We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, no hot water, very expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
PuertoLago Country Inn
Ranked #9 of 31 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Property is drop dead stunning. No hot water in shower. Food is ultra expensive and mediocre. Service is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank banghammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for PuertoLago Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 131 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2012

Well we went there for one night, it was very peacefull, the room was very nice, clean and also romantic!! If you are lookin for a nice place to go to get relaxed.. this is definitely the place, they have room service and the food is pretty good. Love their pancakes!!!

Room Tip: It depends on your budget, but the capitan suit is the best :)
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngyeVdC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is a peaceful setting next to a clear water lake. The rooms are cute and spacious. Bathrooms have good hot water. The restaurant serves adequate food in a spectaular setting overlooking the lake. The staff is friendly and attentive, but speaks little English. The grounds are beautiful. I wish we could have explored them at greater length. Although they offered to light a fire in our fireplace, we did not need one. We were quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Only 2 min away from the panamerican route and just on the border of the San Pablo lake there is a very nice place compose by independent wood made mini houses where there are all necesary services including chimney in most of them. There is an amazing silence which combines with the sound of wind during erly morning. An espectacular view of the Imbabura mountain compites with the waves in the lake. A well serve restaurant offers a variety of national and international dishes for everybody. Another advantage is that from Puerto Lago to Otavalo, Cotacachi or other tourist places it is easy to go and not really expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stayed at the Puertolago country Inn after a day of touring in Otavalo at Indian market; the inn is ja short drive from the market. It is charming and well run, with charming country chalets located on the shore of San Pablo lake. The rooms were cozy; however the beds are hard as rocks and the room does not have central heat (only a fire place with a small amount of wood). The lawns and garden are beautifully manicured and the flowers are wonderful. The food at the hotel was very good....I highly recommend the trout. The restaurant is situated right alongside the lake with lovely views both day and night, making for enjoyable dining.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RondaJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Gorgeous grounds. Amazing lakeview. Comfortable and clean room. We had a triple and there was ample room for everyone. Beautiful, peaceful surroundings The Lodge was well appointed with free wifi by the fireplace Delicious food with excellent service. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

I stayed one night at Puerto Lago with the Friendly Planet Exotic Ecuador tour. The grounds are gorgeous and there is a lovely game room in the restaurant building. Each room is a section of a cabin. There is a fireplace which hotel staff will light for you to provide heat for the room. The room was spacious, although once the fire died down it was quite chilly as there is no additional heating system. The restaurant was tasty and the views spectacular.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anonymous9257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otavalo
3.7 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
224 reviews
7.2 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
11.0 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
3.4 mi away
Hacienda Cusin
Hacienda Cusin
#2 of 31 in Otavalo
529 reviews
0.0 mi away
Medina del Lago
Medina del Lago
#8 of 31 in Otavalo
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PuertoLago Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PuertoLago Country Inn

Address: Lago San Pablo Km 5 sur, Otavalo, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range: $147 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PuertoLago Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your PuertoLago Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Otavalo
Otavalo Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing