We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to do the Saturday markets”
Review of Hostal Dona Esther

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Dona Esther
Ranked #6 of 27 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect place to do the Saturday markets”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed there for the week-end and had a very nice time. The location and service and rooms are great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matse1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    54
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
78
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Pros: Extremely clean. Cheap. Excellent restaurant downstairs. Great location, within walking distance to the market.

Cons: Very loud on the night before market (not totally the hotels problem, but still). Small rooms. Sheets were very thin and worn (but clean).

I have seen a number of reviewers that noted their rooms were very cold. That was not my experience and I stayed here in April 2012. Just thought I would mention that.

Room Tip: Off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasavana27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry you apparently had thin sheets, I'll let that check and replace the old ones. As for the room size, we have different sized rooms, depends on the type of room.

The cold is something we can't help very much, it was a cold rainy season and some people are used to their comfortable heated homes. The fire place in the reading room - as another customer mentioned - is indeed badly constructed and doesn't work. We're planning to put an alternative heater in there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
213 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Hostal Dona Esther is recommended by International Living magazine and yes, it looks delightful and is in a good location. However, the rooms were FREEZING (in April) and the blankets were inadequate and as heavy as horse blankets (in a region which has an alpaca industry). When we asked for the fire in the lounge to be lit, we were told it didn't work! The restaurant was over-priced and the food was mediocre.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethnee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Nice quiet and cosy hotel with good food and neat rooms in the middle of town. Close to everything

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaBe_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I was originally staying at another property which was better suited to my budget, but stumble over this place for dinner when it was pouring rain. I decided to have a look at the rooms and found them to be better than my other hotel. Yes this place is probably a bit expensive, and the rooms can be a bit chilly with the tiles. Saying that, my other hotel was quite cold as well as the room was near the open garden. The bathroom is clean and functional and there are a lot of stairs if you are on the upper floors which may be an issue for some travellers. This place sold itself to us on the location (most of the more affordable places were a few blocks away from the market) and the great restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busybeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia de Caraquez, Ecuador
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed just one night but wished we could stay longer. Behind the gates you will find an oasis, the courtyard is lovely, plants in big ceramic pots decorate each of the 2 floors. The rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floor, the ground floor is where the restaurant, office, loan library and computer room are located. The restaurant serves good food, the staff friendly, the rooms basic but lovely. Musicians played in the courtyard and were joined by some others, making the evening even more delightful.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are probably quieter, further away from any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yevettee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The beds were comfortable but chilly. The shower was one of the best we found in Ecuador. The food was good and breakfast was nice. We certainly felt safe as the door is locked at night and it wasn't clearly posted where to find the night watchman to get out if needed. Having our laundry done wasn't an option - they charge high rates per item - not per weight. And there was no ability to do it ourselves. Not a backpacker hostal. Easy walking distance to all over town. Upon checkout we had a surprise. Another person's room was charged to us too. Readily cleared up with a phone call - but glad we asked for an itemized bill.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hikergirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Indeed, we are not a backpackers hostel, as stated in many places, we are a small hotel. The problem is that many travellers think a "hostal" is the same as a "hostel", which is not the case. In Ecuador it is simply a name for a small hotel. Our laundry service is not meant for large bulks of laundry, it is just a small service we offer for our guests if they want to use it. For a change, you get it back dried and ironed. You could have found a laundry easily somewhere else in town and do your own washing, we would have been happy to give you directions. As for expensive: I guess you made your own choice when you decided to stay with us, there are many options in Otavalo for a real backpacker.
As for the other room apparently charged to you, I don't recall the situation, I guess there was a mix up in reception, for which I apologize. But I'm glad to hear that problem was solved soon enough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
2.4 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#9 of 14 in Otavalo
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flying Donkey
Flying Donkey
#3 of 27 in Otavalo
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Curinan
Hostal Curinan
#4 of 38 in Otavalo
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Palmeras Inn
Las Palmeras Inn
#4 of 27 in Otavalo
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Dona Esther? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Dona Esther

Property: Hostal Dona Esther
Address: Juan Montalvo 4-44 y Bolivar, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dona Esther is a small colonial style B&B in the center of Otavalo, near the famous Saturday crafts market and all other activity. With only 12 rooms and a family room for 4 on the top floor, we can keep it personal. Your room has a view on the green inner court yard, so you can take a seat outside your room and enjoy a glass of beer or wine after a day of activities. Our restaurant with a delicious and inventive menu is just downstairs, our reading room has enough books to buy or exchange and the Wifi is free for guests. A choice of breakfasts available. Restaurant closed on monday evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Dona Esther reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing