceful location under towering verdant mountains which are dormant volcanoes. We stayed with another couple (and our combined 7 boys aged 5-15) after a day at the market in Otavalo and loved it. The boys freely roamed and explored the grounds and fully entertained and enjoyed themselves. The house we stayed in had several well-appointed bedrooms, a large, beautifully decorated dining room, and a kitchen large enough and well stocked to prepare meals. There were two charming sitting areas with fireplaces, and we found it very relaxing to visit, glasses of good wine in hand, as fires crackled and the day came to an end.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank mae2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017

The food was amazing!!! Had cream of cava bean soup AND Chef Jaime shared the recipe. His homemade sorbet was the absolutely perfect end to our meal. If you are in the area the family will welcome you very warmly.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews