We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right place, wrong location.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Otavalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada del Quinde
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Right place, wrong location.”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Bring robust ear plug and eye mask if u want a good sleep. The curtains dont cover the whole window and room on ground level gets lots of traffic noise. Apart from that a pleasant stay. Lots of sighting of hummingbirds in the garden.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    52
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
88
148
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BUSHEY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

During the booking process Susy was very helpful - that was a good start and it only got better. We had a warm welcome when we arrived. The staff there were so friendly and helpful even with their limited English and our serious lack of Spanish. The hotel is in the ideal location as it is in walking distance of both the Saturday market which is in the centre of town and the farmers market which was truly amazing. We spent a long time watching as animals were transported to and from often being walked on the end of a piece of string. Our thanks to everyone who works there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband, brother and sister- law, and I traveled in Ecuador for 11 days. We stayed here for 3 nights and it was the best place of all of them. The most important factor in that was the staff. They try very hard to accommodate your every wish. Susy, the manager, is wonderful! We lost a passport while there and she did everything she could to help with the situation, She speaks English and could explain situations to us. The rest of the staff reflect her leadership and are pleasant and efficient. The food is delicious. Prices are reasonable and the menu is varied. It is a short 4-5 block to walk to Plaza de Ponchos, the nativemarket. It is easy to feel right at norm here and as if you had known the staff for a very long time. It is near to some of the smaller villages around. We went from here to San Antonio and Cotacachi in a taxi which Sisy had gotten for us.

Our room was very clean, comfortable and decorated very tastefully. The gardens are beautiful. If we make another trip to Ecuador, this place will certainly be first on the list.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room that had very few steps leading to it. If you have difficulty walking, this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NashvilleGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briny Breezes
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is not just a place to stay. This is a place where I felt right at home. Maggie, the gracious proprietor, has created a quaint, clean, happy environment for the weary traveler. The rooms are serene, tastefully furnished, and immaculate. The open reception/restaurant/lounge area, decorated with weavings and paintings by local artists, is cozy and inviting. One wall of windows offers a view of the terrace, gardens, and the mountains beyond the rooftops. A large fireplace is lit at night, and we hung out in the overstuffed sofas and listened to a band of Andes Mountain troubadours. We met people from all over the world. Everyone mixed and mingled and had a blast. Maggie hooked us up with a tour guide, William, and off we went to experience Otavalo and the surrounding area. Three nights were not enough. There's the craft market, the livestock market, the session with the shaman, the waterfalls, the lakes, the volcanos, the woodcarving town, the world famous weaver, the bird park, etc. And when it was time for dinner, we went back to la posada del quinde for an excellent meal and a good night's sleep! You can tell I highly recommend this place! Thanks, Maggie!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Otavalo with its famous native market, adjacent craft villages, local artisans studios, Condor Park and nearby lakes, waterfalls, mountains and hiking trails is the cultural center of the Northern Highlands indigenous population. It is well worth a few days there instead of a (long) day-trip from Quito or elsewhere.

If you decide to spend some time in the Otavalo area, and you will be glad you did, you should seriously consider staying with Maggie Reniers at Posada de Quinde (PosadaQuinde.com). Located on a quiet street about a 5-10 minute walk from the market site, it is an especially nice, exceptionally well run B&B with an outstanding restaurant and food service operation. Besides all those positives for every guest, they offer Groups attractive room rates and a completely flexible meal plan with multiple choices for each course. No rooms, grounds or food details here. You can get that from any - and all - of the TripAdvisor postings; and they are not overstated.

The secret ingredient at Posada de Quinde is Maggie. She will be glad to help you in the many ways mentioned in the other reviews but there is much more than that. She knows everyone and everything about the immediate area and is happy to help you with anything there. The "who wudda thunk it" factor is that Maggie will gladly assist you with things that take her time but have nothing to do with her or the Posada.

For our group, she found and contacted a reliable transport company to supply us with a 22 passenger bus for a week of our trip; obtained Vans, suggested an itinerary and a lunch stop for our day-trip to the neighboring craft villages; made an hour-saving market day lunch reservation for 16 at a convenient restaurant; and confirmed a changed schedule for the flight displays at the Condor Park.

A special note: She also set up an appointment for us to visit the studio of Miguel Andrango, an Internationally known, 80 year old master weaver who still uses the millennia-old back-strap loom. Miguel will show you the entire process from gathering the raw material to the finished product on the looms. He does not charge for one-of-a-kind 30 minute visit to a nearly vanished art. There is a small shop on the premises selling his magnificent textiles and other handicrafts made by members of his family. This is not to be missed if you have any interest in consummate, traditional craftsmanship.

If you travel often, you know how rare it is to find a really desirable but unfamiliar destination with an absolutely dependable source for any information and assistance you might need. Otavalo in general, Posada de Quinde in particular, and your friend Maggie are all of this and will make your visit a highlight of any trip to Ecuador.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank verdecampo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great location that is near to all activities you will want to do but far enough away that noise isn't an issue. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They helped arrange both local and long distance transportation as well as giving ideas of what to do in the area. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the garden setting was beautiful and relaxing. We met a few locals sitting around the lovely fireplace. One of them had eaten at the hotel restaurant and said it was one of the best in Otavalo. We enjoyed a great Ecuadorian meal there. We would absolutely stay here again. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GracieCatChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at La Posada del Quinde. Maggie and her staff do an outstanding job at making your staying enjoyable and comfortable. Maggie does a great job at answering any questions you may have and also insuring that your trip goes as planned. Maggie and staff insure that your airport transfers are completed, that your tours are on schedule, and that you have anything that you need while staying. The gardens are always beautiful and the bird sitings are always great. The hotel location is within easy walking distance to the Otavalo market. The onsite restaurant has very good food and is priced economically. All of the staff here at friendly and helpful. We hope to get to return again.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and clean. For larger groups, the suites are a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karl1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
2.8 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
4.0 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Quinde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Quinde

Property: La Posada del Quinde
Address: Calle Quito con Miguel Egas, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada del Quinde is an ecologically- and socially-minded hotel that strives to make all of its guests feel at home. All of our spacious, heated guest rooms and suites have tile floors, folk decor, and bathrooms boasting steaming hot showers day and night. Additionally, there is free WiFi. The rooms and suites overlook the garden and patio, where guests can enjoy a good book or snap pictures of hummingbirds. For families and groups, the suites sleep 4-6 people and offer roomy living and dining areas, as well as balconies overlooking Otavalo. Our native Ecuadorian staff are incredibly helpful and will ensure that you have a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Quinde Hotel Otavalo
Ali Shungu Hotel
Ali Shungu Otavalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing