We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous and Cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Luna Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We initially planned on staying at La Luna for two nights, but ended up staying for 5. That's how wonderful this place is. The staff are friendly an accessible and so helpful. The owner, Tamara, is accessible as well and so friendly. We felt welcomed into their hostel family.
The food is delicious! Before we arrived we ha stayed at Hacienda Cusin, which supposedly has amazing food- this is not true. It is bland and overpriced. We were so pleasantly surprised to have a delicious three course meal of delectable soup, exceptional pasta and tasty flambé all for 7.50 - not to mention a jug of wine for $6. Dinner is served next to a cozy fireplace where their adorable dogs, Townes, Rumi and Chewy, rest and keep warm. Breakfasts range from French toast, to granola and fruit, to hard boiled eggs. The best part - delicious, REAL coffee flows.

The rooms are clean and cozy. We had a private room with a private bathroom. Our place was equipped with a fireplace that the staff happily prepared for us every night. Also, our showers were definitely hot!

The main reason to stay here is the view. Sitting on their well maintained grassy knoll you can see the Cotocachi volcano to your left and Imbabura to your left. Behind you are the mountains surrounding the Mojunda Lakes. It is absolutely gorgeous. Sunset, every night, was the best part of our day.

The hostel is about a mile or two walk (downhill) to wonderful Otovalo and a $4 cab ride back up. Otovalo is an amazing town with a fantastic market, but we chose this hostel to be away from the hustle and bustle. If you prefer a little refuge from city life, with a breathtaking view, then you should definitely stay at La Luna.

Thank you Rosa, Ivan, Fernando, Tamara, Kevin, Emma, Townes, Rumi and Chewy for a wonderful stay. We hope to return soon.

Sincerely,
Ross and Sarah Holland
NY, NY

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swood33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for La Luna Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 98 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Can't wait to go back!! Tamara and her family are wonderful! They can't do enough for you! The staff is very, very helpful and soooo nice. The property is beautiful, relaxing and very laid back. Breakfast every morning was very tasty. Ate dinner there a couple of nights, the food was wonderful, fire blazing and great company. I traveled alone and felt very safe and welcome there. Like I said can't wait to go back!!.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMermaid29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I were meant to stay here for 2 nights but ended up staying 5 as it was a lovely place. Loads to do, friendly staff, great food and a great price. Highly recommend staying here!..................... ..

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

So glad we found this place. Just a few kilometers out of Otavalo, with stunning mountain views and in a quiet rural setting. It is well situated on the road to Mojanda Lakes, which are great for hiking. After busy days in town or in the mountains, it was a warm and friendly refuge to come back to. The staff, British and Ecuadorian, were most helpful and made great meals. The dining room with its raging fire was a wonderful place to meet other guests and swap stories. Rooms ranged from $20-$26 (single) and $32-$42 (double), tax and breakfast included. Having a fire in our own room was nice at night.

We had trouble initially trying to phone here from the US, but e-mail worked fine after that.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra to get a room with its own fireplace, although the abundant, heavy blankets w...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balibabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I found La Luna on-line about two weeks ago and I have been in touch with Tamara several times. Anytime I have emailed her she has gotten back to me the same day or the next morning. Tamara offered to make arrangements to get from the airport to their place. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for her. Looking forward to a great, relaxing visit with them!!!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank TheMermaid29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed at La Luna for two nights and it was a very positive experience. Staff were helpful and friendly, rooms were clean and the food was amazing.

Rates vary from 14-25$ US/w breakfast a night at time of posting.

The restaurant has a decent sized menu with breakfast, sandwiches, starters and a full dinner menu. Prices were very inexpensive and ranged from $1-6. I would highly recommend the "La Luna pizza", their house special cooked on a flat crust. For sure this is one of my top 5 pizzas in the WORLD! Perfectly cooked, seasoned and the toppings were fresh as you can get. Friend had the Mediterranean Salad and his praise was similar. Always very fresh.

Drinks were cheap as well ($2 for a tall boy beer, $5 for a jug of hot cinnamon and booze with local fruits, $15 for a bottle of imported wine.)

I would recommend the more expensive suites though as you have a fireplace, bathroom and heater. (It gets damn cold in the nights even for Canadian travelers.)

Room Tip: Opt for a few extra dollars to get a private fireplace. Very cozy at night. Try the Pizza or Salads...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliot154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights early in our three week visit of Ecuador, and liked it so much we came back for two more nights at the end of out trip. We splurged!? And spent $42/night for ensuite B&B with fireplace. And it was needed! The temps drop to seemingly near freezing each night.

During the day we enjoyed the hikes around, and the walk down into nearby Otavalo, especially for its Saturday market day. During the evening the camaraderie with visitors from all over the world around the fireplace with food and drink in the main lodge was unmatched with anywhere we've been.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
224 reviews
3.9 mi away
cabin Balcon del Lago
cabin Balcon del Lago
#3 of 41 in Otavalo
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Rose Cottage
Hosteria Rose Cottage
#9 of 41 in Otavalo
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hostal El Geranio
Hostal El Geranio
#8 of 41 in Otavalo
35 reviews
2.7 mi away
Flying Donkey
Flying Donkey
#3 of 31 in Otavalo
138 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Luna Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Luna Mountain Lodge

Address: | km 4.5 via a Mojanda, Otavalo, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Otavalo
Price Range: $32 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Luna Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Luna Hotel Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing