We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Otavalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada del Quinde
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My only regret is that I can't take this place home with me, but as it's my second visit here it has become a home away from home.
A beautiful garden, clean room, hot shower & yummy food await you at La Posada. Everyone is welcoming and treats you like family!
There is a warm and inviting fire lit in the lounge area every morning & evening- such a treat after a fun filled day.
I've traveled a lot in the past few years but this place is not to be missed! Definitely worth a visit!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank StartNowTravelMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    52
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
88
148
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kew Gardens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I would definately recommend La Posada de Quinde to anyone traveling to Otovalo. The place is so warm and comforting and the rooms are spacious and clean. The gardens in the back are beautiful and I loved sitting outside and enjoying the view.
The staff was always friendly and helpful with any questions I had. The food was also amazing with fresh juice for breakfast daily and the rolls were so warm and flaky. I also had the quinoa pancakes on my last day and wish I had eaten them every day! The dinners were of course delicious and servings were large.
I loved the place so much last year that when I returned to Ecuador a few weeks ago I stayed at La Posada again, and of course my high expectations were exceded. Thanks to Maggie for making my stay a "home away from home."

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Posada del Quinde exemplifies the best that Ecuador has to offer! It is new and modern, but in a traditional style. The decor is as warm as the welcome I received upon arrival. The staff and owners seemed to have only one abjective: to make me as happy and comfortable as possible. The room was roomy, pretty and comfortable. There was even a space heater for my use just in case. Otavalo tends to be cold and hotel rooms can be damp. There is a lovely patio in a beautiful garden.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I wouldn't consider staying anywhere except Posado del Quinde when in Otavaol. The gardens & patio are my sanctuary during the day, and at night.the food, bar & roaring fire in their cozy lobby are perfect for meeting other guests when I'm traveling solo. Plus, there;s every amenity I need - free internet - and the service is outstanding - always with a smile & extra kindness..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, Ecuador
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel has lots of character, is very clean and well-maintained and is within walking distance of the famous Otavalo outdoor market. The rooms look out onto a wonderful patio courtyard where you can see the hummingbirds that fly around the many plants and trees. The restaurant area is warmly decorated with local crafts and has a cozy sitting area with fireplace for the cool evenings. The food was so good we ate all of our meals there except for the one day we took a taxi to nearby Cotacachi to see all the wonderful leather shops. The staff are very helpful and friendly and I can only assume one of the reasons this hotel and our stay was a great experience is due to manager Susy and the attention to the customers needs she places as a high priority.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cece C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My family traveled with two young children (2, 4) through S America for two months. We enjoyed our stay at the Posada with its beautiful gardens. Room was simply furnished with local art, and faced an oasis of trees and flowers. We were the first guests for dinner in Cafe Pachamama on-site, where we had decent food. One of the highlight of our trip was the local band that played in the cafe after dinner, and we were able to play board games and sit by a cozy fire.

I'd like to add that I was pick pocketed in the nearby farmers/animal market, and lost my wallet and cellphone; second time in over 45 countries, so be aware of your surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RowenaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Bring robust ear plug and eye mask if u want a good sleep. The curtains dont cover the whole window and room on ground level gets lots of traffic noise. Apart from that a pleasant stay. Lots of sighting of hummingbirds in the garden.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
2.8 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
4.0 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Quinde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Quinde

Property: La Posada del Quinde
Address: Calle Quito con Miguel Egas, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada del Quinde is an ecologically- and socially-minded hotel that strives to make all of its guests feel at home. All of our spacious, heated guest rooms and suites have tile floors, folk decor, and bathrooms boasting steaming hot showers day and night. Additionally, there is free WiFi. The rooms and suites overlook the garden and patio, where guests can enjoy a good book or snap pictures of hummingbirds. For families and groups, the suites sleep 4-6 people and offer roomy living and dining areas, as well as balconies overlooking Otavalo. Our native Ecuadorian staff are incredibly helpful and will ensure that you have a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Quinde Hotel Otavalo
Ali Shungu Hotel
Ali Shungu Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing