We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Otavalo”
Review of Hostal Dona Esther

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Dona Esther
Ranked #6 of 28 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Otavalo”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

A delightful place in the heart of Otavalo; probably the best place in town. The owners have created a charming environment that is run with a European sensibility about service. They speak English (Spanish and Dutch as well) and provide great information about anything you would need in the area. They have the best showers in Ecuador, and the place is relatively quiet, although very close to the center of the city, so you are mere footsteps away from anything you'd want to do. The restaurant is very good, and the steak with pepper sauce (one of their specialties) is astonishing. Everyone at the desk is invariably cheerful and helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There is an apartment on the third floor available for larger groups or longer stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    55
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
78
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denia, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Beautiful hostel (12 rooms plus small apartment), good rooms (beware doubles, as often in Ecuador, extremely small), great location (near the main square, short walk to the market/Plaza de Ponchos), vriendly staff and excellent restaurant (though our experience was to avoid the cocktails - only tried once but 6 people, none good).
Beer (most expensive we've seen in four months spent in Ecuador!) and soft drinks strangely very overpriced, whereas a reasonable house wine was a very ok price.

Can be noisy when full due to construction of the hostel around an inner courtyard, otherwise beautifully quiet (save the odd dog, but you cannot escape these in Ecuador!) in the twin bed rooms - the double rooms are on the road side so would be more noisy.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would go back, albeit to have our cocktails and drinks elsewhere!

Room Tip: Doubles very small (typical Ecuador) so consider twin bed rooms. Also - twin rooms are on the quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelaniedeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a lovely, cozy hotel with a wonderful location. It is only 1/2 block from the main square where there is much action. Our stay was during the Christmas season, so each day we could hear music playing from the square or nearby alerting us to the fact there was some festivity happening.

If you come here for the markets, you will love the accessibility. Food and clothing markets flourish just past the church in the square. The handicraft market, which is now daily, though smaller during the week, is an easy stroll.

The rooms are well maintained, clean with very comfortable beds. Breakfast was included in our plan and there were choices from a menu. The restaurant is pleasant and open for other meals, but we did not partake. Speaking of which, our room was over the restaurant, so early mornings it did get a bit noisy with the staff talking and preparing, but not enough to be annoying.

The hotel will arrange for a private tour guide, Luis. His English is very limited, but we used him for four hours and had a great time. He charges $10. an hour.

When I return to Otavalo, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to book a room to the side of the hotel, like rooms 3 or 4 on the first floor or rooms 9 or 10 o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BudaBaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in the top roof appartment with our 3 children and this was great. You have a smaal but practical kitchen, a livingroom, diningpleace, nice beroom and confortable bathroom and the best is the big roof top terrace. You can enjoy the beutiful city of otavalo from here. Th hotel is in the middle of the town, you walk your way throug this nice little indegeous town. We really enjoyed it here. The children loved the pizza and when our oldest was suffering a little of altitud disease the friendly receprionist prepaired a "magic" tea with coco leaves, Very nice hosts as well!

Room Tip: Defenitley the rooftop appartment :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maudjeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Neat and confortable hostal, well situated. Breakfast not included, but good ones served at the restaurant downstairs. Good value for money. We enjoyed our stay, I recommend it. Beautiful view from the roof!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexBlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed there for the week-end and had a very nice time. The location and service and rooms are great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matse1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Pros: Extremely clean. Cheap. Excellent restaurant downstairs. Great location, within walking distance to the market.

Cons: Very loud on the night before market (not totally the hotels problem, but still). Small rooms. Sheets were very thin and worn (but clean).

I have seen a number of reviewers that noted their rooms were very cold. That was not my experience and I stayed here in April 2012. Just thought I would mention that.

Room Tip: Off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasavana27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry you apparently had thin sheets, I'll let that check and replace the old ones. As for the room size, we have different sized rooms, depends on the type of room.

The cold is something we can't help very much, it was a cold rainy season and some people are used to their comfortable heated homes. The fire place in the reading room - as another customer mentioned - is indeed badly constructed and doesn't work. We're planning to put an alternative heater in there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
2.4 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#9 of 14 in Otavalo
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flying Donkey
Flying Donkey
#3 of 28 in Otavalo
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Casa Sol Otavalo
La Casa Sol Otavalo
#1 of 1 in Peguche
83 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hacienda Cusin
Hacienda Cusin
#1 of 28 in Otavalo
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Dona Esther? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Dona Esther

Property: Hostal Dona Esther
Address: Juan Montalvo 4-44 y Bolivar, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dona Esther is a small colonial style B&B in the center of Otavalo, near the famous Saturday crafts market and all other activity. With only 12 rooms and a family room for 4 on the top floor, we can keep it personal. Your room has a view on the green inner court yard, so you can take a seat outside your room and enjoy a glass of beer or wine after a day of activities. Our restaurant with a delicious and inventive menu is just downstairs, our reading room has enough books to buy or exchange and the Wifi is free for guests. A choice of breakfasts available. Restaurant closed on monday evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Dona Esther reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing