We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely restful escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of PuertoLago Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
PuertoLago Country Inn
Ranked #6 of 27 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“lovely restful escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

we came to puertolago after a long day of sightseeeing in quito,and were delighted with both the rooms and the location. We were expecting a chilly night, and the fireplace was perfect-the best part about this hotel was standong on the balcony, watching the birds dive over the water at sunrise. The staff was excellent, food good, and beds comfortable. My 17 year old loved it, and spent an hour just taking photos.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gardengoddess54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    50
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
48
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Renens
Level Contributor
140 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

The hotel lays directly at the Lago San Pablo with view to the mountains. In the evening we had excellent food, but at 9 pm all the hotel facilities closed! So we had to go in our frozen room (2°) without heating. The room it's ok, but be aware to bring very warm clothes with you! Breakfest it's not included in the price of the room and for Ecuador at the high price niveau.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

Puerto Lago

We stayed at the Puertolago country Inn after spending a happy day shopping and Otavalo Saturday Indian market; the inn is just a few minutes away from Otavalo.
It is charming and well run, with beautiful country chalets located on the shore of San Pablo lake with the dormant volcano Imbabura towering above it on the other side of the lake.
The rooms were comfortable; nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. In fact sell them have we seen any place as neatly kept as this, with beautifully manicured lawns and gardens. Although it had been a warm comfortable day the evening alongside the lake was cool. After a memorable meal of local trout in the restaurant, our evening was concluded in a most delightful manner when someone came to light the fire for us in the hearth. What a pleasure it was to doze off in the comfortable bed lulled by the warmth.
The restaurant is situated right alongside the lake with lovely views both day and night, making for enjoyable dining. The menu offers a wide selection to suit any taste and the breakfasts are sumptuous. Although the inn has a cruising boat we were told that it was only available if there were 10 or more guests.
The grandkids loved the Llamas who helped to keep the lawns trimmed.
This is a great spot for a bit of pampered relaxation

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HorizonsNoordhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
137 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

It's a nice place. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms rustic and clean, the staff friendly and the food was good. We would have given it a four or a five if it hadn't rained during the night and the roof started leaking--right over our bed. Luckily there were two beds in the room and the secound one was dry. The staff lit the fireplace for us during dinner so the room was nice and cozy when we went to bed, but a little chilly in the morning.

Except for the damp awakening, we were satisfied with the accomidations and would not hesitate to give it another try.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muskrat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2008

While the location is fabulous, the rooms are just a level above a summer camp. This could be greatly improved by spending a little on what is considered normal by most average hotels. Like an iron and ironing board, hair dryer and most important a space heater. Rooms were very cold...yes there is a fireplace but wood was sparse AND damp...almost impossible to light a fire and when you do it's freezing in the night. This is not the Amazon..weather is very cool in the Andes. And how about more than just 2 thin pillows? The lighting is terrible..basically 2 track lights which either give you retinal burn or cast shadows. Bathroom is little more than a shower stall.

  • Liked — beautiful location
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank binkyspop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2007

My wife & I stayed here for one night and, while we were pleased by the lakeside location & impressive view of Volcano Imbabura, we felt that our bill (over $100) was excessive for the accomodation we received. Our room was equipped with a fireplace, but all the firewood was burned up within 2 hours. Otherwise the room was comfortable, but certainly not luxurious. We paid extra for a 30 minute peddle boat ride on Lago San Pablo, but the boat seemed to malfunction as it continually spun in circles in the water. We noticed the next guests had the same experience with the boats. PuertoLago is a nice place, but next time we will stay somewhere in Otavalo, where we can get the same level of comfort at a much lower rate.

  • Liked — lakeside location
  • Disliked — expensive
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay in Otavalo instead
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eugenito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2007

We were glad to choose the Puerto Lago for two nights while we checked out Otavalo. The hotel is off the main road and easy to drive into yourself. Hector, the manager, greeted us each night with dinner suggestions. Dear Patrizia, had our cafe con leche in the morning. The chef is Swiss-schooled. I had fish each night. Delicious. The view in the dining room is incredible. YOu are about two feet below sea level. The rooms are cosy, and face the lake. It was warm when we were there, but we still built a small fire and lit the candle they provide. Romantic, Great Food, and genuine people to care for you.

  • Liked — Room with a view and Exellent Food with a view too
  • Tips/Secrets — Say hello to Hector
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank vino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
3.7 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
7.6 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
20.5 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
3.4 mi away
Hacienda Cusin
Hacienda Cusin
#1 of 27 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.9 mi away
Balcon del Lago
Balcon del Lago
#3 of 36 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PuertoLago Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PuertoLago Country Inn

Property: PuertoLago Country Inn
Address: Lago San Pablo Km 5 sur, Otavalo, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PuertoLago Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your PuertoLago Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Otavalo
Otavalo Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing