We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly a Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada del Quinde

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Otavalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada del Quinde
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly a Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

I was a bit apprehensive when I found out the hotel was sold to a new owner, but when I met Maggie, she instantly put us to ease. She was absolutely fantastic and so is her staff of all local people. Maggie has done an outstanding job taking over the hotel. She greets each guest and takes the time to talk with them. The rooms are very cozy and comfortable with local art, good solid furniture, a heater to keep your room warm, a large bathroom and big shelves for storage. The shower was absolute heaven with plenty of hot water. Breakfast is included in the room tariff.

We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night over Halloween weekend and wish we could have stayed longer. Maggie was extremely helpful with arranging a driver to take us to our next destination. The food in the hotel restaurant was outstanding. Everything was fresh and delicious. The largest market in South America is only a few blocks from the hotel, very convenient. What bargains!!

Maggie also told us where the most reliable banks were near the market and where to take my laundry to be done. We had just come from the jungle portion of our trip and needed to clean up the mud!! It was an amazing bargain compared to what it costs to get laundry done in Quito. I was sick with bronchitis when I arrived and Maggie offered to call her doctor. She kept checking with me to make sure I was recovering OK.

The hotel is exactly like the pictures (maybe even better) you see on the TripAdvisor's website. The dining room with a fireplace is beautiful. The placemats on the table even have hummingbirds woven in. Our room faced a great garden with lots of hummingbirds. Since I enjoy gardening at home, I really enjoyed being able relax and walk in the garden and take time to smell the flowers! The patio is a great place to eat lunch or dinner. The dancers and muscians that perform on Friday nights were delightful.

It was so peaceful and comfortable, I really hated to leave. There is so much more to do in the area that we did not have time to do.

If I ever get a chance to return, I woudn't even consider staying anywhere else in Otavalo.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tropical_Sea_Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    52
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
87
148
39
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

This hotel is located in a relatively quiet location about 6 blocks from the middle of town. It has 16 rooms and two apartments. It has a casual restaurant on-site that serves breakfast (which is included in the room price and delicious), lunch and dinner items. Also, it has a comfortable seating area near a fireplace and a computer with internet access. The rooms are modest, but comfortable. They have large showers with excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water during select hours. Also, there are space heaters in each room to help keep you warm on cool nights. The owner of the hotel, Maggie, was so nice and helpful to us (especially with making plans for sight-seeing tours and transportation to/from Quito). She is from the United States so her English (in addition to her Spanish) is excellent. If I should return to Otavalo, another stay at this hotel is definite.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misterbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

La Posada del Quinde was warm, welcoming and absolutely charming. The new owner, Maggie, made my friend and me feel perfectly at home in this delightful spot in Otavalo. This independent world traveler highly recommends a stay. Carole/Ct.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

This was the absolute perfect place for our getaway to Otavalo. The rooms are extremely comfortable and quiet, overlooking the beautiful flower gardens and outdoor patio, with a great restaurant featuring a delicious all-natural and varied menu. Maggie, the owner and host from Canada, was extremely friendly and knowledgable. She offered a variety of suggestions of sites to see, directions to get there, and all kinds of helpful information. She even set us up for a private visit with a local well-known weaver in a neighboring town. At dinner one night, she arranged for all her guests to enjoy folklore dancers and local musicians. She was an absolute delight and we felt like we had known her forever. My husband and I would very hightly recommend this charming hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stewartbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

My husband and I loved La Posada del Quinde. The owner, Maggie, has a knack for offering just the right kind of help exactly when you are looking for it. The staff are lovely, and everything we needed was available.

We tend to pack a lot of activity into every day of travel, and the hotel and grounds and warm hearted people lightened our sense of fatigue when we returned from our excursions to enjoy a glass of wine by the fire.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JeanneMarieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

Maggie and staff are awesome. Hotel and grounds are lovely. Food was excellent at PAchamammas restaurant in the hotel. close enough to easily walk to center of town and market. Lovely patio and garden are great for relaxation and watching hummingbirds.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icestorm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marino, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at La Posada del Quinde. The staff was friendly and helpful. The atmosphere very homey and comfortable. Very good food. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The garden has many varieties of flowers, and you can sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine or have a meal. The marketplace was such fun with lots of things to buy or look at and within walking distance of the hotel. Maggie was so helpful with many suggestions of what to do. I am looking forward to another visit...........Lindy Evans

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
2.8 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
0.5 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#8 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Quinde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Quinde

Property: La Posada del Quinde
Address: Calle Quito con Miguel Egas, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada del Quinde is an ecologically- and socially-minded hotel that strives to make all of its guests feel at home. All of our spacious, heated guest rooms and suites have tile floors, folk decor, and bathrooms boasting steaming hot showers day and night. Additionally, there is free WiFi. The rooms and suites overlook the garden and patio, where guests can enjoy a good book or snap pictures of hummingbirds. For families and groups, the suites sleep 4-6 people and offer roomy living and dining areas, as well as balconies overlooking Otavalo. Our native Ecuadorian staff are incredibly helpful and will ensure that you have a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Quinde Hotel Otavalo
Ali Shungu Hotel
Ali Shungu Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing