We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Colonial Hotel”
Review of Hostal Dona Esther

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Dona Esther
Ranked #6 of 33 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a good stay with perfect staff who could answer all our questions about what is possible in Otovalo and region. The hotel was exactly what we expected, just as we saw at their site. Bathroom basic but clean. Room looks really nice with lokal made decorations, good beds. About the restaurant; it is an experience to eat the pizza's which are freshley made and baked in a original oven, beautiful taste. All the other dishes we tasted were also really good.
Located in the centre of Otovalo close to the famous market and beautiful centre of Otovalo.
We had a lovely stay in Hostal Dona Esther and we will be back!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank berrypeggybod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 160 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Price for this lodging is way too high for what you get. No mattress pad on bed, 1 light over bed, thin pillows, dripping shower, no Tv except small 14" in the "reading room ". Just discovered credit cards not accepted! Have to use paypal & show proof of payment. Wasn't expecting a resort but for cost, certainly thought this should be comparable to other Ecuadorian hotels. Not the case. Musty smell in the bedding. Staff was okay but not extraordinary. Great location, good map available to easily find the place. While the crafts market is a draw, this property is fairly run down for what it represents itself to be.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dapinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

I'm sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay. With the complaints about the room you had, you could have chosen another hotel, we don't oblige anyone to stay with us, it is your own free choice.. Sometimes people just like other kinds of hotels and not the colonial style hotel we have,

We don't have tv in the rooms, because a lot of our guests don't even like to have tv in their room and because we don't like the noise of 13 tv's in a small building. Of course you could have asked before checking in. The paypall service works very fine for a lot of guests and besides, it's a lot cheaper and safer than the regular credit card service in Ecuador (and we pay the Paypal costs). The fact that we don't accept credit cards in the hotel is stated everywhere, online and in the hotel.

It would have been nice if you had chosen to complain to us during your stay and not only online, there's even a small survey in your room to mention anything broken or failing, so that it can be fixed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Booked room more than six months ago when breakfast was included. Arrived to find out that was no longer true. Internet was out after the first two days and never got fixed. Owner shows up around the time the bar opens. When I asked about being compensated for the lack of internet access, I was told he'd call the police on me. I stay more than 200 nights a year in hotels and have never been treated this way. Avoid at all cost! The staff was very nice and even apologized for his action upon checkout.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beattietx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

So, we see you're back again. We already wrote an answer somewhere else to your earlier angry review, You probably read that and you decided to write an angry review again, but this time on Tripadvisor, and that on a Christmas day.
I could repeat this answer, but I think it says enough to tell some facts. Breakfast was never included in the room price (for 10 years now) and it seems a bit silly to be angry about 4 dollars for your breakfast, anyhow.
The internet had a problem, yes, like we explained to you over and over. It was fixed after you left (that is, after a week). Things don't go that fast in Ecuador, although I would have liked to. Anyway, there was internet in the building, only not in your room and besides that, it is a free service, not a right.
Of course we're not in the hotel 24/7, we also have a life. Besides that, there's a restaurant, not a bar. And last but not least, our staff was afraid of you, and didn't know what to tell you anymore about the internet because they explained many times.
Of course, you could have left earlier, because it really seems you hated your stay, I remember my husband also offered to find you another hotel, but that was not the idea. Maybe, just maybe, you just wanted the discount, which in fact, you already had because I gave you a 10% discount with your reservation.

We have many satisfied guests, as everyone can read everywhere, but sometimes someone comes along who would better have chosen another kind of hotel. I remember this couple had plans of living in Ecuador, which we strongly do not recommend for them. If you can't adjust in any way, it will be hard for you to live here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Great location for this cute little Hostal. Very close to all the auction in town....two block away from the Market and almost the same distance to the saturday Market at Plaza de los Ponchos.

Breakfast and lunch/dinner is offered for a small price in this Hostal and the staff there are the most wonderful, especially Lucy, who was very helpful to us.

After our stay in Otavalo, I realized that I forgot my power cord for my laptop. So I called Lucy and within 48 hours, my power cord was mailed to Cuence, our next stop. The service provided by this Hostal is top class and I would recommend this Hostal to everyine who wants to visit Otavalo.

Room Tip: All room face the indoor courtyard. There is really not much noise to worry about
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisf255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

very beautiful rooms, good diner and breakfast, but the patio isn't so good for people who have asthma because of the smell of fungus specially when the tiles of the patio are wet, the same problem occurs in the restaurant , the wall behind the rietmats have the same smell

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gooreind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

The smell you're writing about is probably because of the plants and natural tiles, the same ones we have in the restaurant. These tiles are cleaned profoundly every 2 weeks and may smell wet after cleaning, , but that's all in my opinion and we never had any complaints about that. Anyway, we're glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Great location. Nice clean rooms.
People who work there arranged reliable fairly priced transport for us twice.
They had a driver pick us up in Papallacta and drive us to Otavalo.
Then same driver took us to the airport when we were ready to leave town. Note: it is about the same distance from Otavalo to the new airport as it is from Quito to new airport. If you have a late evening flight, like we did, you can do the market and see the town, then head to the airport after an early dinner. (Hotel held our bags for us while we went to the market.)

Room Tip: We had a room facing street, but there was not too much traffic. There was a rooster somewhere near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieRooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Location is walking distance to all the markets.
Building has Spanish decor and style with solid wood floors
Clean rooms - ours had cob webs and lamps were really dusty
Hot water for showers
Room was above the restaurant and kitchen. Quiet after it closes.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms not above the kitchen Need to pay with cash. They have hefty services charges th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nannee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

thank you for pointing out dust in the rooms, we'll take better care of that! By the way, the prices mentioned in the hotel reception an on our website are including all taxes and services. Only breakfast is complementary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
#2 of 14 in Otavalo
149 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
0.8 mi away
Las Palmeras Inn
Las Palmeras Inn
#4 of 33 in Otavalo
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Casa Sol Otavalo
La Casa Sol Otavalo
#1 of 1 in Peguche
87 reviews
2.4 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
227 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hacienda Cusin
Hacienda Cusin
#2 of 33 in Otavalo
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Dona Esther? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Dona Esther

Address: Juan Montalvo 4-44 y Bolivar, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range: $54 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dona Esther is a small colonial style B&B in the center of Otavalo, near the famous Saturday crafts market and all other activity. With only 12 rooms and a family room for 4 on the top floor, we can keep it personal. Your room has a view on the green inner court yard, so you can take a seat outside your room and enjoy a glass of beer or wine after a day of activities. Our restaurant with a delicious and inventive menu is just downstairs, our reading room has enough books to buy or exchange and the Wifi is free for guests. A choice of breakfasts available. Restaurant closed on monday evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Dona Esther reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing